Buy New Super Mario Bros. Wii for Wii
view large frontback

New Super Mario Bros. Wii

Buy

New: $29.99

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

16691 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't rent unless you want to keep!

posted by doitkid (ARLINGTON, VA) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

71 out of 76 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game has been entirely under rated by all the reviewers, and deserves, in my opinion, no less than a 9.5/10. The reasons for its being knocked down have been because A. no online play, B. people's tendency to kill their teammates, and C. that it doesn't do anything new.

1. Online play is over rated, and when a game like this comes along and lets 4 people play co-op together in the same room it makes me realize how sad it is that most developers are going online only with their co-op.

2. It's mario with 4 people, and this game delivers fully on that promise. I have yet to play this game single player, and to be honest I would be a little afraid to, given the difficulty I've had playing with 2-4 other people.

The merits of this game deserve far more credit than they have gotten, while most reviewers evenly weight their scores based off of the various factors of graphics, sound, funfactor, gameplay, etc. Funfactor is the only thing though that really matters, if you have that then you're set.

I decided to keep this game about 30 minutes after I started playing it, because this game makes the experience of playing it fun, which increases the replayability. As opposed to many other games that just put in a billion unlockables just as busy work to keep you occupied once you've finished the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BEST GAME YOU WILL EVER PLAY IN YOUR LIFE!!!!!!!!!

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It seems that when Nintendo first announced New Super Mario Bros. Wii, they had two main goals. To make a game that pleases hardcore Mario fans, and to make a Mario game that you can sit down and play with your family and friends. New Super Mario Bros. Wii definitely succeeds in the first part. Though one could say the Super Guide Mode dummed it down, but first of all it's very helpful to beginners, and second it's completely optional. And even with that, the game is really HARD! New Super Mario Bros. Wii is basically everything that makes the classic 2-D Mario games good crammed into one game. There's the basic elements from the original game, there's the picking up and throwing element from Super Mario Bros. 2, the Toad Houses from Super Mario Bros. 3, the world maps from Super Mario Bros. 3 and Super Mario World, Yoshi from Super Mario World, and the wall jumps and ground pounds from Super Mario 64, and of course there's the new power ups. New Super Mario Bros. Wii features the Propeller Mushroom which sends Mario into the air with a shake of the Wii remote, the Ice Flower which allows Mario to shoot ice balls which he can use to freeze enemies and objects, and the Penguin suit which allows Mario to shoot ice balls as well as perform a belly slide and swim more easily. And of course there's the Koopalings, who we haven't seen seen Super Mario World. The only thing I would've liked to see is sub marine and airplane levels from Super Mario Land. My only main problem is the co-op, it's more frustrating and stressful than fun with four players, and it's so hard not to accidentally work against your teammates rather than with them. It's fun to work competitively in Free For All or Coin Battle, but even those aren't as fun as the main story mode. But all in all, I can honestly say that New Super Mario Bros. Wii is the best game for the Wii, the best Mario game, and my favorite game of all time. You should totally buy New Super Mario Bros. Wii, it's worth every penny.=D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A blast from the past

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Nov 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

83 out of 94 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Everything that made the original Super Mario Bros 1 and 3 great is back except much better. Up to 4 people can play at once which makes it great to play with a group of friends. Some of the levels can get difficult so it makes for an excellent single player game as well. The game does not have any online connection which may be a minus for some but I feel it was not necessary. Great for everybody in the family. If you are a fan of the old 2d mario games you will love this game. If you want a game to play as a family or group of friends, you will love this game. I really can't think of anybody who wouldn't enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Mario Bros Wii is Great

posted by papabear76 (WOODRUFF, SC) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is and awsome game. Even tho it is a side scroller it has great graphics and gameplay. I know most people hear Mario and they think easy game but it is actually challenging. Loved seeing all the old characters revamped and updated. Their were characters I havn't seen since SMB 3 days. In fact this game reminded me of SMB 3 with the airship and Kooplings. My kids love it also. A must rent and must have. 2 thumbs up and 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I feel like a kid again!

posted by BiZZaRGirl (LANGHORNE, PA) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just pop'd this game in and I must say. Its a blast from the past! Reminds me when I was younger playing Super Mario Bros 3 :) I can't wait to play more! Considering buying. Having alot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic

posted by dewboy (ATLANTA, TX) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We loved this game it plays like the classic Mario games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Loved It!!

posted by Mario4Ever (RISON, AR) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished beating this game and I must say it was the most fun I've had playing a game in quite some time. It was like they combined all the best parts of past Mario games (especially SMB3), and modernized it to the Wii. The levels were challenging, but not too hard. The different Koopas were all very unique and funny. And best of all, you had DANCING GOOMBAS AND KOOPA TROOPAS!! This is a must-have, especially for someone who grew up playing Mario on whatever system Nintendo came out with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New Super Mario Brothers Wii

posted by jtp42448 (NEWNAN, GA) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I went to walmart one day, saw this game, and bought it. It was one of the best purchases of my life. Within the first day I beat world one. World two is a little bit harder. If you like Mario and Luigi I suggest you rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Got the game on the 13th, was well worth the money

posted by iKnowGames (DALY CITY, CA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

64 out of 76 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Pro:Great game, tons of fun, fun for everyone.
Con:Bosses are too easy.

Game is just simply awesome, it brings you back to the roots of mario as a casual gamer, you'll have fun with this. As a hardcore gamer, you'll look at this game and love, wanna know why? All hardcore gamers started with Mario. That's a no brainer. This is a great game, the co-op is awesome with no lag. Best wii game of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's -A Me Nostoliga Mario

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This what makes me glad I kept my Wii and why I loved nintendo all along. I loved mario when I was a kid and this is just classic 2-D mario. No 3D mario, No collecting eight coins to open up another world, just go to world 1-1 to the castle beat a bower kin and move on. This is kind of Mario 1, 3 and Super Mario World combined. You have the classic Mario 1 Power ups, Mario three and Four esque memorbolia (The Koopa Kids, and Yoshi). Mario can fly once again but instead of a cape or racoon tail you have a beany propeller and now ice flowers that freeze your enimies or fire flower that burns them to a crisp. Yoshi is great because he can hover for 1.5 seconds. The Koopa Troopers are back and you can jump on them pick up their shells and use as a weapon and they dance to the background music from time to time which is kinda cute in a Mario type of way. Straight from mario three you have the mushroom houses to pick out prizes (Extra Power Ups) that you can save in the main menu and use anytime. All and All this game is a must own basically for the fact that this is a classic mario game, you just take the Wii remote hold it sideways and run jump, power up, ride Yoshi, beat a Koopa Child and repeat. I just don't why they keep pushing Bowser Jr. so much cannot get into him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Made for Multi-Player

posted by bryangarvin (AVON LAKE, OH) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have friends who you play with, then this game is awful. But, if you plan on going through it in single player mode, the experience is a lot worse. Had a blast with friends. It was easier (and more satisfying) to get achievements with other people, but as soon as I tried to do things myself, a lot were near impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

new super mario bros wii

posted by swiftnightstar (LAKE WALES, FL) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This didn't work!

posted by GameSlayer98 (CHEHALIS, WA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game you sent to me would not be read by my wii system!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Looks okay but cant play.

posted by xCocoabearx (MADRAS, OR) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Gamefly sent me a game that doesnt work so what good is it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

We Loved it!

posted by MerBear (SPRINGDALE, AR) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Truly a blast from the past. All the levels resemble the originals but with a modern twist. The multi-player option was fun but a tad difficult at some points. It's a nice extra that you can "bubble" one player when it gets tough. (by pressing the A button with the player you want to bubble) The whole family enjoyed it. Myself 27, my husband 34, my sons 11, 9, 4 and my daughter 3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Itsa me New super mario brosa Wii!

posted by waluigi (CENTERPORT, NY) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Back to the old gaming board. New Super Mario Bros Wii is a mix of all the old sidescrollers, Super Mario Bros, Super Mario Bros 2, Super Mario Bros 3, and Super Mario World. Well as you probably guesses, its the same old story, Bowser kiddnapps Princess Peach and he sends out his kids to do away with the bros. Same old story, Again. This will be the koopalings ( The original 7) first 3D adventure so if the look a little diffrent, thats why. And with new multi-player additions, where ever you are we will be playing together, so lets say it together. HERE WE GO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only 1 complaint

posted by nuclearda (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Amazing family fun addictive me and my wife haven't played a game this fun with our family in well a looong time... my ONLY complaint is

I wish you could turn off character collision for when the young ones are playing cause that is fun but it adds a whole new level of toughness when doing levels with moving floating rotating platforms in the air and dungeons.. Do not get me wrong i like it but i wish you could turn it off to make it easier for the children when they are actually trying to complete it and not just goof off and through each other into bad guys..

Bottom line I after 2 hours of play i ran out to Bestbuy and purchased this game for myself.. its a timeless classic made better and will be its own timeless classic in the years to come!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Chaotic fun!

posted by Legostu64 (ROCKY MOUNT, VA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

New Super Mario Bros. Wii is my 2nd favorite game for the Wii. This game is fun to play and looks good. The levels are different and the coins that you need to find in all the levels makes it so you'll have to keep coming back!

Story: if you're looking for some really awesome story from a Mario game then either A: you've never played Mario before; or B: you're just weird. Once again Bowser kidnaps the Princess and Mario and Luigi with help from two Toads, have to save the day.

Gameplay: this game returns to its classic side-scrolling adventure that Mario fans know and love. It has new power-ups including the helicopter hat and penguin suit each with there own little benefits. Penguin suit allows you to go on ice with out sliding and also swim much easier and shoot ice balls to freeze your enemies in there tracks making this power-up (in my opinion) the most useful of them all. The Helicopter hat allows you to take to the skies! with a quick shake of the Wii-mote you go up,up and away! This is great for those who are beginners to the platform hopping action; its also tons of fun to play with. The ice flower is kinda pointless. All it does is shoot ice balls just like the penguin suit- but that's it. The multi-player is what makes the game chaotic because it is rather easy to "accidentally" kill your teammates. This is bound to happen unless you want to spend HOURS tying to jump through these tricky platforms one by one because they're to small for both to stand on. Of course you could just put yourself in a bubble and let the more skilled player get past this difficult spot, but what fun is that. Multi-player is the best part of the game! The game is challenging but not to an extreme that you will never get past certain levels.

Summary: Great! fun, chaotic, great to play with a friend(s), and best game on the Wii (in my opinion)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by mefreak27 (MESQUITE, NV) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a really awesome game. the graphics are new and crisp, but it still has a lot of the same 2-d things. the characters are 3-d, but everything else is just 2-d. you get a choice of 4 characters: mario (first player), luigi, and a yellow or blue toad. the game is challenging, but not so challenging that you get aggravated from losing. the 4-player co-op is excellent, except that your buddies try killing you all the time. also in the co-op, if somebody goes ahead of the group too far, everybody else dies from falling off screen. its easy to get more lives, so that isn't a problem (i have 99 lives). the only problems are that if your playing multiplayer, if someone dies the game stops for a second so everyone can realize what happened. it messes everyone up. the bosses are really easy though. if you can manage to get to them, it is really fun to play multiplayer on levels where you get a green, yellow, blue, or pink YOSHI! the power-ups are extreme, with grows, fire, ice, helicopter (you don't fly the entire time), penguin, minimizer, and the extreme INVINCIBILITY.

there is also a free-for-all mode, where you try to get more points than your opponents. the other is coin battle. you try to get more star coins and overall tons of coins to win

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game is amazing fun

posted by Lonefox (RIDGEWOOD, NY) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

A Blast from the past got this game on realease was well worth the money and wait this game takes everything that made nintendo famous and multiplies by 4 with the new 4 player co-op great game to play with friends good laughs and later levels become challenging which makes it more fun with 4 players

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Remake!

posted by TatarSalad (CONWAY, AR) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I thought the only thing I was going to get from this spin on a classic was the ability to have 4 people play at the same time. I was "suprisingly but greatly" shocked at the added content. The use of the controller to fly up and throw items was a fun throw in. I give it a 10/10 because they've covered all the angles including better sound, better graphics, more fun, and they threw in great material from all the mario bros games from the past (even yoshi). Great job on a remake WELL DONE. I recommend this to everyone and anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my review

posted by ivedeogame (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

its a great game you should play it or buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but is it worth buying?

posted by jojogino (nokomis, FL) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well i will start with saying this, IF YOU PLAY WITH FRIENDS, MAKE SURE THEY AREN'T GOING TO BETRAY YOU! Yes when i was playing this with my brother he decided to pick me up and throw me into one of those evil plants to make me lose my last life. I personally enjoyed this game alot, but i did not like the fact that some levels you basically HAVE to play the level with other people. I've had this game for a few days now and i have ended up in the 3rd world out of 8. This game is pretty hard to me and i've always been a die-hard mario fan. I do like how they included yoshi's in this, it made the game that more fun with the yoshi levels. So your opinion is yours to decide, i just believe that its fun for a while, but once you beat it it will just bore you to death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever!!

posted by Anduke777 (HEMET, CA) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have loved mario and luigi (more luigi) like forevcer so seeing the m work together with some toads was great p.s. luigi rocks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Have!

posted by brandy0428 (WHITESBURG, GA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Everyone in my family love this game. Its user friendly and very fun. This game will most definitely be my next purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse