Buy Pokemon Black for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Black

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

2411 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Year's Pokemon Not A Repeat

posted by CitiRaven (GRAND CANYON, AZ) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

33 out of 36 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Since Pokemon Diamond/Pearl, Pokemon titles have fallen into a rut. Same graphics style, same basic music flow, same sprites that do nothing. The DS hardware brought a lot of potential to the series, and subsequent games didn't seem to meet that potential. Pokemon Black/White doesn't exactly shatter the formula, but it does make some much-needed improvements.

This time around, the Pokemon on the battlefield will move, and actually perform the attacks instead of just having little stars or lines flying on the screen. For the basic Tackle attack, for instance, the Pokemon performing the move will scrunch up, as if it were taking a three point stance, and then burst forward, launching itself toward its opponent.

The Professor isn't your standard aging bearded old man mentoring little kids on the first steps of their journey. It's a woman named Juniper, who seems to be a little more in-touch with the player and his or her two friends.

The visuals are impressive. Buildings, signs, trees and the like are represented in full 3D polygons, though the battlefield is mostly still 2D sprites. Seasons will change, as well. My game started in Autumn, and following my first steps through Route 1, the leaves on the trees were all red and brown, and leaves were even blowing across the screen.

All in all, this years' Pokemon is much more impressive than the last two offerings. Definitely worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon Black

posted by monkey55 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pokemon black is a great action pack adventure that keeps you interested and makes you want to keep going through the game. All of the Pokemon are new with a little surprise from other Pokemon games. Each new city is a new adventure that has great new Pokemon for you to catch. If you are looking to get any Pokemon game Pokemon black is the won to get. So if you get Pokemon white look forward to a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by dragnmastr99 (BELLEVUE, NE) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Pokemon Journey

posted by goblinninja2011 (COLUMBUS, MS) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't played pokemon all my life but I started at the perfect time...the first pokemon I played was Silver(Gameboy Color) I wasn't serious with it. But when Diamond and Pearl came out my best friend let me borrow his spare DS and Pearl and I actually played it...later he sold it and I was ticked off...Then I bought Platinum and I beat it in 23:00 hours(I take breaks while playing pokemon games)...then BLACK came out I got it on the first day it was ok with the new beginning and all but I missed my old team off Platinum so I had really played the mess out of the game I didn't even fight the Champion intil I transfered my team. I only liked a few Unova region pokemon only like 30 of em.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Wonderful Addition to the Series

posted by UnicornRebel99 (LEICESTER, NC) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I loved this game so much. The characters were great. The story was great. And though a lot of people said they didn't like them, the pokemon were great. One interesting thing I thought was that the girl player character looked like she could handle herself, I read this somewhere online and completely agree with it, all the other girls looked like they could be knocked over with a strong gust of wind, but this character looked like she could kick some butt. Another thing I loved was, N. I played as a boy, and being the very very very g-a-y geek I am, enjoyed the almost romance I had with N, especially the ending where N cries and you pretty much just hold him. It was so cute. ?? ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

POKEMON BLACK

posted by p2glm (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

POKEMON BLACK IS A ADVENTOURS GAME FOR KIDS WHO LOVE TO BE CHALLEGED AND WHO ARE WILLING NOT TO GIVE UP NO MATTER WHAT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Love This Game!!!

posted by sbgehrt1 (APPLETON, WI) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really liked battling the other trainers and I think the Elite 4 was a pretty good challenge in the game, so its not so easy to conquer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's the best Pokemon game I've ever played.

posted by predator23 (FOWLER, CA) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game I've got, I'm a huge fan of Pokemon for years. I have Pokemon: Diamond Version for DS, I'd totelly beat the game, for now, I am the Pokemon Champion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game i've EVER played

posted by sgfsergase (FORT COLLINS, CO) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I got Pokemon white version and it is wicked awesome. I already

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

thus far, its very good.

posted by jeepster42 (GLEN RIDGE, NJ) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i was at first skeptical about buying it, but man was it worth it. once you get into it you really get the same feel you'd expect from any other worthwile pokemon game (crystal is still the best). although some of the new pokemon are ridiculous, it is still fun to catch em all. i am not very far, but i can tell i will have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Start from a new beginning!

posted by Nevets01 (MADISON, TN) Apr 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pokemon black and white is the 21st century style of red and blue, staring over 150 brand new Pokemon. the graphics are simply amazing 3D buildings signs and trees are really cool. pokemon no longer do the 5 second movement thing, the pokemon now move rather than that 5 second dance they do. out of the new 150+ pokemon to choose from alot of them wernt very creative only a couple of cool ones to choose from. one thing i didnt like is there is no battle tower or battle frontier to me that makes the game less enjoyable not being able to take battle challenges like you could in the past, but there is online stuff you can do like dream world and random battle
overall this game is a buyer i would recommend this to anyone who likes the classic pokemon RPG experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best pokemon games yet

posted by foppy79 (LATROBE, PA) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

after the disappointment of 4th gen. this is fresh start. you won't see anything from the past until the after-game, but that's where they start throwing everything at you. for example, once you go downstairs from your house,you will run into (SPOILERS). The end of the game is epic, and the mood of the is always changing. pokemon can appear depending on the season that changes every month. the 3-d affects are good,but the pixel can get on your nerves. over all, a good pokemon game,but for the people how want good wi-fi, wait until march 30th for game sync,basicly the rest of the wi-fi connection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

close to being the best

posted by bigcheese3 (CAMANO ISLAND, WA) Mar 15, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the only problem I have with this game is that most the new pokemon are lacking the cool factor. you can really tell that there running out of ideas, but other than that this game has the potential to being the best with its 3d objects and new battle scenes. deffinately worth a buy if you like the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET THIS GAME!!!

posted by ssxfan (PARKER, CO) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best pokemon games out of all the games so rent it or buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best pokemon i have ever played!

posted by ggtggt (WEST PITTSTON, PA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GETS THIS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A new adventure

posted by gracefulkim (MEMPHIS, TN) May 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm pretty new to the Pokemon phenomenon. I started playing about two years ago. With the help of my Pokemon freak son I learned a lot very quick and finished Platinum in a month (two years ago). I was excited about HG/SS and purchased both. When Black/While came out I insisted on getting both as well. My finances were tight around that time so we purchased White and the book but decided to rent Black (and other games).

I played Black while my son played White. I'm a middle-aged Caucasian mother of four kids. I'm one who prefers to over level my Pokemon before attempting Gyms and found that I needed to advance past the gyms to find Pokemon strong enough to give me the experience I was looking for.I had problems leveling my Pokemon fast enough to continue through the game and gave up around the the city with the new awesome graphics. I quickly found other games that better held my attention.

While this generation was being talked about before it's US debut, I thought all the new features were too many and likely. I do like the dream world and interactive online features added to this generation. I found those experiences fulfilling. After experiencing them I see how much more it adds as well as the draw to maintain a daily flowing of the game. For people who have the time to spend on the extra activities daily (like my son) I can clearly see the positive 'addiction' aspect to this game.

I found the new experience points system interesting and more appropriate but at the same time more time consuming. That was one of the frustrating parts I found with this game, the main one that actually led to my quitting the game.

I still love Pokemon but I do not feel the connection to gen V as much I was hoping for. One day I'm sure I'll play all the way through White and get familiar with the latest additions to the Pokemon team. Even with the frustration, Kudo's to Game Freak for this release. It is well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a repeat of the other games

posted by Koopz (MONROE, NC) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I believe this a great game that is different than the other Pokemon games that have been made. The Pokemon are new, the gym leaders are interestingly enough part of your journey to reach the end. Not to spoil it, but a good number of them so far have been helpful to the main character in some way. I believe that in this game however, the character you do not choose will not be featured in the game because I am about halfway through this game and I have yet to see the girl with those weird hair things. I have yet to try any of the WiFi features because I go for the main storyline first, but I can tell this is not a short game like Heart Gold or Soul Silver, at least for me I'm not even on the 6th gym battle and I've accumulated about 12 hours on this game. The only problem is when you get to the second gym. Lenora was horribly overpowered against my Pokemon, then again he was supposed to be a Servine but I'm trying to get the moves early so I don't have to worry about those later on. Its interesting to have more than one rival and this rival actually be someone that is your childhood friend instead of someone like Gary, who was really annoying with the battle timing. One of your friends father wants them to come back home but then she convinces him that their okay on their journey. Really thats about how far I have gotten and it's been on a good note.

Tl;dr: Great game, story is okay, Pokemon are new, and to be honest I have had no problems with this so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by BennyBoy64 (WAXAHACHIE, TX) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

Honestly, it's good for like...8 year olds...but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not That Great

posted by Jat380 (UNIONTOWN, PA) Dec 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

I wanted to see what the hype was about so I decided to pick up a title, and I don't get it. The story was very basic and even the end was a let-down. It just ends. Yes, yes the plot does get wrapped up, but the end itself is abrupt.

Second is the graphics: It looks as if the Pokemon were designed for a smaller screen then scaled up, leaving them ugly with large sprites.

Third is animation: I guess to save memory they used very basic animation where the Pokemon are stretched and twisted to convey attacks and status effects. As well as the stock attacks used for all Pokemon which are sometimes misplaced. (Dragon Breath comes out where?)

Another thing is the special event Pokemon. If you want to 100% complete the game you can't after the events are over as there are one, or two Pokemon you will never, ever, ever be able to catch. That's just stupid. Why make a game that makes a big deal about collecting over 600 Pokemon and there are a few that you can't get?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ratings

posted by kjer56akakillr (WILLINGBORO, NJ) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

well as i was hoping to get the game. i got it but it was nice i had a level 50 pokemon but i cant save game. so i suggestd for gf like games for ps3 xbox 360 it dose not have a game card so thoese who think they get a good deal of pokemon it sucksss !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokemon! Gotta catch em all!

posted by supamario2 (LENEXA, KS) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The game was easy for me a little becuse ive play almost every pokemon game out there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

super crazy awesome pokemon game

posted by OceanKnows (CAZENOVIA, WI) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This was only the second pokemon game i ever played the first was red so i was like "what a huge difference" and it was there where TONS more pokemon. Almost everything was different! my fave starter is oshawott. My favorite pokemon is Deoxys. Unfortunately you can't get it so i settled for others, this is my team. Rayquaza, Groudon, Kyogre, Palkia, Victini, and Reshiram. the only pokemon i want is Deoxys. Overall the pokemon game is awesome it is much better than heart gold which i rented later. So now i enjoy playing it everyday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its good, but not great

posted by oakskelta (MC EWEN, TN) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It is not much different than any other pokemon game that is set up like the origonals. you pick one of three, you train, you battle, you explore. Just what you would expect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than Most!

posted by XboX_uZer (FRESNO, CA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I must say that this is the most recent Pokemon game I've played in a while. After Pokemon Pearl which often got either tiring and or repetitive. And overall Pokemon Black is the best out of all the Pokemon games I've played. The Best parts of this game are all of the different and unique places that your character gets to go to throughout the game. The graphics are fairly good minus how all the Pokemon in this game are pix elated, which left me thinking why would they do that when everything else was not. But some of the main reason I didn't give this game a 10 was first most people know that when choosing to buy either Pokemon Black or White is that Pokemon Black has the Black City and Pokemon White has the white forest. but what they don't tell you is that the black city is on a timer. which means if you don't beat the game quick (as I found out) The Black City which is said to be filled with tons of cool items for your Pokemon will be EMPTY. Yep, empty which totally sucked! and you can't get the people or stores back unless you use Wi-Fi connect to get people to go there. Also the Pokemon are pretty dang weak. Which gets really really frustrating as your trying to get through the game. Like my level 70 Emboar was getting it's butt kicked by a level 50 something! At first most of these new Pokemon seem like they had very little thought to them such as "Woobat" which is a total rip-off of "Zubat" and some of the pokemon like IGN mentions are just weird. but after you finish the game you tend to warm up to them. Overall this game is pretty good. Great graphics and locations, and lots of different items you can get/find to help your Pokemon throughout the game. Although weak Pokemon, so your constantly running to a medical center, unless you beat the game fast the Black City is empty, weird looking and sometimes "Just what where they thinking!?" Pokemon. Other than those reasons it's a good game that I've enjoyed playing:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the game

posted by ajam345 (PALM BAY, FL) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

the game was the worst game i ever played it wasas just ah bad just bad and when i tried to return it it keep on coming back why don't you get dragon ball ragging blaast 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse