Buy Mass Effect 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Mass Effect 3

Buy

New: $19.99

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

4283 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game!!!

posted by martianxxv (CLINTON, MA) Sep 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game surpassed my expectations. Great storyline and team play as far as commanding your squad in battles. Graphics are decent but the game is deep and the levels huge. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Massively Effective

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Mar 10, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

22 out of 27 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I gotta say, first and foremost, that I was a tad worried about the game with all the shakeups during development, with leaked stories and the like. Not to mention I had a friend who'd call me every week only to tell how dire the series was, how bad the demo is, how this game is going to fail miserably and that he was ashamed that he was even considering playing it. All the while I knew that, I'd probably enjoy it just fine, or at least more than any other mediocre title released, no matter how much the series has deteriorated.

But, to my non-surprise.... the game is fantastic.
I will say, that literally a day before I played Mass 3, I realized I hadn't yet played Arrival in Mass 2... and wow, that was bad. Not the DLC necessarily, but the controls and the overall game. I couldn't believe how terrible it was (more like, Mass Defect! ::snicker, snicker::) so, I was really worried about Mass 3. BUT, once again, Mass 3 is great!

So, I think, the graphics are a tiny bit improved, controls are 100% improved. Environments are 100% improved over 2, which was 100% improved over 1, so that says something. Shepard finally feels like he's a bad-"butt" in charge of stuff, leading a team. In the past, yeah, Shepard was leading a team, but it was more like a team of a mishmash of trouble makers doing stuff their own way, rebelling against "the man" because they know better. But here, you feel like you're leading a legit, top of the line Team, doing real Military missions to save the galaxy. FINALLY.

Can't recommend this game enough. OBVIOUSLY, you should play Mass Effect 2 (with the prologue for Mass 1) because stuff does carry over, even if only in small increments.

Weapon upgrades, level progression and customization are improved.

There's really no negatives because everything has been improved since the last game, so any shortcomings just don't matter or effect your experience.

ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ME3 had early access

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First id like to say that thanks to contacts, I could play this game early so I'm not "faking" this review like sadly a few others are

STORY:
Mass effect is famous for it's story for a reason, and yes the story is still amazing although this is the third the game the story is still world-class and the voice acting is amazing, although the character animations doesn't always keep up during conversations; however ME3 is an amazing way to finish a trilogy.

Gameplay:
Mass effect has always been different from other rpg's that lacks in gameplay, but a few rpg's still have top notch gameplay and ME3 is one of them. ME3 also has 3 new options you can take in the beginning of the game, you can choose to play in the classic ME way with combat and conversations, but for all regular TPS fans you can now choose to make these conversations normal cutscenes, or you can choose to put the combat on a ridiculous easy level so you can just rush through the combat and put more time into the story. ME3 now also has Multiplayer, were you can play as different races than Human or just stick to the old stuff, however if you aren't a multiplayer fan that's ok because it won't affect the story at all and is not required. I think it's a must play and skipping it would be you're loss.

ME3 has an amazing amount of content, I finished it in 42 hours, but I did far from everything, and this is just the story the multiplayer kept me up at nights as well.
So lets sum it all up.

Pros:
- Amazing Story, one of the best in video game
- Great gameplay
- A lot of weapon customization
- Multiplayer
- Tons of content
- Amazing voice acting
- You can import you're ME1 or ME2 character so you're old choices still has an impact
- Great character development, you can romance a person if interested.

Cons:
- minor frame rate issues and bugs, but easily overlooked.

NOTE: If you haven't played ME and ME2 I strongly recommend you do so, sure its a bit of commitment, but you will t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a great game.... but ending wow?

posted by Jrocket (ODESSA, TX) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is a really great game. graphics great, fun to play. me 2 was a lil bit more rpg and lil better. What happened with the ending though??. I wanted to put a renegade moment in the end. nothing i did matter.... all that hard work in me1 and 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ending...

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I would have given this game a 10 if the ending was better. It was an amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing experience

posted by profkilljoy7z (SANFORD, FL) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game was an amazing experience in every way.

There was a point where the game forced me to make a choice that I did not want to make, and after I had chosen I felt literally horrible about what I had just done. The way my choices in the first 2 games affected the way the the game played out was awe inspiring. My roommate and I were playing 2 different experiences.

There is some hoopla about the ending, but I loved the ending.

Some people have dubbed this the best space drama [since] Star Wars. I would drop the Star Wars part. This is the best space drama I have ever experienced.

This has been one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Title

posted by Rain2225 (CAMDEN, SC) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After suffering a not so good introduction from the comic to ME1 that was placed on ME2 beginning, it has came a long way in proving a great title in my eyes. I have only a minor dispute with the ending, but from what im reading, us fans will get closure. To fans who havnt played this title, i strongly recommend that you play ME2 or atleast get come background knowledge when it comes to this game or else you would be very confused at certain times and also even want to hate it cause of that. IMO a grade A 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great sci-fi adventure well worth the time

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

"Mass Effect 3" is a very well done sci-fi adventure game, with plenty of choices that doing carry over from the previous installments, good graphics, and a well written story. I won't touch on the multiplayer here as I haven't played it (I generally don't play multiplayer) though it is said it does impact on the single player game but is not necessary to play to enjoy the game. The endings have sparked their fair share of controversy among fans, even leading to a movement to force Bioware into changing the ending. For myself, I was fine with the ending I got (there are 6 confirmed endings, each with subtle differences) and though I've watched the videos for the other 5, I'd still look forward to multiple playthroughs to achieve them on my own. The game's fairly solid as far as controls go, and the environments are well detailed and the voice acting is excellent. I played on the PS3 and did encounter a couple of minor issues (The game froze once and framerate occasionally dropped) but overall had no major issues like others have reported. My character imported from ME2 just fine, though it has been noted that those playing on Xbox 360 have had problems importing saves from the first game. The game is well worth your time if you're a fan of the series, even if you're unhappy with the endings. The journey to the end is a terrific one, with plenty of great set pieces and emotional moments throughout. A must play if not a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disappointing ending

posted by rwes10 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Overall this was a very good game. My only complaint as with others is the ending. I didn't like it at all and what was the deal with the Normandy landing whereever and then the door opening...end scene? Not getting it. After all of what the Mass Effect faithful have been through, we could have used a better ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by cinda4style (CHUGIAK, AK) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

way to bring it all together. good job

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mass Effect 3

posted by MasterRobinson9 (NORFOLK, VA) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just awsome. from killing geth to slaughtering cerberus agents is a thrill. i was a little sad at the end that theres no more shaperd but he did a darn well good job. Thanks to BioWare on this exellecent game and cant wait for your next project.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Epic Series at its End....for now

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Bioware completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. After 2 years of waiting, countless demonstrations & trailers, Fans of RPG's, Scifi & Bioware Games can Take Earth Back in this EPIC Conclusion of the Space-Opera. Mass Effect 3 takes place immediately after the Events in Mass Effect 2 & this time its a Fight to the Finish. The Reapers have arrived & they mean Business. It's up to Commander Shepard & his Normandy Crew to take Earth back & Save the Galaxy by Uniting all Races & Species to stop the Reapers & Cerberus along the way. The Story is Phenominal & the idea to complete the game with multiple endings makes it more satisfying to those fans of RPG's. Voice Acting is Terrific, & The Orchestra Music is Amazing & Art Design is Fantastic. Combat System has been upgraded but has some flaws. To those who are fans of the series(like me) they might have mixed reviews about the Combat but all in all its still pretty cool but they shouldve stuck with ME2 combat. Note:There are some glitches & bugs & to some planet scanning & galactic travel may not be fun. Upgrading System for Weapons & Armor is back. Decision Making for Paragon & Renegade Choices has improved a bit. Bioware has also added Multiplayer/Co-op for the game & its actually fun. The multiplayer is a Survival Mode fighting Waves of Enemies & each Difficulty makes it more fun & challenging. You can customize & unlock special equipment & gear for your Characters. DLC Releases is sure to be great. Even though this is the last of Shepard we can sure hope this is not the end of Mass Effect. Mass Effect 3 gets a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by jaydeisel (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best simulation that I have ever seen on a console. This is a keeper and worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good, until the end.

posted by TlMB0 (BLACK DIAMOND, WA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this game took me about 32 hours to complete. The first 31 hours and 45 minutes were among the best gaming experiences I have ever had. Everything up until the last 15 minutes of game was borderline perfect. The gameplay is great, the story is fantastic, and the multiplayer (while somewhat repetitive) is enjoyable as well.

But, then the ending began. Without going into spoilers, I will just say that it almost entirely ruined the whole experience I had with this game. Ripe with plot holes and nonsense, it was a massive disappointment in what was otherwise a great game.

If the ending was good, the game would easily be worthy of a 10/10, however, in its current state, it deserves an 8/10. A full 2 points deducted for the ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mass effect

posted by T_god (FORT MILL, SC) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was an amazing and complex story line with a few twists.. the only problem i had with the game was that the graphics were not as good as i hoped they would be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best games ever!

posted by oak12 (PAYSON, AZ) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game blew my mind when i played it for the first time. it has very good graphics, an excellent story, and a good combat experience. what more could you want?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a very good game. good story. its great that it lets u fly threw out the galaxey. Dont rent buy you will whant to play it over and over. Some missions are kind of hard but not to bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

10 times better with me 2 character imported

posted by dtigertron (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a fun game, but replay value is not there like in Mass Effect 2. I played ME3 through once with out importing any characters from ME 2. It was ok, but felt like something was missing.

It is all the mini games that are in 2. While the mini games are not amazing stand alone content, put with all the other aspects of the game they make up a more varied experience. For me, that was what really made Mass Effect 2!

Then I imported my character from ME2, and while it didn't add any mini games, I ran into more of the characters from 2! First of all, that was a huge improvement, Jack alone gave me a couple laugh out louds!

I still don't think I am going to keep this, sense I bought 2 and find it a better experience. A good rent, a great rent with a ME 2 character imported! The problem mostly is that this game is all about the story, once you beat it there is not a lot of reason to play again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game is amazing until the end. No spoilers.

posted by dcrobinett (BUTLER, IN) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect 3 is just about everything I expected. I really loved this game right up until the end.

The first 99% of the game is a solid 9 but the last 10 minutes of the game is a 1.

It also had framerate issues on the ps3. I've read the pc version doesn't have the same issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only bad about ME3... EA

posted by jjwolfe (NAMPA, ID) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you rent this from Gamefly I give this a 7, if you buy it new I give it a 9. The reason? You have to buy the online pass, if you rent, not only to play MP (which I don't) but to access your dlc, and even if you do buy it, if you save a game with dlc in it and the EA servers are not accessible you can not play your game... W.T.F??

Thanks EA for making it harder for legit players to own and play your games. It only helps the pirates since they don't have to deal with connection to EA servers to use dlc, so it only affects us, the legit buyers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What Happen???

posted by Kouno (AURORA, CO) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This is the first review I have ever wrote, but after playing this game, I knew I had to write one. I played Mass Effect 1 and 2, and loved them fully, but ME3? Starts off as strong as any game I have seen, but by the end I was left wishing the reapers would harvest me. The ending leaves more question then before and in the end your time on 1 and 2 does not matter. As for online play, well good if you want to spend real cash to buy the best weapons right away, but other wise just another lost. I mean, really unless you want to pay EA even more money for the best stuff, you can not do anything on MP. Just a full lost on a great series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great gameplay, HORRIBLE ending.

posted by jonwilljon (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The gameplay, graphics, and controls for this game were almost flawless, leaving little to be desired, but the ending basically overshadowed all these positives brought to the game. No matter what choices you make or how you play the game, the end result is the same all across the board. Without inadvertently ruining the ending, however poor it may be, I will just stick with saying they are all major downers. All endings feel like you lose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

misleading

posted by pencek (ACWORTH, GA) Aug 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is a rpg, not a shooter. not by a long shot. i 'played' for an hour and had the controller in my hand for a total of 5 minutes. i dont see how anybody finds that entertaining. if i want to watch a show about aliens with a bad plot ill turn on TNT. F--- this game for wasting my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good Game

posted by Mabel1999 (Pasadena, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Powerful Images.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by leedee (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse