Buy Mass Effect 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Mass Effect 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.6

9882 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game.

posted by heylookitsMARTY (PELHAM, AL) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

24 out of 29 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've played the game twice thus far and would have to say this is definitely a must own XBOX 360 game for RPG fans. My first run through of the game was done without a ME1 or ME2 import and that was some depressing storyline to say the least. I won't ruin anyone's day with spoilers here, but you are going to need a psychologist to talk you off the ledge after the ME3 ending without a solid ME1 and ME2 import.

The second play through was a lot more enjoyable. I would probably give the experience a 9/10, but not everyone has the luxury of a nice ME1/ME2 import to start the game with. I used a ME1 and ME2 import where I was mostly paragon and saved as many people/creatures as possible while also doing all loyalty missions and side missions at my disposal. The story as a whole was longer, as there were many more characters included this time around like Jack and Thane from ME2. The ending may disappoint some, but as someone who enjoys thinking outside the box, I felt as though the ending was open to one's interpretation. The process of indoctrination is utterly engrossing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game was just wow.

posted by ImLandsquid (TAMPA, FL) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

The story was so dark but yet very entertaining, as if I was living in a sci fi epic movie or something. Combat mechanics was very nice for an RPG, The story gave me chills like the Reapers are far worse compared to the Covenant I swear haha. The only thing I was disappointed about this game was the ending, I wished it was totally different and more epic where you would literally have a tear rolling out your eye because this game HAS THAT POTENTIAL. But anyway overall this is the perfect game for the Sci-FI/Story drivin gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Ride Bad Ending

posted by cunclusion (BLYTHEWOOD, SC) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

47 out of 67 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I am going to say this was one of the best games I have played in a long time. The whole time I felt the galaxy was actually depending on how I did. Put in extra time to procure allies and units for warfare before the final battle as I could. I am not going to talk about the ending but really it was bad. I mean really bad to the point it even negated my ability to use my imagination to make it better. I would have given this game a 10 but after all the work and the horrible ending its only getting a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game Trilogy

posted by JAM5909 (FLINT, MI) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

No complaints on this game. The whole trilogy was freaking awesome. The gameplay was better than the second but still like the first games equipment better, along with powers. The first was the best but still this was AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mass Effect on Me.

posted by cyclone74 (SALEM, VA) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Let me star by saying never in my life have I ever been so engaged by a series of games. When I succeeded with Shepard I felt as if I actually succeeded. When I had gained an accomplice in the other games and have progressed with them throughout the games I felt a connection. I felt emotionally engaged in every game and felt as If I was actually my character or a part of him. With that being said this game in itself is amazing. The story is amazing and deep and engaging and their is multiple outcomes and dozens of important decisions that will later on have reproductions. The Combat is solid and fluid and feels natural from the type of game that it is and is surprisingly satisfying. But, I wish I could say this game was perfect. The first and second were flawless in my opinion but this one fell short. I will not ruin anything for anyone who decides to purchase or rent this game, but the ending was very disappointing. It felt as a let down after all the time of being fully engaged in the story of all three games. But besides that there is no reason to play this game and I would highly recommend this game to be bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by Dead_Gears_Row (ESTES PARK, CO) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect 3 is the epic conclusion to Commander Shepard and the Reaper threat. This game is best only if you have the extended cut dlc which is free which closes holes in the poorly done ending they had before. The graphics are awesome, the story is awesome, and the choices to made are hard to decide. This game is meant for campaign, so those looking for multilayer this is not the game for you. The game has multilayer but is a cheap ripoff of Gears of War 2 and 3 horde mode which is really easy if you have a good team. This game has many things to do, the controls are great with or without kinect, and the characters bring you into the story.

This game will bring the best adventure to those who play through all the Mass Effect games which are also awesome. This is because Bioware has made the games be able to import your character throughout the game saga. Teammate AI are smart, enemies look amazing and the game leaves you wanting more. The only bad side to this game was the ending which has no final boss and no epic ending battle.

All the characters teammates or not all have a background story and/or has been part of Shepard's story. And you get to choose which character you want to date. And best of all, the campaign is long and takes hours to completely beat. I loved this game in every way and recommend this game to since fiction fans and army fans alike. Rent or buy, either way it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a game. Just a bad interactive movie

posted by OAlexanderR (PORT LAVACA, TX) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you like to play video games dont waste your time. First off, i played ten hours and i must have seen 7-8 hours of clips and cut scenes that were completely dull and point less. Everytime you go on a mission or even land at home base you spend about 30 minutes playing and an hour or so just watching "basically" a movie. The controlls and gameplay are a an epic fail. Graphics-A, Gameplay-F, Fun-F = Result dont buy or rent it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Im Commander Shepard and...Assuming Direct Control

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Mar 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

43 out of 75 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect is probably the greatest RPG series ever made and with the third and final game, its officially the greatest videogame series ever created. Mass Effect 3 concludes the story of Commander Shepard, theres a war waging across the earth and its up to him and his crew(the ones who survived ME1/2) to stop the Reapers. You travel the galaxy looking for help against the Reapers, whether it be the Turians, Salarians, Krogans or Asari, you're gonna need help. So the final battle is here and im gonna break it down for ya:

The Good:
-Story, Mass Effect isn't about flashy action, its about the amazing tale of a man(or woman) who became the greatest hero(or villain) the human race has ever seen, and with this game you see how it all ends.
-n00b support, i had how that came out but its true, Bioware will take you through a short prologue, telling you how it all began, which sets it up perfectly if you are new to the series.
-Graphics, while ME2 was blew ME1 out of the water in terms of graphics, ME3 does the same. The characters look as good as ever, the effects are spectacular and the new areas are incredible to look at.
-Combat, its been a long and bumpy road for combat in ME, ME1's clunky cover system is long gone and the lack of grenades in ME2 been added back into ME3. The new omni blade adds a new melee tactic that is extremely fun to use while close up.
-Character Development, The fact that EVERY SINGLE decision in Mass Effect 1 and 2 up to this point make a huge difference in what plays in ME3, like who you chose to help in ME1 and who survived the final collector battle in ME2 as with what your morality choices were, every choice matters!

The MEH, yes its true.
-Glitches, they aren't game breaking, but some of the conversations have awkward lip sync and body animations some times flutter around, but its not common.

The BAD, NONE. Ill instead conclude with a tweaked quote, "I'm Commander Shepard and this is the best game on the Citadel."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game for the most part,disappointing ending

posted by ozrael (GALLOWAY, OH) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

The Mass Effect trilogy is by far the best trilogy of this generation. Mass Effect 3 should have been a culmination of everything that you have done since ME1, except at least for me the ending ruins it. I could easily of given this game a 10/10 and would have before reaching the conclusion. The game play is amazing, controls are excellent, and the story is simply the most engaging and emotional story for any game I have played. However the endings are a severe disappointment for me, and most people because BW pretty much throws out all of the decisions that you have made, and everything done for all 3 games in the span of 10 minutes. If you have read any of the statements from BW employees regarding this game and the Ending then do yourself a favor and don't play it, because much of what we were told was a lie essentially giving us the exact opposite of what was said. For example Casey Hudson said that "the endings would vary widely, that since this is the last game in the Shepard storyline that not everyone would get the same exact end cause there is nothing they have to tie up for another game, also that the endings would be much like ME2 but more complex and that you wouldn't be able to say that you got ending A, B, or C." Without spoiling to much of the game or ending I will say that the end does indeed come down to choosing either A, B or C, and that there is very little variance in what happens after choosing. It's highly disappointing to see that almost nothing done in the games matter at the end, and that they ended up giving everyone the exact same scenes etc... So regardless of your choices, all 3 ends force major things to happen. They also broke from their great storytelling and gave every character you've known over the trilogy a complete personality change in the last few minutes, to me it feels like this was done to make the endings work, but good storytelling fits the story to the characters, the opposite of what they did at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever Made

posted by RPGchick124 (MASON, OH) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

An AMAZING game!!! I couldn't stop playing it, the graphics aren't that much of an improvement, but it's longer, much more realistic feeling, and just plain awesome. Don't even rent it, just go and buy it! If I had to choose between ME3 and Skyrim, I would choose ME3. I'm a girl, so I'm more emotionally into the games than guys are. I cried a few times, dirty-talked the screen, laughed hysterically, went, "aww..." several times, and had extreme fun with the game. I would play through it over and over without getting bored. My top #1 game for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by chrisg155 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

i love the kinect for the game it makes the game a lot better great story and love the people in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, But Not Without Flaws

posted by Mindlessfun100 (BALDWIN CITY, KS) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is one of my favorites. The Shooter-RPG gameplay is very well tied-in with the interactive story. Just the mere things you say to strangers can effect the fate of the galaxy. It rewards players who put in the time to look for and gain for extra war assets. How ever this game is not perfect, especially when it come to the multiplayer. The gameplay of it is fun, but it gets old after awhile, especially with the horrible trading card unlock system. The so-called "free" multiplayer packs with new content that Bioware releases, you still have to unlock them in the game, which could take who knows how long. A great game, but with a few flaws= Mass Effect 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic Finish to a Great Series

posted by pwtrash (CEDAR PARK, TX) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect 3 lives up to the expectations of the first two games. everything is tweaked to work a little better, and the decisions seem to be more involved this go around.

The mini-games are far less annoying, and the cover and shooting - while still imperfect (especially the cover) are much better.

The story is exceptional, and I thought the finish was great - especially after I looked up various ideas about my choice on the internet. The ending makes you question what really happened, as well as touching on subjective/objective reality differences.

Play the first 2, then play this. It is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT Game, Wonderful Multiplayer

posted by Valdien (LINCOLNTON, GA) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you like the first two, then I don't have to tell you anything. If you like games like Lost Odyssey, Red Dead Redemption, Batman Arkam Asylum and City, etc....games with character, story, great graphics and so forth; you will love this game. If you have tried any of the Mass Effect games, try the whole trilogy. The multiplayer is completely addictive; on par with Gears of War games; and the Call of Durity series. I love the way they designed the multiplayer. I won't say much about it, because it's like a great surprise. If you like the campaign, you'll love the multiplayer. Later all. See you online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not great, not terrible either, I liked ME2 better

posted by Genbaku (Savannah, GA) Mar 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Its a good game, but melodramtic, and the ending coulda been done better. there is the old standby the EA ruins just about everything, it holds true here too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by jmr19 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm actually kind of disappointed that this game did not live up to all the hype surrounding it. To me the game is very redundant, it's one combat mission to the next, and the combat itself does not very in the mode of approach. I'm most disappointed that there is not more social interaction in the game. Rarely are there scenarios where the player has to chose the outcome of a situation that will dictate further interaction with that character. SPOILER ALERT DO NOT READ FURTHER IF YOU DON'T WANT A SPOILER: The only city like place that you are able to explore is the Citadel, there are no other worlds to explore and the Citadel itself is very limited. The previous games had more missions based in cities as well as choosing between paragon or renegade actions in those interactions. By the end of the game I was just going through the motions to finish it, I had no care for relationships with other characters which is one of the huge driving points of the previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mass Effect 3

posted by RetakeME3 (FALL CITY, WA) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I love the Mass Effect series. Each game builds on the next, and Mass Effect 3 is no exception. Mass Effect 3 is a true masterpiece, one that emotionally pulls you in from the very start. The combat is unbelievably intense, and the choices that you are forced to make are unbearable. The characters in the game are remarkably real, as you build relationships with them, they will share emotions with you as this galactic struggle unfolds. I would give Mass Effect 3 a 15 out of 10 if i could, if it wasn't for the ending. I will not spoil anything, but the last 10 minutes of the game makes everything you have worked for through the first two games and even the third, worth nothing. I started to play Mass Effect 3 for a second time, but i thought to myself, what's the point? Even though the ending put me into a state of depression as a long time Mass Effect fan, it does not change the fact that this is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10 for great gameplay, storyline, multiplayer

posted by iGameDaily82 (SELMA, TX) May 24, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of this series from the get go so this might be slightly biased but I am also really into my games so I'll be honest.

If you imported your character from the previous games you are dropped right back into the story after a short break from the last game but everything looks a little more polished. You are presented with the usual paragon / rogue dialog options and, after a few minutes and some reminders of your choices made in previous games, you are presented with what we all learned from the commercials. "The Reapers Are Here".
After the intro you are reoriented with the controls and some of the new design aspects including the heavy melee. All of this is the build up to you actually starting the game and being able to "Choose Freely" what you want to do next.

This is where the game begins really and you have some freedom to choose your path but I was immediately disappointed with how the universe was limited to the story as it happened. Part one you had the right side only and in part two you had the left side so i expected with the galaxy wide calamity you would be able to openly explore and find people that needed help. This was not the case.

Eventually, you run into old friends (which is great) and work again together or just kinda know at least they made it out of the initial invasion. You even get to interact with the extra characters from the DLC packs if you bought them in part 2.

Combat is awesome as well. I've never died so many times in a Mass Effect game trying to get through the story which says a lot about the AI and the combat system and how far it's come. Some of the big battles are epic. You really are forced, from my experience, to use all powers and your environment to your advantage or else you have none.

The ending was good for me and I think everyone hated it because nobody likes to see a good thing go but having experienced the trilogy and having spent literally hundreds of hours on them I would say this is a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best RPG

posted by bcm1221 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will 1st state that if you havent played ME1 and ME2 I would do so. It will be worth it so you can understand everything better, and since the choices you make in the 1st and 2nd determine how the game plays for you. ME3 takes you on the epic battle to save the galaxy from the Reapers bent on destroying all oragincs, and its up to Commander Shepard to stop them once and for all.
The story line is better than ever, although some things are still left will holes and misunderstandings. The graphics will not let you down. And everybody looks better than ever. The cut sceans are great and keeps you playing for hours. There are some mis haps but they are easily over looked. Like the charters mouths are moving not with what they are saying. You diffenetly feels the pressure as you play since everwhere you go there is a Reaper in your way, and you know people are dying all around you. The game is fun, exciting, and well worth the time you will put into it.
My one complaint of the game is the ending. Its just wrong, and it needs to be re written. As a BIG Mass Effect fan who has put hours opon hours into all three games, it was a great dissapointment to see it end the way it did. But as for the rest of the game, it is worth the play and as I said before the hours. The best RPG ever made. You will not regret renting this one. And I promise you will keep it in the long run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ENDING SUCKS

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

24 out of 53 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I was so looking forward to mass effect 3 but this game let me down & i been a fan since me1&2, But they mess up a great game with not alot of stuff to do, choices still don't change the ending to me suck cause for the last mass effect they should gave us more to do & being in love on me3 is a waste of time cause they don't treat you like a love one say same stuff over & over can't invite them up like on me2 which to me was way more better then me3, i truly hate them for not give us more to do & when u do beat the game don't no one know what happen cause it reset everything over so yeah thanks for nothing ea & bioware =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ME3 had early access

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Mar 6, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2011

19 out of 42 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

First id like to say that thanks to contacts, I could play this game early so I'm not "faking" this review.

STORY:
Mass effect is famous for it's story for a reason, and yes the story is still amazing although this is the third the game the story is still world-class and the voice acting is amazing, although the character animations doesn't always keep up during conversations; however ME3 is an amazing way to finish a trilogy.

Gameplay:
Mass effect has always been different from other rpg's that lacks in gameplay, but a few rpg's still have top notch gameplay and ME3 is one of them. ME3 also has 3 new options you can take in the beginning of the game, you can choose to play in the classic ME way with combat and conversations, but for all regular TPS fans you can now choose to make these conversations normal cutscenes, or you can choose to put the combat on a ridiculous easy level so you can just rush through the combat and put more time into the story. ME3 now also has Multiplayer, were you can play as different races than Human or just stick to the old stuff, however if you aren't a multiplayer fan that's ok because it won't affect the story at all and is not required. I think it's a must play and skipping it would be you're loss.

ME3 has an amazing amount of content, I finished it in 42 hours, but I did far from everything, and this is just the story the multiplayer kept me up at nights as well.
So lets sum it all up.

Pros:
- Amazing Story, one of the best in video games
- Great gameplay
- A lot of weapon customization
- Multiplayer
- Tons of content
- Amazing voice acting
- You can import you're ME1 or ME2 character so you're old choices still has an impact
- Great character development, you can romance a person if interested.

Cons:
- minor frame rate issues and bugs, but easily overlooked.

NOTE: If you haven't played ME and ME2 I strongly recommend you do so, sure its a bit of commitment, but you will thank me later ;)

9.7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The free DLC has turned this game into a 10

posted by pyrofire43 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Although the game had a serious problem with the original ending. The new extended cut DLC, which is free, fixes the ending. If you end up buying the game or buying the muliplayer pass, you will also find a addictive game that has more than doubled in size (maps, guns, characters, powers, equipment) since the release. This game is worth buying, and playing over and over again until your thumbs are sore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another great ME game

posted by mndamon (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The ending was weak but I don't understand the hate. I get that it felt a little lacking and that it didn't play out the way most thought it would but regardless, this was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid "Conclusion" w/ Some Flaws

posted by Clockwise (CENTREVILLE, VA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought the story side wrap-up of the series showed a lot of intelligence. Aspects from the 1st game still tied in to this one. I felt the developer's went a little overboard with the "OMG this fight can't be won" mentality/theme. You'll see what I mean when you get to the end. Still, the entirety of the story is good. I enjoyed the final cutscenes and choices.

The combat could potentially be amazing if they finally fixed the broken cover system. You can tap 'a' a million time and he does nothing, then when you stop and tap 'a' again he flies over the cover you were trying to hide behind. It's issues like that, that make playing the game on hard a freaking chore. I turned it to normal difficulty at about 12 hours in.

I couldn't pick 2 characters up because they died, so that's my fault..... lol. This is actually kind of a good thing because they hold you accountable for your decision in prior games.

There is one major gripe I have with the game:

The entire SERIES is leading up to this final battle. The entirety of this game you are building up your forces. For what? The species you choose don't seem to have anything to do with how the end game plays out. I was thinking you would allocate forces to specific tasks, etc., but it seems your choices don't really have anything to do with the "final battle". A missed opportunity from the developer to do something more.

All the new enemies are really fun to fight. The shotguns in this one are RIDICULOUS. Extremely fun to use. Wish there were more "big boss" fights.

I know this review sounds negative, but I have to recommend it to anyone that enjoyed the others or anyone into sci-fi, etc. The story & world is really well detailed and fleshed out. I was actually furious at the game (cover system), but screamed in celebration after I took down a reaper and was genuinely satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tight game play, but detached emotionally

posted by megconnell (ALAMEDA, CA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The existence of earth, humans and zillions of other carbon-based creatures hang in the balance. And I don't care.

First the good: from previous Mass Effect games, ME3 features huge improvements to game play. Shepherd now evades enemy fire; he runs faster and sports a new "super punch" move that’s effective for close combat. Gone are class-specific weapons - Vanguards, snipe away. And Infiltrators, you should have a shotgun for this kind of deal. The weapon assignment system works great, which penalizes power recharge rate as you add more weight on Shepherd’s back. This presents the player with some cool tradeoffs that furthers the incentive to upgrade weapons. Battle arenas present more flexibility; affording more opportunities to flank enemies and better use of squad commands. Though occasionally exhibiting self-destructive behavior, squad AI and abilities are well balanced in ME3 - I found myself carefully thinking through how best to position and use them for each scenario.

A major disappointment was with the lack of character development, or relationship building. What little there is gets regurgitated, i.e. “imported,” from ME2 or takes place in 1-dimension on the Citadel - a fairly dull place to be. Character dev in ME3 is greatly needed in order to create an emotional attachment to its focal point: earth and its inhabitants. I was desensitized to the scenes of earth in flames and of its people getting popped off left and right. And why not? Throughout the series, the player spends most of the time elsewhere in the galaxy fighting for the interests of other races to strengthen his standing with a particular individual whom he sympathizes with. Most encounters with humans however, have been through the intolerant Cerberus, none of which are staged on earth. When we finally see earth in apocalyptic ruin and there is little sense of loss. All the bloated speeches of altruistic duty and epic music screaming at you “care, dang it!” are emotionally ineffect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse