Buy Mario Party 9 for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Party 9

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

2257 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why Nintendo?

posted by beignetbengay (BATON ROUGE, LA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to have bought a copy of this title brand new. I had set up a small get together for my friends to play this game and bring back memories of frustrating mini games of n64's yesteryear. However, the rules have not evolved--but changed. Everyone moves together when you roll the die. No such thing as coins--just mini-star and "ztars" (stars that have a negative value when added to your collection of stars). The mini games were not as fun and mostly rely on chance than skill. I was so disappointed. Do yourself a favor and purchase an n64 and get you a copy of Mario Party 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different but the same

posted by catchacase (HILLSBORO, OR) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The newest entry into the mario party series mixes up the old formula a little, but in a way, keeps things the same. Some things are good, some things are bad.

Lets talk bad first.

The biggest 'bad' thing for me, is the sheer randomness of the game. I have played where i hit every space that caused me to lose stars, while another player hit everyone that got her stars. Is it fair? No, its random.

The second big thing for me is that as opposed to older MP's, you dont collect coins and cant buy special items to use against your opponents. These were a lot of fun and are sorely missed.

There are a couple of other things, but those are my big 2.

Good

All the mini-games are back with a huge variety, either two player together, two player competing against a boss, all players against a boss (but still free for all), free for all, and more.

The minigames are all new and are a lot more fun to play than some of the older games. They use a variety of different styles, so you typically will not have one person dominate the games like in the older version.

Fun and different maps. The variety of maps are nice and have some fun spaces and 'events' you can trigger.

In the end, it comes down to your personal preference of play style. It does offer a quick (30-45 minutes) distraction and acts as a good way to bring family or friends together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really bad

posted by rainbwbt13 (POMPTON LAKES, NJ) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is no real point in playing this game at all. They might as well of just made all 4 players the party star.. Why would they change everything thats so good about the old games? Whats the point of playing a board game type game if youre all stuck in the car moving about the board together, soo stupid.. There are no weapons so it lacks the strategy element.. I just hope they make up for it in the next one. So glad I didnt pay for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really bad

posted by little_bird (GROVELAND, FL) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i was looking forward to getting this game but i did not like it at all get Mario party 8 instead !!!WAY BETTER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eh

posted by djsoular (CLOVIS, NM) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I like the older mario party games better. They changed the gameplay of this title so that everybody travels around together and you have to land on a mini game tile to even play a mini game. The mini games are fun, but they are so few and far in between that it ruins the point of Mario Party. Bummer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh

posted by DamaRocks (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I like the single person movement instead of us all being in a car. Kinda makes it less fun. :( I was super excited to play it and now I cant wait to send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did not like this version at all

posted by sgwebb (DENVER, CO) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

We did not like this version at all, you have to travel together and collect mini-stars, you hardly hit any mini games, which is most of the fun.. We could not play this for more than 10 mins.. previous version is MUCH better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Big step back from 8

posted by namidei (STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, CO) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You would think when a person makes a game that they would play it. Not the case for mario party 9. If it was then you would hear in the news that all the people at Nintendo killed themselves for making the worst game ever and pissing all over the mario party franchise. The games pure luck. You can win every mini game and still get crushed. The AI is either super easy or for some games have super human reflexes. All new concepts in the game will forever be labeled as the biggest mistakes in game development history. Do yourself a favor and rent yourself another mario party. Even the mini games alone suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Step in the Wrong Direction

posted by Penne (ROCK HILL, SC) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've only played two Mario Party titles. 8 and now 9. With 8 I enjoyed myself quite a bit as it was possible to get lucky but if you worked at it you tended to come out ahead of the computer players no matter just how lucky they were. In 9, your skill has nothing to do with winning. It seemed that by the end of the "solo" mode the computer was just cheating. They hit every bonus, won any minigame that required timing or pure luck (ie. almost all of them) and always rolled what would screw you over in the next turn. I tried the Bowser Station level 3 times and each time the computer would always jump up 40 or 50 stars while dropping me 20 or 30 in the last couple of turns. This game is unplayable if you require a modicum of skill to find a game enjoyable. If you like games of pure chance (with the odds stacked against you), then maybe you'll find some fun here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game!

posted by cubyank (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The game is just similar enough to previous editions to continue in the series and parallel what we are very used to. It is also just different enough to maintain interest and keep from getting too routine as the older versions can get. We enjoy ALL editions of the Mario Party series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Teamwork in car?? WORST IDEA EVER!!!!!!!

posted by bpalma6193 (CHESHIRE, CT) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I don't know what nintendo was thinking when they said, "ok, instead of everyone veruses each other (like how a board game is usually played) lets cram them all into stupid cars to work together to win!"....Whoever said that this was a great idea should no longer have a place at nintendo. Why would I play a board game based on teamwork??? Don't get me wrong I love co-op games, I just don't think this is a franchise that can utilize co-op mode, and even if they could there should be an option on whether or not you want to use it, don't force everyone to use this very, very childish compontent of a game. If i had to make a prediction, this game will cause the end of Mario Party as we know... Such a title that started off so strong on the N64 should finish strong, unfortunately this was a huge flop!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Extraveganza Yet!

posted by YoshiFanUltra (MARYSVILLE, WA) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

There was no game for me to look forward to more than Mario Party 9. I was really nervous about it, but this game was a blast. Compared to the other Mario Party games I've played (Mario Party 6, 7, 8, and DS), this took the series to a whole new level.

The story has the Bowsers (Senior and Junior) taking stars from the night sky, so Mario and gang go to try and retrieve them. While playing on the boards for solo mode, you will have to face a specific minion of Bowser's at the midway and endpoints. The bosses are an extremely fun type of minigame that gives out a bunch of stars.

As if boss battles wasn't enough, each board has players moving in the same exact vehicle. This can be a big advantage for some people, but it can also lead to complete and utter mayhem.

Most of the boards are fun and the gimmicks are pretty cool, but often, things can get very complicated.

The best part about this game is probably the fact that you can play it with two, three, or four players. Now, there doesn't have to be a CPU ruining the fun that you and your friend(s) are having.

As usual, the CPU can be really cheap when it comes to getting stars. Good news: you can adjust the difficulty before each round (outside of solo mode). Bad news: they will be gaining stars like there's no tomorrow (and that's just the normal difficulty).

Almost every minigame in this is amazing. The only bad minigames are the ones that involve pure luck (and unfortunately, there's quite a few). The minigames have easy to learn controls, and quite a few of them have good music. It's literally minigame heaven.

The problems with this game (yes, there's quite a few): difficult (cheap) CPU players, boards that have star taking gimmicks (some are really hard to recover from), and music that isn't too bad but could have been better.

Overall, this is probably one of the best games I have ever rented. As usual, the CPU players are cheap and the music is not the best. Despite these, this is a must

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Total Let-Down

posted by sZetti (SAINT CLOUD, MN) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yeah it's Mario Party, but there are a lot of changes. No more board game like gameplay, instead now there is a very linear path that you must follow and take turns on who is currently driving your mine-cart like vehicle. The other major disappointment with this game had to be the total lack of playing mini-games. The mini-games are the only reason why Mario Party had ever been entertaining. I would not recommend this game, any of the previous titles are better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hater of Mario Party Perspective

posted by ninatoyz (MIAMISBURG, OH) Mar 21, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The vehicle thing seemed nice, but I was only lucky as Birdo. The mini games were awesome, but not good enough. I only got to the 2nd sets of bosses before it made me want to break it. You should of had health during bosses, it would of been cooler. King Bomb Omb was cheap, because its hard to win. I did not like how one character was with Bowser and you could not let them win. I KNEW this would be a bad choice! I should have gotten Ultamate Marvel vs. Capcom....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Upsetting..

posted by jesicole91 (GLEN DANIEL, WV) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very excited for this game only to be let down. There is hardly nothing to it now. They took everything that I loved about the Mario Party series out. =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not really digging it

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the old formula better. The new rules and schemes of "Mario Party 9" don't do a whole lot for me. Of course, I can certainly understand why Nintendo felt pressured to change things up. After all, when even I - a huge Mario enthusiast, and all-round Nintendo fanboy - stop purchasing new entries in the Mario Party series, it must be time for some fresh ideas.

But...not these ideas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Review138 (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Terrible. You can be the winner the whole round and lose at the last 5 steps and not because of "luck".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh

posted by mstebbs (ELBRIDGE, NY) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i was excited to play it but i don't even want to finish. number 8 was so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Whelp there goes my childhood

posted by OtakuCO (WRAY, CO) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Honestly I was excited for this game. My whole family was. We loved the Mario Party Series and 8 was pretty genius. Then we put this game in. The car takes away the original board Game feel, they make everything so liniar that its just a matter of rolling and everyone has to wait and pray for mini games. The mini games make the series and you don't get to play one every round. Its garbage complete garbage.
They took out coins... this made me angry I mean no boo to steal coins or stars? Ughhh that was one of the best things! They also took out Boo and Bones! From the previous game these two landed in my favorites corner and I was annoyed to see they weren't there either. Also they took out Toadette. She should be a nice little staple for girls because they don't have to many Girls in this game anyway. Everything from my childhood has been raped by this game. It was a violation and the developers should be ashamed of themselves. Save yourself some time, money, and your childhood's feelings. Go out and Get Mario Party 8 and it will make you feel better about yourself and your Wallet will thank you too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mario Party 9

posted by JSawyer625 (WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Definitely not as good as Mario Party 8. Most of it is random and all of the boards are the same with different graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great on a solo run but with friends...

posted by cyberhero (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Mario Party 9

I have to have the new features were pretty impressive on the first run , I'm a long term fan of mario party games I'll try not to spoil the plot too much, the story starts out with having to get Mini Stars from bowser and the only way to do so is play 6 different boards. the new feature that allows everyone to be apart of the game by having them all ride in the same car and everyone taking turns by rolling the dice instead of other players falling asleep when its not there turn keeps it entertaining all the way through, also the mini games have that same fun thrill feeling as they did in the classic nintendo era. I would have given the game a 10 but sadly before it reached the finished line of the epic game race it tripped on a rock and rolled into a side ditch, the stages are still too short you can complete story mode in a day and 1/2 , the dice blocks go from 1-6 instead of the standard 1-10 , 1-10 blocks are now known as "special" blocks I guess to lengthen the game play time spent on each stage but I think what bothered me most was the mini games 80% of them are dependent on luck and I mean"Luck" not really any type of skill and same goes the stages as well I say this game is good if your playing by yourself because its easier to deal with getting mad at the game rather then your friends having a punch up because someone got a 6 and someone got 1 for the 5th time in a row stealing all there stars . your probably thinking " wait theres the mushrooms that lets add 3 blocks or 2 blocks together right? " wrong those are all gone all you have that are special are " 4-5-6" ,"1-10", "1-2-3" , and "1-0" not so much special and more like ftw is this. Alright I still have to admit Mario Party 9 is still fun ti play all the way around the mini games are creative, the new gimmicks add some fun little twists still the fact the remains all the games are solely based on luck and I wouldn't recommend it to people with gambling problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bought it

posted by cwaguon (EVERETT, WA) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Got Mario Party 9 and after playing it for 1 day i decided to purchase it. I forgot how much fun this game is to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

really want to buy

posted by ppostar (WESTMINSTER, CO) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i have to say i was kinda not looking forward to the whole one vichele thing but i have to say its a lot of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

omg

posted by cameron231 (PROCTORVILLE, OH) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

cool game im 1st 2 review it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game sucks

posted by peechyz (THE DALLES, OR) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

well i was really excited about mario party 9 because i loved all the other mario partys but this way was soooo changed around at messed up ... i got the game in the maril this morning and played it for like an hour and sent it straight back to game fly ..... if you just getting this gamr thinking its going to be as awesome as mario party 8 for wii its not sorry lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse