Buy NBA 2K12 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K12

Buy

Used: $9.99

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

2254 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Improves Upon Everything 2k11 Was

posted by xp826 (SAYLORSBURG, PA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game day one and i have enjoyed the game for the most part. When i first started playing i had to re-learn everything because they added so many moves that you could pull-off and that took some time and a lot of practice to get the hang of it. Once you learn the controls this game just gets better and better the more you play it so don't feel like the game is bad because you feel they are too complicated. After practicing it for a little you'll be able to do almost all of the moves. As for the online, i haven't even touched because i know that 2k's online is pretty terrible. The Greatest mode was a nice addition with the all former NBA star i wish i saw are all playable and it feels nice to dominant with them. My Player is pretty fun too with the endorsements and such but I'm watching for the patch to fix a few things with that along side with the association mode which is basically the same as last year. Having the NBA lockout affect this game not having the rookie's isn't a big deal to me so i wasn't too disappointed with that but Overall this game is great if you didn't pick up 2k11. It's 100% a rent and i would recommend buying it too (thats up to you obviously) but don't feel intimidated by all the controls because in reality they are pretty simple to pull off. CAN'T WAIT FOR THE LOCKOUT TO BE LIFTED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A BIG step back

posted by JohnnyBoi1 (STOCKTON, CA) May 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everything with this game is broken. its pretty much the last years model with a different name with added Legends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game would be great if it didn't freeze so much!

posted by nrsjr09 (HACKENSACK, NJ) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If this game's loading times weren't half an hour or if the game didn't freeze every time I went into myplayer... it would have been great. Great graphics, awesome gameplay...when you can actually get into a game. I called 2K offices and they said my PS3 was bad...funny because I have two and the same thing happened. I deleted all my game utility and saved data and still nothing, no improvements. So I called Sony to address the issue, they said they have been getting a butt load of calls on this game because of the same issue. Wish the 2K offices would actually care for a bit instead of trying to promote 2K13.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst Game I've ever played!

posted by IanMalcolm839 (MAGNOLIA, DE) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The controls are terrible - you go to move one way, and it either takes three seconds for your character to move that way, or he keeps going and then suddenly seems to decide "Oh, maybe that way looks good." The graphics are bad, it looks like PS2 graphics instead of PS3. I wouldn't buy this game if it was in the bargain bin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Freeze City

posted by pervector (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What little I've been able to play the game I liked, however it freezes all the time. Last time it froze, I waited for about 45 minutes then finally gave up. When I tried to start it back up again, it froze on the loading screen! Sorry guys up until now, no complaints. This one however just doesn't cut it, instant return!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Time For Everything

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always been kinda 'Ehhh' or 'Blahhhh' about Basketball or Basketball Video Games. I enjoy watching the playoffs but the Regular Season is just TOO long for me. I just recently got really into the NBA. I have NEVER enjoyed ANY basketball game beside the NBA Street series (minimal enjoyment). I tried 2K12 out at a friends and was hooked. It's amazing visually, the controls are simple enough. I'm hooked. Great game. A MUST RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA2K12= basketball gone awesome!

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) May 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a big fan of basketball. It is my most favorite sport though. Well to watch at least the game i thought would be boring but to a guy who is not sporty. It was sick great graphics great game play and best of all makes you feel like your in the stadium watching at the same time controlling the players. Great work!!!! Go Nets

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by laprieta (LAWRENCE, MA) May 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is so fun to play its addicting.:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

need to play it

posted by winkyd (DALLAS, TX) May 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

man l really need this game for next my shpping

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love this game

posted by yohan2 (STOCKTON, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thank You, 2K Sports. Thank you.

posted by MrFeaRZ (New York, NY) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

2K Sports has done it again! NBA2K11 was the greatest basketball game ever made until Oct. 4th 2011. That distinction now goes to NBA2K12.

The easiest way to explain it is the word "Tight". Everything is just tighter. The graphics, the player movement, the post game, the animations, everything. They really took last years game and made everything slightly better. My Player is vastly improved also since your rating starts in the 60's and not the 40's.

The biggest improvement in terms of gameplay is the fast-breaks. So fluid. You actually have 3 on 1 breaks. Fast-break points are now regularly in the 20's and 30's per game. Such a blast. Last year, 10 fast-break point in a game was a lot. They really fixed it beautifully.

Also, the game has 34 old-school teams! 34! Unbelievable. I played a game with the '65 Celtics and the game was in black and white, with retro commentary. Need i say more?

If you love basketball, you already have this game. If you love sports, buy this game. If you love technical achievement in videogames, buy this game. If you love Larry Bird, get his cover!

For the second year in a row 2K Sports has made a love letter to b-ball fanatics. Thank you. Now i'm going back to play....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still Good, but with lower IQ

posted by Nexus85 (BRIDGEPORT, PA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This may sound like blasphemy but contrary to rave reviews, I think this NBA2K is inferior to last years. Yes it plays smoother and has a great deal more polish, but it's not as fun to play as 2k11.

-It's overly complicated: dribbling is frustrating, loose balls feel implausible, off ball movement is hard to use because players get tangled with defending players too easily, and yes your still flirting with disaster if you don't use icon passing.

To me it feels like the frustrating things about last year were made even more frustrating, and they subtracted modes like crews, slam dunk contest, 3 point contest, and My player online pick up games (If you were into those modes (hope for some DLC).

- The shot, dunk, crossover, steal, and block animations are beautiful and rewarding when done successfully. This is where the game shines.

-The online...(No Comment) In all fairness it is still being worked on, and 2k sports acknowledges the poor quality.

Bottom line: It still plays like 2k11 but smoother, I think the My Player mode is the reason to rent/buy this game since it is greatly improved. If you are indecisive about renting or buying because of so many other great games releasing around this time, just keep playing 2k11 and wait a while on this one.

Being a huge B Ball fan, I know the die hard will pick this up right away. Just wanted to give people an objective heads up review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

My Player...Absolutely Horrible!!!!

posted by KONTRO9 (COMPTON, CA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Since its debut on NBA 2K10 it has been the only game mode that makes this basketball franchise worth playing however it needed a lot of improvement and this yrs 2K12 My Player is jus absolutely horrible no matter what team or difficulty settings you have on the game conspires against you making your team seem like amateurs by not passing you the ball when you are open, taking fade away 3pters from almost half court, almost ALWAYS fouling/never closing out on 3pt shooters, making bad passes when your not open, not taking the WIDE OPEN jumpshot. Meanwhile the cpu team can drop a contested 3pter in your face all day making OUTRAGEOUS fadeaway jump shots regardless of how well you defend them as well as how much you spend your attributes on your defense but THEIR defense is OUT OF THIS WORLD when it comes to blocking shots they almost NEVER foul when this happens the cpu defender in front i repeat IN FRONT OF YOU will literally grab a pass out of the air as if you were playing monkey in the middle jus all around garbage is what this game is the graphics are virtually the same as the last 2K other than My Payer and Create a Legend mode this game isn't really worth it i love 2K games but this is something their going to have to work on if they want to really take over sport games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Ur_Papi (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

2k12 is very impressive and all the modes are fun. My Player was very popular despite the slow, but it was GREAT. 2k12 my player mode it does not start slow, and actually making shots from the start is better. Association is slightly improve, but is good in the first place. Playing with the elites and some of their games is great.

Presentation: 10 All the modes it has is great and the entrance are better.

Graphics: 8.5 Well they're good overall, but some people still look weird.

Sound: 10 The sound of the shooting is impressive, the commentary is very good, and the soundtrack well in my opinion has always been good.

Gameplay: 9.5 Well the gameplay is top notch although making shots is actually better sometimes not necessarily bothers, but I miss a wide open shot but make a very tough shot.

Lasting: 9.5 Well it all depends on how much a person likes sports games. If is only for a my player season than that's pretty long, but if it is until making it to the hall of fame than it's really long association mode and the others like online than just buy the game.

My final review is actually 9.5 Very impressive, fun and all around good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The New Madden

posted by JAY5743 (PUYALLUP, WA) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not the worst game ever but like madden they take something good and progressively makes it worse every release. Very little player movement, and just end up throwing up long distance bricks and setting screens is completely shot which was one of the best ways to raise team grade. 2k10 was the best and they have just added little features here and there but for the most part put out a worse game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best 2k yet!!!!!

posted by wax (RENTON, WA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is the best basketball game I've ever played . It looks so real this is a keeper BUY THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Never Worked

posted by ox4200 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I just bought my PS3 and after joining gamefly I got my first game and played it. I played it and during half time the game woudlnt go on it just stood there not working.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too many issues with freezing

posted by jklivin22 (ORINDA, CA) Jun 26, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NBA 2K12 was by far the worst PS3 game that I have ever played. I never was able to play more than one game consecutively without it freezing.

Maybe 2K Sports should concentrate on making a quality product without issues before they worry about the bells and whistles. You can customize your shoes, but good luck playing the game for any amount of time. And it isn't like the gameplay and graphics are amazing either. They are subpar at best for a blueray PS3 game in 2012. EA Sports does a much better job with realistic sports AI and graphics. It is a shame they don't put out a basketball game.

NBA 2K12 froze during My Player mode at halftime, mid game, and during drills, during Association (Franchise) mode during free throws and mid game, and throughout simple quick game matches. I never even tried Legend mode because I spent so much time waiting for the thing to load and restart due to freezing. I spent well over 6 hours trying to troubleshoot the freezing issues. I contacted the game manufacturer, 2K Sports, for feedback, and it turns out this has been an issue for this title since day one. They continue to build new patches and updates, but as soon as they fix one another pops up. They should all be unemployed. I followed their instructions to delete the game data utility and reinstall and it didn't fix the problem. Very frustrating, and a massive waste of my time. My advice is don't waste your time renting the game, and definitely don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Was good, but started freezing

posted by Jman329 (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I traded it in, it would keep freezing.. watch out for that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nba 2k12

posted by farahst_george (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

when nba 2k12 was sent it froze on me wwhile i was in the middle of the game i tuned my ps3 off and back on and then the game didnt even want to start so i send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not as godly as 2k11

posted by jaz (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

now i thought 2k11 was the best basketball game of all time, so i was pretty excited about this one, until i played it. the player move around the court like they are pulling 100+lbs behind them, they are so sluggish and the defense isn't even there anymore. they can blow right past you in an instant and the foul calls are just as messed up as in 2k11 barely any. the fluid motion that 2k11 had on the court is totally gone in this version. I averaged a total of 17 blocks per game last year with the celtics and nooo i didn't have game sliders on my side and i played on all star difficulty, this year i barely get 1 block in a game. try it out and tell me what you think as for me this game is a bust

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Oct 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The reason i did not give this game a higher rating is because the gameplay and graphics didnt change much from the 2011 game. There are some cool new features on the opening screen, the rookie mode is pretty awesome.
Once you get into the actual game its not much different that the 2011 game except for updated rosters.
But its still the best NBA game i have seen in a while, the players move great, the graphics overall are awesome.
If the gameplay would have changed more from the 2011 game i would have given it a 9.
I like the new soundtrack on this game, Eminem and Kurtis Blow........ are you kidding me it's like i died and went back to the 90's. Gotta love it :)
If i didnt have the 2011 game already i would have bought it, but since i do and not much changed i'm sticking with my 2011 game.
It's still a great game regaurdless
Good rent for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game cause of of my player it's fun

posted by Pootz11 (OAK LAWN, IL) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2KIncredible

posted by mstief (BELGRADE, MT) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best sports sim of all time. My player mode simply bring it all to the table. Multiplayer still can be a bit sketchy, but aside from that, it's all here...the announcing spot on, the realism almost better than the true real thing, and the gameplay has not gotten boring even after 2 complete seasons. EA has a big task on their hands to compete with the 2K series for the 13 version. Good luck to you EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LA FAN

posted by Jay_Rawww (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

KOBE'S A MONSTER.. LEGGO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse