Buy New Super Mario Bros. 2 for 3DS
view large frontback

New Super Mario Bros. 2

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

1229 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Instant Classic!

posted by metalgun (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For all those Mario fans who thought the 1st New Super Mario Bros was a little lame, this title will not disappoint. It plays just as smoothly as previous titles for the NES ans SNES with the trademark super tight controls and gameplay, not to mention all the power-ups everyone has come to love. If you get tired of playing through the story, you can download Coin Rush packs that are not just entertaining but some are extremely challenging, one mistake and that's it (good luck trying to climb the leaderboards). It's a MUST for all 3DS owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is hard!

posted by djwhocares (LA VERNE, CA) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The bloody gory games like God Of War is easier than Super Mario. Love mario but getting all the coins are the hardest thing about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LUV IT!

posted by Silver2099 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I feel I'm in classic Mario except with a hint of a Wario game!I recommend this game to anyone who hasn't experienced the SNES and before!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Super Mario Brothers for better or worse

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are a classic Mario Bros fan, everything you want is here. If you are looking for innovation a la the Galaxy series, or even 3D land, look elsewhere. Hard to fault it, everything is as tight as you'd expect, but also nothing really here if you are looking for something new. Personally, I wasn't, so I'm a happy camper :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not enough.

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

It's very hard to describe how I feel about this game. It's not technically a bad game, it's good old Mario fun, but that's all it is. People have often been using the argument on the Mario series that they're too similar to each other, which I strongly disagree with. Each Mario game has a very distinct flavor, but there's just no excuse for this one. It feels way too familiar and there's no way to disguise that. They try to pass coin collecting off as being the gimmick of the game, but it really doesn't serve a whole lot of purpose. There has to be something you do with the coins, you can't simply have more of them. That's like making a Zelda game but with more rupees. Kirby's Epic Yarn for example was based entirely around collecting, not survival. You can't die, but instead whenever you get hit you lose beads, but you need enough of them to pass each stage. This should've been like that, instead the excess coins are there just for the sake of making the game look different, and it makes it way too easy to get lives. Yes all the coins are added to a grand total, but I don't really see any good reason for that either. And there's coin rush where the goal is to collect coins, but New Super Mario Bros. Wii had that too, this is no different. I just feel like this game was thrown together in a hurry. Most of its music, backgrounds, textures, character sprites, animations, etc. are all recycled. It's way too short, it has some replay value, but the main game is barely five hours. Even the 3D looks like it wasn't tested. Whenever the 3D is turned on everything in the background gets all blurry, I feel like I need to wear glasses. I don't know why they felt the need to get this one out so quickly, it was released a mere two months after it was announced, there wasn't a particularly high demand for it, and the 3DS already has its signature Mario game. Overall, at its core New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a decent Mario game, but they didn't take the time to make it a great one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game, Too Familiar

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It's too much like the first New Super Mario Bros. The levels don't really do anything interesting that they haven't in the past. Super Mario 3D Land is still the best bet for a 3DS Mario game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than 3D Land

posted by shyguy978 (CORONA, CA) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Super Mario Bros. 2 is another 2D platformer, the third in the series. It is a follow-up to NSMB on the DS. This has been a very great experience on the 3DS. In my opinion, it is yet another NSMB game that only focuses more on coins as an added challenge. It has a very smooth frame-rate, so there are no worries about slowing. The story is very similar compared to the Wii game, only the contrast of different mid-bosses (Super Mario World) as well as two secret worlds (6 regular worlds and 2 extras), and new/old power ups (the Gold Flower and the Raccoon Leaf...SM3) Overall, if you're just a person who wants to play more NSMB, then this is ideal for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Mario triumph

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As expected, "New SMB 2" is well-designed and a lot of fun to play. Mario very rarely ever disappoints, after all, and this is yet another triumphant entry in the heroic plumber's canon. Having said that, however, it would be very nice indeed if Nintendo could see their way clear to freshening up their series of New SMB games. Indeed, "New SMB 2" boasts very little to distinguish itself from previous iterations on the DS and Wii, and the upcoming "New Super Mario Bros. U" looks to continue in the same mold. Oh, I'm not necessarily looking for a major overhaul to the formula, but a different graphical aesthetic and a new soundtrack would be more than welcome.

Also, I think they should have called this game something other than "New SMB 2", as "New SMB Wii" is widely considered to be the second entry in the series. I heard that the game's working title was "New Super Mario Bros. Gold". That would have fit nicely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

New Super Mario Bros. 2 Review

posted by VGAfanatic25 (FAIR OAKS, CA) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While the game certainly is very good, providing the same platforming elements of the classic Super Mario Bros. titles, that unfortunately is its problem. It's essentially the same game as the first NSMB for the Nintendo DS, only with a few new power-ups and a flashy gimmick that's little more than flashy. Though I will admit, the Gold Fire Flower was pretty fun. Probably the worst part about this title is that they didn't even bother to compose new Music, aside from the main theme having a chorus of "La"s in certain levels. Ultimately, I just felt like I was doing the same thing over again, and I probably won't give it a second run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome very awesome game

posted by koppy (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like this blinged-out version of new super mario bros it is pretty awesome it has the returning racoon power-up it also has the new gold flower power-up and it has new mushroom world and flower world it has new coin rush it also has this new star world i hope you enjoyed my story thank you for reading!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing new or exciting

posted by Nytmaere (LOUISIANA, MO) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I feel lately so many Mario game are the same formula, no new real tricks that excite me or make me want to buy the game.
Each world is the same as previous grasslands to fireworld and some secret worlds. The bosses are far too easy and the only pain in this game was collecting a million coins. I didnt bother to finish though.
Hoping for a new Mario game that can be far more interesting like when Mario Galaxy first came out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN

posted by Lkjk4zoo (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The kid's love this game and I have to admit I really enjoy playing it myself.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cooooooooooool

posted by liam707 (WINDSOR, CA) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a awsome game but what i don't like is you get the gold flower on the 4th level

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice game! 10/10

posted by acoolgamer (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a good game!It takes an good turn on the mario games.The Ginus Book Of World Records says mario is the best selling game franchise,I think it's because of this. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

really good

posted by Sonicfan78907 (FERRIS, TX) Oct 28, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game was really go a must buy or rent for mario fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

perfect game jus like mario always is. definatly high replay.its a game u should buy it will always be fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One of the worst games ever!!!!!!!!

posted by Gamefly2247 (HAYDEN, AL) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

It was really hard to get past the levels there was only one level I passed. I really wanted to give up. I think this was one of the worst game I have ever played. I recommend you to not play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

<3 Mario

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Mario/Luigi are beast mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been better

posted by Dashinthis83 (DAVISBORO, GA) Jan 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

A solid Mario game that has the same old same old feel as the previous one. The game looks and plays great but nothing new stands out like the older games in the series. Its time to be reinvented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So Fun to Collect Coins

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

It's true, just collecting as many coins as you can is just enjoyable. If only they heightened the coin percentage to gain a new life a little higher, the coin collecting really gives you more lives than you need or want. Probably would have been better if 500-1000 coins gave you a new life, you're collecting that much a stage anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ME + SUPER MARIO 2=<3

posted by _wolf_wolf_000 (MONTICELLO, IN) Jul 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

i love this game awesome graphics. i love the invincible raccoon. i love the choice of 3d view. the picture goes in or out. on other games its auto set so i say a big WHOPPIN HUGE 100000000/100000000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! a 10/10 a must have

a ADDICTING 3D GAME!!!!! once you start u wont stop !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Mario Coin Rush!!

posted by wolfhunter64 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Mario is one of my favorite franchises ever. All the Mario games are great and clever. New Super Mario Bros. 2 is no different. I like how they added the coin feature to it, which makes up for the fact that this game is really easy, and a Mario fan could finish this game in about 2 hours. I also wished the boss battles could have been a little more creative. If you're new to the Mario series, than this is worth the buy. Otherwise, you should rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

new super mario 2

posted by paranzino7 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) May 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2006

I really enjoy the game! It has everything in a Mario game like the old version Mario 1 and 3 in one except the super Mario 2 for old Nintendo!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

don't waste your time

posted by masterspike10 (HEBER CITY, UT) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

this game might look fun and its a little fun but i wouldn't waste that much time on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great for kids!

posted by nikib316 (AUBURN, NY) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

My 5 year old son loved this game! He usually gets frustrated fast with other games..Can't go wrong with Mario!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse