Buy Medal of Honor for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Medal of Honor

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

16940 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game but short

posted by koolcat (ORLANDO, FL) May 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

37 out of 39 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This was a really well done single player FPS (I didn't play multiplayer). I like how they switch between different operatives: Seals, Rangers, Delta and a heli pilot. Each switch had a significant change in the gameplay and this might have been the first time I actually felt more involved in an FPS then in the past. You have to pay attention to what your AI buddy is saying. If he says, "headshot only on the Tango on your high 9, make it count", it actually has meaning then the usual chatter you typically ignore in a shooter.

Having the game set in the Middle East was topical and it actually did give you a feel for what real soldiers are going through, as well as how they might communicate and interact.

The weapons felt good and powerful. I like the aim functionality in the FrostBite engine where when you engage your sites, you come up on target if you are near an enemy. It avoids that frustrating "almost" got him aim you get in some games.

My only complaint was the length. If this game took 5 hours to get through, I would be surprised. It was short, but you do move quickly through levels, not alot of standing around so you are getting alot of bang for the time you are playing. I knocked off a point for the length.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Realistic

posted by mpemj23 (DULUTH, GA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

152 out of 185 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Being a former veteran this game is the closest in regards to the realism factor. The sequences were good in the Campaign even though the Frame Rate does some times slow the action. The Multiplayer is good but not exactly what I expected in regards to Multiplayer innovation.

The AI gets stuck occasionally in the Campaign which can get a bit ridiculous as I sometimes would have to shoot them once or twice to get them back on track. The story is well put together and definitely resembles the crazy times our soldiers endure and have to overcome. I want to say that this in no way should be compared to COD as it is a whole different experience and is based off of more realism than arcade or fiction. Tier One are real soldiers in a Elite unit that handle things we take for granted every day. I want to say I do thoroughly enjoy the COD series but am really into realism.

I am not a fan of the Battlefield series not because I don't like it but just doesn't get me fired up. This game very closely resembles Battlefield and in other ways has some of its own intricacies that make it worthwhile. The Multiplayer definitely has its own feel but to me is lacking in customization and has lots of bugs that should have been fixed as the Beta allowed them to get feedback and make the appropriate changes. The difference between a higher score for me was the bugs and AI as far as the rest it was spot on in realism and the story definitely engulfed and pulled me in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great campaign poor multiplayer

posted by Metalhead3 (Pacific Grove, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

45 out of 60 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I wish I could rate this game for it's campaign and multiplayer seperately, but I cannot so the score got dropped down a bit.

This campain is awesome, you feel like part of the action and the story. Much better done that CoD's latest.

The graphics are top notch and are visually stunning on some of the missions.

If you have a home theater you will wat to crank it up, the sounds of
gunfire and explosions suck you into this game and are very well done.

The multipayer on the other hand is less than disireable for me. It seems cheep, the graphics are toned down compared to the campain and it's just not that much fun. It seems it was just rushed and added on because .. well, all games need some kind of multplayer how days.

This is defintely worth a rent for the singleplayer, I would hold off on buying it howerever, the online gets old real quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blown Away! Worth a Purchase

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Oct 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

123 out of 175 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I'm so happy I pre-ordered this game, because it's just sick. The campaign and online play are very satisfying, and everything about this game resembles Battlefield Bad Company. If you like Battlefield, this is a shoe-in. I am stunned at how realistic this game is, but especially the way the guns feel and sound. You won't be let down. The campaign is long and impressive (that's what she said), online play is deep, and it's super easy to unlock achievements...what more could you ask for?

CAMPAIGN:
Once again, it feels like playing Battlefield but blended in a TON of variety to keep things interesting. There's a very nice array of both stealthy and guns a blazin' missions. The environments are destructive like Battlefield, but nothing beats killing a bunch of Taliban terrorists.
- You can stab enemies relentlessly--just keep button mashing melee and your guy will stab this dirty terrorist 100 times on his way down. And if you stand over him you will crouch down and melee his corpse.
- More than a dozen deep missions, using tons of variety like AC 130s, mortars, laser guided missiles, sniping, etc. Blow the heads off the Taliban fruits with a nice snipe or close range shotgun.
- You can toggle night vision, thermal, and/or both.
- You carry 2 guns, but can double tap Y to auto change to a pistol with infinite ammo. You can also press X and a teammate will replenish your ammo. A few nice additions not seen elsewhere...

ONLINE:
Also, very similar to Battlefield. You can choose between Assault, Spec Recon, or Sniper classes, each with diff 1st and 2nd guns, and attachments. You upgrade those by gaining EXP with each class, and can switch between them when you die. If you get picked off, switch to a sniper and go kill that little camper. Only complaint is there's already lots of snipers...like Battlefield. There's variety in games like deathmatch, defend territory, and objective based modes. It's fun.

Milt Drucker- gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's not call of duty, so why compare to it?

posted by iKnowGames (DALY CITY, CA) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

84 out of 123 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Medal of Honor is a great game, but from what I read people are comparing it to Call of Duty, thus the reason for the very low scores. This is a fantastic game, don't believe the hacked reviews from IGN.

IGN gave this a 6. Yeah right.

The Campaign for this game is filled with action and drama, the same stuff our loyal soldiers who risked there lives in Afghanistan went through. Not only that it actually looks real, and it feels real.

The Multiplayer is basically an upgraded version of Battlefield Bad Company 2, with more slick weapons, more upgrades, and a far faster pace. If you like Bad Company 2, you'll LOVE Medal of Honor. The Multiplayer and the Campaign are completely different. Multiplayer is a whole new beast. This isn't call of duty play boys, you don't lunge 50 feet into the enemy and suddenly get a kill. This game actually requires SKILL(Something the little MW2 Kids don't have) to be good at the game.

I highly recommend an FPS fan to check this game out. Don't believe the horrid hacks, IGN did the same thing last year with Bad Company 2 so people wouldn't buy it and spend there money on MW2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good

posted by deadgame (CHICO, TX) May 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Medal of Honor could possibly be the most frustraiting multiplayer ever but other than that it is amazing! The story takes place and is about stuff that is actually happening unlike the COD series no offenses COD lovers I am one to but, it's the truth! The missions are long and enjoyable but the multiplayer UGHH! It is the most frustraiting thing I have ever played!!!!! It also has a very realalistic feel. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Huge disappointment

posted by Tesseract4 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

29 out of 45 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The single player campaign is OK. Just OK. And it paints Tier one as a bunch of insubordinate cowboys. For all that was made of having actual US military involved in the game you would have thought they would have suggested portraying them better. Or maybe they had an agenda to try and make their superiors look incompetent. Yeah I get that in the story they were "right." But in the military insubordinate plus right doesn't equal ok. It often equals court marshal.

Multi-player is a joke. First the horrific net code. You will constantly find yourself getting killed by someone coming though an opening in front of you but only actually showing on your screen as the last bullet of the clip kills you. Likewise you will be getting shot as you run for cover, make the cover, only to die a second or two later because the other guy actually killed you before you made the cover. BFBC had this too but for whatever reason I found it far less infuriating. Second the snipers. The level design encourages some really awful play styles most of which revolve around sniping and spawn camping. All bolt action sniper rifles are one shot killed, regardless of range and where the bullet hits. This allows players to stay so far out of the action that they can at times be nearly impossible to find and kill. Third is the kill steaks. I actually kind of like how they work, only they add to the sniping and allow people of marginal skill to rock 10, 20, 30 and even 50 to 1 KDR. The formula is simple. snipe from afar, get your kill streak, launch it on the spawn, that may get you the next kill streak, wait a moment, launch that on spawn, snipe a few more times and before long there you are launching cruise missiles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

To short.

posted by DBOX12 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was loving everything about this game campaign, then it was over in 2 days. I was very disappointed. Online was fun, I loved the fact that you get achievments online, unlike Call of Duty. Overall a great rent not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm selling this the week after I bought this

posted by marooned (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

39 out of 63 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game has virtually nothing that makes it stand out from the competition it's trying to rip off.

I will go ahead and start by saying I bought this game for the multiplayer experience, because I've enjoyed DICE games in the past and I saw that they developed the multiplayer.

Well, two completely separate companies developed the singleplayer and multiplayer, and I guess that makes sense because the two parts of the game feel like two separate games. Here's what's in singleplayer that didn't make it to multiplayer:

- Leaning and peeking
- Going prone
- Cookable grenades
- Selective fire modes for certain weapons
- Any sense of satisfaction

Here's a list of what's really, really realistic about the "super-authentic" singleplayer:

- Infinite ammo for your pistol.
- Your teammates are ammoboxes capable of carrying an unlimited amount of ammo only for the guns you spawn with.
- Your teammates can never die, unless you friendly-fire them enough.
- In the level Neptune's Nest, you fall a long distance, get up and are limping. A minute later you've gone prone to knife someone and you're capable of full-sprinting again.
- Taliban/AQ fighters are morons who only know how to stay in cover in one position, and will never vary where they peek out.
- Scripted airstrikes automatically kill all enemies who are alive in the area, even if they're only 2 feet away from you and you are unscathed.
- Hey nice bullet travel physics in the scripted Barrett sniper rifle parts of the game.
- Hey nice bullet travel physics at all!

About the multiplayer:

It's not even worth talking about. I bought this game because I saw DICE developed the multiplayer. Unfortunately, every thing that made DICE games good in the past is gone: destructible environments, squad support roles (medics, engineers, ammobox assault guys, etc.), and bullet-travel physics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Encountered Issues That Shouldn't Be There

posted by yesokyesok (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

30 out of 48 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Pros: Solid campaign but short length. Great story that keeps up with the momentum of the game.

Cons: Considering the game had a Beta (which I was involved in) they clearly left alot of things unpolished. While the game mainly revolves around Online Multiplayer they left out certain things that could have improved this score.

1. Screen Resolution/Size - My biggest disappointment is the screen does fit. There is a SCREEN ADJUST option in the multiplayer menu however the arrows do not align properly. Google provided me with similar complaints. So if you do not have a huge TV (1080p) or able to connect to a Monitor. Your out of luck.

2. Sound - My default sound was Monitors???? You can adjust to TV however, why was that not the default? It left me wondering during the game why it sounded funny. Even with the adjustment it seems like the Devs got carried away with 5.1 encoding thus leaving it sounding cluttered.

3. Online Freezing - The game freezes if you are playing opposing force sometimes. Also, the controller and in game menus react slowly.

4. Spawn Camping - Poorly planned spawn points makes you frustrated.

5. EA Pass - If you rented it (which obviously you all did) prepare for the same treatment you got in BFBC 2.

6. Competition Between EA and Activision - Do we really need the slow-mo breach and pistol scenes like COD. I swear I thought this would be something new.

7. BF 2.5 - While its not Battlefield, it feels like it. In campaign you can Prone. In Multiplayer the option is not there. I swear I thought this would be something new.

Overall: RENT First. Purchase when in bargain bin. This game should have come out over the summer not close to when CODBO is coming out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by serg (KIRKLAND, WA) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really loved the game Not the ONLINE play but the Single player just weird everybody gives rating for online mode this is fun game if you wanna play and don't have internet connections this is alot better then the last COD fun to play really realistic and just overall very enjoyable .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Medal of Dishonor

posted by Soldarith (WEST CHESTER, PA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

23 out of 37 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

PROS:
- Storyline is ultra-realistic and puts you into the boots of special forces in modern day scenarios.
- Weapons are realistic and ballistics are outstanding
- Sounds and music are first-rate.

CONS:
- Being the weak victim operator throughout all the cut-scenes always being the one needing help from your buddies.
- Unengaging cut scenes that really didn't do much to move the story.
- 6-7 hour single player game. One of the shortest I've ever played.
- COUNTLESS AI bugouts that require you to load from last checkpoint multiple times until you can progress again.
- Multiplayer is a copy/paste of all DICE multiplayer Battlefield games, dating back to Battlefield 2142 -- Nothing, absolutely nothing, has changed here. Its a re-hash of the same old thing.
- Multiplayer has uninspiring weapon upgrades, overly-complex scoring system, small compact maps, confusing map layouts, dull drab over-use of colors, almost-worthless mini map system, & absolutely bland static kill streak rewards.
- No kill cam
- Worst offender of the entire game: Multiplayer's sole goal is to race to camp the opposing team's spawn point before they camp yours.

All-in-all Linkin Park could not save this absolute flop of a game. EA should be disgraced and embarrassed for putting this title out. The single-player is FAR too short and the multiplayer is the same DICE game you played a decade ago, just with new skins. Other than the single-player story, this entire game is a re-hash and a purely copy/paste from previously-released EA/DICE games. Totally unoriginal, over-marketed, over-hyped, and unimaginative end result for a game that should have made us all proud.

Shame on you EA & DICE.

FINAL:
Rent do not buy. Then promptly return to move onto another title. Or wait for CoD: Black Ops to see if they did better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

S U C K E R E D again !

posted by IC3oCOLDoM (HILLIARD, OH) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

21 out of 34 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I got suckered in again by EA ! Here's a multi-billion $ company and they cant get there servers to work better than One $ . Online play is so laggy , dropped signals , and if you do get a good connection ....
well you better watch those " SPAWN KILLING SNIPERS " ! Just like battlefield "Bad Company " (by EA ) ! and whats up with the extra $ for extra online material / if you have no "code" ......that extra money surely isnt going to bettter servers !

EA..... YOU S U C K !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

disapointment at its worse

posted by zmccuiston (PASADENA, TX) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

im going to make this short and sweet... the storyline was GOOD but way to short. And the online is absolutely awful in my opinion, its exactly like battelfeild badcompany in everyway. Everyone on the game chooses the sniper class and camps. How does camping show skill or make the game fun? it DOESNT! This game is a 5 at best, I am sorry if anyone disagrees with my review it is just an opinon. Thank you for reading this and let me know how you feel about this review please and thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Medal of Honor fails

posted by PetBuddha (VESTAVIA, AL) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

21 out of 36 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I play first person shooter the majority of my gaming time. medal of Honor fails on so many levels. 1) You can only have 4 friends in your party. 2) servers are awful, it reminds me of GRAW when you had to take out your mic to get into a room. Your always dropping someone or they show up on the other team. 3) Without party chat you can not take in the team party screen. 4) The respawn is a joke. Spawn camping is back. You spawn and die more then you play. 5) While your waiting to respawn and trying to change classes some of the button work when they want too. 5) 3 classes come on! 6) The campaign is weak. 7) Found out after I bought a copy for me and got the gamefly one for my daughter that your Xbox live or Playstation profile have to have a birthday showing your 18 or over to play EA games online. They don't make that pointbefore you buy the game, only that you have to be 18 to buy MA rated games, and yes my daughter plays video games at 12 that are violent that I allow. There's less in games and more in the news, plus she can tell real from fantasy. Once you get into a game the detail to the weapons and the game play is fast and realistic, but it does not make up for the many glitches, bad servers and other flaws in the game. I recommend stay away from this game it will only waste time trying to get a good gamefly game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dreadful

posted by DrMcCarrot (DAVIE, FL) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of the previous Medal of Honor games but being unsure of the "modern" direction this latest installment took, I put this game way down on my priority list.

Probably should have just taken it off.

Everything about this game oozes boredom. The combat? Clunky and unresponsive. The graphics? Might've been impressive if this was a launch title. Dated and bland. The story? I paid attention to the dialogue and I STILL wasn't sure what I was actually doing most of the time, other then being led down a path and told to shoot bad guys.

The game fails to achieve any kind of visceral feeling to it. Firing a shotgun feels the same as firing a 20mm chaingun. Even the explosions look horribly dated.

Honestly, this game is just plain dreadful.

Stay far, far, FAR away from this game.

Play Battlefield instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NO GOOD MULTIPLAYER

posted by Titanix00 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This game's single player captures the experience well - worth a look. The game isn't hard so at a few points only will you have any trouble. The multiplayer is HORRIBLE - I mean GOD AWFUL. The mp stages are so small, everyone camps and you will get spawn killed like no one's business. Spawn, crouch, move two steps, and BAM - you die. Get used to that. To make it worse, there is no clear cut indication of where you ever get shot from, so your kill/death ratio well be NEGATIVE for rookies without ANY doubt. Not good for team deathmatch or the like game types. Bad Company 2 mp was SO MUCH better. This game's mp(MOH) can't even hold a candle to that, let alone MW2 mp or any game for that matter. Play the single player, then give the mp a look if you want to get frustrated in my humble opinion. In short sp 9/10, mp 5/10 and that's being generous for mp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Starting Out

posted by No121Else (EL CAJON, CA) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

19 out of 34 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ok this is more or less a simple explanation, a lot of reviews keep comparing this game to MW2 and BC2, which you cannot do it just can't be done, its like comparing Halo: Reach to MW2, its not the same thing so why would it be compared.

I am only on the 3rd mission but I must say that everything this game has done is what should be in any "Military" FPS, yes "Military" is in quotes because I didn't know we were launching nukes in russia while they take over the US but that seems to be the common story in "Military" FPS games.

Some of the most important features that are done right seem to be things that every shooter should have but they lack and when MoH did it they went all out and perfected it.

NVG's-These aren't your typical NVG's you see in all games, no these are correct if there is too much light then you can't use them as they do their job they pick up low light levels for vision but high light levels will blind you something other games seem to lack, so the only time you will get the true use of NVG's is when it is pitch black.

Leaning-Why is it that this is the ONLY console FPS that has the ability to lean around corners, and its not just around corners. If you are crouched and hold down & left you will go semi prone and lean around the corner, hold down you will go into a prone stance, hold up you will go into a standing stance that you can lean from it doesn't just do this in crouch mode either if you are standing and lean you can go into a crouch as well.

Firing Modes-Full Auto, Burst, Single Shot why is it that nearly every game is missing this? It is one of the key features to being real and every game that wants to be real is missing but not MoH its right there any time you want, in the second mission you have the "M14 EBR Acog (Combat Scope)" and you can switch like in real life to single shot for precision kills and near sniping or full auto if you get rushed.

and more..
Overall don't listen to pro reviews form your own opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good for a reboot

posted by TXtoker (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First off, don't pay attention to the reviews being way too picky with MoH. For a reboot I thought this game was great. It does have it's glitches, but none that really affected anything.
Pros:
+Sound
+campaign
+multiplayer
+graphics

Cons:
-graphics
-campaign length
-very scripted campaign
-lack of multiplayer maps
-lack of multiplayer weapons

The sound effects in this game are the best I have ever heard in a video game. Your location has an impact on how the shot sounds, if your in a open field it goes on for miles, if your in a warehouse its deafening and echos like no other. The campaign I thought was very well done, and was a real enjoyable experience. My only gripe with the campaign was its short length (MW2 length) and the fact that almost the whole thing (except for you) was scripted. Your allies would stay still until you walked into a certain spot. Other than that the campaign was an engaging thrill ride with some emotional moments. The graphics were pretty good, except I don't know the technical way to describe it but it took a while for the graphics to catch up. You would enter a room and sometimes the graphics would still be blurry and you have to stand and wait for them to finish "focusing"(?). The environments I thought were very well done, especially the lighting. When a 2000lb bomb explodes near you it takes several moments for the dust to settle and dirt stop raining on you.

The multiplayer is fun, a lot like Bad Company 2 (same developer). There are very few maps though. Also only a few guns too. Online is very fast paced and in your face, and definitely takes some time to get familiar with. The hit detection is poor and there are some OMG moments, but is still a enjoyable experience.

Overall, in my opinion a very entertaining game with a great story, and fun online. Not bad for a reboot to the MoH franchise. That being said I hope they continue to make new MoH's set in Afghanistan, with more improvements and a longer campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yawn!

posted by Timelord42 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I have been a player of FPS for years. So I threw Medal of Honor in my que since I heard not to buy it, man am I glad I listened. I got it in this afternoon. Started it, made dinner for my wife, went back to it and bam. I'm done. I did not feel any connection to any of the roles I was thrust into. It is a big training game for anyone who hasn't played an FPS. I think I died maybe 12 times through the game and that was only at the end. If you are bored, sure check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

most boring game ever

posted by ughterribl (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

indeed it is! i guess i got the game 2 days late so i missed out on the "camp here" memo. no one moves not even teammates SOOOOOOO LAME. i'd rather play bfbc2 at least that game was somewhat balanced.

This game is complete trash going to send back immediately for DR2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MOH

posted by juggalo666 (DELAWARE, OH) May 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

everyone tells me this game is bad horrible and lame. i dont see why they hate it. it is perfect has no bugs that a saw controlles were amazing its a really awsome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DonHey Reviews: Medal of Honor

posted by DonHey (FORT MYERS, FL) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

A First-Person Shoot (FPS) is a hard game to make for most developers, and there are few who can pull it off. Infinity Ward and Treyarch to name a couple. Though EA had previously tasted success in its Medal of Honor franchise of video games, one cannot help but notice the lacking greatness that was once Medal of Honor.

The new Medal of Honor takes place in fairly modern times, during the 2001 invasion of Afghan. The story follows three different squads (two SEALs teams and an Army Rangers platoon) during the early stages of the war. Perhaps the first thing players will recognize is the accuracy of the terrain and the integrity of the weapons and graphics. While that may be just one of hundreds of things players will notice, it is, sadly, the ONLY positive thing present throughout the whole game.

The controls and shooting mechanics can be described as mediocre at best. Targeting is poor to the point where the player will find themselves wasting an entire clip just to hit one hostile. The AI for both allies and hostiles is unrealistic and repetitive, and hostiles use the same "fire from behind cover" technique found in so many FPS games. The story itself is good, though the way it is executed is terribly awful and purely unsatisfying. Despite EA's attempts at authenticity and reality, the player character is often pinned against endless waves after endless waves of stupid hostiles. No way does a one-level building the size of an outhouse have 100+ Taliban in it. Just no way!

In short, Medal of Honor may be good to rent for multiplayer, but definitely not worth a purchase.

Controls: 5 out of 10
AI: 4 out of 10
Graphics: 8 out of 10
Story: 8 out of 10
Weapons: 8 out of 10
Multiplayer: 8 out of 10

OVERALL: 6 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Medal Of Disapointment

posted by HardHead (DUMAS, AR) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Not a real big time gamer but when I do play I expect the game to last longer than 5 hours. Don't get me wrong the game was cool but some of the graphics could real use some help. A cow should really have a face ya know?? All in All the game should have really stayed on the drawing board a little longer. 6 stars for this game....Will stick with my Battlefield..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SMH....What a disappointment

posted by jblock23 (MARIETTA, GA) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Ok, now I rented this to give it the benefit of the doubt regardless of the reviews. Now im no COD fanboy or anything, I just enjoy playing a good game. After playing I was like wow this is bad lol. Firstly, this game has so many glitches Idk where to begin, the graphics arent too good either, but it has its moments now i will give it that. The storyline is a bit meh and it is extremely short, I didnt even bother playing the multiplayer because i was so heated at the time I wasted playing this lol. I feel this game was extremely rushed, they shouldve waited till Q1 of 2011 to release imo because they couldve done alot better than this. All this hype over a measely storyline and mediocre gameplay. Welp, Theres always Black Ops lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse