Buy Metroid: Other M for Wii
view large frontback

Metroid: Other M

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

3789 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where did it all go so wrong?

posted by Luvbster (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

52 out of 71 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Back in 2002, I was dismayed at the notion of Retro Studios changing my beloved free-roaming action/platformer into a FPS. I decided to keep an open mind, and lo and behold, Prime was superb. I even felt that it kept to the spirit of Super Metroid better than the more traditional Metroid Fusion.

Flash forward to 2010, where I hear of a new return to platforming roots, courtesy of Team Ninja. Again, I am apprehensive, but decide to keep an open mind. I mean, there hasn't been a BAD Metroid yet. Well now we can safely say that reputation has been irreversibly tarnished as Metroid: Other M is so putrid, so utterly horrible, that it's probably the single worst game I've played this year.

It's just LAYERS of bad design decisions! Right off the bat, I was perplexed by the game not utilizing the nunchuck, but assumed maybe the controls are 2D. Well, no. You have to awkwardly navigate 3D space without a 3D controler, and no camera control. This is utterly moronic. The thumbstick was used for the N64, BY NINTENDO ITSELF. Analog 3D control has been standard since 1995. Why go back to the archaic, vestigial d-pad? So that you can aim the remote quickly at the screen, to change to first-person, where you can't move. This is what I mean: A bad design decision to facilitate a bad design decision.

The story is the most banal, stereotypical anime style, where unimaginative writers constantly delve into needless, overwrought exposition. Seriously: early in the game, the commander gives orders, and the soldiers respond with a thumbs up. Then the story immediately screeches to a halt for a flashback explaining in EXCRUCIATING detail what the thumbs mean. For me, this writing was game-breaking. So bad, so uninteresting that it DISCOURAGED me from wanting to find out what happened next. Samus is turned from stoic badass to generic whiny anime chick. If you replaced Samus, no one would be saying the story was good.

Summary: Amateur, Unfocused, Sad, Why god why.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game.

posted by spdyrel (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since May 2006

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

The best way to compare this Metroid to Nintendo's is added action and less puzzle. The controls could have been a lot better; holding the wiimote sideways and moving around with that annoying D-pad could have been a lot easier with the nunchuk. It's mostly a sidescroller and the background story isn't that great. And it's not the old routine of beat a boss, get new power, experiment with new power, beat new boss with new power, and repeat, it's just some guy saying "OK you can use this power now (even though it would have made your life easier 10 minutes ago)". Still worth renting it though. Hope that helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Samus The Scout

posted by Bridge3000 (BELTSVILLE, MD) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I wanted to give this game and its new ideas a chance, but I just got bored with being basically a recon scout for a platoon. There is no real exploration because you already "have" your advanced abilities instead of discovering them, and when you do have to "check Sector 1"...why bother? Where's the bounty hunter?

Enemies got repetitive, exploration seems meaningless with no apparent objective...I got used to the controls, though. The game just got boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Metroid evolved

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

31 out of 48 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

To start off this is the update we have all been waiting for. The gameplay feels fresh, and yet still very familiary. Samus still wanders corridors and large rooms by herself, but she checks in with the Galactic Federation every so often. If this was to be compared to any games in this series, this is most like Metroid Fusion.

The fans are going to be divided on this one for sure. But I can tell you it is awesome. The combat is fluid, and fun. Samus totally looks like a Bad a-s-s.

The biggest change is probably the combat itself. It's encourages you to play a bit more defensively but that really pays off when you go in for the kill. Some enemies have a special "death blow" animation you can peform when they are weakend. Just run up to them with a fully powered charge shot held down and Samus will jump into it.

The game is played with the wiimote held sideways ( Think NSMB Wii ). 1 fires your blaster, 2 jumps, A turns you into the morph ball. Point the Wiimote at the screen, and suddenly you are in first person mode. At this point hold B to look around and then when you lock on to something press A to fire a Missle. You can also press A without locking on to fire normal blaster shots.

So now that you know the controls, it plays really well. All the classic enemies are there. Some require multiple shots to take down, some require missles, others require you to jump on their head and deliver a charge blaster shot to the face. ( and it looks really slick )

Team Ninja and Nintendo did a great job updating the Metroid gameplay to make it fresh, but keeping it just like the same old Metroid everyone loves.

The biggest comparison I've heard is Metroid Gear Solid. Yes there are a fair amount of cut scenes. But that helps bring the series forward as well. It's a welcomed change to hear Samus talk. Some of the cutscenes especially at the start are a bit long, but that just helps set up the story.

If you are a Metroid fan you NEED to play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great gameplay. Terrible storyline.

posted by Ivellias (HIGHLAND FALLS, NY) Nov 15, 2010

Member since May 2005

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me get this out of the way. I'm a huge Metroid fan. The moment I learned Samus Aran was female is still one of the most 'omg?!' moments of my young video-game-nerdhood's past.

(I also happen to rock the Samus in Super Smash bros., but that's another story)

Metroid:Other M -wants- to be a very good game. But whoever was put in charge of the story should be fired on the spot. The first fifteen minutes has you listening to Samus moping about the loss of baby metroid to Mother Brain. Alright, I can understand, cute alien head-eater is gone, they're trying to make me feel a lil empathy okay(and hey, she looks ha-mazing in that jumpsuit so whatever). Unfortunately the rest of the game seems to be about shredding her tough-girl attitude. Instead of a silent, strong-willed character who happens to be female, they relentlessly(through her badly dubbed voice-acting) reduce Samus Aran to a wrist-cutting emo-kid with father issues, ignoring all her past experiences in favor of saying she was pretty must just 'rebelling'. It's simply shameful and ruins the entire Metroid atmosphere, even if you've never played another Metroid game, it's bad.

Other than that, the game is -very- fun to play, with controls similar to the original NES games, with a nice dab of the Wii's point-and-shoot mechanics to make it even more fun.

Graphics are pretty despite being on the Wii's lower-end hardware, with lots of glowy bits and shiny sci-fi paraphenalia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad for a runthrough, but glad I didn't buy it

posted by mg5146a (WASHINGTON, DC) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was extremely fast paced, and the character design was phenomenal, interesting, and challenging. I strongly disapprove of the storyline, though. The character of Samus being given a voice was a BAD idea. She ended up being trite, narcissistic, and extremely uninteresting. I always thought of her as more similar to Link, the stalwart loner whose pensiveness came from the subtleties of her character, not from overarching exposition. However, this game was pretty tough, and therefore interesting. I consider myself a pretty experienced gamer, and I still had plenty of trouble with a bunch of the bosses. Ah, and on that note, there's a boss fight every three or four rooms, which keeps you on your toes. I did miss the puzzle-solving element quite a bit, but the action was engaging. This game took me about 8 hours of gameplay to beat, which means it's much smaller than previous installments of the Metroid series. Like I said, it's great I didn't buy it, because it's rather short and resolute. It'll keep you interested, you just have to bite your tongue whenever Samus starts with her monologuing. I liked it, but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One Word - Unnecessary

posted by AllenBeers (CHANDLER, AZ) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

14 out of 22 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Dear Nintendo,

Remember the way it was back in the 1980's when you had no quality control mechanism involved with your game releases? Yeah, you might want to review that time period and reflect.

I fear for Skyward Sword...

Please don't ruin another great legacy.

Thanks,

Allen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Nice Return to Classic Metroid Play

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Metroid, the other M, is a very solid and entertaining game, marred only by its overuse of cut scenes, and slighlty 'dumbed down' nature. All in all, it's a much easier and linear game then most of the previous ones, but it's still a very fun shooter. The controls were a little baffling at first, but I soon picked them up and had a good time. All in all, it's not perfect, but it's a great start to a far more traditional Metroid. As someone who didn't especially like the 'prime' games, I like the changes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Death of Samus Aran

posted by hkcavalier (HUBBARD, OH) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Metroid: Other M has ruined the Metroid series for me.

My primary criticism is how they've ruined Samus as a character. Before this game, she was voiceless and mysterious, and yet a player could somehow feel a sense of familiarity with her throughout the series. We could infer that she was a loner, but also very heroic and courageous. We also got a peak into her psychological profile during her many interactions with Ridley. Other M ruins this sense of mystery. Now she's been given a voice. She constantly broods over the past and sometimes seems incapable of taking care of herself as she always has. Adding so many other characters that have connections to Samus has ruined her image as someone who prefers to be solitary. Her emotional connections to some of these new characters even effect gameplay at some parts, one of which is very similar the worst part of Metroid Prime, which was my personal favorite game of the series. The Samus established by the Prime trilogy has been tragically murdered. She has lost her depth.

That aside, the combat system was pretty fun. The cutscenes were plentiful and they often dragged on, which could sometimes get annoying. Combat may have been different, but it still feels very strongly like a classic Metroid game. My only criticism of the gameplay is having to switch to first person to fire missiles. You can't move around in this mode and it's impossible to get accustomed to doing this every time a missile is needed.

It's a fairly well-made game, with impressive graphics and combat, but it was far too story-oriented and destroyed many of the themes that defined the previous games in the series. A decent game, but not nearly on par with the usual standard of brilliance for Metroid games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I expected

posted by Cheezr (LANTANA, FL) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When i first heard that the control scheme was "simplified" i was put off but i am about 3 hrs into the game and the controls work well for what this game is (mostly 2D movement).

I am having a lot of fun playing and that is why i game after all.

I did have to remove the motion plus from my wiimote and the plastic wii-condom but i suppose it is really not that big of a deal...

It is definitely worth a rent, maybe more (will update after completion)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Under rated

posted by Nebulous (LAS CRUCES, NM) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Im surprised by how much negativity this game has received. I believe it all stems from the overly emotional cut scenes that portray samus as a very vulnerable young girl. If you can get past these you'll find a game that is action packed and definetely more fun than any of the prime games. The tight controls stand right up with the snes and gba metroids. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre and Disapointing

posted by Razacross (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Other M has much more of a Metroid look and at times feel to it than the Prime games and for that i applaud it. However, there is very little exploration that the earlier series games have and that's one of its main problems. The other main problem being the controls. Granted, you DO get used to them, but it's still and awkward and annoying scheme.

The best thing about the game is the action; there are many miniboss situations and that is refreshing as the normal enemies repeat fairly often. The action sequences are pretty useful for quick kills, though sometimes they can be difficult to trigger.

The story is throwaway. Anyone saying anything different has apparently never seen an action sci fi movie or read an action sci fi book. The fact that Samus speaks (to herself mostly) is no big sin, but what she's saying has absolutely no relevance to anything as mostly she's musing about her past. It's a shame Nintendo allowed Team Ninja to determine her character as she comes across whiny and unsure of herself. That's not the Samus i played in Super Metroid or even Fusion.

In short, this is for action sci fi fans rather than Metroid ones, because the story and Samus' reliving of her past is standard and dull but the action is fun at times. I hope you found it more interesting than i did, because i really tried with this game, but...i'm sending it back early.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is the METROID franchise... big let down

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Considering how much prestige the metroid series has I expected this game to be a quality title. As soon as I put the game in and it said the game was played with wii mote sideways I knew it was a bad sign. I will list the pros/cons this game offers.

PROS:
- Decent cutscenes
- Interesting characters

CONS:
- Awful controlls
- subpar in game graphics
- No depth
- The games a button masher

WEAK title overall avoid it. Overrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Metroid other m

posted by gwsmith03 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

In a long line of metriod games this one falls the hardest. I was interested at first. But a few hours in the game became more of a struggle, then it should have been. Never in any Metriod game have I had to stop in the middle of a boss fight to stop and recharge my health. Every game before allowed you to pick up enegry untis. It really hinders the game play. Plus having all my equipment, but I cant use it cause it offends her friend adam. I didnt bother to finish the game. Please dont rent this game. Nintendo please dont make anyother Metriod like this again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst new metroid game

posted by foxxxy (Moyock, NC) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Whoever nerfed this game to use only 1 wiimote should be fired. This game is far interior to the 3 previous Metroid games. They removed 3d maps, removed your ability to aim where you want and removed your ability to use missles when you please. This may let children play the game but it unlike any of the previous 20 years of Metroid games and not in a good way.

Samus not using her powerful weapons because someone who isn't her boss says so is a major plot blunder as well. The game may explain this later on, but it reeks of corner cutting. I will never find out because this one is going back with 2 hours of playtime.

Do yourself a favor and replay Metroid Prime instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is how you ruin perfection

posted by Mustard (WALNUT GROVE, CA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Basically, let's begin with the story, since that's been the biggest premises of the game seeing that the only soul spelunking done in the past was Fusion with like 4 parts of written dialogue. When Nintendo revealed that Samus was a female, their attitude has always been, "That's right - deal with it." She's been one cold lone bounty hunter and kicking tail for quite a while prior to Other M; but, as soon as Team Ninja picks up the game, she turns into this whiny little girl that needs the help from THE MEN. I mean, how sexist can you be? And I'm a guy saying that... On top of that, the way they chose to break down your gear, as they always do, is by your commanding officer ORDERING you to do so. Really? It would make more sense if he somehow had control of your suits powers and THEN turned on and off what he wanted, when he wanted to, but no, you have everything available, she just won't use them until he says, "Ok darlin, you can activate your missles now." Daddy issues all over the place. The most contradicting and most laughable portion is when Ridley shows up later in the game - Samus breaks down and can't move. Let me remind everyone, at the timeline in this game, she has already beaten him 5 times! This should be SSDD for her, but I guess not... Team Ninja knows best!

Gameplay: Let's go back over a decade ago and take away the joystick for a 3D game - because that's what they did here. No nunchuck usage at all. It's your Wiimote turned sideways. That's right, D-pad it up! This also means there's no moving camera system. What's worse is there's no lock on system either; actually, that's incorrect, there is, but you have to be pointing your Wiimote at the screen, but while doing so, you can't move. It feels like your playing a very bad movie.

The game wouldn't be too bad if it was a completely different IP; but it is NOT. I'm just torn up at the fact that they took something with nothing BUT potential and found a means to turn it into garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good or bad as reviews say

posted by JayRidge (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

The first thing that would bother people are the controls, wii mote is held sideways and shooting missiles require pointing the wii mote at the screen. While in first person mode and shooting missiles, Samus cannot move from the current position. This can be challenging to some, but annoying to most.

The cutscenes look great and tries to give Samus a back story. The wii graphics are really pushed to the limit on this one. The actual gameplay mechanics are pretty good when the wii mote is held sideways, but the world feel pretty small and constrained since a lot of doors are locked and weapons cannot be discovered, but unlocked for use by the man in charge. The boss fights are pretty good, but that's about it with the game. There is no incentive to scour every corner to find something, there are endless empty corridors with respawning enemies. The game feels a bit empty and dull outside of the boss fights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Massive disappointment.

posted by Ragemode (CHANTILLY, VA) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I'd never been let down by a Metroid title before. Ever. Until now.

Gameplay: The controls are tight and responsive. Samus is quicker than she's ever been before. That's where the list of good things ends. The game is a 2.5D platformer, and as such, uses an auto-aim system wherein the game attempts to assume you're trying to shoot at a certain target because you are facing a certain direction. It works for the most part, but when it doesn't, it's frustrating. The combat is cheesy. Samus can execute a bullet-time-esque dodge in response to pretty much any enemy attack. It gets boring fast. "Don't use it" you say? Well, it's triggered by moving in any direction; so it's going to happen all the time even if you aren't trying to do it. Enemies are few, far between, and a bore. Speaking of boring, there are times when Samus is forced to walk, mostly during plot-points, and there is no shooting, no running--walking only. These segments can last up to 10-15 minutes where you find yourself simply walking down empty hallway after empty hallway. Terrible. Even worse, often-times you're forced to play a game of "Where's Waldo" to advance the plot. You're stuck in first-person view and cannot shoot or move until you find a certain object. Good luck. Unless you know exactly what you're looking for (you wont unless using a guide) it can take up to 10-20 minutes depending on how persistent you are.

Graphics: Where are all the colors? Where is the lush flora and fauna we've come to love seeing in Metriod games? Why is this game so DARK? Also, what's with the terrible PoV 90% of the time? Depth perception becomes your biggest foe while platforming.

Music: What music? There is none. You know the iconic fanfare that plays in every other Metroid game when you collect a power-up? Yeah, it's not here.

There are so many more bad things to be said, but I'm out of space, so I'll just say this: It's bad.

P.S. Team Ninja, you should be ashamed. Never touch another Nintendo IP again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wow, very dissappointed

posted by trenken (MATAWAN, NJ) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Long time metroid fan, bought Super on release day, and every game since. And for the most part I love them all, but they made so many bad decisions with this game it's difficult for me to understand how Nintendo could have let this happen to one of their top franchises.

The clunky controls, awful story, elementary writing, no exploration. Pretty much nothing that I loved about metroid exists in this game. If the metroid name was not attached to it, noone would pay any attention to this game.

Gamefly it if you want, but I cant suggest anyone buying this game, especially metroid fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why samus, why?!

posted by kogent (MILFORD, NH) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

11 out of 23 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Oh, Samus, i have loved you for so many years...you enticed me with your graphics and puzzles in metroid one, and sealed the deal with two sequels, becoming better every time, there was even a DS game, so i could take you with me on those long, lonely flights...and now, this...

This game, is horrid. it takes a wonderful series, and destroys it. Samus has always been the strong and silent type, a role model to all female gamers, in this game though, it seems they thought it would be better to make her like EVERY OTHER SCI-FI FEMALE EVER. Depressed, Emo, Trapped in the past, heck, they even gave her the typical hard rear military ex boyfriend...i played this game for fifteen minutes (ten of those minutes being damned cut scenes of her being depressing) and wanted to bash my brains out against the tv screen. so far it's only been story ranting, but how are the game mechanics you say? well..

everything is done for you, i pushed two buttons and killed everything, i ran, and i hit the fire button, other then that, i did nothing. the game aims for you so all you do is spazz out the fire button. the camera is horrible as well, since i got stuck in one dang room, and could not for the life of me see a way out, first person or third person (by the way, constantly swapping between the two is INFURIATING)

if you love metroid like i do, you will do yourself, and the world, a favor by burning your copy as soon as you get it. let this horrible scar in an amazing series be forgotten. you are way better off getting the trilogy on the wii, they are superior games in every way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OMG!

posted by hesdf09876 (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is outstanding very cool gameplay, i had my friends over
at my house just to watch me play this game, it wasn't as hard as i thought and
the story was not as long i would like, but i did play for 16 hours total.
;3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dull and old fashioned

posted by WiiTad (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Compared to other Metroid games which were practically FPSs, this one feels like a throw-back. It's just not worth all the busy work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What have they done......

posted by Thelost (LITHONIA, GA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Been a great metroid fan (played every metroid thats came out) i'm very disappointed with this game. Horrible controls (even after getting use to them). Camera angles give a headache and blocks you from seen what's in front of you.. The biggest thing about the game that really pisses me off, is the fact that samus actually talks.. I'm used to the silent hunter, kill an enemy and use his remains to acquire new weapons and no wait for no one to say that is ok. which brings me to my next point. So she chooses not to use her weapons only because she wants to be authorized by this character Adams... Uhm no, Hellllsssss no.. this is to be a sequel to Super Metroid and i honestly can say that it fails.. i will be sending this game as soon as im done with it. Shame because i really did enjoyed the metroid games. Hopefully the next one will bring it back to metroid standards.. Oh and the hidden icons placed in the map, totally defeats the purpose of exploring, FAIL.... lol... and now back to end this game so i can send it back...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another Hyped Out Game.

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Dec 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you're a Metroid fan you may love this game but since I'm just coming into the world of Metroid I don't really see the love for this game in particular. The whole thing seemed slow and generally disinteresting. I didn't care about the characters or Samus's missions and all the other stuff inbetween so I got bored and shut it off an hour or so into the game....Nice graphics but that's about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by javlin4u (APO, AE) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really excited when this was announced at last years E3. When I got it in my hands however...? Very disappointing. The controls SUCK. This simple flaw ruined the whole experience.

Another fault is the staggering cheese factor. Suffers from Toomuchmangainfluence.

In sum, lots of fabulous potential wasted... could have been great with a little more polish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse