Buy Mass Effect 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Mass Effect 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.7

9219 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Defining Game of this Console Generation

posted by Obrusnine (TONAWANDA, NY) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

59 out of 79 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Now, before I even get this started off, there is only one thing to say. This is the BEST game ever made. Sure, some of you might not agree with me, but I'm reviewing from a non-biased viewpoint. Bioware really outdid themselves with this one, here are some pros and cons.

PROS AND CONS
+Story
+Characters
+Blended RPG and Shooter Gameplay making an excellent Hybrid
+Length (30-60 hours depending on if you do all the loyalty missions)
+Side-Missions
+Cut-Scenes
+Epic Ending
+Loyalty Missions
+Value
+Player Choice
+Music
+Voice Acting
-Mining
-RPG Elements Underplayed
-Cerberus Network

As you can see, the Pros vastly outweight the cons. You will never know exactly what I mean by "Awesome" until you really look at and play this game. The Story is a very strong science fiction, the characters are very lifelike, the gameplay is an awesome blend of RPG and Shooter gameplay, the game is very long, there is like a million side quests that will take you a very very long time after the end to beat. There is also the newly added Loyalty Missions that really make you go in-depth with these characters. The ending is epic, the voice acting is professional, the music is the best in any game I've ever played, the player choice is staggering, and it has excellent value. All of the DLC released on the Xbox360/PC versions of the game is all completely free as long as you buy a new copy of the game and get your Cerberus Network code. Cerberus Network is the biggest problem with this game, if you buy the game used or rent it, you will not get access to the Cerberus Network unless you fork over $15 extra, and this is the only way you can get access to a small amount of free DLC. The big DLC packs are on the disk. This is still dissapointing to see EA pulling this one again, they did it with Battlefield Bad Company 2 and it seems EA hasn't learned from their mistakes when gamers roared with genuine distaste. But, don't let this keep you from playing this beautiful game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever on the PS3 period.

posted by amoneyandy (FORT DODGE, IA) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

37 out of 52 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game has the most epic ending that I have ever played. I wont spoil it but it really all depends on actions that you take during the game and because of that there are just so many things that can happen. Its so amazing how they keep you on your toes the ENTIRE final mission. Most games have pretty basic storylines but this one has you on the edge of your seat the entire time. Shepards pep talks had my adrenaline pupming, the graphics are phenomenal, inter-character realtionships are amazing, combat is flawless, the story is original and extremely well made, and the music is even good. This game is a must buy for anybody who likes action games at all. Even beyond the main storyline there are still tons of side missions to do. THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER ON THE PS3. Ea knocked this out of the park.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by okgame (SARATOGA, CA) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

32 out of 45 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I was waiting for this game to come out for PS3 and finally it's here! I got it yesterday and haven't stopped playing it since. It's incredibly entertaining and most of it's shortcomings don't bother me since the entertainment value is so high. One hting that bugs me is when people rate it low because there's "too much talking" and "not enough shooting". If you want a shoot 'em up game then get COD or Killzone or something. This is listed under RPG where the majority of the entertainment lies in the story line, character development and the bond you build with your teammates. This game, in my opnion, has hte perfect amount of shooting and deep storyline mixture which is why i rated it so high. I look forward to Mass Effect 3!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mass effect 2

posted by Gilead3 (Joint Base Lewis McChord, WA) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

it's very fun. just that there's a few slow points and the graphics arent that great but the rest makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Play MASS EFFECT 2, OR BURN UR PS3 TO THE GROUND!

posted by shotgunzablazen (ANTIOCH, TN) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect 2...been playing all night! Most games feel like a chore

or a job lately. Not this one yu take commander sheperd from planet to planet bustin' out biotic prisoners, throwing ppl from the top of buildings(if you choose the renagade option.) You actually feel like a commander of a starship. And you make choices that you dnt even mean to make! I killed sum dude holdin' ppl hostage..like two hrs later I go to my comstation w/ new mail.... was the guy i saved..he was a coward then, but now he says hes changed, and I kno im gunna see him again(for better er worse.) SUMMARY: PLAY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Sci-Fi.

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

It's here and it looks fantastic on the PS3. All the DLC is included which makes it an excellent value. I really don't recommend renting this game because you can play through it multiple times. I played Mass Effect 1 on the 360 and this game is improved in every way. The devs listened to the user base and improved everything the original was lacking. There's really not a lot to say but buy this game and enjoy IMHO the best game to come out in the last 10 years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mass Effect Two

posted by lolpuppy (YOUNGSTOWN, NY) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There is only two words to say for this game PURE AWESOMENESS. If your one of those guys (or girls weridly enough) who LOVE a good RPG, great story line, and amazing real time action. this game is for you. You play as Commander Shepard (or if you want to change the name) You choose your background, Phsyic Profile, and Where you were born (this makes a big diffence in the game) The planets you visit are many almost abou 16 planets you can visit. Each with there own population. ME2 is like Star Wars knights of the old republic, you get your teamates, by visitng planets and getting yur teammates. And also, there is the whole "moral"thing. where you make good choices - good things happen, Bad choices - Bad things. this game deserves my votes of 10/10 for gameplay 10/10 for Story line 9/10 for action (somewhat it gets boring. but STILL a very good game)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game, Great gameplay.

posted by Vindul (SUN CITY, CA) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The story is not as great as Mass Effect 1, But they greatly improved the speed of combat. You spend a lot less time talking in this one and much more time fighting. They removed the ability to explore worlds like 1, But added the ability to scan them and mine them for ore (Which on occasion yields and additional mission).

The team building is much more diversified. You have a lot more people then before. However, Since the cut the skills down the minimum most team members have very similar skills. The fact that you can no longer customize weapons and armor was a let down as well.

Overall a great game, While I don't agree with some of the changes they made the story will still suck you in and the combat is great.

Happy Gaming,
Vindul

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game in a decade.

posted by fothead (MATAWAN, NJ) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have not played a game so consuming since Final Fantasy 7. It's been said before but this game is certainly a defining title for this generation.

I have been playing games since the mid 80's on all consoles and this game would certainly make an all time top 5 list. Maybe top 2 or 3. This game is the perfect blend of everything one could want in a game Merging a shooter with an RPG- everywhere Fallout 3/NV failed, this game succeeded. The right blend of cinematic sensibility without it becoming like just watching a movie with a little interaction like some games (Uncharted 2- blech)

The gameplay mechanics are very good, just short of great. Only complaint is the inability to jump without first crouching behind cover. That and missing some sort of dodge.

The character building is very simple but effective. Choosing which of your squad to bring into each battle creates quite a bit of strategy and planning on the Hardcore level. Each character has strengths against certain kinds of races/enemies. On Hardcore, this is one of the most challenging games I've played in a while.

The storyline and character development is unmatched by any game I've ever played. I typically skip all cutscenes and storylines in about 95% of the games I play. Not this one. Every dialogue opens up just a little more of each characters past and motivations. The voice acting (again something I usually care little about) was very good and the graphics were solid was well. I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. Completely engrossing.

The missions are awesome. They don't all just feel like the same ol' go get something and bring it back to me type RPG BS or go kill so and so. The missions have a variety that I can only loosely compare to GTA4. You choose what order you do them for the most part, and they all have the feel of something different.

Everyone should try this game. I would find it hard to believe that anyone could not like it. I hate sci-fi too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great 1 player mode

posted by kbuzz1459 (SOUTHLAKE, TX) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yes, this is one of the best 1 player games out there. the FPS is great, has a uncharted feel to it but with upgrades to ammo. Im more of a gun guy so didnt go into the powers, but it was great having npc shooting them at your enemies for you.

Great graphics and interesting storyline, got kinda talky but it wasnt that bad. love the fact that martin sheen was the Illusive man.

Good game i recommend it if you want to kill a few days beating it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mass Effect 2

posted by Night17 (THREE RIVERS, TX) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect 2, made by a company called Bioware, is a science-fiction RPG (role-playing game). It starts off with heavy use of cinematic sequences, which continue throughout the rest of the game in abundance. You pick the name of your avatar, physical appearance as typical with most modern RPG's, then start the game. Action and combat is deemphasized to cast more light on the cinematic sequences involving dialogue choices that are made when talking to other NPC's. The graphics are quite good, and the storyline is fairly interesting also, albeit a bit convoluted and not easy to understand. The game features a prodigious amount of content of the galaxy you are inhabiting, casting a background to the game to give it more of a galactic feel. This game is not going to appeal to all people, but it certainly will provide a much-needed variation on the typical RPG-shooter fanfare that you see today. A good game, take a look may be just your thing. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Storyline

posted by Rhino_2_1 (MESQUITE, TX) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect 2 was a very good game overall. It had good action, nice power moves, you obtain a squad of 3 people (yourself included), graphics were nice, the control was up to par, storyline was pretty darn epic! But the one problem I had with Mass Effect 2 was the choices.

I enjoy games that allow gamers the choice of being good bad or even a little inbetween. But in my opinion ME2 went a little overboard with the decision making and did not meet my standards for missions/shooting mobs. But when you did get those precious 10 min of using powers and blasting geth down with my warp ammo and keeping my shield up, was fantastic!

I have not played the first ME and to be honest I didn't find it any more difficult to play along with the story and play catchup on what I had missed. So Being the hero or the villain should be a pretty standard decision making process.

I rated this a 8.9 would have been a high 9 had the choices not been so often. On the other hand if you are looking for a epic storyline with a ton of decisions to make and a very fun action experience then do not hesitate to pick this one up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NOT A SHOOTE OR A CALL OF DUTY SHOOTER. GREAT RPG

posted by wunshott (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I think people dissapointed by this game were expecting a full on shooter or somethig. When in actuallity it is a RPG with SOME shooter characteristics. It is made by Bioware whom make RPGs. Anyways this is a fantastic game with great graphics, gameplay, and storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow!!!!

posted by BPOE33 (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game starts out really slow so don't be weary of early levels and return the game to quickly. Once you get emmersed into the game about an hour through it is absolutely addicting. This is definetly a must rent and if you are interested in the multitude of add ons then I would recomend buying this game do to its excellent replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Liluye (MCKEESPORT, PA) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Really fantastic and fun game. Graphics are excellent of course, RPG elements are great. Only dislike was not being able to have same gender romance, I know most people don't care but I always like it. Either way fun game can't wait for Mass Effect 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Single Player Game...

posted by Gotti9410 (WILMINGTON, NC) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I'll admit I'm a huge fan of games like oblivion, fallout, and dragon age... and this game falls right into that category. Though it was a bit closer to an FPS than most of the others, I really enjoyed it while playing this game. I'm also a huge fan of any FPS, and this game is NOT COD or Killzone.. but if you're a fan of single players, and have about 40 hours to kill, the plot and story of this game will drag you in and have you, as I am, waiting for ME3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic Sci-Fi RPG has plenty of action, story

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

It was a happy day when I heard this game was being ported to the PS3. The Mass Effect series was one of those that I wished I had the extra funds to buy an Xbox 360. Now my platform of choice gets "Mass Effect 2", and I'm quite happy that I got to play this epic RPG. Sadly, those who rent this won't get the code to download the comic that brings you up to speed on events of the first game. It can be found online to view, you just won't get to make any choices. So jeers to EA for not including that on the disc. Fortunately, the story is strong enough to suck you in, and before long you get attached to your own personalized Shepard as you aid the Illusive man and the shadowy organization Cerberus in trying to stop a group of aliens known as the Collectors and save the human race. To do so you need to assemble a team of various characters, which make up the bulk of your early missions, and then you need to keep them loyal through your interactions. The game does a nice job of balancing the story between action and exploration, and gives you choices in how you interact with other characters, which in turn effect how your game plays out. This gives the game plenty of replayability, and if you choose to purchase you'll more than get your money's worth as this game will suck up a huge amount of your time (plan on at least 40-50 hours to play through the story, if not more). There are some things that keep this from being a perfect game, however. The font used for onscreen text is ridiculously small and difficult to read. Graphics occassionally stutter, though for the most part they look fantastic. The sound also tends to fade out here and there, though these little glitches may not be experienced by everyone. Thankfully, the story is enough to override these flaws and keep you playing well into the night. If you're looking for an epic sci-fi space opera, than this is the game for you. Definitely worth checking out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Over-Rated

posted by lecuyer (CHANTILLY, VA) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First off I'd like to start this off by saying this game is a very good game, HOWEVER, I came into this game expecting a lot more. It has a decent amount of gameplay, 30-40 hours (after all quests completed.), the graphics are amazing, the voice acting is great. Where this game fell short was the MAIN story line. Not sure about you but I like my main story line to be longer than 2 loyalty quests.

EVERYTHING about this game is great, except for the fact, that it felt the main story quest took a total of MAYBE 3-4 hours. that's about 10% of total gameplay, and to me there is definately something wrong with that picture.

Other than that you can get deeply immersed in the galaxy with this interactive, and cinematic adventure. There is tons of outcomes, and choices. Highly recommend playing this if you like Mass Effect 1 or Dragon Age. If you are more of a/an Elder Scrolls/Fallout fan, this game will fall short for you since the main quest seems like a Mid-Long side quest.

OVERALL: 8.5

GRAPHICS: 9
SOUND: 9 (voice acting is amazing)
ADDICTIVENESS: 10
HOURS OF GAMEPLAY: 30-40
STORYLINE: 5
REPLAYABILITY: HIGH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, worth playing.

posted by Zwerewolf (THORNTON, CO) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Game that I will buy. The big downfall was how long it took for loading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever.

posted by GoOSEvV (BELLE VERNON, PA) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Multiple ending, great customization, choose ur destiny. Decisions affect thing later in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mass Effect 2 review

posted by Bredba (LAKE STATION, IN) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game was fantastic. Easily an 8.5 on my personal rating scale. Having said that the game had one issue that I could just let go of and that was the combat was super repetitive. I don't consider myself a traditionalist at all when it comes to role playing gamings but the feeling of the combat didn't mesh well at all with the game itself. It sounds weird I know but that's my personal opinion. First the fighting style just felt ripped from gears or war or something with some light role playing elements mixed in. The story is superb but only after you fight hordes and hordes of geth, zombies, mech, whatever it all felt the same. I often found myself praying that after a cut scene or whenever I thought that I would be doing any fighting that the random hordes of whatever creature I would be fighting wouldn't come. It wasn't hard just so repetitive. Having said that the game is fantastic I would say try it. It's a great game minus what I just ranted about. I really recemmend this if you haven't played a lot of role playing games before. And don't worry whether you played the first or not it will roughly update you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by TheEquinox (SANDPOINT, ID) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best RPG's i have ever played. I enjoyed it so much that i shelled out 60 bucks and bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic

posted by Greener (SATANTA, KS) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Mass effect 2 finally makes its way to the PS3 and i say its about time. The main story is amazing. But not only is the main story compelling, i was highly impressed with the small side stories you encounter throughout the game. Most of the loyalty quests, should you choose to do them, offer unique gameplay mechanics. The morality system has also been tweaked and now allows Paragon or Renegade actions during cut scenes instead of merely influencing dialogue. Tired of a thug giving you the roundabout? A high Renegade score will allow you to punch him right in the face and claim the information and maybe a few credits too. Want to play the good guy? Become a Paragon and smooth talk your way into getting what you want. The choice is yours and the sheer magnitude of your choices is what make this game great. There's so much to see and do the game is hard to put down. We as PS3 owners dont get the in game benefits of porting a character from the first Mass Effect for weapons and XP bonuses but all the choices you make in this game will directly effect your character in ME3 and it will be different for everyone.

My only slight complaint about the game is the combat. While there are many classes you can choose from each with unique weapons training and powers, i felt the overall number of weapons was lacking. Aside from heavy weapons i only had about two other guns in each class. There are way more power options then gun options and i found that odd in a game that prides itself on choice. Armor pieces were also pretty rare. The combat is much improved, but it could still be better. Its a duck and cover system vaguely similar to gears of war. Its solid but just feels a little off for some reason and im sure that will be fixed in the next game. But first and foremost this is an RPG. Im tired of reading idiots saying there's not enough shooting because thats not the point of the game. If you're looking for a great shooter you own the wrong console anyway. 9.5 from me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great WRPG yet again plague with bugs.

posted by MonsterHunter (MODESTO, CA) Feb 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Mass Effect 2 is a great WRPG and I'm actually glad Bioware decided to release this game to the PS3, but with all great WRPG, the problems (bugs and glitches) are never put out in the open until the sales are in.

The main problem this gets me about WRPG, is again with the bugs and glitches. I've been enjoying this game for a week now, and I was going to buy it (Keep), but out of nowhere I ran into massive freezing problems in the middle of the game, that prevent me from competing a certain mission. Every time I started the mission, it would freeze halve way through, and there was no way around it either. Screen tearing has always been a known issue, but it can a little annoying at times within conversation with NPC or companions.

Overall I give this game a 8. It's Very fun right up until the bugs and glitches and freezing kicks, that's when I had to send it back with a sad look on my face. I'm just not not going to buy a game I can't beat entirely, because of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly AWESOME game but PS3ers BEWARE OF BUG...

posted by Bierbauer (LEXINGTON, KY) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

First of all, I haven't finished playing this game yet. But there's a reason for that: As released, ME2 for the PS3 has a (now) well known bug that will freeze the game and simultaneously corrupt your save game file. Yep, you heard that right. A lot of PS3 players are 30+ hours in and suddenly have to start over. Bioware is supposed to have the patch ready tomorrow (Friday, January 28) and send it to Sony for approval, then Sony will release it as a software update.

That being said, this is the most mind-blowingly epic game I've ever played. I didn't play the original Mass Effect, so I'm out of the loop on a lot of the story and characters, but I will say that this game takes RP's to a whole new level. Never has an RP had such fluid dialog choices or such believable, well-drawn characters. Every aspect of the production is the best I've seen. I've played games with a some really great voice talent, but never has the direction been precise enough to for the actors to transcend voicing a character and seamlessly create one. The graphics surpass any game I've played, and the dialog choices are fluid and the most natural I've ever heard. Even the science is well developed.

RP's are usually just that: Role Playing. But ME2 really nails the production values and creates a very, very comprehensive, rich environment with such natural interactions and realistic characters that you become immersed like no other game out there. It really sets a new standards for RP's. And the shooter aspects are equally well developed with upgradable powers and weapon proficiencies, and the best combatant AI I've seen.

Releasing the game with the bug was unforgivable. But the game is so good, that I'll start over with a new character as soon as the patch is out and play it through. It is a mature game, driven by dialog and conversations and the choices and consequences you make. If you just want a shooter, you'll likely miss a lot of what this game offers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse