Buy Oregon Trail for Wii
view large frontback

Oregon Trail

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS
GF Rating
4.5

262 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

A bad attempt to make education fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

It’s time to take the Oregon Trail that goes from – well one point to another. Rustle up your family, your wagon, and your oxen as you take on the dangers of the Wild West.
But this game takes the premise and dumbs it down a whole lot. All you really need to do is drive your wagon through a track, avoiding obstacles and picking up icons of horseshoes or wagon wheels.
Along the way you can talk with several other pioneers or Indians. You can trade with them, get gifts from them or nothing happens. You can also do some fishing, some shooting and some panning for gold.
But the imagination is lacking in this product. Driving through what seems like the same stretch of land between checkpoints on the trail got really boring. And I didn’t care for the nuggets of educational material sprinkled throughout the journey.
To make matters worse, the game I got doesn’t play fair. For no reason whatsoever, I get hit with setbacks like wagon fire, wolves attack or robbers attack – and I lose a lot of my resources because of those setbacks. But what’s really annoying is that my family members are dying off for some unknown reason which I can’t stop – and when I lose all of them, the journey’s over and I have to start the whole tedious trip all over again.
Oregon Trail tries to make history fun, but it fails because of the lack of innovation and creativity. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by tp96 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is very boring and takes a very long time to complete- about 3.5 hours. It leaves you asking "when will this be over?" It leaves you jumping for joy when you finally arrive at the destination-because then you know its over. Not a good buy at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would rather play the original PC game...

posted by jaidamoon (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was excited when I saw that the classic "Oregon Trail" game was coming to Wii.

"Oregon Trail" is known for being a well-loved, fairly simple yet extremely fun, "teaching" game. I was quite excited to introduce this game to my son. I played the classic version in school and I remember it with great fondness. Perhaps getting to play the game in school added to the enjoyment and perhaps it wouldn't be as fun played in a different setting, I don't know. I do know that the Wii version of this classic does not in any way live up to the original game.

My son & I both tried playing the game (& just to note, our gaming skills are vastly different - I'm 32, not much of a gamer, & enjoy more simple games while he's 9, a gaming fanatic & is quite skilled). This game frustrated both of us beyond the point of even wanting to try to figure it out. It was just NOT fun, I'm sorry. I don't mind simple, but the graphics/scenery were repetitive to a fault. The wagon was nearly impossible to steer correctly, especially if you wanted to go faster. Hunting, again, boring. My son's 'family' kept dying at a certain point for absolutely no reason whatsoever - multiple times! After that, he gave up. I didn't manage to get much further - while my 'family' didn't all die off as quickly, I just found the game highly unplayable. The 'learning about history' aspect of the game were totally lost due to the poor design - the text portions are far too many boxes to click through,and the interactions with others are repetitive and sometimes, just odd.

All in all, I am very disappointed by this seemingly thoughtlessly slapped together game. It's a definitely NOT something I would call a Wii version of the classic. It's a cheap attempt to cash in on the popularity of the classic title before people realize how absolutely awful it is. I don't mean for this to be a "spoiler" but a mere suggestion of "try before you buy" - this one is definitely a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Slow!

posted by italianmama (SEQUIM, WA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game, is so very slow! if you have the time and wait patiently then you might like this. but, it's way to slow for my family. ages hubs 40 me 16 kids 16,12,6,5,4.

Good luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dont blaze the trail

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

i had rented this game and found out all this game was was an updated version of the old floppy disk game that I played back in elementary school. This games graphics are ok nothing spectacler. The gameplay is really boring just driving your wagon and reading alot of boring facts about the oregon trail. The controls are easy to use shake the wii remote to start your wagon and drive with the nunchuck. Shooting controls are simple too just point the wii remote at the screen and press b to shoot. I would not recommend this game unless you want a boring histroy lesson.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A modern update of Oregon Trail. No more, no less.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

Plain and simple, this plays the way you would think a modern iteration of the old Apple IIe game played. You won't find eye-popping graphics or sound here, but if you really liked Oregon Trail of old, you'll probably enjoy this version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good For Nostalgia's Sake

posted by AubittheHobbit (GRANTS PASS, OR) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I was excited to get this game as I am easily amused, especially something from my childhood days. However I don't think they did a very good job of updating it. Your control over steering the wagon is wonky at best. You get used to it after a time, but there seems to be a lot more you should be able to do. Rent for some memories, but not if you expect it to be updates to perfection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST HAVE

posted by JUNKIES (WALDORF, MD) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

This game takes me back to when I was young playing this game in school it still hold up but now it's better so do your self a favor buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

didn't like the game

posted by princesspinky (CARBONDALE, IL) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

game was not interesting enough

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »