Buy Prototype for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Prototype

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

26664 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prototype Review

posted by Skiro13 (FORT RICHARDSON, AK) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

371 out of 420 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun, but a few things hold it back from being great. One thing is that the graphics are sub par, but they are not gamebreaking in any way. Gameplay is the main reason why Prototype is great. Just running into an army base, activating your claws, and go to town. But moving on, another odd problem is the pop-ins. Sometimes it gets as bad as removing entire buildings (and more than one). The musical style isn't noticable when your playing unless you like to pay attention, so nothing to worry about there. Anyway here is my numerical review of it all.



Gameplay: 10/10 (Main reason you would play the game)

Sound: 8/10 (Nothing noticable)

Story: 9/10 ( A unique spin on a government conspiracy with great twists and turns)

Graphics: 7/10 (A little weak but nothing gamebreaking.)

Lasting Appeal: 8/10 (A lot to do even when you beat the game)



Overall: 9/10 (Totally worth the buy, but since this is Gamefly, worth the rent)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give this game a break..

posted by cheesyvade (HOOVER, AL) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

213 out of 251 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First off i want to say that i LOVE this game. Its one of the few games i actually bought the day it came out and it is the best investment of 60 dollars i've made besides GTA IV. It also kind of makes me angry that very popular game sites and magazines look down on this game because it's "too hard" or it didn't "inovate" the sandbox genre like it should have, which in my opinion, it did.

So here's a list of the pros and cons of Prototype

PROS:
Kill anyone and everything with the massive array of abilities at your disposal
Parkour through the streets of Manhatten like there's nothing to it
Turn into ANYONE
Military and police systems are very realistically used, as in if your
blazing by a patrol and run into a soldier and kill them, then they fire.
Hijacking military vehicles
WEB OF INTRIGUE which is the web of memories Alex can either collect or not in order to find out what happened to him and the city. These are memories that certain characters carry
Very involving story
Great voice acting
Realistic damage (ground and people)

CONS (none of which are major setbacks in the gameplay)
Graphics really aren't stunning, but if they were Gears of War or Assassin's Creed level, then you could not play for more than a few minutes because of the amount of people on the streets at one time.
It CAN be a bit frustrating at times. This is the most major setback because you are supposed to be "superman" basically, but you WILL fail missions, but it is very hard to actually die. This is NOT a dealbreaker though, to me it adds an aspect of panic which is what this game is about.

FINAL WORD
Graphics: 8/10: Could use polish, but are still good for this level of people on screen at a time
Gameplay: 10/10: One word- Incredible
Difficulty level: Medium
Sound: 9.5/10: Nothing TOO special here, but it is really awe inspiring to listen to the explosions you cause
Replayability: 8.5/10: There is so much to do, this really should't get old
TOTAL: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by LiLcOoPeR2 (UTICA, KY) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is my very first review, and I decided to make it on this game, because it was one of the very first games i bought for my xbox.

This game needs to be given a break. It really is a great game. The people who give this game a bad rating, and say that it sucks, they only made it a couple of hours into the game, if that.

The game play is great. The controls are just a little difficult to use. The graphics aren't the best. The story is quite long, and impressive.

I spent many hours on this game. When i finally finished it, i couldn't help but feeling that the story wasn't complete. And I was right. As of 2010 VGA's they have announced Prototype 2, I can't wait for it, it comes out 2012. But instead of being Alex Mercer, you play as a different person who wants to kill Alex Mercer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse