Buy Monster Hunter Tri for Wii
view large frontback

Monster Hunter Tri

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

3053 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's a lot of grinding, but it's fun grinding.

posted by Snaredrums (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

99 out of 102 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

If you are unfamiliar with the Monster Hunter franchise, I commend you. Because you have no clue what you are getting into. Many have probably seen the commercials for this game thinkin "Hey, my 6 year old son LOVES dinosaurs!" Oh boy, do I feel bad for those people...

If you want this game, I recommend you do some research, because this is one of the hardest, deepest, and most rewarding games this generation.

You start from rags to riches as a new hunter who decides to help the small Moga Village, and train to slay the (flagship) monster Lagiacrus. It has been terrorizing the small fishing village, and it is your job to become the best hunter around, and slay the beast.

The point of this game is to collect materials from slaying different monsters, farming different items, and mining different ores, to create weapons and armor so you can be a more devastating hunter.

This can be very, very fun and rewarding, but it takes some time to truly get into the game. When I say it's a lot of grinding, I don't mean "Attack little monsters for X amount of hours until you gain X amount of experience points" I mean you are gathering a LOT of supplies, and you kill monsters and hope to god they drop the right item. Why is this so fun? Because unlike a lot of games, fighting monsters isn't turn based, this game has a real in-depth combat system.

you don't choose a class because each weapon is basically a class in itself. There are 64 unique hammers to build. That is just for the hammer class. There are 8 other weapons, which play completely differently.

And then, there is the online mode. Capcom has really outdone themselves here. They took out the WHOLE friend code system nintendo made, and made their own, superior thing. Not only that, but you are able to play with random people around the world, and WiiSpeak is supported (Which is rather rare)

Before you get this game, just know what you're getting into, and you can enjoy up to 100 hours of rich gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Now up to 100 hours, still not done...

posted by checkers (CRESTVIEW, FL) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

29 out of 30 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

They out did them selves. Really they did.
This is really only for those who bare through the first couple of hours, because like most games, it starts slow. But Monster Hunter starts REALLY slow. Now then, slow as can be, about 50 hours in I realised its the most addicting game I have ever played. Fighting large beasts is fun, and the ridiculous unfairness the game throws at you is fun to tackle. I so far have completed every offline quest, which the end game quests they assign are near imposible if you only have been offline to that point, so completing them is the most rewarding experience you can have, and I'm in the third star rank online. Now Monster Hunter is a great game to have a friend play with you, as I'v spent several nights at my friends house playing together online, pummeling large monsters. The thing about online is that they increase the difficulty even more, so the 3rd boss online compares to the last boss offline. Then after half way through online the difficulty increases AGAIN. The pure challenge this games throws at you is just something great for those commited to playing the game. Not for those who like hitting every button on their controller and the thing in front of them dies. This game takes thinking and an copious amount of skill. Must have for those who like intense mmo's.

Con's: Camera Angle: Constantly have to change it but with practice it become second nature.

Difficulty: I love games that make my blood boil, but some people don't like such a challenge...

Controls: Get a wii Classic controler Pro. If you don't, then don't complain about the game, it is not ment to be played with the wiimote and nunchuck.

Diablos: SCREW DIABLOS! I can't stand him

Pro's: Too much to say, how about every thing that isn't a con.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendo should have pushed this title more.

posted by Marzface (PHARR, TX) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will keep this as short as possible. One of the best games I have ever purchased in my life. I got over 250 hours logged in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Living the life as a hunter and gatherer!

posted by Zee7sms (COLUMBIA, TN) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

38 out of 43 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

As a first time Monster Hunter series player, this game has managed to shake some life into my Wii as a glorious sit down console type game.

There's a small amount of character creation like picking your gender, hair style, hair color, starting outfit, skin color, eye color and even voice. Once you've set foot in the village you're set on a small tutorial that explains the basics of the game.

Monster Hunter Tri is a collecting game, you spend more time carving monsters, picking through bones, plants, bugs as well as mining, fishing and even cooking. There's TONS of items to collect and each one will serve a purpose, whether it be for a simple profit or to forge weapons and armor to combining with other items to make something better.

This is truly sit down and play console game so make sure you pick up the Wii Classic Controller Pro. The graphics leave much to be desired, but even as a PS3 and Xbox360, I don't seem to mind the gamecube like graphics.

Overall this game is worth a BUY. Renting it won't let you dive into this extremely deep game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is possibly worth buying the Wii for

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did not know what I was getting myself into when I got this game. I figured I would just complete the single player mode, be done with it, and get rid of it.

Then I tried online mode. 300+ hours later, I can say without a doubt that this is one of the most underrated games to ever hit stores. I'll talk about online mode later.

Gameplay is very rewarding where you have to collect materials from killing different monsters, farming, and mining ore to create better weapons and armor to advance from a rag doll to an actual durable hunter that wont faint in one hit by a boss monster. When gathering, you actually gather lots of supplies, and when you kill monsters, there's only a chance they drop the right item. This is a unique twist to the usual turn-based fighting system you find everywhere else, and it's kind of like you are shaping your destiny.

The weapons and armor are upgrade-able and make a huge difference in battle. There are over half a dozen weapon types that seem endless in upgrades. The game can get as hard as you want it to get, to a certain extent.

Symphonic quality music and stunning graphics are an absolute plus seeing how the extremely detailed environments, extremely detailed armor/weapons, and monster design make the game that much more immersive.

And then, there is the online mode. Capcom went above and beyond to impress gamers with this one. They have their own servers and multiple cities where you are able to play with random people in other countries or in your own. Super convenient, and hard not to like.

For what you buy/rent, this game will amaze you with how many features it packs on terms of variety of gameplay. Did I mention this game's graphics and music is iconic for the Wii? Some of my most memorable moments playing the Wii was when I played this game. MH3 truly has it all, and I do hope that they come out with a 4th one that is just as good, if not better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

monster hunter tri. fun begin middle ok, end wait

posted by Athena123 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

monster hunter tri. The beginning you know, it starts out like a storyline so when you create a person man/woman you have to where women clothes like small trunks and small t-shirt. ? why i dont know. so you go through the game doing tasks,running eron's for the villagers and thats as fun as it gets until you end up in the ocean looking at a monster the villagers clearly say your not ready to fight so you choose to run/swim away or do what i did and stood up like a man and fight but the monster a.k.a (lagiacrus) has electricity power so you have to watch out for that. and there are crazy big weird monsters with goofy names you have to fight and if you kill a normal animal and carve its meat out of its body and if you choose to cook its meat so you can eat it to gain energy a grill apears out of thin air and chair so you emeadietly start cooking animal meat and a annoying song plays and basicly when the song stops the food is ready but sometimes that might not always happen. and you can even go fishing on this monster hunter tri video game. p.s. which takes forever to do and the bugs on this game are huge, house cats try to steal your food and materials (yes house cats i know). and when you raise money you can get out of those girly clothes and buy manlyier clothes and you can have weapons but only one weapon. so when you choose a weapon you choose from daggers,small swords, big swords, lances a.k.a spears, o and bowguns. and you can make your weapons and armor more powerful by talking to the blacksmith. and you can even go to a farm and make a friendly cat farm for you as you put in requests for him. and you get a pet pig. did i menchean online mode beacuse online mode could be more fun if you have the wii speak microphone a.k.a i dont besides i had to go into battle all by myself p.s. you'll have much much more fun online than offline. and this dosn't even sit right with me but sometimes when you hit an enemy with your sword you bounce off of the monster (my head i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty Good

posted by Awesomey (FRANKLIN, OH) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a really good game, but it has a few kinks.the wii remote/nunchuk control is fine but can be a little unresponsive. I think the story mode should be multiplayer and give a little more options for customization. all in all though, this game rocks! the graphics are perfect and very fun gameplay. good story too. so buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

greatest game ever

posted by bacon420 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is the best
Pros-

1. epic battles: every big monster quest you get items to make better weapons and armor.

2. its not easy: not for a weak gamer this game forces you to improve your skills

3. costomization: you mix and match pieces of armor that you build from gathered materials to get set bonuses that make a huge difference on how well you fight monsters

4. you fight dragons.

cons-

1. free controller: if you preordered the game you get the classic controller 2 for basically free and it makes the game a lot easier. I have heard that some hunters prefer the nunchuck over the controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by bulldog171 (BLUE RIDGE, GA) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

i seriously loved this game. while i was playing it i couldn't help but to think about what capcom could have potentially done with this game. especially with the online game play. in my opinion i dont feel like they spent enough time on it. if you havent rented this game, but you potentially do you will probably feel that way also. i think that a huge improvement which would give the game a 10 imo. is for a lfg or something like one to be added to the online insted of getting in a room with 4 random leveled people and no one want to do eachothers quest, so you spend forever trying to find the right room sometimes. As far as the things that you are able to do online are awesome. I feel like as far as the things you are able to do online are perfect. no more, no less.
Offline seems to be perfect. it can be frustraiting at times, but if your a true gamer who likes a challenge you'll play it for countless hours. you only get to freeroam in one area though, but its not really a big deal since the monsters you kill in the other areas come to the one place you are able to freeroam. you can always recomplete the quest for the monsters in the other areas but it would be nice just to be able to go freehunt in other places besides moga.
Capcom has truely made a game with extreme potential. You should really rent this game. you may be worthless for a few days to the outside world, but i think everyone would enjoy this game. nomatter even if you didnt like the past monster hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The MMO for people that hate MMOs.

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

To me, playing Final Fantasy XI is incredibly boring and World of Warcraft is more like a full time job then a gaming experience. PSU is fun, but gets old really fast. I can never quite get into MMO type games. Probably because most of them take next to no skill. You just level...and your character gets better.

If you feel the same way, and want to try out a MMO type game that is more about player skill, then what level you just happen to be or how EPIC your weapons and armor are, try out Monster Hunter Tri.

In Monster Hunter, you will spend most of your time hunting monsters. Ranging from the Qurepeco. A small bird like creature that hops around a lot with his fire beak and likes to cast buffs and heals on himself by singing. To tougher creatures like the Gobul; a giant fish covered in spikes that burrows in the ground underwater and tries to blind you with a lantern on his head or just swallow you whole. Or the giant dragons like the Rathalos or Lagiacrus. Towards the end of the game you will be fighting monsters the size of skyscrapers. Each boss will be tough when you first fight them, but each have a pattern and different weak spots that can be used to your advantage.

By killing monsters you get materials used to craft new weapons and armor. There are hundreds of different weapons and armor to create and nothing in this game is given to you. You cannot trade any material Rarity 3 or above. So, if you see someone with a weapon or armor. You know that they got it through their own hard work. There are also many different weapon types. Greatswords, Hammers, Lances, Longswords, Bowguns, and SwitchAxes. All play completely differently and have different strengths, weaknesses and movesets. But, in the hands of an experienced hunter, all deadly.

If killing giant monsters with a sword bigger then your character or are just looking for the Wii's first great online game. Look no further. Give Monster Hunter a try. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Than You Might Think!

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is one of the better Wii games I've played, and one of the more unusual and unique titles they offer.

This is a sit-down game with a lot of depth, so be prepared to put some time in and learn the ropes, but it's totally worth it.

The various levels of armor and weapon design, gathering of ingredients and supplies, assembling ingredients and learning how to use all of that takes time, but those activities are also a big part of the game. You have to get good at those things so you can move up from fighting little creatures to big monsters.

I only played the single-player quest mode, so I can't speak for the online multi-player, but I hear the online mode is pretty darn good.

The graphics aren't the best - even for the Wii - but the depth of the game and the intricacies of fighting are what it's really about. Learning how each monster moves and reacts, and what weapons and techniques work best on each monster is what it's all about.

Eventually I got bored with the leveling-up-to-fight-a-bigger-monster repetition, so I didn't finish, but it was entertaining for more than 15 hours or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 out of 10 !!!

posted by Trevor5985 (CRESTVIEW, FL) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

All monster hunter games where great but this is the next generation of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great but TUFF!! :)

posted by vadersgame (HESPERIA, CA) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think Monster Hunter Tri is great but I wouldn't recommend if you are only going to rent it for about 3 days or less if you are a beginner gamer. However I gotta give this game as many thumbs up as I can but stop at 50. This game is tuff at some parts but throughout you'll get the hang of it. Also if you just started don't go into the Battle Arena.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by sow (FORT COLLINS, CO) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a awesome game. story mode is great online mode is great 2 player is amazing. Not one complant. Dont rent this game, buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Most impressive

posted by Questioner (ELKHART, IN) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Okay, first of all, let me get to the good stuff before I get on to my critique. My first word about this game...awesome. Yeah, I admit that despite the flaws I'm about to report, this is a really good game. The creatures look real, they act real, behave according to the descriptions given, seem realistic for the most part, really good characterization customization, and good gameplay all-in-all.

Now on to the critique, let me point out that I spent the first day figuring out how to convert kills into resource points. I'll blame it on the game for not giving me instructions on how to do that, I just messed around with the controls until it did something. I guess they couldn't be bothered to say 'Press the Z button and the A button alternately' that infuriated me.

I also noted some of the most insane poses in this game, like immediately after you heal yourself with a potion or an herb. Your character strikes a position that immediately makes me think 'Bowflex finance this game perhaps?'. Another problem I spotted was when you're 'stunned' and you're in a position where you can't move until something hits you, and that 'thing' is most often a wyvern and will kill you with one more strike. At least give a set amount of time before you snap out of it.

Also, let's get to talking the monster's armor. Apparently, the game seems to believe that wings are armored, and that the creature can fly with armored wings. Despite the fact that there is a weight-to-wingspan ratio that permits the creature to fly, having such dense armor would prevent the creature from jumping let alone flying. How dense is this armor? Apparently, it can block a giant axe coming down in an over-hand swing.

I'm going to say that one of the most difficult creatures I came across is the Barroth. Everything else, even the Lagiacrus, I could put up a decent fight against. For some reason, the game thinks that mud can harden and become stone-like in seconds.

All-in-all this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best wii game ever!

posted by king214 (EATON, OH) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off i am completly new to the monster hunter franchise (thought i should put that for people in the same boat). So coming into this game was hard... in the least. If you are new to the games like i was then you really come into this game not knowing what to expect. Somehow with some sort of magic this game was(still is) the most addicting game of all time. Even through not knowing what to do I kept going becuase somthing was driving me. What makes the game so fun? Just memorizing monsters attacks. Which doesn't sound fun but believe me. I can't explain the feeling you first get when you see a "huge" monster for the first time and think "HOLY COW, THEIR IS NO WAY I CAN KILL THAT THING!!!" . Then guess what you work and work and fight that thing then as if out of nowhere, almost like magic, The beast does a flip in the air and on the screen a box with the sweet sweet words of victory "quest completed!"

I have at least 60+ hours of time dedicated into this game, and the day i die and stand before god i hope he asks me "Do you feel like you wasted that time?" and i WILL reply "Not one minute!"

Even with 60+ hours I havn't beaten the game yet. While true I'm not trying to beat the game in a record time this game is still one of the deepest games of all time.

Again I can NOT emphisize how much i love this single game. PLEASE PLEASE give it a try even if you only play one hour I promise you. you will find the reason i love this game so much.

In fact i know what will happen soon and I dread it so much. I know one day online support for the game will end, and I will shed many tears over this one event.

please give this game a try "the games afoot!"

So god bless and happy gaming (and or)

Live long and prosper fellow gamers,
King214 signing off...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only serious grinders need apply

posted by Zerofreeze (HAGERSTOWN, MD) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a game only for the hardcore. I will start by saying that if you don't own a classic controller pro, stop reading and go get one, then read the rest. Also as a Monster Hunter vet, I can also say that there have been many annoying changes such as less weapons and overpopulated areas where you just get continually rushed until your forced to retreat. If your just getting into the series however, don't worry about a thing. I found it hard to adapt coming from the psp because of controls and the small changes. The single-player is also shallow so if you want the real experience, take it online. I suggest playing with friends however as most people in the small lobbies tend to go solo on different missions at the same time, which makes little sense. This isn't the easiest game to get the hang of either, as it requires your time and patience to reap in the rewards. There's still tons of stuff to do and if you want a worthwhile experience please give it a shot, though I suggest sticking to the more recent psp versions. This game is not for everyone so please TRY BEFORE YOU BUY. Decent graphics, workable controls, and a good bit of content make this a nice little package. The story is hardly there so I would only suggest this to people who enjoy action rpgs and grinding for loot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game on Wii

posted by Nadeem (CONROE, TX) May 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is crazy fun, seriously the best game on the wii. I've played almost every game on every system and about 5 are all time favorites, #1 is Monster Hunter Tri. The graphics are beautiful, gameplay is stellar with a nice combat system, grinding never gets boring and slaying large monsters are both rewarding. Theres soo many armor pieces and weapons that look amazing and I cant get off this game with 100+ hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by gamer1256 (LAKE ARROWHEAD, CA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

10 10 10 10!!!!!!!!Ok,so im familiar with the monster hunter series ive been playing them since they came out. Do not think this is going to be a quirky little anime turn-based rpg ITS NOT!!!its a very difficult rewarding wonderful game.probably best wii game ever made.Wonderful graphics. Amazing online!Great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow

posted by zxzx24 (MELBOURNE, FL) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i used to like be a cheater, hacker ect... never again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A shining example of hardcore MH

posted by RobGee (GILFORD, NH) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yes, yes, this game is not for everyone. Some will complain about the controls (With the Wii Remote) but there is a reason they included the Classic Controller Pro with the game; it is SO much easier to play with the Classic Pro.

This game is truly for the hardcore. You are pitted against the environment and a plethora of monsters waiting to team up against you to kill you. It takes skill, practice, intuition, and PATIENCE. People who are reviewing here have only played the game for 2-10 hours. I know, I know, most games are over and done with after 10 hours. But Monster Hunter is just beginning even after 50 hours! This game is very in depth and has a whole lot to do, especially when you participate online.

Of course the graphics aren't going to be stellar. The system outputs only to 480p, what do you expect? Graphics certainly don't make the game, depending on what generation you are that is. Games today are just for instant gratification, just like the attitudes of most people today. Only rarely do some games challenge and reward your time like Monster Hunter does, and few appreciate that. If you are one who does appreciate patience rewarded, do yourself a favor and BUY THIS GAME, support Capcoms efforts to westernize this series!

Recommended to the hardcore and patient 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT!!!

posted by ejomafuvwe (TACOMA, WA) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game is so amazing i just love it so much the game play and interface is so amazing !!!! omg i love greatswords

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tri Force

posted by Jaroid (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

FACTS:
+ Monster Hunter Tri is a hardcore gamer's game.
- The Wii is a console designed for toddlers and housewives.
- This game should be in HD.
- This game looks great for a Wii game... but looks like butt compared to 360 / ps3 games.
- If you don't use a classic controller pro, you will go crazy and probably hang yourself with the nunchuck
+ Out of every MH game, this one has the best controls... but only if you use the classic controller pro
- Nintendo likes to make you buy peripherals
+ MH is designed to be addictive and deep, potentially providing up to 300 hours of gameplay! No joke! That's a lot of bang for your buck
+ There is a lot of grinding and collecting involved, and battles require true strategy
+ If you're not familiar with Monster Hunter, it's a loot and gear based adventure that is light on story but heavy on gameplay and strategy. Think of it as Diablo / Demon's Souls with Zelda-esque combat and tons of loot and items
+ I love this game and gameplay so much that, despite being on Wii, it gets a perfect score
+ This is the best MH yet with great online multiplayer included which integrates with your single player game
- Please complete the tutorial quests before you judge MH
+ This is not Hello Kitty Island Adventure. Be prepared to hunt giant monsters with giant (and varied) weapons! There are many different types of weapons, each with their own moves and gameplay. Swords and shields, greatswords, hammers, lances, long swords, switch axes, bowguns etc each with many variations and upgrades.
- Now I have three DIFFERENT wii controllers just so I can actually play a game like a normal console game and not have to wave my arms all over the place. Stupid wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

shoulda been ps3 and wii not just one

posted by mhforever (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

this game is extremly addicting but also really hard sometimes great graphics for a wii game. one of the best wii games out there right now. however i wish this had come out on to the ps3 instead like it was supposed to like 2 years ago. mh has been a part of ps consoles for years and to switch just dissapointed all of the fanbase they had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ugh

posted by KhanKore (OLYMPIA, WA) Apr 24, 2010

Member since May 2009

9 out of 32 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

So, I rented this game with high expectations. I am an avid Xbox'er so I was really looking forward to something that would shine (graphically) on my wii...I mean, I do have to justify buying the thing at some point.

Anyway, I popped in the game and expected a little more of a coop experience then the 'arena' function. Sure, you get to cut to the chase and tackle the big guys, with up to four buddies, but games this day and age should be including a coop to the main 'story'..and i use that term in this game loosely.

The main story is nothing more then just walking around, killing stuff and collecting items for upgrades or profit. Sounds like most other games but they all manage to disguise it inside the games' story. The characters aren't interesting and the only thing I hate more then poor voice acting is no voice acting. Grunts and whimpers and the occasional laugh do not a language make.

The wii controller combo is very annoying to use in this game. I tried playing it with my daughter but she got so frustrated she sat the controller down and walked off. There goes my quality game time with my kid hehe

The main complaint I have when using this control scheme is that you have to constantly pan the camera around with the directional buttons while fighting. Pressing the down directional makes your camera zoom in at the most inappropriate times, making the fighting an effort in frustration.

I'm sending this back to game-fly today so someone else can give it a shot. It's one of those games you'll either love or hate, and I don't love it.

Hope this helps some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse