Buy Mario & Luigi: Dream Team for 3DS
view large frontback

Mario & Luigi: Dream Team

Buy

Used: $24.99

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

373 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun, until the end

posted by Girquaffe (REDDING, CT) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the Mario and Luigi games ever since Superstar Saga, I have to say that this game is great. Visuals are great, gameplay is smooth (for the most part), and the storyline isn't too boring. However, once you get to the last phases of the game (roughly near the part where you are about to gather the parts for the ultibed) the game starts to decline. The rest of the game feels repetitive, tedious, and unnecessarily long. It took me 44 hours to beat the game, which includes time spent collecting collectibles, and at least 20 of those hours were spent from collecting the parts of the ultibed all the way u the final boss. Overall, this game would be a 9 or possibly even a 10 if the end phases of the game weren't so poor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mario & luigi dream team

posted by Ryu__1752 (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is good if u can get pass the dialogue. The story is ok and play is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent, addictive, and just plain fun

posted by Hatedestruction (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge Mario fan, I spend money on Nintendo classic characters like it's going out of style. I've played a large amount of Mario/Nintendo character games, besides Mario Party, never played it.

So one of my old RPG favorites with Mario was Super Mario RPG on the SNES. Excellently done game, in my opinion. If you all have played it, you would know what I am talking about.

Well Mario & Luigi: Dream Team is similar to that. Except in 3d. And with lazer beams & unicorns and stuff. Play this game. Own this game. Buy this game, and enjoy. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too Long!!!!

posted by renata32 (DETROIT, MI) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of Mario and the entire franchise series!! But this game right here...too lengthy, talk too much, challenges are too frustrating and I have been on this game for two months, almost three and still dissatisfied!! I haven't even completed the entire game. I don't care at this point whether I defeat it or not!! Not happy!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not particularly dreamy

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Aug 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

To my disappointment, I'd have to say that "Dream Team" is the weakest of the Mario & Luigi series of RPGs. The graphics, music, and 3D are all excellent, and it's got some interesting ideas overall, but, as I played through the game, I found that I was underwhelmed and irritated more often than I was impressed. The pacing is very slow, and there's A LOT of talking and tutoring. In this particular regard, it's a worse offender than any other Mario RPG. By the time the support characters finally piped down a bit and let me just play the game, I was well into my fourth hour! Not only that, but the story and characters lack the charm, whimsy, and humor of previous M&L games. The new villain, in particular, is extraordinarily boring. I found many of the late-game boss battles to be annoying because of some gimmick or other that was being pushed, particularly the reliance on tilting the 3DS to steer something.

All in all, I can't justify giving "Dream Team" less than a 7, but I can't go any higher than that either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Ju57iC3 (URBANDALE, IA) Aug 24, 2014

Member since Nov 2006

After playing the last Mario and Luigi game, I had high hopes for this game. Thank god those hopes were fufilled.

The game is great, yeah, 10/10. Any old mook can tell you that, let me tell you WHY it's so great.

For one, the graphics are amazing, easily 10x better than Bowser's Inside Story. Mario and Luigi themselves look amazing, the characters look amazing, the bosses look amazing, and the final boss, looks absolutely breathtaking, and powerful.

The game also plays exceptionally well. Battles are fun and keep on you on the edge of your seat. The boss fights are where the game shines, though. Each one is cleverly designed and fun to fight against. Also, after you beat them, you can fight a much tougher version. Another mechanic is the Giant Luigi battles. Which, like the giant bowser battles, let you beat the snot out of giant enemies like some giant green Godzilla. ------SPOILERS------ the last giant boss battle against Bowser was most likely the best, and I had to stop for a minute and gaze at how amazing it looked. No joke, this game has the best art style I've ever seen. ----LEAVING SPOILER TERRITORY------- The bros moves are fun too, and hard to master, especially the Luiginary ones. I never would have come up with anything like that.

To finish it up, the game runs a smooth 50+ fps at all times. Good to know, as the game would be impossible if it was any bit choppy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for adults, a lot of hand holding/tutorials

posted by Eradik8 (SALEM, OR) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This is clearly a game for kids, and as an adult I couldn't finish it. Way too much hand holding and tutorials. The story was just okay, but I couldn't get very deep due to the constant tutorials and text boxes popping up during every single "screen" change. I put 5 hours into it, and probably played about 2 of that. The rest was mashing A to get on with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

<3 Mario/Luigi

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Mario/Luigi are Beast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Level Up the Bros. and Save the Island

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Mario and Luigi may not seem like good RPG heroes, but that doesn't mean they aren't. The gameplay is great, just like previous Mario & Luigi games, the sprites and 3D environments meld together perfectly, and the quirky humorous story telling of the spin-off is awesome as always. Don't miss out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Epic battles

posted by heyicarus (OCOEE, FL) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

It was fun to search up bros moves battle and non battle however other puzzles was kinda hard and had to search up things

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good mario and luigi rpg but has 1 disapointment

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 1, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

I have all of the Mario and luigi rpgs and I have enjoyed all of them. but this one has one major disappointment:

when u begin a battle in bowser's inside story (the 3rd one) the bros say "letsa go okie dokie" and sadly

THEY TOOK THIS OUT AND I HATE THAT

the other thing that kinda bugs me is that when ur in the dream world luigi helps u and u get to use a special attack called a luigiary move where he turns many luigi's into a ball u roll and u gotta tilt the 3ds in the direction like driving and its very annoying to do but I do like the other abilities u get to do in the dream world plus u r helping people in this game so I would say this game is good but not as good as bowser's inside story.

this game is worth a rent if u have played and owned the other Mario and luigi rpgs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »