Buy Ninja Gaiden 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Ninja Gaiden 3

Buy

Used: $12.99

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.6

2168 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worst NG on the Xbox

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Mar 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

36 out of 39 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Even dating back to the NES, when I think of Ninja Gaiden, I mainly think of two things: difficulty and gore. I think of frustration, boss battles, and more importantly as of recent...I think of ripping limbs off of every sucker who tries to pull a sword or gun at me. NOT ANYMORE. Limb cutting has been removed, and the game has gotten worse. More limb slicing = better game. Ok, I've made my point with limb slicing, but until the guy is just a torso on the ground how am I supposed to know he's dead? I'll slice this dude up with 40 swings and spray 100 gallons of blood out, but he's still getting back up.

NG3 also has an easy mode and ability to click RS to see your current path. Why dumb it down? Look at Dark Souls and its success at being the reason why hundreds of controllers are broken in a dumpster.

Expect way too many quick time button commands to press during boss battles and scenes. Expect lots of blood and cool combos, and guys that can withstand being sliced with a katana 50 times. But don't expect to see your enemy's head fly off with a backslice. OH wait, that's right ... because you can't cut limbs off anymore.

They added online mode too. But oh wait... you need an online pass. What a surprise. I didn't know EA was publishing this one. Because those greedos slap one of those filthy online passes on everything they touch now. If you want access to clan battles and other online modes you'll need to fork over $12 in MSP, but IT'S NOT WORTH BUYING TRUST ME.

I hate to report that this is the worst Ninja Gaiden of the newer generations. I didn't like the changes to the camera angles, or the fact that I can no longer wield nasty scythes, axes, etc.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ninja Gaiden Craptacular Adventure.

posted by Icefoxvi (LARAMIE, WY) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Normally I wouldn’t give a game as bland and generic as this even the slightest attention beyond a poor rating, but the fact that Team Ninja managed to take one of my favorite franchises and so utterly destroy it in a single blow calls for my immediate attention.
Ninja Gaiden 1 was hailed as one of the most challenging games for the 360 among my peers- borderline impossible. The sequel managed to take all the good from the original and balance it with new material, correcting some of the more annoying mechanics and making an extremely well developed and balanced game that was fun and engaging. 3 is the most cowardly attempt to make NG appeal to the lowest, most generalized, slack-jawed, talentless and bland denominator possible.
What once required split second timing and coordination has been distilled into a button masher with quicktime events. you can literally go through the whole game just pushing X repeatedly.
I don't even have enough space to go into the narrative with any depth, but suffice to say that it is uninspired and their pathetic attempts to make the plot twisty and unpredictable end up boiling down into a soup that cant decide if its Cajun gumbo or creamy mushroom. They even wasted a great opportunity when unmasking Ryu. Opposed to waiting till the climax to show his face and treating us to a great and epic moment when he reveals himself, he just kinda doesn’t have a mask on at some point and is all like, "oh, hello there. Im Ryu: a godlike, ninja, son-of-a-dragon and i look like a stereotypical effeminate teenage angsty boy".
If you don't mind your five-year-old witnessing bloody katana murder, they really might enjoy this game and you are a bad parent. Otherwise, don’t play this- and if you see a member of Team-Ninja approach them with a rolled up magazine and paddle them on the butt for peeing all over this franchise.

Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing if compared to the other 2

posted by dudethatsrad (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ninja Gaiden 3, what to say? This game was a HUGE disappointment, at least compared to the other 2 games. I didn't even finish the second game, and the first game I finished, but I didn't have the time or a paitence to finish the 2nd game. This game should not have a Ninja Gaiden label on it. If you think about this game and you play it without the last 2 games in mind, its decent. It has a few problems with it.

Camera Angles:
The camera has alway been bad, in my opinion, in Ninja Gaiden, but this one was worse. It was slowing moving, and you couldn't adjust fast enought for the many many enemies that you face. It's almost like Dante's Inferno, but 10X worse. The game mechanics don't match up with the camera angles.

Fighting:
This game takes a new form of to many enemies. I get that the game is suppsoed to be hard, but the enemies just never ever ever stop, and I mean it. Read every other review, and they will all say the same thing. No matter how many times you kill an enemy, there are always 3 -4 more hiding and waiting for you. Also, the blood never seems to end. No matter how many times you hit an enemy, you cant seem to kill them at all.......ever. I counted one time, it was a normal enemy and it took me 24 hits to kill a normal enemy. I'm my opinion, it should have either been less hits to kill but more enemies, or less enemies and more hits to kill. But in this game, you get the best, or the worse, of both worlds.

Weapons:
In Ninja Gaiden, you've always been able to use awesome weapons, my favorite was the Falcon Claws......yet another dissapointment, you just get the Katana.........how boring.

Overall:
This game was bad, really bad....at least compared to the other 2 Ninja Gaiden games, but as it's own game, it was a good beta for more to come. I hope the new CEO of Ninja Games listen's to all of us next game, because they will lose another fan if a game like that comes out again.

Gamtertag:
I SiK SOLDIER
Daniel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

don't bother

posted by skelecopter (MURRYSVILLE, PA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I literally changed the channel and continued tapping x, i changed back and the wave of enemies was dead and my health was full. This game is the opposite of ninja gaiden.

No combos, no challenge (to the point of it being absurdly boring) there's no point in playing it. I don't understand how you can ruin such a good formula. It was so simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Off with team ninja head

posted by shidowdawg (PORTAGE, IN) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I would have loved if they kelp what made NG1 and2 better mainly NG2 (decapitation, lots of blood and cool finishers ) this game look like NG but don't feel much like it much more like NG lite with zero calories, I have not touched the game in 3 days im done better luck next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lack of Vision

posted by Taylon (WILLITS, CA) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2004

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I never post reviews. Ninja Gaiden's lack of vision changed that.
The game has been so disrespected it wouldnt even have worked as a game if it was entering consoles as Ninja Gaiden 1.

Losing the man who created this Franchise really hurt TECMO. (thats an understatement)

The game is basically entering a small area to fight a large group of enemies button smashing x&y waiting for your supermove meter to fill up to destroy all enemies on screen & kill a few more stragglers... enter a QTE cutscene rinse & repeat until fight a mediocre boss. Beyond button mashing, the problem that persists is that you have different types of enemies shooting at you with guns.. some throwing ninpo at you & others even shooting rockets. Your constantly 100% fighting dashing like a mad man HOPING not to get hit (which you will 1000's of times) by those weapons which stun you in your tracks. Also enemies magically grab you & do a devasting move that will take 1/3 or 1/2 your life. SO your just in a flux of hope & luck to make it through most battles dodging the grabs or thrown weapons.

Story is random uninteresting Jappp weird spazzo. Too be expected.

Graphics are extremely bland except for Character models. Sound is Flat, Harsh, & annoying.

I never quit a game. My gamerscore is well over 250,000 legit & i constantly commit to half gamerscore on anygame i play. but this Game is Annoying Despicable waste of Ninja Honor & has become one of the top 10 worst games of alltime in my books. Plus they dissrespect you more by asking you to pay $10 for half4$$ multiplayer!! BUMMER on all levels ;,[ Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is horrible

posted by matrich99 (Fargo, ND) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game was a real letdown. Let me begin by saying how could they release such a terrible title under the Ninja Gaiden name
If you are looking for the creativity, graphics, and gameplay you have come to expect from this franchise you will be dissapointed
This game is nothing but a button smashing fest, hit x kill a guy hit x again zip across the screen and kill another one. The combo system is completely gone from earlier games combos are now x and Y there is not weapon selection in this game you get your sword, shurikens, and an explosive bow The gameplay is action packed but all of the things you would expect in a Ninja gaiden title are missing. I couldn't even play through the whole game it was so bad. Less than 2 hours and back to Gamefly it went. If you are looking for a button masher this is the game for you but if you want an in depth experience and play Ninja gaiden as it should be play Ninja gaiden Black and Ninja gaiden 2 again. By all means if you are a hardcore Ninja gaiden fan try this game but don't be surprised by how dissappointed you would be with it. This may be a rental at best but there are numerous better games out there that deserve more attention than this terrible sequal

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nostalgia be damned

posted by sirorange87 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only reason this game gets any points at all is for nostalgia for me. When you push start on the main title screen and the entire menu is sideways, that's a really good foreshadow for the rest of the game. The story is confusing to say the least, there are multiple times where you scratch your head wondering why you were betrayed or who is on what side for what reason. But nobody really cares about story in a hack and slash game such as this, all we want is mindless, satisfying combat and that is where this game truly suffers. You never get any kind of customization in weapons. It's bow or katana the entire time, no claws or scythe or any variation whatsoever. The ninja moves feel a little clunky, there were a few times while doing the climb it just felt awkward.

But the biggest complaint is the games length. No exaggeration given when I say that I got to the end of the game in just 4 hours. That is just pathetic. I'm not one to bandwagon games and judge them as good or bad based on others reviews on gamefly or other sites, I gave this game a genuine shot without comparing it to the other titles in the series. But how could you label this as a ninja gaiden game when everything suffers so much? Theres even a button to push to tell you where to go! It waters down every aspect of the game I assume to appeal to more people but all it does is disappoint all the way around. My personal recommendation is do not play this game, however, if you're feeling courageous at least do yourself a favor and rent this game not buy. It truly is terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short Review 7.2/10

posted by Atreyu720 (BENTONVILLE, AR) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ninja Gaiden 3 wasn't as good as the last two if you have played the last two it seemed in the story mode lot less content in it and no new weapons and no new strikes or slices the game could of been better but got repetitive killing the same guys over and over again you find your self why I am playing this game but the story was okay but got very dry close to then ending camera angles were not that great either but the game still could hold up and deserves a 7.2 the online isn't to bad but like I said gets very repetitive and find your self doing the same thing the game is fun for a awhile but recommend not buying and just renting you can beat it in 8 hours so just a little fun for 4 hours then slowly get bored of the repetitiveness but thanks for reading hope I helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

How did they ruin this series!?

posted by hrod31 (SUFFERN, NY) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What a joke of a game. Biggest disappointment of 2012. Only reason why I tolerated it because I am a fan of the series. I had high hopes for this game and team ninja crushed it for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dissapointing

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

After NG 1 and 2 i kinda had high hopes for 3.....call me VERY disapointed. The game feels more like God of War now but in a bad camera,bad graphics and iffy control way. Save yourself the trouble and dont bother with this game.

Unless you like to play bad games and just experience to say "yeah, it is terrible"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fast-paced QTE/Stealth Sequel to Ninja Gaiden

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Mar 19, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Team Ninja brings us the 3rd Installment to the Ninja Gaiden Series. The Series that started on the NES has brought many of us Ninja Fans come together. Team Ninjas high-energy action games have never been in particularly heavy on Story but rather have been focused on smoothly controlling, brutal action. However, they have never been about contextual quick-time events & stealth but Ninja Gaiden 3 is bringing both of those mechanics to the series. As an added feature, Team Ninja has also added Multiplayer to the game. Gameplay is fast-paced but also a little farfetched. Camera Control has improved since Ninja Gaiden 2. Art Design is a little blurry at times with the blood & gore on but its still pretty good. Controls can be difficult at times but will leave you button-mashing through the QTE's. Multiplayer is fun but can get a little boring at times it also requires an Online Pass for those that dont know or who dont like Online passes. This game feels more like a rent but if your a fan of the series then this is a buy or a borrow. Ninja Gaiden has come along way since its NES Debut but all in all this Sequel is a mediocre/fair game. Ninja Gaiden 3 gets a 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ruined

posted by rgeiger28 (BREWERTON, NY) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This ruined everything good about ninja gaiden

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ninja Gaiden Fack No.

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game isn't ninja gaiden 3 it's a reject from people who don't make ninja gaiden games and never should try again terrible game stopped playing after 10 min. Back into the mailbox for this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So awesome you can do it with one finger!!!!

posted by gamererer (ANDERSON, IN) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Seriously, this game could literally be completed if you laid your controller down and only used one finger! So, ignoring that the game is called "Ninja Gaiden" and just comparing it to other run of the mill hack and slash games, it is still incredibly boring...lame, repetitive, tedious, yadda yadda yadda. This game should definitely not be titled Ninja Gaiden, it is anything but. I was incredibly disappointed with NG3, I gave it three chances three nights in a row. But I just couldn't do it...I tried, I gave it it's fair chance, but there was just nothing there. No substance at all, not enough of a plot/story to get me to suffer through just to see what happens. Nothing! You just smash the heck out of one button and through in the occasional quick time event. Oh and during combat, using the analog to move your nonja actually hinders your button smashing! So I give it a two, only because it atleast has good graphics, otherwise it would be one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible failure

posted by sm0kinh0t (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

only 1 weapon? really? all the cutscenes mixed in are very annoying. totally predictable and playing a 2nd playthrough is painful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sad Sequel

posted by Definingfactor (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros: Good Graphics
Cons: Everything else

Controls aren't as responsive as previous NGs, story incoherent and very awkward with groan inducing moments, enemies constantly do grabs and ultimate moves to the point that you will be bombarded by 4 in a row at once (with the controls not helping) making this frustrating quickly). Owning the recent Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus for Vita and comparing the two, this game is a complete set back for the series. Where as Plus has multiple weapons and enhancements to customize the way you play, NG3 has one. Only katanna swords to play with and all the swords have the same combos with different swords only extending existing combos. Only one magic art to utilize and when you use the Ultimate Technique, you end up taking out enough enemies where your it recharges and you use it again to cheese through the rest of the fight. Either way, you end up repeating yourself time and time again to the point where you just want the game to end because it feels like you have seen it all. (speaking of which, combos are based off of previous games which have decapitations so this game recycled the combos, but axed the limbs and heads coming off)

While it was a good idea to get to know the man behind the mask, Ryu, I feel they could have kept this entire game within the Japanese Village he hails from and achieved a much better version of a more personal story for the main character. While it is nice visually for some of the set pieces, you often wonder why you are in the desert, artic, jungle, or hopping from attack ship to attack ship.

Overall don't play it unless you are a diehard action fan/series fan, but if you do, well gamefly exists for games like these so you don't feel such bad buyers remorse. 1.5 rounded up to 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ryu is rolling over in his grave

posted by call_me_Zo (NORTH HAVEN, CT) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is for hardcore fans of the series or children who enjoy prince of persia...the 3rd offering from team ninja is extremely dumbed down, the game play and controls seem similar, but have been greatly simplified. the graphics r really nice and the story is average but that is all that remains to be desired, the game itself leaves a bad taste in your mouth and an Online Pass is defiantly required to use any online content, the funny part is this game woun't even sell good and they think they should be making some kind of residuals off of used sales, what a joke this game turned out to be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what happened?

posted by cruzinho (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

they loss the director or producer that worked on 1 and 2 , and the 3rd one went downhill , first let me say this the game by itsell without comparing it to 1 or 2 its an ok game , is not great but for sure is not the worst game , now comparing it to 1 and 2 is really bad , is like they took the elements which made 1 and 2 great games and put some stuff that they thought were better but fail , one more thing if they made the hits with the sword feels like hard (sorry dont now how to explain it ) at least then have the sword cut limbs off ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

An insult to ninja gaiden

posted by Dshank (MURRIETA, CA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No alternate weapons, dulled down fighting system, Dumb arm thing, they guilt trip ryu for killing so many villians, how dare they show ryu's face, NO big boobed girl, horrible story, do everyone in the world a favor and buy this game to destroy it so that theres one less copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dissapointing

posted by bcp2012 (BURLINGTON, NC) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really am glad i decided to rent this. this game is horrible i really had high hopes for ever since i beat the 2nd oe. how does he only have one weapon through out the whole game but in the demo he has 3. i recomend that none buy / rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

big waste of time

posted by lordofdeath1986 (WEST MILTON, OH) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

worst game ever i feel stupider after playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What Happened?????

posted by The_Exilled2232 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First and formost let me say this I loved Ninja Gaiden 1 and 2 on the next gen consoles (never played the NES Originals) it seems that they took everything that was great about those 2 games and all but removed them from this game. The Camera angles are disastrous as you move from enemy to enemy. Apparently they also forgot the most important aspect of a action game which is multiple weapons and OFC an upgrade system. For fans of the series you will be very disappointed in this title try it for yourself but it is not worth buying at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DONT BUY RENT

posted by archangel0 (SOUTH BEND, IN) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the Ninja Gaiden series. Played the first two and loved them. The first one was by far the best.
Ninja Gaiden 3 is nothing like the other games in the series. Quick time events, horrible voice acting, bad story. They even showed Ryu's face.

I have played about 45 mins and will continue to beat the game but its more for the easy achievements and I am a loyal NG fan.

Pros:
Cool moves
Lots of blood and gore
Easy Achievments

Cons:
Horrible story
Quick time events
Bad graphics
Slow frame rate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST NINJA GAME EVER!

posted by deadlyhollow (LEOMINSTER, MA) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best game out there! so people if you haven't played this game and are really curious, im telling you guys RENT IT!!! it will be worth your time, it was worth mine. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse