Buy Max Payne 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Max Payne 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.8

6081 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Max Pleasure

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) May 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

43 out of 48 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

So, this game was pretty nice.

It certainly has that, big budget, current Gen Rockstar feel that LA Noire, GTAIV, Red Dead have. In other words, it's worth whatever money you invest into it.

This game is PERFECT for GameFly. A) it's really good. B) it's not very long. C) You don't need a BS Online Pass for Multiplayer.

I can absolutely say that it feels more built for a PC in terms of controls and graphics, but make no mistake, the game translates just fine on the PS3 with all the same great action narrative and detail.

I will say that it feels more like a linear GTA, than a sequel to in the Max Payne series, but it's certainly enjoyable. It would have been nice to see how the gritty city would have translated under Rockstars care, but going full on Gun for Hire/Body Guard/Kane and Lynch in Brazil wasn't a bad experience at all.

It's a game for Adults, and is without question the Video Game epitome of Tony Scott movies like "Man on Fire" "Deja Vu" "Taking of Pelham 123" and "Domino." 100%. Remarkable similarities as far as story telling and cinematics there.

The game is great, but, it can only be as good as a Max Payne. It deserves all the praise it gets for bringing the series back to life with such care. But, let's face it, at the end of the day, it's still Max Payne.

It's a great game. Kill a few hours. Go back again if you're a glutton for punishment. Enjoy some great Multiplayer while you're at it.

Definite Rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 22, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the greatest game ever created in the history of the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than Expected

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Aug 20, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I didn't think the tropical location would work for a Max Payne game, but Rockstar pulled it off. It feels and plays like Max Payne, it's just not as Noirish(I made that word up). The gun play is top notch and there are some epic memorable gun fights that will stay with me. I wouldn't mind owning this one in my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a million thumbs up

posted by barakodrama (DAYTON, OH) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the best max payne ever its super action packed and it a lengthy game i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!

posted by jws4026 (MULBERRY, FL) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, I loved the game play and the graphics were insane! I loved the slow-mo shots and the golden guns. Only thing is it could have been longer. Other than that this is a must play game!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVED IT!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a amazing game the graphics and world were stunning, the controls and gameplay were smooth and entertaining, and the story was solid I gave this game a 9/10 I believe you will enjoy this title so put it in your Q or go out and buy it it's only $15 or $20 and that is a steal!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth every penny.

posted by KillIphone (LAKE WORTH, FL) Feb 26, 2013

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few games I bought outright on day 1. I played it every day for nearly 4 months straight. I haven't been this addicted to a game in a very long time. The multiplayer is where it's at, but the story is worth every minute you can put in to it. The arcade modes are very well done. High replay and lots of goodies from the old games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

max payne 3

posted by emilianolugo (BRONX, NY) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i like the game a good game ill would buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good!

posted by Deafwiz (CORNELIUS, OR) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love story this happened! It's better than book . It's look like a movie. You can play this games! It's very good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

really should be a 10. a must play

posted by gvazq027 (HIALEAH, FL) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty freaking amazing. the story is just awesome, even though I lost track of it towards the end, but the clever script keeps you intrigued throughout. the music --oh, the music! They have awesome hip hop songs during these amazing battle scenes that just combine so well. I would absolutely give this game a 10, the only reason why I gave it a 9 is because there were some glitches. One being where when I would hide behind a wall, I would get stuck in that position, thus prompting me to roll away, then get some bullet shots to my dude. that annoyed the living daylights out of me. But disregarding that, I would have given this game a 10. Trust me, I wanna keep it because it's so good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nothing Payne-ful About This Game

posted by TasteThePaste (SEASIDE, CA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is a great new installment in the series. Rockstar has put together a game with great gameplay and a compelling story.

The story is told to us through flashy cutscenes and in-game narration that make the player feel as though they are watching a movie rather than playing a game. This isn't bad at all though. It gives the game a nice feel to it and a style all its own. The story is solid, spanning through years of Max's later years and although it is a bit confusing, it can be fully understood in one playthrough.

The gameplay is much like an average Rockstar game. Shooting is simple and the cover mechanic works well. The game remains challenging no matter what difficulty you play on, but never too frustrating, which is a plus. Painkillers for health aren't very hard to find as well, seeing as they are highlighted with a green glow, so health isn't completely scarce, but you do have to look around for it. If you're having too much difficulty and dying a lot, the game will recognize this, and give you extra painkillers to heal yourself.

Overall, the game was amazing. I found a few bugs where the audio would cut off during a cutscene, or your gun would disappear, but these are minor bugs, and can be worked around. Although the game is amazing, it is not perfect, due to the lack of replayability in story and a few minor bugs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by aikhibba (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) May 18, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Just finished the game. Took me about 3 days to finish and I'd say approx. 12 hours. Overall, I was very impressed with the game, and highly recommend it to anyone. I'd give it a two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Huge Max Payne Fan From the Start.

posted by Sterling_Archer (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'll start off by saying that I really enjoyed this game. This game was everything I expected. I truly missed Max's commentary as he walked through one death trap to the next to discover the truth. Though in a bright and sunny place the dark tone of the game is present is Max’s world. You feel Max’s pain as he drinks himself into forgetting his tormented past and lack of future. The mood in which Max Payne 3 presents overwhelms you and you instantly feel part of the story. For Feel I give 10/10

Now to the story, Max Payne 3 has a great story line. It will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end, making you never want to put down your controller. However, though the story is good and a decent length, the story is also shallow. Though there are some twists and turns, the story is more of an action movie than an intense drama. For Story I give 8/10

Gameplay is the next stop. Max Payne 3 takes from the classic Max Payne and adds to it. A cover system is now in place and they added motion shooting as well. The big hit of the Max Payne franchise however is the Bullet Time. Bullet Time is present and strong in Max Payne 3, a little too strong. Though everyone loves slowing down time and shooting an enemy as you fly through the air, it loses its luster as you do it for the 100th time in an hour. Going out of bullet time in Max Payne 3 is nearly an immediate death, which in my opinion takes greatly from the overall game, often making the game feel slow and very repetitive. For Gameplay I give 7/10

Last is the Multiplayer. I don’t have much to say about it, however I do know I did not enjoy it the few hours I did put into it. I found it not as strong as the Single Player and unneeded in an otherwise strong game. For Multiplayer I give 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a 10 but a solid 7

posted by GoodAdvise (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) May 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I've only played the story to chapter 6 and i can tell ya that it's an OK game but not a 10. Seems like there's 10 min of cut scenes for every 15 min of gameplay. Wash/Rinse/Repeat

So i'm on chapter 6 and so far it's been a Linear affair. Point A to Point B. Which isin't bad,but would be alot better if it were an open-world game like GTA or RDR. The "Bullet Time" got old to me pretty quick. I don't really use it cause you don't have to if ya don't want to. What makes Bullet Time awkward is the controller layouts. No option to custom configure the controller layout. Ya gotta pick one of the preset configurations.

The cover system is clunky at best. Ya get stuck alot when trying to run around in the limited enviornment.
The constant loading while long cut scenes play that you can't skip till it's done loading which is almost the end of the cut scene anyway. Nicely done cut scenes i can say, but i'm in it for the gameplay. If i wanna see a movie i'll rent a movie. I like my games to be focused on gameplay not cut scenes that i can't skip.

When it comes to gameplay,it has it's moments of fun,but it's like a really long,3rd person COD campaign. With a bad controller layout. Just seems like your doing the same thing over and over again in different enviornments. Get from point A to Point B without dying,finding stuff along the way like gun parts,painkillers,get killed and ya start over from the last checkpoint. They mix it up like COD too. Shooting from a helicopter in one mission,sniping from somewhere in another,ect.

Other than those things it's a nice looking,fun at times,game but that's about it. These 10 ratings,TO ME,,aren't justified. RDR and GTAIV are closer to 10's than this game.. I think it's a 8 tops. I give a 7 (good game).

Starhawk is a better 3rd person shooter than this game. Uncharted 3 is also a better 3rd person shooter as well.

Max Painful gets a 7 out of 10..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Greater Than the Sum of Its Parts

posted by dedalus (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Gameplay: 7/10
Graphics: 7/10
Story: 8.5/10
Lasting Appeal: 8/10
The most memorable things about this game are its "bullet time" mechanic, and its story. The bullet time is a bit gimmickey, but that doesn't mean it's not fun. When playing on hard mode it is absolutely essential. In that way it almost becomes a strategic game. Overall it is a mediocre attempt which almost accidentatlly becomes fun. The story is also decent. The way it is told (noire style) with blurry cutscenes and constant frame splits can be annoying, but if you get used to them you may like what they're trying to say.
Definetly worth a rental at least. I personally would not buy it.
Overall: An average but redeeming game worth 10-12 hours of your time. 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A slugfest that didn't thrill

posted by p_robberts (EAST WENATCHEE, WA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I'll start by saying that I was a huge fan of the first two games and remember them being a huge amount of fun. Enter Max Payne 3 years after I played the last installment and I was just excited from the onset like I remember being when the others were new. Max is still a tough SOB with nothing but bad luck and dry commentary that I'd come to expect. The scenery is as gritty as I expected. The voice acting is some of the best I've heard in gaming and the story is pretty good. It kept me going from the start to the end.

Given all my praise, then how can I only rate MP3 a 5/10? In short I just didn't come away from the game feeling like I accomplished anything important or had any fun. After it was all said and done I felt relieved to finally be done with it so that I could send the game back. Truth be told I felt like I had to force myself to complete the game and by the end I was upset everytime a new chapter started up instead of the end credits.

I don't know what magic was lost here, but for the prior games I played through them multiple times to enjoy more bullet time combat alone. Don't get me wrong, I do realize that Max is getting old by this stage in the story, but they took character continuity more serious than maintaining fun gameplay. Something just isn't right with bullet time in this installment and I didn't feel like I was in a John Woo movie this time around.

I sure hope that the next MP is a prequal or someone takes his place, because Max, like Roger Murtaugh, is "getting too old for this ".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all that

posted by skennedy25 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) May 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2004

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

The graphics are ok, not great.. The cutscenes are where the good graphics are, not the game play. The load times are horrible and I dislike that you can't skip the cutscenes.. I also disslike the fact that they give you collectables and gun pieces to look for, but the minute you wander around looking for them, you get a level failed and have to retry. Maybe it was just certain parts of the missions, but it started pissing me off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game play in the game?

posted by Lafleuffe (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game might be fun if you were allowed to play in more than 10 second spurts. I'm in these games for the campaign mode and the campaign mode on this is one long cut scene with maybe 10 total minutes of gameplay. I wish there would be some push back in the gaming community against the excessive use of cut scenes. It's just padding. I'd like games to include some kind of warning, "THIS IS A BLOATED CUT SCENE EXPERIENCE BECAUSE WE DIDN'T HAVE THE BUDGET TO BUILD FULL ENVIRONMENTS!"

I would rather watching a loading icon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Max Payne 3

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good game but targeting sucks. Why even have a prone position that's useless & never used. Also there's no stealth in this game at all poor decision because splinter cell is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fast shipping

posted by Flyguy87 (GARDEN CITY, MI) Mar 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i live in michigan and this game shipped in only 3 days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Payne

posted by NIUpiguy (BLOOMINGDALE, IL) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a fun straight foreward 3rd person shooter. When I say straight foreward, i mean, even if you wanted to get confused you wouldn't be able to. The only thing slightly confusing about this game is why there are pieces of golden guns scattered around the poorest parts of Brasil. Anyways, the game play is easy to pick up and the controls are easy to master. The game kind of gets repettative and Max's commentary make me want to shoot my self.
One cool thing about the game is there are no loading screens. And the story, eventhough far fetched, was pretty good.
The online multiplayer is a bit cluncky and got boring fast. It takes too long to obtain cash to buy upgrades and or weapons and upgraded weapons give a huge advantage over weaker weapons causing me to die alot.
I do recommend you play this but do not waste your money. RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well Worth The Wait...

posted by HJamesNichols (PORTSMOUTH, NH) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

First of all, I have always been a huge fan of this series, beating Max Payne II on Xbox 360 was an experience. This series has always been gritty, dark and bloody, and this 3rd chapter is no different. I've read other reviews where people felt the game was too long and didn't get a lot "different" as you progress. I for one do not grow tired of countless hours shooting people in slow-motion. The graphics have obviously stepped up as well and enabled the gamer to become even more absorbed in the game.

If you're looking for a great shooter and a great story, it is well worth the buy/rent. They really changed the game with the multiplayer and the rewards/accomplishments make it extremely addictive and impossible to put down.
I hope this helps!

Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better button layouts needed

posted by KeenanR (PENSACOLA, FL) May 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

the button layouts for this game are horrible. i don't understand why they couldn't just let u choose what button performs what function. this game may have a great story and all that, but i can't enjoy it because it plays clunkier than kane and lynch. i shouldn't have to choose between bullettime or reload to be the r3 button, i don't want ANYTHING to be the r3 button. i'm either wasting all my bullettime on accident or reloading on accident while trying to shoot a bunch of bad guys and getting killed. in this day and age, gamers shouldnt have to conform to a button layout, it should conform to us. we can personalize our computers, game systems, phones, cars houses etc, but not a control scheme? every time i turn on my 360 or ps3 to play a game, the control scheme i like should be saved on the console so games in the same genre control the same with minor tweaks for special abilities so we won't run into games like max payne, that would be great if the control schemes didn't suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Max Payne 3 - A Gamers Review

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) May 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Finally after years of waiting comes the new installment to the Max Payne series. Max Payne 3 is set 9 years after the events of Max Payne 2 and I have to say; It. Is. Amazing. The story is still the best part of Max Payne involving painkillers, booze, and a rich story built on the fuel of vengeance.

Presentation - Max Payne is a body guard for a rich business man's wife and family settled in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Everything is just a party until Rodrigo Branco, rich business man, 's wife, Fabiana Branco, is kidnapped by Favela street gangs. Going through the story you will find out that there is a plot that is so big that it is even further up than Max could've imagined as he tries to find out the leader and take him down. There is only one downside to the story and whole game and that is the Tiete River mission. It is kind of not the same gameplay as the rest of the game.

Gameplay - Bullet time is back and at its best. Max now jumps through the air better than before as it is portrayed like how it would when you fall to the ground in real life. There are tons of things in the game that you can jump over and use bullet time to not make it repetitive at all.

Online - I was a bit skeptical when they were trying out putting bullet time online, but I've already played it a couple times and here's what I can tell you; it works. They balanced out the normal gameplay with slowing time down.

The Verdict - Max Payne 3 is a fantastic game through and through despite the one mission. The story is at its best and the online couldn't be better. I give Max Payne 3 9.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bring on the Payne!

posted by FPSVET85 (DAYTON, OH) May 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The Pain is back! It took 11 yrs for another good Max Payne title to come out. My expectations were high for Rockstar, seeing as they had 8 yrs to master MP3. To sum it all up they have been met ten fold. The controls,mechanics,gunplay,fights & graphics dare i say it are better than UC2 & UC3. That being said this game should sell like hotcakes. I'm off to find more Painkillers. $49.99 is worth the price of Admission

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse