Buy Max Payne 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Max Payne 3

Buy

Used: $9.99

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.9

9133 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Well Done

posted by lax3131 (ORLANDO, FL) May 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

22 out of 28 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Very fun and challenging singleplayer combined with a decent online mode both make for a very good game.

Max Payne's story is an interesting one and the characters themselves are both enjoyable and believable.

The multiplayer can be frustrating at times but is still a welcomed feature that fans of Rockstar multiplayer will have plenty of fun playing.

The one fault with the game is the longer than average load screens and mostly unskippable cutscenes.

Overall, very good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MAX FUN 3

posted by ThInKiN (SANTA ANA, CA) May 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great game from start to finish. Lots of guns and some attachments to spice things up. Story is easy to follow but I didn't find it interesting. Bullet Time can bring some awsome moments.

Cons: NO FRAGS, some situations are overwhelming, getting up and cover system need some work, and near the end head shots become ineffective.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as the hype suggests.

posted by GimpsPIg (MIDWAY PARK, NC) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It is a very linear experience. The story has gotten rave reviews and I just don't see why. It's typical and very cliche. The only skill required to do well in the game is to be able to aim and fire quickly enough to stay alive when you're out of slow-mo time. You go from one group of bad guys to the next and never do anything more versatile than shoot'em'up. I know I should have expected this latter turn-out, however I kept up hoping it would be more like the first game than it turned out to be.
I will say that the AI is pretty spot-on. They will not let you just stay behind cover. The bad guys' persistent hounding forces you to stay running and gunning through the entire game. Also the shooting mechanics and gameplay are super tight. This is imperative seeing as how that's all the game is, shoot shoot and shoot some more.
Perhaps the problem for me is just that I've played to many better, more versatile, multi-faceted, games since any Max Payne like effort as been enticing enough to give a try.
If you play a lot of games like Skyrim, Arkham City, or even COD, Max Payne 3 may prove to be a bit too one-dimensional.
Definitely worth the rental, definitely not worth retail pricing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rockstar Outdones Itself Again

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) May 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

33 out of 46 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Max Payne 3 is the Third Installment in Rockstar Games Max Payne Series & is set 8 years after the Events in the Last Installment. No longer a Cop, Max is close to washed-up, drunk & addicted to painkillers. Without a job on The Force, Max has left the greater New York Area, & finds himself in San Paulo, Brazil working as Private Security. Remedy Studios may be Developing Max Payne anymore but that doesnt stop Rockstar from Publishing/Develop it. The story of Max's decent from vengeful, leather-jacket wearing Detective roaming The Alleys of New York to the broken, shaving-headed man out for Justice on unfamiliar streets far from home is at the center of Max Payne 3. The Story is Phenominal, Voice Acting is Terrific especially hearing James McCaffrey returning to voice Max Payne himself. The Orchestra Soundtrack gives Max Payne that Ballet/Noire touch like always & Art Design is Fantastic. Combat System has improved but can be a bit of a hassle for those new to the Series. Weapon System has upgraded so now you can mix & match weapons for that action movement style. Also added to the Series is Full Squad-On Multiplayer & with The Rockstar Social Club you can create your own Crew/Squad & invite them
to take on other Crews in the many Matchmakings of Max Payne 3. In addition to Max's classic shoot-dodge moves, there is now a combination of Natural Motions Euphoria character system & Bullet Time to enhance his moves. Partners & Sidekicks will play a large role in this game to help Max in his quest for Vengeance. Max Payne Veterans will be sure to enjoy the Sequel we have waited 9 years for, while newcomers may have a hard interest in the Series. All in all this Game/Series lives up to its hype & Rockstar delivered. Max Payne 3 gets a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Game You Will Want

posted by MrManBoy55 (CENTER MORICHES, NY) May 16, 2012

Member since May 2012

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

MAX PAYNE 3 is one of the best games I have ever played RockStarGames never disappoints me with there games. First of all this game is not for kids its very violent, bloody, mature, and has sexual content and nudity. Ok this game I find better than Red Dead Redemption which won game of the year and was one of my favorite games and I had 270 or more hours of gameplay on that but I'm happy to say that MAX PAYNE 3 is better, yes it is. MAX PAYNE 3 is a story driven game with interesting characters and really good graphics and at the end of every level there is a climax to get you to play the next level which works. If you have played the other Max Payne games you will know that Max is a depressing character who mixes painkillers and whiskey. The multiplayer is also really fun and I found myself hooked to that as well and it isn't to hard my first match I went 25 and 8 its really fun with the bullet time mechanic being in the multiplayer as well with other "bursts". I highly recommend this game and it could be a participant for game of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Get it now.

posted by Jollyroger1721 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Max Payne 3 is just like everything else Rockstar does: amazing. Max Payne is a character that's easy to get behind and feel for, the story is really good, the multiplayer is a lot of fun, the dlc is cheap but jam packed full of content, the crew system is good (bonus xp for playing with your crew/clan) it's just perfect on all counts for anyone who enjoys a good story, a good multiplayer or both.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't believe the 8+ reviews...

posted by Kiteanagefiend (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I rented this game thinking it was going to be amazing, in actuality, it was only sub-par. The controls are pretty aggravating, and the cover control is terrible in comparison with uncharted 3, and gow3. You get killed within 2-3 shots on normal mode, not to mention the limited supply of pain killers, and the poorly placed explosives. Story kept me "somewhat" going, but by chapter 7, the repetitive shooting against 10+ clones of thugs, really dragged my attention down. Overall 6 maybe a 7 out of 10. Controls, and repetitive gameplay really influenced my decision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent at best

posted by CrustyOatmeal (CLOVIS, CA) May 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Max Payne 3 is an unusual game; its major selling features are its unique characters, great voice acting, and the overall style (both visually and in its tone) but the key component missing in this grand mixture Rockstar was concocting was a good story. the story is bland and the "twist" is cliche and obvious from the beginning. i felt the games real strengths lie in Max himself. his dialogue is great and a few of the other main characters also have room to shine but there is no true motivations as to why characters do what they do, Max included

If these were the only flaws, which i imagine to big quite large for a game focused on narrative, then the game could have still been considered a success; unfortunately, these flaws are only the underlying problem i have with Max Payne 3.

My main gripe about the game is the gameplay. i experiences numerous bugs including enemies spawning under the map and shooting me and system crashes. the third person view also messes with the combat. Max naturally has the advantage with enemies to his right but when forced into areas where the only cover is on Max's right side the player must show half their body before being able to get off a shot. the cover system in this game leaves much to be desired with an inability to move while aiming above cover. one of my biggest problems was sniping with any weapon with a scope. when aiming, my left analogue stick was used to move both my character and to control where i was looking, making any weapon with sights inoperable

Max Payne seems to have had an identity problem from its conception. the game tries to play like a movie/ book but doesnt have a good or unique story to tell and tries to be a shooter while being unable to implement decent or, in some cases, functioning mechanics and controls. Max Payne is a pretty game that is more fun to watch then it is to play but falls short, in terms of entertainment value, when compared to a good movie

Max Payne is an OK game but only as

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good not great

posted by Johno492 (ALPINE, TX) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a good game. Awesome graphics, great gameplay mechanics etc... However if you hadnt played the previous max payne games you will be a bit lost. As for me the campaigne was just too linear for me. The multiplayer is this games greatest asset.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

You've got to be kidding! What were they thinking?

posted by Marketguy (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For those that rated this game any more than a 6 you must of gotten a different version than I did.

While the graphics were actually really great, the game play was horrible. Just make another movie and leave the gaming to someone else. I mean there were times I kept thinking; did the studio even test the play-ability?

Trying to maneuver Max was really frustrating and about half the time firing from cover was worthless. just to name a few things.

I think I got to only really play just a third of this game, while the rest was stuck watching cut scenes. I mean a few times I watch these five minute scenes only to walk (cant do anything else) through a room/ally (this takes 30 secs) and go into another scene..sheesh. Then you finish a section and spend an eternity watching more. I wanted poke out my eyeballs out and feed em to the crows on my neighbors roof!!

Skip this one and save yourself a lot of frustration. I am just glad for GameFly and the ability to send it packing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You're Entering a World of Payne

posted by infamouselguapo (LAFAYETTE, CA) May 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Unapologetically violent with rushes that one could only get from a bottle of pills and a bottle of whiskey, Rockstar blazes a new trail once again. Linear? Totally. And that is the only reason this thing gets 9 instead of 10. But you can see that the engine they're using for this all-out assault on the senses is just a ramp-up for the release of GTA V, and that makes all of us just slightly giddy.
The multiplayer's outstanding, if not a little hard to get a hold of; for those of us who spent hours upon hours with GTA IV and Red Dead Redemption, the controls differ slightly (X for cover instead of RB, for example) and getting a hold of Max's signature Bullet Time and Shootdodge are easy, but hard to master. The single player is unlike anything that's come before it--a gritty, extraordinarily well-written crime noir drama interspersed flawlessly with cutscenes that drop you in and out of the gunplay with lightning speed. That may get old to you, but just listen and watch what's going on, and you'll be engrossed almost immediately.
He's back, and ready to rock. So let's rock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Max Payne 3

posted by Tischmak (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Max Payne 1 & 2 were great action games that 3 tries to build off of. It's hard to care about the story in this game, "heck" I don't think Max really cares about the story in this game. The narrative is detached and the characters are extremely forgettable. The only one you care about is Max... and the faceless masses of goons that you need to kill to get to the next checkpoint.
This game breaks down like this: 20 minute cut-scene, 10 minute gun-fight, 5 minute cut-scene, 13 minute gun-fight and so on. If you need a game to fill that void that we all have that drives us to shoot things, then this game can fill that adequately, but if you require a reason to pull the trigger or to go on with the "missions" than this game is pretty shallow. I would've like to see the developers continue Max's story, but it just might end here. I expected more out of Rockstar. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Max Pain

posted by Thermal (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not the Max Payne I use to play, I am more upset then having any fun playing this game. The controls are very bad but the graphs is good. I am glad I rented this game I will not buy it, because instead of having fun you get upset with the game in many ways. WOW I almost destroyed one of my controllers. Do not play this game to get achievements.

Frostbeyet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Garbage

posted by JohnnyCuda (CARROLLTON, VA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game was extremely repetative, kill 50 thugs, wash, rinse, and do it again. Bust your but to save the gal and cut scene you guessed it stand there and watch as a predertimed scene unravels before your eyes making you feel like you just wasted 2 hours of your life. Got through 99% on normal difficulty and got so fustrated at the end I just stuck it in the mail never to finish it again. I never quit games but this one had gotten so mundane and impossible at times I said heck with it. I lost interest in the charachter and the story. Don't waste your time. One other thing if you shoot a cop 10 times youd better have more ammo cause he still aint dead, total BS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So glad I rented it

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) May 28, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoy games with and without lengthy cutscenes, but the constant blurring and color slashing of these were jarring and honestly I was looking up something else on my computer by the second chapter as I found them difficult to watch and had no interest in the characters yet.

So I didn't like the movies, but I really thought I was going to like this game. I just didn't. I agree with those who found the combat clunky and I would like to add that the camera was so pulled so far away from Max I felt like I was playing from a movie theater distance, squinting to make out enemies in the same room.

Aside from the shooting consisting of trying to line up a tiny white dot on some random dude's head, Rockstar inserted the occasional on rail mission where instead of a white dot, you use a red laser of which I could not see the end. The downside to missing in those moments is the instant kill factor. Once again you need to be perfect during escort missions because the escortee can be killed in less then a second. Insta kills need to disappear from video games in my opinion.

That takes me the hypocrisy that seems to be popping up more and more in video games - easy, medium, and hard are meaningless when something can instantly terminate the game. At the selection screen next to the word Easy it states that it still presents a stiff challenge. Well, that's not easy, is it? I do not have a lot of time and occasionally, particularly with a movie heavy game, I like to breeze through once and see if I like it, therefore I pick easy. Suffice to say, I did not finish the game, but look forward to the inevitable edited movie on youtube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

max payne 3

posted by legendgamer123 (NATIONAL PARK, NJ) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

max payne 3 is a classic game but yet it also has its flaws like alot of games one flaw is max payne wasnt as agile as he should of been i founnd my self accidently slipping out of cover a few time when i tryed to peak out of cover plus i only played it on easy and ended up geting stuck on a few levels on the campaign but eventually got threw it the graphics are great it actually feels like your watching a movie in the clips sound affects are great weapons are great and the storyline was great multiplayer was alright deffinetly worth renting it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool game

posted by LegendGuy (CENTRALIA, WA) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was cool it was one of the best rockstar games out there they did good.good job rockstar with this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MAX PAYNE: RISES ABOVE ALL ODDS

posted by marshall420 (LEICESTER, NC) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's been years since I'd played the 1st May Payne & Max Payne: Fall of Max Payne. This installment has to be my favorite since the original. The opening sequences/cutscenes are gorgeous, lush, vivid, highly polished and detailed. The animation is life-like. Graphically, the best doses of Payne! The voice acting is terrific. Dialogue and Storyline is very deep.

Right at the beginning the opening cutscenes lasted about 8-10 minutes. Thoroughly enjoyable. The gameplay. Classice style Payne. Bullet-time is a bit diffrent from the original Xbox version. The cursors to aim & shoot enemies can feel tight. However, once you get the grasp of the controls. The game does have a few hiccup here and there. Don't let that slow you down. IT works itself out. I ahven't had to restart for any reasons. It's smooth from there.

You have nearly an unlimited amount of ammo. Still a challenge even on Normal mode. Speaking of modes, you can unlock the "Classic Mode" once the game is completed on Hard. I'm working my way there. The game is 2-discs long and I beleive it's going to be a journey into the world and hurt of Payne.

Payne is washed up and a booze drinking-fiend. He's lost everything known to him and trying to find himself again. He's in a mid-life crisis while trying to not get shot and killed in the process. One of the best games this year! In my opinion.

If you love or new to Max Payne, love a good shooter/third-person over-the-shoulder shooting and cover similar to Gears of War 2 & 3, this may just be what you want to pickup to rent! Thank you for reading my review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Payneful

posted by howardsaccount (BELMONT, CA) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall: Rent, don't buy.

Good:
- Great ambiance overall mood
- Interesting environments
- Something to do until to waste time until Ghost Recon comes out

Bad:
- Boring, nonsensical plot
- Too many cut scenes. Actually, mostly cut scenes in this game...and you can't skip.
- Uninspiring weapons, this is a shooter!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Enough with the blurred motion

posted by jayjay8382 (ARLINGTON, VA) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would have enjoyed playing the game, but the blurred motion effects made me nauseated. I could only play for an hour before wanting to vomit. Ugh!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not max payne anymore

posted by dragonknight (BUFFALO, NY) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not Max Payne this is splinter cell without the smarts of wearing a flax jacket and using a water bottle as a silencer. After get to the end of this game had to go back to PlayStation and play the other 2 max Payne's and those are max Payne games. this one just sucks no objectives list no map just pure guessing where to go. graphic are great. AI is easier on hard then easy. and there time where you get a partner but he doesn't kill you have to do everything yourself. this game is just horrible a big disappointment in max Payne games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by gman970 (BRECKENRIDGE, CO) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I felt that the game had a great story line but there were a lot of glitches that forced me to have to start the game over puls I don't like how repetitive the guns are also your charter has a hard time doing what you tell him to do and that ends up getting you killed I got extreMly frustrated with the game and I have no interest in in ever playing a max Payne game again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blows

posted by sneezmak18 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

this game is really slow to start it takes forever to load, the multiplayer is pretty cool though it takes a while to get the hang of it but its ok. i give this an over all score 1/2 a point

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by jimah (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I really didn't care too much for this at all. I found the controls to be really awkward and I didn't much care for the character of Max Payne either. I also thought that it was confusing. On the plus side, the visuals were nice as was the score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pain to the Max.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) May 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

13 out of 30 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Max Payne has held a special place in my heart since it came out in 2001, the innovative action and comic book sequences have kept me in love with the series. Now finally Max Payne 3 is out, been waiting 9 long years for this one and now its here and here is my verdict:

The GOOD:
-The Payne Returns, Every thing you knew about Max is the same here in 3: his depression, his need for painkillers and his bad luck. But whats different here is the setting, Sao Paulo, Brazil, i bit brighter area than "Noir York City", even though you spend a little time there before your security job at Brazil. But overall i love the setting and its a great change in formula. Oh and don't forget the lack of regenerating health, making you look for painkillers after big shootouts.

-Lack of Loading Screens, Since Rockstar is a group of geniuses, the decided to make all cutscenes, loading screens, making it a seamless transition from cinematic to gameplay and it is amazingly done, while some of the camera effects are pretty crazy, you do get used to them later on.

-Animation, Rockstar did an incredible job making this game look good and feel good at the same time, the movement is fluid, the gunplay feels realistic, and the AI aren't a bunch of monkeys with guns, the difficulty changes depending on who you face. Could be a bunch of random gang hoods from the streets without any real combat knowledge or full blown soldiers who will flank you and suppress you.

-Bang for your buck, Once you play through the over 10 hour story, you got arcade, you got multiplayer(which i haven't tried yet, since its very early but i have heard great things about it.) so you're hard earned money wont be wasted!

The Meh:
- LINEAR, yes its true, but its not supposed to be a GTA game, its supposed to be a Max Payne game and they've always been linear experiences.

The Bad: You kidding me?

OVERALL: It's Pain, its to the Max, its Linear, its crazy fun, oh and its a BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse