Buy Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge for Wii U
view large frontback

Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.0

214 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wii U Edition

posted by JokersApprentis (TROY, AL) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sticking to its roots, this game even on its normal difficulty can be challenging on the Nintendo Wii U. The gamepad integration is nice, but not groundbreaking from what I've played. It plays alot like Ninja Gaiden II which I loved, but just feels a little different on a lot bigger contoller! I didn't try the Xbox 360 version because of the terrible ratings, but this port is worth giving a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor controls, poor gameplay, lots of blood

posted by skyzyx (SANTA CLARA, CA) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for something with excessive blood loss, Look no further than this game. If you're looking for a game that's fun to play, with good controls, look elsewhere. I more-or-less enjoyed Ninja Gaiden Sigma for PS3, but this one had me bored within the hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kill bad guys, lather, rinse , repeat

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In the next installment of games that came out for the other system months ago, we get Ninja Gaiden 3 (the WiiU version has added the subtitle Razor’s Edge.)
Here, you play as a ninja out to save the world – and a cute little girl – from destruction from a vast army of … well, I haven’t quite figured out what the bad guys are.
Over ten stages (days), you go from point A to point B and kill everyone that gets in your way. And there’s a whole lot of creatures that get in your way. Every level ends with one or more boss battles.
This game feels more like button mashing game, like a Dynasty Warriors, rather than a stealth ninja type game. But this game emphasizes the block more, which gives more of a challenge to players looking for it.
But for some of us, it may get too tough – which is a good reason why they gave a Medium difficulty setting (should be called Easy – you can’t die in a fight against the massive army of enemies). Without that mode, I wouldn’t have gotten past the first stage boss.
But the biggest problem I have with this game is the level design. It feels like a run on sentence: you kill bad guys, more bad guys show up, you kill those bad guys, more bad guys show up, you kill those…
After a few levels, I was just wondering just when the final boss was going to show up so I can finish that level. It will take about eight hours to get through the story mode – about the average for games nowadays.
After that, you can take on challenges by yourself (or with another player online); challenges which are just the main levels minus the cut scenes and storyline. It’s okay, but not great.
Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge gives a lot of great simple button mashing fun, but it gets too repetitive too quickly for me to hand out money for. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Only for the bold and brave

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's nothing more hardcore than playing NG3. The NG series has proven to be one of if not the hardest game series ever. This game is a true test of your focus and willingness to push your limits. As much I felt like breaking the controller from the difficulty of the game, I wanted to win more. This game's graphics are as expected from a NG game. The ability to play with others besides just Hayabusa was a plus. The controls are difficult and the gameplay is hectic. This game can be hard even when playing on easy. It uses the gamepad to show moves, easily upgrade and switch abilities and weapons. If you're new to the series, be ready to mayhem right from the opening. The checkpoints are reasonably placed and that comes in handy when you fight bosses who are ridiculous and hard to beat. With it all being said, I gave this a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This version is way better than the 360 & PS3

posted by supergayguy (MEMPHIS, TN) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Team Ninja realized they ruined Ninja Gaiden 3 for the ps3 and 360. I played the ps3 version and was disgusted! Ninja Gaiden Razors Edge fixes MOSTLY everything that was wrong with the previous version. While its still not better than Ninja Gaiden 2, its up there. With the original creator gone, its never going to be the same....but Razors Edge kicks some serious butt. What I hate mostly about Razors edge is the weak story and the idea of Ryu having an identity. Nobody cares what he looks like, and his personal background much. Hes a NINJA KILLER THAT KICKS BUTT....This story they gave him just waters him down. Now hes walking around taking orders from some cia group, talking through a headset??? NO WAY. Cmon dudes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Be a Ninja and Destroy Your Foes Samurai Style

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I love ninjas, and I will not lie I am actually taking lessons in the arts of the ninja where I live from a real ninja, far fetched sounding I know but true none the less. Anyway, as someone who loves beat em ups and ninjas and wanted to expand my wii u game collection, I definately made sure it was on my Q. I got it and tried it out, while a button masher that only fans of such could enjoy, it does have some technique to it, some button combinations required and precise timing, so that's something positive. The graphics are gorgeous, something I don't focus on, not like the hardcore gamers of the PS3/PS4 or the Xbox 360/One, but I do have an appreciation for it. It also includes Ayane from the fighting game Dead or Alive as a playable character, and as a fan of fighting games including Dead or Alive I find that awesome. Like all previous Ninja Gaiden games by Team Ninja, this game is quite bloody, this updated version also has the gore aspect of Ninja Gaiden 2, according to what I've read as this is the first modern Ninja Gaiden I've played. The fighting seems more samurai style than what a ninja would do, as samurai hacked down their enemies in the open while ninja tried to keep a low profile with espionage and less mess. For you heartless/soulless blood and gore fans this is definitely a good buy for you. I personally fear of being desensitized and not care about death or whatnot, but at least the story itself is not heartless. I will not give away the story as that is your job. Let me just say that it is a pretty enjoyable game and I do recommend it, but not too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OK GAME

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

IT'S AN OK GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointment for such an awesome franchise

posted by VenturaGamer (TREMONTON, UT) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I didn't really feel as connected to the New Ninja Gaiden. The game is basically a rapid burst of pressing the X button to defeat enemies. In the first hour I played it, I already felt like they had gone a little too far with all of the gore. And that's coming from someone who constantly plays mortal combat. The graphics were pretty good, and it had a a really good set-up, but I felt as if I were just continually button mashing, to pass a group of enemies. I felt that they could've really made this game, an awesome starter for the Wii U, if they would've put in some extra effort, seeing that this is a new console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NG 3 Razor's Edge

posted by jinmishima83 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

First there was a problem with the first copy that Gamefly sent me. But they rushed me out another copy, and last night me and my son finally sat down played it and OMG. I own Ng 3 on Ps3 and why did they do that, Tecmo? Why? I love Razor' Edge great improvement for real. And great customer service Game Fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't play to long

posted by Seda (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Myself, friends and kids tried this game out and it didn't really take to us. We all got to about the same point in the game and didn't enjoy it enough to continue. I can't say anything is wrong with the game. Graphics are sharp, moves are creative but the camera angles were a bit funky at times. It is worth trying but didn't hold my attention, I will try it again after i've exhausted the other titles here on gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why this is the TRUE Ninja Gaiden 3

posted by UncleShal (DAYTON, OH) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Let me just start out saying this game is not for kids u have been warned. Now onto the review. This game is just purly awesome & is was NG3 should have been on the PS3 & 360. The new features add to this game are you now have multiple weapons to choose from with Ryu & also there are 2 add story mission where u get to play as Ayane. Also add is dismemberment & alot of blood & gore which is shocking for some people for a Nintendo game that is published by them. Also the difficulty is increase by 10 then the original NG3. Also there is alot of swearing in this game & several times the use of the F word which is once again a shocker coming from a game published by the big N. Also coming soon to the game is free DLC with Momji & my favorite DOA character Kasumi. This is pretty much Ninja Gaiden 3 Sigma but instead published for Nintendo instead of Sony & named Razor's edge instead of sigma. Way to go Nintendo for pulling something Sony would usually pull over people. Hope to see more enhanced ports like this in the future from Nintendo all in all this is a must have in your Wii U starting collection. Thanks for reading & G-d bless you guys & Merry Christmas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than xbox & ps3 version

posted by tito2x (RICHFIELD, OH) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

i had this game on ps3 and it was one of the worst ninja gadien games i have ever played. the wii u version is much bloodier and the controls are better than the other 2 versions. i have never owned the xbox version but i hear the ps3 and xbox versions are the same. the wii u version is better, and the gamepad takes a bit of getting used to. great hack and slash for the wii u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »