Buy Portal 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Portal 2

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

9685 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PORTAL 2 review

posted by HouseOfM (PLUMAS LAKE, CA) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

32 out of 34 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The first portal was a masterpiece. combining a new simple but effective way of story telling and revolutionary gamelay,Portal managed to win many awards. The games antagonist,gLAdOs, managed to get awards such as "greatest villian in videogames", and "Most revolutionary character from 2000-2010". And it should be no suprise that not only is the game's sequel is as good as the original, It's better.
The story is intresting and enjoyable, The voice acting is possibley the best I have seen in any game. I don't want to ruin to much, but it has its fair share of twist and suprises. The game it self even has Co-op. but I wouldn't recomend playing it online without a headset. the best part of co-op is that it requires teamwork from both players. therefore there has to be communication.
If you liked the first game, Then play it.The game is also a a good jumping on point for new players, however they will not get some of the jokes or plot twists.
PORTAL 2 is an excellent game, the story mode is 10 hours while the co-op is 12 hours. Please, if you wish to play portal 2 but haven't played the first, then rent a copy of the ORANGE BOX now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best First Person Game for non-FPS fans !

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If, like me, you are one of the few that just don't like / aren't good at typical First Person Shooters (FPS) games, then don't make the mistake I almost did, and discard this game as an option.

Although it is in first person, and you do have a (portal) gun, this is in reality a puzzle game, and one of the highest caliber. Starting off easy, but within an hour or so of playtime, throwing in some real head scratchers, the task at hand (in as spoiler free a way as possible) is how to use the limited resources available to open doors to the next area. It makes for a really good game to pick up, play a couple of rooms, and go about your day (if you can fight the addictive nature of the game!).

The back story and plot development is very clever, and funny. It does follow from the first game, but I don't think there's any need to have played it to understand what is going on (I haven't, though it is now at the top of my queue to revisit).

In the interest of balance, the only real complaint I would have is the loading (and reloading) that occurs. If you die in a room, it has to reload the level as it restarts. It's never too long, never more than 10-20 seconds, but just long enough to start to grate if you get to a room where death becomes frequent.

I've not finished it at the time of writing, but some have mentioned that the game is too short. I'm a believer in quality over quantity. Too many games are overlong, and as a result you never can invest the time needed to finish them, but I fully expect to stick with this to the bitter end !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good game

posted by FALLOUTguy (COLUMBUS, OH) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok to start this game has great graphics And the controls are simple.the strategy in this game is amazing it gets challenging and its fun. its also the funniest game iv played in a long time. any one could appreciate this type of humor so defiantly a game to get i have all trophies and what not but i played for like a week straight and there was never anything that upset me so 10 thumbs up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A perfectly fun (and funny) puzzler

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't often give games a 10. Generally, I can find something that holds it back from perfection, be it a fixed camera, an annoying character, or the save system. This game I'm hard pressed to find any real fault- it's better than a 9, but the rating system on this site doesn't allow for a number point something, so in this case, I'll round up. "Portal 2" is a blast to play, with clever puzzles to decipher, great voice acting, and very funny, intelligent writing. The plot does pick up with the ending of the first "Portal" game (if you haven't played it, I suggest you get hold of Valve's "The Orange Box"- which has the first game plus Half-Life 2, well worth the rental or purchase price) as you once again have to navigate the corridors and rooms in Aperture Science's labs while dealing with the building's AI, GLaDOS. You don't necessarily need to have played the first, but many of the game's lines will be lost on you without doing so. Controls are simple and very precise, and work quite well as you create portals and redirect things like lasers and light bridges to aid you in solving the tests GLaDOS has laid out for you. The graphics are very good, providing plenty of detail and color. The music and voice acting is fantastic. There's a nice bit of gameplay here- once through in single player may take 10-15 hours, depending on the gamer. There's also a co-op mode, which can be played online or off, which has its own storyline contained in 5 chapters. All in all, I highly recommend this game, especially if you're tired of all the same old FPS games out there. And if you're lucky, successful navigation will gain you cake. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

unbelievable

posted by suicidedol (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

now i dont write reviews, but i thought this one definitely deserved one. if you dont know what portal is about, then im here to give you an idea. this game is a first person puzzle game. all it is is you and your mind conquering puzzle after puzzle. now that may sound boring, but believe me when i say, its not. after every puzzle you figure out, you litterally feel proud of yourself and a bit smarter. if that wasnt enough, they somehow gave this game a great story to go along with it.
so if your lookin for an action shooter then dont go with this, but if you really want to test your mental skills and see just how smart you are then check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Puzzle-rific

posted by Dachampste (NASHVILLE, TN) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Portal 2's simple but challenging puzzles makes thinking fun again, by the use or portals. Instead of other puzzles where you run around endlessly trying to raise the water level, or flick 10,000,000 switches, or gathering keys by facing annoying bosses, Portal 2 makes non-combat games fun again. I actually enjoyed facing tough puzzles, and beating armed robots by tipping them over. The characters are fun and very well voiced, making the game seem like a Pixar movie experience. There are jokes, most of them making fun of you or pertaining to the ridiculous situation you're placed in. Overall, it's fun to play- 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the year 2011?

posted by Atrickoalabear (NEW FREEDOM, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game was just amazing, so amazing. It had the fun gameplay elements from Portal 1. Challenging puzzles, sarcastic humor, and originality. Unlike many games whom just do the same old FPS thing, this one is just differently amazing. So if you played Portal 1, take that plus about 7 more hours of game play, a bunch more features, and a storyline that reels you in and makes your heart drop. THAT is Portal 2. I STRONGLY recommend play Portal 1 before Portal 2, it is a really short game and The Orange Box is a great package to rent or buy. Otherwise some things you may not understand, you can however read through a quick summary.

This game makes you think, it applies what you learned in high school Physics to the test "simple things anyone who hasn't had Physics can pick up on though.

The only problem I had was a few minor glitches I found, other than that a MUST BUY GAME.

IF YOU HAVE A PS3 AND 360, GET IT FOR THE PS3. If you get it for the Ps3 you can play with people via Steam on the PC or Mac in co-op.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG

posted by Snicksta (TOLEDO, OH) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

OMG I didnt think this was going to be good I didnt plasy part one but its like they filled me in on what i miss this game was so awesome the story was awesome i got confused a little bit but it was worth it
~~AWESOMENESS~~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Portal2=Fun

posted by sheikh_omar (ESSEX, MD) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're an idiot you will say the game sucks because you're and idiot. If you like solving puzzles and have some degree of intelligence than you will like this game. Don't rent a game from gamefly when you don't understand what type of game your're renting and then say it sucks. But you probably will say that it sucks because you're an idiot who doesn't know your're an idiot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Portal Here, Portal There....For Science!!!

posted by Attrel (FORT HUACHUCA, AZ) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game, as challenging and innovative, maintains a cynical hiliatarity that can been seen on only a few nextgen games. The physics and science in this game provides a "Cool" feel to a normally boring genre. A plus as well is that the Trophies/Achivements are very challenging, but not impossible like some - 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My favorite game hilarious hard and fun to play

posted by TacoMan12 (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall, Portal 2 is a great game.
It is hilarious.
The script is the funniest I've ever heard in a game. It is entertaining the whole way throught
Graphics, A little on the down side (as in uninteresting) but for what they draw, pretty good. The story draws you in as it has many surprises. The online SHOULD NOT BE PLAYED WITHOUT A HEADSET. It is very fun co-op playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of my favorite games

posted by tbird11 (YULEE, FL) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. Instead of just shooting at enemies you actually have to think to play and beat this game. I think the story line was great the, the dialoge was very funny, and the game was perfect. I can't think of one thing that valve could imrove on. I LOVE THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

aaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwsome

posted by ps3156 (BELGRADE, MT) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i didn't play the first game and this made perfect sense! (not being sarcastic) the graphics where great! and the humor was funny! there is only one thing wrong with it, they poke fun at being adopted and that is not that funny. and especially not for adopted kids. but over all it is an awesome game. if they just would of not put the adoption jokes in it would be a perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Portal 2

posted by Halen1986 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

By far the best puzzle game I've ever played. Having no time limit makes game play totally chill. Awesome graphics and very witty dialog.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not just about portals..

posted by jjaytee0809 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

28 out of 33 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

So, I recieved the game around 3 o'clock PM in my mail box. Ripped it open and now after 12 hours of white knuckle, controller-gripping action, I have finished the story mode of Portal 2. A+.

If you are reading this and familiar with the first one- you know that it was just practically about a blue and orange portal. This one stetches the limit of your brain activity. I won't spoil what other items are to be utilitized if you have not played this game, but its a great mind-worker.

For those who DON'T know Portal, don't assume this is another monotonous first person shooter where your the good guy and they are the bad guy.. and you... yeah. You get the idea. Portal is an amazing strategy game where you have to use a "portal making" gun to solve room after room of well thought-out levels. The beginning of Portal 2 tags along with the ending of the first-- so if you have not played the first, not a problem because it does not lead you astray of the plot (rather ENDING) on the first game.

Not also did the members at Valve create a witty, awesome sequel to the already ground-breaking first Portal, but they integrate a great story line that is rather easy to follow and very good. Tacky, goofy jokes and playground-like point-the-finger insults from both main characters added great value to the game-- and its fairly clean too, so its age-friendly.

As far as the actual game play: phenomenal. The whole 12 hours I played, the only time I set the controller down is to eat, bathroom breaks, or when my wife came home from work. She even enjoyed the action and she does not have a gamer bone in her body. The physics are great and no clipping or lagging of the movement.

It's also got 2 player co-op and online capabilities that i have yet to try.

This is a must play and a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Puzzle Game

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Overview
=================
This is a great puzzle game. Has a single player campaign and a co-op campaign (online or split-screen). Both of the campaigns have good length so it is a good value. I don't think I'd replay though... So I'd suggest rent before you buy.

Pros
=================
1) awesome puzzles
2) fun co-op
3) great humor and story

Cons
=================
1) not much reason to replay so I can't get myself to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

retardedly entertaining

posted by randomnade (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I have to start by saying this is the closest i've ever come to giving a game a 10, i'm saving that for a game that literally envelopes my life and thoughts no matter what i'm doing. but anyway, on to the review.

This game is just downright fun. The puzzles are challenging, even early in the game, don't feel like the first hour of gameplay will suck cuz you just run straight through each test chamber. The voice acting (as expected) is hilarious. You actually get kind of attached to the characters, they pop out of nowhere to let you know they're still alive randomly, like when you're flying through the air or something, it adds to the feeling that the facility is real and interactive. most games dialogue is rigid like a breadstick and predictable, this game is different and it keeps the story fresh. the puzzles do get pretty challending but i never felt hopeless about any of them. there are enough variables and things to use that you just have to stop and look around for the piece you haven't noticed. that being said its extremely gratifying to solve a puzzle you thought was impossible. the co-op is my favorite part of this game. my friend and i played 5 straight hours without running out of content, and using 4 portals to solve puzzles is even better. some of them require way more thinking than i would've thought. for example, one large room had a way for you to launch yourself onto the balcony but no matter what we always overshot it. after a bit of exploring we realized if we pick up a chair and launch ourselves we'll be heavier and won't over shoot it, the physics are real and intuitive thinking like that is necessary throughout. i can't emphasize enough how gratifying some of the completed chambers feel, you don't win points, upgrades, or anything flashy, its like the devs knew solving these would be enough. great fun and a definite buy, i haven't finished the campaign yet but i've heard its 8-10 hours, well worth it in combination with the coop in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

brilliant... pure brilliant

posted by The_Fat_Critic (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Thous of you that have not played "the orange box" which contained the 1st portal game you did not miss much. the game will fill you in on pretty much what happened. but what you will miss out is on portal 1's humor like the "cake is a lie" and the "companion cube" jokes. but still you get to see them on portal 2 which is a plus.

This game is really challenging and intriguing, that is what kept me at it i wanted to know whats going to happen. its not your typical saving the world game its more of a survival puzzle game. you have to use portals to get from point A to point B but that is not just it there are buttons that need to be pressed and stay pressed while you go to the other challenge. each time you complete a puzzle something happens.

THE GRAPHICS are surprisingly AMAZING this game surpasses any valve games on the market. and some games out there as well the ending was SO GREAT there was no firm rate drop at all it was instantly rendered. just PHENOMENAL !!!

The online is Hilarius and fun also frustrating at times but you can complete it with your friend which is less frustrating. also the ability to play with those who have it on PC is PHENOMENAL. this games online will never die. specially if they release DLC's

Game play i never felt anything wrong with it there is no need for a new patch in my opinion because i never got stuck i played it without any help and everything flows well. no freeze, no crashes. pure brilliant.
... though it was frustrating at times but its all good i enjoyed the puzzle.

OVERALL I GIVE IT A 10/10
i thought this game would be just like the 1st one but no this game had more feeling and emotion a lot of people did a good job making this game the voice acting fits in well and the graphics sync in well no delay.
it is a very FUN game and has a lot of comedy to it.

if you ever get the chance to buy this game you will not be disappointed because above all it comes with the PC version as well as the PS3 version. GOOD GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOTY (so far)

posted by Brainberry (HAYWARD, CA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Vivid Environments, Stunning Storytelling and an immense immersion of humour in what is the best of valves collection to date. Portal 2 has bumped the valve franchise up a notch with this co-op/single player First Person Puzzler (FPP), Its extremely enjoyable and lived up to the reputation as have all the Half-Life Series. Hopefully Episode three is tied up in with this story line somewhere. In a short Summation: "Fun" Valve has broken the tension between waiting for games to be made with this stunning work of art, yes, this game I would highly recommend to the gaming community. If you like the original Portal or Half-Life series, you will enjoy this TENFOLD! Have fun, Immerse yourselves.

First 10/10 for me since Uncharted 2

Do yourself a favor and hit the "Keep It" button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but too short for the purchase price.

posted by Gacknoops (CORALVILLE, IA) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved every thing about this game! The voice actors and writers were the best I've ever seen in a game. The game play was an exception for problem solving games. Many of the obstacles offer the exhilaration of of an action game. My only complaint is that it was too short for the money. I wish I had signed up for Gamefly before I spent the $60 on this game. If you are a problem solving gamer this shouldn't take you more than a few hours to finish.
Once again, great game...just too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best in yaers

posted by Jeemo67 (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i thought this was going to be a boring game but i was wrong

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Experience for all gamers

posted by ultigamer124 (WILLIAMSTON, NC) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you set your expectations for this game impossibly high (like I Did), Prepare for this game exceeding that. Unlike Portal 1, it has a storyline behind it. Sure there can be a little frustration during the game but it only encourages you to solve the problem because once you finnish one course, you cant wait to get to the next one. the graphics are 3 times better than the first game. There is more technology that you can manipulate with your portal gun, like the lasers in the first game. GLaDos will surprise you in many different ways in this game, but not just with tests. H-ll the whole game will surprise you. You will laugh and you will enjoy this game, even if your not into 1st person shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Portal 2: easier than the first...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Easier and same basic gameplay -- A puzzle orientation that involves you getting through the puzzle using a portal gun...
Its a lot more complex than it sounds. The game gives you a environment that has different types of challenges and limited resources to solve the puzzle. Taking a bit of patience--Portal2 is unlike any game out there.

The story is continuing where the first title left off ... You wake up inside a human incubator a `fun robotic, cheerfully urges you to complete the "tests".

Valve did an excellent job... The liquid physics are very creative and they balanced out the game well. The co-op is awesome, because it is giving you a second game to play -- The co-op has nothing to do with the main campaign/storymode.

I also liked how they gave you a backstory to the game as you play the single player campaign... You are constantly going through ruins of test labs that are decades, expired... Showing you how the Aperture Science came to be.

It was a lot easier then the first title -- The first title took me a while to beat because they really forced you to think through fast or you die. This time--they don't really through the end at you so fast, they allow you to sit look over everything and determine what you need to do.
Single player can be beaten in 6 hours and I wish they would just have made it more difficult and lengthy.
Co-op will require you to talk to the person, most the time... Just so they can follow you better.

I hope they create some type of competitive game with Portals in the future...

This is an extraordinary game... Definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was kindov sad when i beat portal because it only took me like 1 hour. But portal 2 slays that time because ther are so many puzzles and are very complicated that makes your brain go from COD to POL ( POL means PORTAL) Anyway im glad we still have creative thinkers like Valve, Epic Games, and Sony Japan. God bless smart games, god bless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yes.

posted by sthdown (MIDLAND, TX) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

CO-OP is astounding! i have nothing bad to say about Portal2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse