Buy Metro: Last Light for PS3
view large frontback

Metro: Last Light

Buy

Used: $12.99

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

1018 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An immersive post-apocalyptic journey.

posted by Alfred360 (MIDDLESEX, NC) May 16, 2013

Member since May 2010

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

What better place to experience the aftermath of a nuclear apocalypse than Russia? The voice acting in this game is authentic and superb. It is such an interesting world to explore; from the dark, eerie tunnels of the metro, to the grotesque yet beautiful surface above. If Metro does anything right, it's immersing you in the destroyed city of Moscow.
The combat is average, a bit underwhelming. Standard weapon customization with throwing knives, explosives etc. Nothing exciting or new. The game is obviously meant for a slower approach, you can turn out lights and knock out enemies, or shoot anything that breathes.
The story is good, many of the characters are interesting enough. Multiple endings.
There are some technical issues that I'm sure will be patched soon, nothing I couldn't tolerate. The AI is kinda broken, you can easily sneak the entire game. Which makes the $5 Ranger Mode more insulting.
Overall, great post-apocalyptic game that I would recommend renting. Have fun if you're arachnophobic. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Metro: Last Light is Satisfying

posted by SirLassiter (GRIFFIN, GA) Dec 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game not knowing anything about it or the Metro (book or game) series. It turned out to be very interesting and a solid, and satisfying game. Short completion time (6 hours casually) with 2nd replay value, as there are different challenges and a secret ending.

The stealth play against humans was very fun (think thriller, first person Splinter Cell, with no climbing), but fizzled out in the last third of the game as you switch to primarily fighting overly aggressive mutants. Where humans can be knocked out, or head-shot killed, the mutants will test your battle technique, patience, and of course, eat all of your ammo.

The weapons and upgrades are okay, but nothing to get excited about. (Grab a decent shotgun, Sniper, and automatic assault rifle for best results).

Storyline starts off very strong but ends leaving much desired in character and plot development.

Sloppy AI, and annoying surface and mutant levels. I found that I had to motivate myself to play-through the surface levels, so that I could get back to sneaking around and killing humans.

All-in-all, a good game, worth a Saturday on the couch, or Friday or Saturday night at home while the kiddies are sleeping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than I expected.

posted by Mr_Freshmaker (TEMECULA, CA) May 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm going to say that the atmosphere the game emits was awesome. I felt dirty, gritty, and claustrophobic. I decided to give this a rental because of the word of mouth reviews from friends. It's also a fresh breath of air from the standard military FP shooters I play. It is a single player only game but it shouldn't detract from FPS fans.

The story was enough to keep me going. Adding the gameplay, great graphics, immersive sound, even the animation your characters hands made this feel like I was actually the character Artyom.

The gameplay was on point with good pacing. There was stealthy by your stealth meter which was a light on your watch. If the watch light lit up then you weren't in the shadows, also there's a tense violin noise letting you know you're about to get caught. That kept the tension going if I wanted to be ninja. The stealth knife attacks are brutal. If I was seen, the action ramped up as bullets were whizzing by before I got to a hard point for cover. The sentries would search for me a la Splinter Cell style, with torches (flashlights) looking in the darkest of places for my location.

There's also having to charge up you batteries with a crank generator, pumping up an air rifle (my favorite weapon) and having to find air filters for your gas mask. It has a little bit of minor resource management in those terms. Trust me, they get used plenty during the campaign.

My gripe would be the lack of being able to map buttons and the controller sensitivity options were limited. You're only given four presets on the button mapping.

I think this game is on par with the Bioshock series and much more visually impressive. Tense and atmospheric.

I took this game on the road with me while I traveled to the midwest. I used a GAEMS Vanguard so I didn't have to worry about connecting it to the hotel TV's and my relatives TV's. Played it at night with headphones on and it was intense when multiple monsters were chasing my character. PLAY IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Story and Good gameplay

posted by Garyfromulsa (TULSA, OK) May 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed this game. Interesting lot of characters, good voice acting, and strong pacing make for a fun, challenging, and at times kinda scary game. Certain stations can be explored and the dialogue and scenery are intriguing and disturbing. This novel screamed make me into a video game and the creators of this one pulled off a dandy. Translating all the political situations that exist in the Metro through monologue can become a bit confusing. There is also an unnecessary amount of gore that doesn't necessarily add to the story it just seems over the top. Overall I love this game and I hope developers keep making them like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Metro: Lost Interest

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Jun 5, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful


Metro is a pretty decent game. The environments are convincing, graphics are good. Animations are pretty solid. Enemies are mediocre, especially the enemies, but that could just be a personal opinion about the "monsters," just not my thing.
Controls are pretty good, but it's very obvious that this game was designed to be played on a PC.
Voice acting is terrible. The Russian accents are just terrible and forced.

But, the game is good. I just kinda lost interest. I'd put the controller down and have no desire to pick it for days and only did so because I felt like I owed the game my time or something. And it wasn't bad... I just couldn't get invested into it at all.

If you've got nothing to play, it's definitely work a try. Maybe you'll like it more than I did. But I have other FPS's to play that just have more to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Good.

posted by ccool123 (FAIRFIELD, IA) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found the game was really well done, after playing it four times through and getting platinum I still found the game fun. The story is interesting, the characters are ok, a little bland, the gameplay is fun and keeps you thinking, the areas and atmospheres are perfect, the enemys can be a tad annoying, and despite what people are saying, I had not noticed a single glitch and had not had a freezing incident once. Im interested in seeing what DLCs they pop out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A chilling but flawed journey through the dark

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 27, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Inspired by the book Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky and a sequel to the Xbox 360/PC game of the same name, Metro: Last Light continues the adventures of Artyom, a member of the Order in post apocalypse Moscow. For those who didn't play the first game, the story is relayed well enough that you can jump right in and not feel lost. It is this story, a very deep, twisting, turning story that has moments that are both chilling and emotional that is this game's greatest strength. The gameplay itself is satisfying, and you have the option of going in guns blazing or taking a stealthier approach. What method you use does have bearing on which of the game's two endings you receive. The gunplay works well enough, though there aren't a large variety of weapons to choose from. You can, however, customize your guns to a point, so your firearms of choice can be a little unique. Enemy AI varies, and it's one of the flaws in the game. Creatures are highly aggressive, and will relentlessly pursue until either one of you is dead. Human enemies, on the other hand, range from highly competent (enemies will actively search for you and flank you) to just plain clueless (it's fairly easy to sneak up on them). They're not as bad as some games, but the AI does hold this back a little, though not so much that it spoils the fun. The game does have some technical issues, ranging from clipping through scenery to outright freezing and requiring a hard start (luckily only happened once to me, but others have had it worse). Again, none of these issues are enough to break the game, and shouldn't prevent you from playing this excellent story driven single player experience. The main characters are all well done, and the voice acting is strong. NPCs fare slightly worse, as they seem to be repeated throughout the game in both looks and voice. This is a game that wants you to take your time, exploring every nook and cranny, no matter how creepy. Once through can take you about 12-15 hours. 8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty decent game

posted by crabbysam (SARASOTA, FL) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played it for a couple days and while it has some quirks, like coding graphical jitters here and there, all in all the quirks are few and far between. With that said, It's a game with good graphics, good story and the characters aren't as cartoonish as other games in this genre. Although in some scenes they reuse the characters, it's not really noticeable or bothersome.

Good game, better than most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

9 to a 6

posted by dinosaurTaco (BERKELEY SPRINGS, WV) May 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The beginning is great and I found the game very fun to play. BUT.......... every chapter after maybe the 4th one just gets less fun. Mainly just a bunch of mazes you find ways to sneak past enemies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definatley worth a rent.

posted by DanielD625461 (WINNSBORO, TX) May 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well as we know not every game is perfect and we probably never will play one that is. The only thing I was thinking when I finished the campaign was what could this team could have done with a major budget and more time. It was solid all the way through and it does give you a sense of urgency in certain parts when you are running out of air and you have to find another filter to put on your mask so you won't die. Multiply that times watching your health and deciding what bullets whether use the regular ones u find or buy or the upgraded ones you can use for currency for more damage to
get out of a bind. The little things like wiping off your gas mask when it would get covered in blood or mud and always watching you watch count
down along with the guns which did in my opinion had a macgyver feel to certain onesmade this game different enough to where I played it through again on hard difficulty because the normal felt a little to easy. The only gripe is that the sound would be delayed for 2 or 3 seconds when I would fire off a shot in a new area I would get to but it only happened a couple of times. Also as with almost every game now a days I wish it was longer tookaround 9 hours on hard difficulty. Tip when you have a chance in the tunnels she you are driving the car that's on rails you pass a group of people and merchants very close to them will be probably 12 to 15 guys you can kill and drop 2 of your guns and pick up 2 of theirs and drive the car backwards to the merchants and sell their guns and you can get close to 600 extra credits or bullets whatever you want to call them don't drop all 3 of your weapons when you pick up enemies ones to sell cause it will only allow you to sell 2 of your 3 guns anyway. This was the only place in the game you can do this that I found plus where you dropped your two guns you had going in will be in the same spot when you come back. Overall its definatley worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tried to clone FALLOUT, fell short

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) May 18, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Metro is a 1st person shooter, better suited for a 3rd person shooter. Game is set in dark TUNNELS. Unlike FALLOUT, METRO leans heavy on story telling TO MORE STORY.

PROS: Rich graphics, plenty of bad guys, decent story, controls easy to master, weapons are ok at best.

CONS: Very dark, flash light useless, no real mapping systems, you can get stuck in dark area with no clue what to do next, 1st person limits ability to defend in tight places. No way to skip stuff you have seen before.

This's how bad the tunnels are, you take off down a side track and after wasting 40 shells on various beast. Tunnel curves right back were you started.
This operates more as a rail game. Every now and then you get to explore.

I waited a long time for this game. I thought it would better. Unlike FALLOUT and other such RPGs. Not many choices to be made in METRO.

Mainly, it's a good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

METRO:LAST LIGHT

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) May 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

This games graphics deserve a perfect 10 let alone the story and gameplay just wish it had multiplayer other than that its great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lots of potential, not that great.

posted by wjo5027 (DURHAM, NC) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I played the first metro and enjoyed it. Not a stellar game (Like Farcry, Halo etc) but a solid FPS. Graphics were good, cool options to have the whole game spoken in Russian (with english subtitles). Biggest problem, the game was too dark. I adjusted my TV to the brightest setting and i did the same with the console, still it was overbearing. This, coupled with the annoying cracking and constant cleaning of your mask mid combat made visuals very un-enjoyable (especially on the hardest difficulty, straight up chaos)
TL;DR Good story line, cool apocalyptic theme and weapons, ruined by low visibility and shoddy combat interface.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I am turning off the light!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Sep 16, 2014

Member since May 2010

This game is a linear shooter, and I like open world games.. This game has a static hero and i like heros that are aqdaptible.. if you like call of duty then maybe this is for you but it ain't for me! Because I like RPGs... This one is s shooter... I think i will go back tro borderlands because it is more fun than this.. This game is boring.. Just Meh... Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

metro: last light

posted by marcuswatts3 (CARSON, CA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

A must have, fun, fun, and exciting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good but can be better

posted by FALLOUTNEWVEGAS (WHITELAND, IN) May 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

Weapons were relatively easy to find and if you knew how you could get military grade bullets very quickly, but it was easy for you to get lost in some parts of the game sense there's no objective marker for you to follow. Also the combat I very much enjoyed because it reminded me a lot of bio shock combat situations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful

posted by MOONSTAR (WILTON, CA) May 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2007

Metro's story engrosses you in a world of struggles and hardships and makes you feel the pain of the world around you when you explore the last cities of man beneath Moscow and makes your heart race when you traverse the dangerous tunnels in between the pockets of civilization and the irradiated surface world. Gameplay itself offers Shooting/ stealth segments throughout the game that offer challenge either way you lean

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring, Tired & Linear Shooter

posted by scorp321 (MENTOR, OH) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This is a really boring & linear shooter. Same basic formula since the Quake days. Go into area, shoot people/monsters, go to next area. Very boring cut scenes & no worthy story. I've found all the Metro games to be the same version of a 1990's shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Left me wanting more

posted by Vile1 (PIERCE CITY, MO) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I really enjoyed the stealthy part of the game the moving through tunnels and sneaking up on enemies. Didn't like being rushed through parts of the game and the ending left me thinking what thats it? Overall it was a good game but it just left me wanting, 7 bars for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the game overall is excellent

posted by Brad420 (CAPITOL HEIGHTS, MD) Feb 9, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

this game offer jump scare moments and great weapon customization.the storyline absorbs you into the game as artiyom, the game incorporates 1st person shooter with stealth decisions. double ending to the story mode based on how you play the game. the graphics are top gen, the monsters were challenging. but sadly the difficulty was not optional to pick. overall it is a game worth buying or to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Beautifully Done, kind of boring.

posted by Easton99 (YUCAIPA, CA) Feb 6, 2014

Member since May 2007

The look and feel of the game is great. The story is pretty good, but confusing. Gameplay is good, but gets old. It is a run and gun game with the option to sneak up on the bad guys, a little. It is not open world at all, and has the predictable "my action hero can't jump over this small barrier because the game wants me to go another way" style. I want to read the book now, I'm glad I rented it, but I won't be renting it again, and certainly won't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by Solarplight (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

I enjoyed this one. It has an interesting story line and good graphics. I wish there was more opportunity to use the sniper rifle, most all combat is in pretty close quarters, but I guess that makes sense with the setting of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by jayprime (VALLEJO, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

This is a very fun stealth/fps hybrid game. The story is good and the visuals are pretty decent for an aging console. The sound is decent but cuts in and out a little bit, and the weapons don't have very much pop. But overall a very satisfying game to play to completions. The game is short 10hrs. on hard but is worth a rent not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not my cuppa

posted by Bubbles_QF (BEAVERTON, OR) Dec 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game was too slow for me. I was bored almost from the start and didn't bother finishing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Froze

posted by deesnuts (SEVIERVILLE, TN) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

Played for three hours and game froze in same spot three times. Sent back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse