Buy Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games for Wii
view large frontback

Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:3DS
GF Rating
7.4

1251 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mario and sonic

posted by paulony_gf (MANASSAS, VA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It is really fun but what disapionts me is that all the event are unlocked at the start and it is basicly just olympic games and winter olympic games combined

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mario and Sonic heighten the Spirit of Competition

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The plumber and hedgehog have taken over another Olympic games, and that’s not a bad thing. There are 21 standard Olympic events and 10 dream events that one to four players compete in for the gold.
The events include 110-meter hurdles, synchronized swimming, badminton, soccer, volleyball, fencing, and gymnastics.
This game is best played with three other people – just pick an event and go for it. The controls are simple to understand; this game will really appeal to the younger players or to the casual audience. And if you liked the past few installments of this franchise, then you’re going to like this one.
But there are some shortcomings to this game. It is one that should not be played single player, as the AI is no substitute for other humans. And the joy of getting gold gets tiring after a few goes. There are achievements to be unlocked, but you can do that with other players and have more fun.
Another problem is the material unlocked while you play the game. You get music from the Sonic and Mario games and a whole bunch of outfits for the Miis to try on. But there’s nothing here that really got my attention.
Mario and Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games is a great party game – which means it’s not a good choice for single players. It’s worth a rent, and a possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

really fun

posted by Sonicfan78907 (FERRIS, TX) Nov 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

thinking of getting it for christmas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Mustbethemoney (PALMYRA, VA) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed Mario and Sonic's first two Olympic games titles (which I did), then you will hate this one. This game plays like a bad party game. You wander around London doing party mini games that have nothing to do with the Olympics. You also can only play single Olympic games, nothing like the first two titles where you actually got to go through a whole series of games and upgrades. Simply a terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Love it!

posted by Horserider79 (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

I've played games like Mario party but I am totally in love with this game. Besides the fact that you get to ride horses and swim. I love that you can play as any character from Mario or Sonic. This is truly a great game I'm glad that I played and bought it from Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont run for the gold

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) May 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was excited to play this game when I saw how nice the opening cut scene looked. The gameplay controls are easy to use swing the wii remote up to start running, swimming and cycling. You use the b button to jump and A button to shoot in the shooting events. There is not a whole lot of variety in this game, you either compete in single events or the mario party type london party events which are mainly collecting stickers or answering olympic question quizzes. The Graphics are really good on this game with all the sonic and Mario characters and Olympic arenas looking like the real life counterparts. I wish they would have spent as much time on the gameplay and fun factor as they did on the graphics and the characters. Better luck next time sega.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by GameGuy455 (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this is a awesome game!!!!!!!! at first when i saw this game selling like free hot dogs at the mall i thought it must be a pretty awesome game however i did not think i would rate it a 10 but it turned out to be the most awesome game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i think i like the fencing game the most. this is a MUST RENT EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT A FAN!!!! rent this game. that is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super mario 2012 london olympics

posted by kaelen22 (AURORA, CO) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

The game is I think a really good game. I like the swimming the most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

london 2012

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Sep 30, 2012

Member since May 2011

liked this game i had fun just by myself and theres alot of games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad Copy

posted by Nikki2012 (OREGON CITY, OR) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I tried playing this game in my wii system and my wii said that the disc could not be read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game, But Not Perfect In Any Way

posted by mjstillman (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This is the 3rd game in which Mario and Sonic have been invited to participate at the Olympic Games. This time, they're heading over to London, England.
The game's main focus are the Olympic Events. Most of the events are minigames that require a basic control scheme of Wii-Mote shaking, but some games are a bit more complex. Some events are brought back from the first game, such as running, swimming, fencing, and table tennis. There are new games as well, such as horseback riding, ribbon dancing, and soccer.
There are also Dream Events, which are variations of different Olympic Events. However, the Dream Events this time are VERY different from their Olympic counterparts. EX: In Discus Throw, you chuck a disk as far as you can to come in first. In Dream Discus, you ride on a flying disk and collect as many rings as you can before time runs out.
There is also London Party, which basically amounts to a hub world with minigames to play and sticker collecting. I never found any real intent to play this mode, except to get more scratch cards.
Lastly, there's a bonus mode. In the bonus mode, you can scratch off scratcher tickets that you won from events. You can earn either costume pieces for your Miis, or music tracks.

FLAWS:
-Some of the Olympic Events are too short, like the 100m sprint
-London Party mode didn't interest me very much
-I never really took huge interest in customizing my Miis
-Lack of interaction between the characters
-I HATE the other teams in Dream Spacewalk
-The events are the highlight of the game, and while some of them are fun to replay, some of them aren't

OVERALL: I liked this game. It was fun for the week I played it, but I don't have much of a real incentive to play it again. It's fun, but there are better games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cute and fun

posted by moviegeek5 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

While not a "keeper", this game kept me quite entertained for a few hours. My only real gripe with it is it seems like the programmers got lazy at some point and didn't want to bother with figuring out how to _really_ use the Wii remote. Several of the games are of the use-the-controller-like-the-controller-for-all-the-other-game-systems variety. Kind of a waste, in regards to that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game

posted by jen_52 (STANWOOD, WA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I really enjoyed this game, i imagine it would be a lot more fun if played multiplayer than alone (i played alone).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Fun Fun

posted by AlisaMcKinney (DOVER, DE) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is so much fun to play as a group. I really didn't enjoy playing alone, the individual play seemed a tad more complicated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario and Sonic Ever

posted by afroman2016 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jul 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is by far the best Mario and Sonic game ever. This was the very first Gamelfy game I requested and didn't return it until 3 months later. The character selection was huge, and the game-play and graphics are amazing. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Sports Game

posted by Kyms (LANSDALE, PA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This is a fun, challenging sports game.

Pros:
Good character graphics with all of the Sonic and Mario characters ready to enter the Olympic Games

Some easy to win events with others much more challenging.

Much improved over prior Olympic Summer games.

Can play single or up to 4 players so is good for everyone. Non-violent which is good for families.

Cons:
Could have brought some of the events from the prior Summer games into this game (ie: Skeet shooting)

I would highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mario and sonic

posted by jacob52 (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

hi im a really big fan of the mario and sonic olimpic games and this one is my favorite out of all of them, the only thing is that the normal 100 meter running you only use the remote and no nunchuk! i mean hey im alot better with nunchuk , but other than that its a really really great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disappointing

posted by ghghghrock (OLATHE, KS) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Let me first say I really expected a lot more of this game.The events themselves are pretty fun. Over 30 events and most of them are fun. It is a lot better if you play it with a friend.There's nothing more fun then seeing if you can beat your friend in Dream fencing and you can try to complete challenges but 2008 and 2010 already had challenges.
But aside from that the game is boring. London Party mode is just not worth playing. You run around London and collect stickers. You only get to play 2 Olympic events. Single event and London party are the only 2 real modes.This game is a big let down.
2010 was the best in the series there was a festival mode where you could chose 1 or 4 characters and play the Olympics with them. It wasn't perfect but it was a lot better than London Party. Even 2008 was about as good. This would be an okay game to rent and keep for a week or 2 but if your looking to buy a game buy 2010.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by BigTex86 (TYLER, TX) Jun 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

I rented this while my Xbox was out of commission, and bc I grew up loving these characters. Not to mention I'm a fan of the Games. Most of the mini-games and events are easy to pick up, some take practice. It's a pretty fun game, and would recommend it if you need a break from other games or love competing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Track and Field replacement? No.

posted by Jukafah (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Honestly, the biggest disappointment is that I think this game would be so awesome if it was just like the old school Track and Field. The mini games are decent, but the presentation really killed it for me on this one. It felt too set up like Mario Party.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sadly disapointed

posted by Punsisher (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I was really hoping this game would have been better than the rest of the M&S at the Olympic games. Sadly this game was the worst from the franchise. There was not a single event to unlock. Please don't waste your time and rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun but gets old.

posted by jqmonroe (MESA, AZ) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I thought this game was fun but there no real "story mode". In the first game there was the events groups, second game had a contest mode this game has no real challenge and every time you play the party mode its the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Takes Home the Silver Medal for Excellence

posted by YoshiFanUltra (MARYSVILLE, WA) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I have played (and not AT ALL enjoyed) the original game, but the second one was a HUGE step in the positive direction. This game was a bit of the original added with all the great parts of the second.

This was a lot like Mario Party (I mostly played the London Party Mode) and it was pretty darn good. The only real issue is that the CPU players will accept ANYTHING, even something you DON'T want to do.

That reminds me that some of the events are hard! Some require you to tilt the Wii Remote in a certain direction while others have you shake it repeatedly. HARD AND PAINFUL! Most of the events (especially Dream Events) are easy and fun (as long as you remember to put the CPU difficult on easy).

This game also brings back memories through the old game-play music. The downside is that unlike the Winter Olympic Games, you are stuck with a certain sing for each event. Some are good, but a lot of them suck.

Fun rating: Pretty good
Difficulty rating: A bit hard, but sometimes easy enough
Music rating: Good
Control rating: Painful for my hands/arms

Overall rating: Amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by larryd14 (NEWTON, MS) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

when i first got this game i thought it would be as fun as the first two Olympic games,but i quickly found out it was very confusing and the controls were very stupid for the type of games that were included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More Fun Than Expected!

posted by Araiza (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

I rented this game to entertain the kids at work (ages 8-12) thinking they might like it for the Mario & Sonic characters, at the very least. As it turns out, this is actually a pretty flippin' fun game! From the Hammer Throw to Synchronized Swimming to Dream Hurdles, the kids (& I) had a blast trying to out-compete everyone & setting records. All of the regular Olympic events require some degree of body movement (which is great), while all of the "dream" events require nothing more than an occasional flick of the wrist, making the game quite well-rounded. Your kids will love this game for at least three weeks (that's how long it lasted before they started asking what was next).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse