Buy NCAA Football 12 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NCAA Football 12

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.2

4048 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall Great Gameplay

posted by Phayzme (SUFFOLK, VA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

28 out of 31 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

NCAA 12, was a great step up from 11. It brought a new perspective to college football dynasty and the Road to Glory Mode. In the Road to Glory mode you can play your whole senior year of high school (if you didnt know already). You can play "ironman" football, which means you play offense and defense, and in the end you can choose which side of the ball you want to play NCAA ball on. Gameplay mechanics have been improved as well. No more "BS" tackles like in earlier installments. You actually have to wrap your man to bring him down. And finally AI has improved slightly, the computer can read the defense without help the player and adjust to the best option to stop the down. In conclusion, NCAA 12 is a great installment and sets the base for better ideas and gameplay in the future.

-Phayzme

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA 2012 - Road to Glory mode

posted by Jest_Smith (LINCOLN, NE) Jul 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Over the past couple years I have become less and less of a fan of NCAA's Road to Glory or Campus Legend Mode. It had become a monotonous blob of studying/seeing the tutor/training. It came to be more of a chore than anything else, having to practice constantly for a little bit of skill. And of course the awkward and repeating Erin Andrews segments.
Well it seems that things have changed. No more cutscenes, no more calendars, no more tutors or trainers. Just practice and football games. You start out by playing more of you're senior year of high school to determine where you go to college. You can even choose to play as an iroman athlete playing both sides of the field for your team to increase the positions that you can go to college for.
When you pick your college you start to train for 1st string postion at your college by going to practice and earning Coach Trust points. When you earn the points required for the coach to consider you for a move up you have a position battle. You eventually get to 1st string and you get to start earning perks. Like being able to flip the play or even change it to something you'll do better with.
While you earn points for your coach you also get XP points to spend on career or one time skill increases. Increasing your skills for your position to make you the dominant force on the field. The higher the skills acquired the higher the price and rarity level. Making the skill layout a lot easier than in previous games.
Overall i enjoy this years NCAA more than almost any earlier version. Stream lining most of the small parts to just help you become the campus legend and take your school to glory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA 12

posted by NCAAFAN (CLOVIS, CA) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pretty much a solid game over all, the only thing they need to fix is how defenders react to the ball when it’s in flight. For Example if you have four verts going down the field and you throw to one of the middle two and the corner on the outside is man to man or has his back turned to make sure he’s not getting beat over the top. When you throw to that inside guy the somehow sense that the balls in the air and 180 to go make a play on the ball even with their heads completely turned away from the ball. Everything else is pretty cool especially the O/D coordinator mode cause nobody likes defense anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, tons of extras, make a solid keeper...

posted by Motive (ESTACADA, OR) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only disapointment I had was w/ the rental you weren't provided the same access as the "new" game owners, which I think is complete BS. Other than that it is a really complete game and I liked how you can build a guy from HS go through recruiting, complete signing day with your favorite team and then at the end of your NCAA career you are able to upload into Madden 2012. This game is Faaaaaaaantastic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best of the line

posted by wesleysh21 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I really thought NCAA 2010 was the best one yet, with 2011 being a hair of a step backwards in subtle ways. In 2012, they clearly took a huge step forwards. For those that sit on the sidelines for years at a time because the games are the same year after year, this is finally the year you can jump back in and get something "new."

Pros: Just about everything about the gameplay feels more fluid and natural. The Road to Glory mode has been changed to allow you to clearly target (thru performance) schools you'd like to attend. If you don't get a scholarship offer, you always have the option of walking on (far down the depth chart, often times).

Cons: Huge wait times for loading, autosaving and advancing to the following week. I spend as much time waiting as playing, as has been the case for years, so it hasn't changed. Many people are experiencing freezing for seconds at a time. The school specific introductions that were added this year are not that great and get boring game after game. There are those that are truely tradition, that it happens every time, but others seem like they made it up and its not something that should be done every game...you'll see.

Overall, a solid game, and the best of the line to date. I went ahead and bought it, the first game I've purchased brand new in roughly 2 years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Keeps getting better and better! BUY

posted by aiko1818 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

EA Sports keeps improving, this game is almost flawless. A must BUY!

Reason to play- Top of the line graphics, game mechanics sharper than last year. Road to Glory mode has been improved greatly and is enjoyable for once. Online Dynasties have been given even more freedom to customize things. An the single player dynasty mode is vastly improved. Things like customizing confrences and editing division names are just a few subtle changes that make the overall expierence better than the last years edition. The play on the field feels responsive and more realistic than previous efforts.

Reason not play- This is a minor complaint but all the menus in the game feel sluggish, even while playing offline and turning off the autosave functions. Their are still some "legacy issues" like defenders being magically gifted to jump 5 feet off the ground while running in the opposite direction of the ball but these issues have always been in all football games. Still it's frustrating and needs to be noted.

Overall this game is worth a BUY because it is significantly better than last years version with much more options in every game mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA Football 12 Review

posted by Zig997 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I bought this game brand new for 62 dollars, right away i could see all the graphical enhancements and the ESPN presentation was top notch, the 3D grass gave it a visual flourish, and all the additions they did to Road To Glory mode and you now being able to coach your team in Online Dynasty, I love the new tackling engine cause i am not feeling warped into a tackle. All in all this game is a definitely buy and it is worth the 62 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

How is made by the same people who make madden??

posted by reebok4523 (MAPLE SHADE, NJ) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

In my short time with this game I can already tell how gOod it's gonnna be. The core gameplay and presentation is amazing. I don't understand how this game could come out a month earlier then madden and be a better polished game. When madden was being described this is what I thought it was gonna be like. For some reason the same company can make 2 similar games that share core fundinmentals but be completely dIfferent. There are so many features in this game my head was spinning. I Didn't know where to begin. Dynasty mode is amazing you have so much control. In the end all I want to see is madden being as good as NCAA. EA make both of them so it's unexeptable that they are so different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

New Game, same old problems.

posted by MDiver82 (PALM COAST, FL) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There isn't much change from '11 to '12; except for the revamped Road to Glory and the Coaching Carousel. Being able to alter conferences and BCS Bowl game tie-ins are cool too.

The problem is, a lot of the new features don't work quite yet, and we will need another patch soon.

Custom playbooks don't work, it's the chief complaint on the EA boards. There are other issues in Offline Dynasty; for instance the Televised games not registering so your Nationally Televised grade goes down every year, and sometimes it won't let you advance past week 15 (essentially killing the dynasty). Some other bugs persist, like using Supersim at your own risk; it can cause the system to freeze (It's used quite a bit as a Coordinator).

EA servers have been having problems, and it literally feels like I get booted from the server every 3 minutes. That's been a minor issue as well.

Ironman is cool for RTG; but you may just want to play DE or DT on defense, because the other team will never throw your direction and they get rid of the ball too fast when you are sent on blitzes. Also the recruiting process for it is a lot more involved. I like that change quite a bit. You pick 3 teams you want to go to. Then after every week you get additional offers from other schools that you can add to your interest list, and then you have to meet the scholarship requirement to sign with them. Requirement isn't that tough; unless you play as a DB.

All in all, it's another NCAA football game with another facelift, without much really adding to the actual gameplay. Coaching Carousel Is a much needed addition to Dynasty, but it doesn't add much to keeping Dynasty fresh.

It's a 7 now because of the game crashing bugs; and the bugs that devalue staple game modes like Dynasty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its ok but not worth full price

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Football games are at the point what else can they do after 20 years. You see a few new things but not worth spending 59.99. Still hard to make a pass down the middle my view it plays the same over all. Makes a Great Rent game nothing wrong there. I would say Rent it for 3-4 weeks then ship it back thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

As much as I love college football...

posted by CrimsonWraith (FOUNTAIN, CO) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game, but I have so many frustrations with it as well. This game was simply not ready to be released on its release date. Some of the largest new features in the game are still not available (website merely says "coming soon") two months after the game has been released. The much paraded "improved" defensive AI for the secondary and linebackers is not smarter, simply cheaper. Superman-like defenders who jump 10 feet into the air or the incredibly unrealistic low trajectory of a football pass in this game do not improve the defense in a realistic manner. That said, the new tackling mechanisms are impressive and gameplay as a whole, aside from the secondary, has received a decent upgrade from last year's title.

Finally, EA Sports' technical support has been utter garbage, and I say this after having to contact them for three different online dynasty issues over the past couple of months. They have yet to resolve any of the three issues I contacted them on, and two of the three are game-breaking and effectively ended two of my online dynasties.

I still enjoy this game, but it has completely disappointed me. The new Road to Glory improvements are probably enough to make this worth your purchase if, like me, you buy each annual iteration in this series. If however, you're more of a Madden guy (I'm not) or only grab an NCAA Football game every few years, wait for the next one. Then again, by the time NCAA Football 13 is released, they might have made available every thing that was supposed to be included at launch for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love the game.

posted by HawkeyGuy773 (MORTON GROVE, IL) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I only started playing NCAA last year so it took me a little bit to get the control scheme down. But the game looks good and plays smooth. It gets a 9 only because i don't know how many times my defense has the ball literally bounce out of their hands instead of intercepting it. That really is my only complaint though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA12

posted by awer (ALLEN, TX) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The BEST sport game I've played. I've had it for about 4 weeks and I won 2 BCS titles and fineshed 1 road to glory.

TEXAS TECH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by danielevans24 (FRESNO, CA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I have been buying the NCAA Football games since I played on PS2. I have been playing them on the 360 since it came out. This is by far the best one. I love that they added the conference customization! I am big college football fan & I play this way more than Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ncaa football 2012

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is where it's at this game makes you want to play football games again the is the best football game ever in history

graphics perfect 10 out of 10

gameplay perfect 10 out of 10

just plain awesome
if you play the demo or at a friends house play it anywhere then you get hooked buy it no questions asked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST ONE YET

posted by MadMFV (OLDSMAR, FL) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

'Nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Eww scruby graphics

posted by Tabris (TRINIDAD, CO) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 26 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

I think my N64 had better graphics than this, overly difficult to learn the mechanics and just is outright lazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun....At first

posted by kevcon14 (WILLIAMSBURG, VA) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

The game was so much fun. I liked it for almost an hour and then I realized, this game stinks, its really easy to win. And the road to glory is almost impossible to get on a good team, unless you choose a bad team, so if you are thinking about renting it, don't because its not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ncaa 12

posted by emilvulic122 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

classic game and good but the annoucers are boring but that isnt a big issue

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Drozone (MUNFORD, TN) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I have never experienced NCAAF like that before i highly
recommend this to any college football fan!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ncaa Football 12

posted by xxunderxratedxx (CAMBRIDGE, OH) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This game in my opinion is the best one made. The game had amazing graphics and the gameplay was very smooth from the passing to the running game. I love the new Road to Glory mode. You can make your own custom schedule and even the jerseys. The dynasty mode was great. You can customize your Conferences and BCS tie-ins.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not even a fan.

posted by Chakan (SPRING CITY, PA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

I'll be completely honest here; I am not a fan of football at all. I don't watch NFL or NCAA games or know any sorts of fancy stuff about football in general. What I know about football goes back to NBA Street, pass, run and get first downs.

What can I say? I actually like this game, DESPITE not being a football fan. The main reason football games really don't appeal to me is that they seem to complicated. The controls for this game though are mostly straight forward and tips are shown in the middle of a game to help you improve.

I play on Freshman (which is easy I think) but hey, I don't play this game for competition, I just play to unwind and have some fun, and this game is pretty fun.

Graphics are good, there isn't much variety for players, a lot of faces are noticeably the same, but I understand that you can't put every single person from NCAA in there, that would be expecting way too much.

There is a one button mode, where every action is mapped to the A button, but that won't help you learn the real controls, which is far more rewarding. Just take some time in practice mode, and you'll get a feel for the controls in no time.

I've played about 10 games so far, in exhibition with the Cougars, and only lost about two games. If a non-football fan can catch onto this game and have fun doing it, I'd say anybody could. Do yourself a favor and try to rent this out, I don't think it will disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA FOOTBAll 12

posted by thepauls99 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

love the game in general

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ncaa 12 sucks

posted by blackbirddemons (Tampa, FL) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

trash

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ncaa football 12

posted by lmitchell1 (FORT WORTH, TX) May 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

game did not work when i first got it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse