Buy Prototype 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Prototype 2

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.1

5437 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Ridiculously overpowerered

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

If you played the original Prototype, you've basically played this game. That said, there's nothing really wrong with that if you enjoyed it - Just don't go expecting anything dramatic in terms of changes. The storyline is blander than the first one, I think, but nobody should be playing this for the story. While the missions are repetitive (destroy this facility, impersonate this guy, kill this creature, etc), there's nothing wrong with taking down hordes of military dudes/zombies/giant creatures with bizarre weapons that spring from your body. Like in the first one, it doesn't get old.

Final Word - If you're in the mood for an open world, destroy everything/fly everywhere type of game with a mediocre story but fun game play, check it out. I enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Decent Sequel

posted by zcholla (ERIE, CO) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was very closely matched with the first game. I felt that the storyline was lacking and the gameplay could have been much longer. I finished the whole game and almost every achievement in about 14 hours of gameplay. That being said Prototype 2 had all the things from the original Prototype that I loved. The gameplay and controls are fantastic. I love the concepts and I love the the challenges and the difficulty of insane Mode. All in all it was a great game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game pretty good.

posted by saidbear (WARE, MA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was pretty good with a good combat system but i thought it had not a very good story. in the 1st game you be Alex Mercer a really cool character but in this game you be James Heller which is a soldier so its too predictable that a soldier would be a main character. so all in all mercer is cooler then Heller but this game was still pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mindless Destruction = Fun Rent

posted by ChasingParadise (AUBURN, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Prototype 2 doesn't bring any dramatic changes to the free roam game market, but it does bring some kick #$% fun. Gameplay is fast paced, full of awesome moves and finishers, and for the most part easy to adapt to. Graphics are good, not award winning, but not bad either. If you're looking for a good story you may be disappointed. James Heller, the protagonist, didn't pull any strings on my heart. Specifically since the story stays on the back burner for most of the ride, it was hard to connect. It seemed to me Radical (the developer) was making barely plausible excuses for me to demolish a boss so that I could get another bloody, life ending upgrade (usually also killing innocent people I'm supposedly helping). Lame as it is, this is also Prototype 2's strength (not referring to killing pedestrians). You're endowed with powerful abilities and they only get better the more you play. But everything else is mediocre. It's for games like this that I have GameFly. Some people may think I have my head in a place where the air quality is questionable, but my opinion is that Prototype 2 doesn't deliver story wise, but gameplay is a blast and worthy of your GameQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better then the First

posted by Errot18 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Really good game if you liked the first 1 like I did you will love this one I never beat the first 1 but I'm sure i'm going to beat this one I'll say at least try it if you like free roam games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Recycle Much?

posted by InevitableTruth (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was very eager to play this game. I thoroughly enjoyed the original. Let me begin by saying the reason for the low score on my end is that about 15 mins or so into the game I realized the storyline was being delivered via extremely (intentionally) dark and obscure cut scenes. I felt like they were intentionally trying to tone the light down in their clips so you would see less detail, it was more greyscale almost with heavy shadows.

And then I noticed the same buildings, the same blocks as before with some small changes. I guess for the location being the same this is not unrealistic, however it seemed very unoriginal. I am not a fan of the online pass but will try to keep this out of my review as much as possible. However since you are here that means you may rent it via gamefly. It is worth noting that if you rent you do not get the online pass, and without it this game feels very linear as you do not get access to some other various side quests.

Open world as it is, Minus some collectables, the joy of exploration is non-existent. Unless you enjoy dishing out mindless carnage there was little to do aside from the main storyline which progressed very fast. After one solid day of play time I was already 50% done with the story.

It's not a horrible game, there are some new ablities and such that add to the game and a new protagonist. But overall it felt like prototype 1 recycled with different main character skin, less side quests. The difficulty is a joke, I was playing Hard mode without ever really worrying about my health. I employ thise that like a challenge to really jack up the difficulty.

Overall I gave it a 6 because the graphics do not look as good on the character models, the story seems way more shallow, the cut scenes are toned down in what feels like an attempt to hide their poor quality, and it's just well.. more of the same. Glad I rented vs buy. done with this one in 1 solid and 2 casual days of playing. Above average at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

prototype 2? or DLC?

posted by racoonsurvivor (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Sep 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

So I wanted to finish this game before I wrote any kind of review. Mainly because I was hoping for something to happen, nothing special that would set it above the bar, just something. In the end this is the review that I had to write.
This game plays exactly like prototype 1, down to a fault. You start off as a mentally unstable military guy named Heller, that wants to kill Mercer. Then Mercer comes and gives you his powers because he wants to fix everything and needs your help. After that you are left to go kill people and monster alike with the powers that you gain that mirror the first game in a lot of ways.
There are a few mission types, consume a guy to sneak into a base and wreck it, consume a guy to use a terminal and find out where specific events are, and consume a guy to get his memories that will trigger a mission for you, and just when you are tired of consuming guys, well you find people that level up your skills by consuming them. Then you can start finding race against the clock missions, infected base missions, and hunt random collectables throughout the world. There is also challanges in the game like the first one but if you didn't buy the game you cant play them or get the unlocks that they give.
There is nothing really wrong with this, however we have done it all before in the first game. The fact that the story is absolute garbage, the voice acting is terrible, and the characters are either cliche or just unbelievable make this game start to fall short of the first one all together.
It really feels like they made a Heller because they couldn't figure out a way to advance Mercer any more. When in reality I don't believe that they could figure out a way to advance the game any more. This game would have been better as mission based DLC for the first one, it may be worth a rent but do not pay 60 bucks for this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first one.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 23, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

28 out of 41 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

This game is way better than the first one. Not to say that the first one was bad, it just got repetitive after a while. This one has improved graphics, gameplay, and a bad-a story. I think that anyone that liked the first one will like this one also. fyi the monsters are bigger badder and uglier. rent it now or buy it. i would rent it first though to make sure you will stick to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Enjoyable

posted by ishightower (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I just finished the game today, unlocked all but one achievement. Bloody loved it. You become wickedly overpowered and can burn through this title in less than a week. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prototype 2: Hours of Fun

posted by HennyROB (FORT WORTH, TX) May 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is worth your time if you enjoy great controls and a powerful character that can become anybody and drive anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by DGxGearBlade (RALEIGH, NC) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I decided to buy the radent edition rather than rent and let me tell you. The game is monumental. The missions are a little more fun and the new evade and block options are top notch. Now rather than being bombarded by the brawlers and juggernauts like you were before, you can now jump out of danger and counter attack. (This is deffinetly a nice surprise for those of us who beat prototype one) The new hunting feature makes missions more fun in my opinion and deffinetly makes missions more enjoyable. The new weapon feature makes shifting weapons more easy and faster, not to forget you also get your weapons in a different order this time (Claws still 1st) But what really makes the game a thrill, is fighting the mighty Goliath. Overall I can tell im going to play this game for a long time. I do have to beat the radent events after all. If you can still find a copy purchasable and liked being Mercer in Prototype 1, get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Protoype 2

posted by SandboxGeek1 (LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL) May 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty fun especially if your in to sandbox games but this game mostly gets the kick because of the gameplay. The story line is ok but its not as good as you think the story will be. Its a liitle worth playing this game because of the story but the gameplay is bad a%$. The upgrades that you get in prototype is nothing compared to this game. But certinley this should be a game in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Doesn't live up to the original

posted by norse (SEATTLE, WA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fantastic graphics, an interesting world, dynamic and well paced gameplay and a great soundtrack, and even very good voice acting and decent cut-scenes. I loved the original (10/10), but the second iteration falls short on the most important ingredients: storytelling and plausibility. Out with the old protagonist, who is now the evil antagonist, in with a one-dimensional, rude and moronic main character. On top of that, a lot of side missions motivated by sometimes hare-brained ideas (well, 5 out of the 5000 armored vehicles in the city are getting better armor - surely the protagonist will show up to specifically wreck this facility... and on the thirty-fifth wrecking of a facility, nobody wonders that just one guy walks out unharmed and immediately disappears?). The joy of exploration of the environs and the wow-factor in the upgrades was also missing, partly because there was less motivation to explore and the upgrades didn't fit into the story. Sad to see a great game universe grow so unpalatable, especially given that all the hard stuff has been done right in this game. Sigh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rinse, Wash, Repeat

posted by solidsoc (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you have played the first then you have played the second. Run around, Kill Everything. Do it again. and again and again. good rent terrible purchase

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad...

posted by scotttttie (TROUTDALE, OR) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls, graphics, blood and gore are all there. But i feel that it lacks a good story and the missions are incredibly repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't like this one

posted by DynamiteK (MADISON, WI) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Read all of the reviews, seemed like it would be a fun game but it didn't grab me. There's nothing wrong with it necessarily, I just thought it was a little mediocre. Never played the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by Avatarxl (Dallas, TX) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really excited about this game, it looked so cool. Then after playing it for about 30 minutes I realized I was playing Infamous (1&2). It's the exact same game without having a choice of being good or evil. Very dissappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

same as the first

posted by avacaleb182 (SANTA MARIA, CA) May 18, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game to me is the same as the first 1. a LITTLE bit better than the first 1 but not much better. i can only play the game for so long till i get board. an it seems like all the missions are the same. they hve some cool new effects or things u can do but like i said, same missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The wait is over

posted by Derek25 (NEOSHO, MO) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I have played alot of action games but few get my full attention . In a world gone crazy with super hero games, I always thought most were overhyped and fell short of their true potential. Prototype 2 is awesome and improves its game in almost every way. The combat is more epic and flashy than the 1st one,the movement is just as good as the 1st ....minus a couple of things. While this new guy is more powerful in almost every way,mercer still seems more nimble and sometimes a better aim. The targeting system works 4 the most part aside from lockin on 2 a civilian in a heated fight with blackwatch. The unlocks are frequent enough and deep enough 2 keep u interested . I like how enemies are this time 2.rent this 4 sure .its very fun and visually trance inducing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by dakong (LA VISTA, NE) May 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am only a few hours into this game but I can already tell I love it. I never bought it because I work full time and don't have much time for gaming, but with gamefly I can play it without paying full price for it. Thank the flying spagetti monster for gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Horrible.

posted by WarShipper (LEMOORE, CA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game, frankly, sucks. It has added only a few features that the original Prototype didn't, and cut out many more. The upgrade system is stilted and lacks creativity. The main character is supposed to be sympathetic but comes across as a hypocritical piece of scum even worse than ZEUS/Mercer(not the terrible clone in this game) and far more monstrous. Alex Mercer has been reduced to nothing more than a cardboard cut-out villain, and really all of the characters feel like they're made of cardboard.

The entire game had a dozen different plotholes, operated on blatant magic, seemed to forget everything else that had happened half a dozen times, the ending itself made almost zero sense.

This entire game? It was failure. It was a complete and total failure. Whatever fun there is in blowing stuff up, I could've gotten that five times better in the original Prototype. Whatever interest may be gathered from the plot will be quickly lost with either a good idea for what makes a good plot or with a basic understanding of what happened in the original game.

Do not buy this game. I would suggest that you don't even rent it, but I really do want to see just how many people realize just how much of an abject failure this was. Absolutely ANYTHING you could enjoy about this game you will find in the first one, probably in better form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

.....

posted by supashort (COPPEROPOLIS, CA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

this game is just amazingly fun just get it you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by fishyfriend12 (BAY MINETTE, AL) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

very bloody

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, novel gameplay.

posted by steppin (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is very similar to Crackdown, but it also has some RPG elements. If anything, my one complaint would be that the game is too simple. I find myself jumping off buildings into the midst of enemy soldiers and they just continue about their digital day as if nothing happened. Also, the mechanic of assuming the identity of people you murder is kind of gruesome, but refreshing. I am having a lot of fun with this, so far....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!

posted by amat3r5u (PASSAIC, NJ) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you want to feel like a god my advice would be to rent this awsome game i loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse