Buy Lollipop Chainsaw for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lollipop Chainsaw

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.6

3379 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than I expected...

posted by Newtin (MERIDEN, CT) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

20 out of 20 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was expecting this game to just be a poorly put together hack n slash with a hot chick playing the lead role but it turned out much better.

The story and the dialogue were hilarious, there were countless moments that made me laugh saying "I can't beleive they just said /did that" There are a few "serious" moments in the story that just make you want to puke but I think they made them overly serious on purpose.

Has plenty of QTEs and little puzzels to keep things interesting and after you unlock a handful of different skills and abilities you have enough variety to massacre things in whatever way you please. There were also a handful of extra events that broke away from the standard gameplay which added to the experience. The only downside is the combat is slow to start due to how few combos and skills you start with but give it time.

I loved the soundtrack, perfect for the theme of the game...a mixture of rock, metal, and cheerleaderesque songs. Whether you like it or not you will probably randomly find yourself singing "Mickey" by the time you are done playing this game :P

I wasn't expecting to play the game for a long time but if you want to call this a downside it WAS a short game. I beat the game in just 2 days (probably about 5-8 hours of play time...I wasnt running a stopwatch or anything :P). After you beat the story there isnt much to do unless you have a drive to unlock all the extras or are a high score hunter. Kept me very entertained for those 2 days though.

Overall if you are a fan of hack n slashs this shouldnt dissapoint you...perfect for a quick gamefly rental :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Exactly What You'd Expect, and That's A Good Thing

posted by jcorduroy (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lollipop Chainsaw sets out to be a particular game - and it does just that, extremely well. The game has a fantastic sense of humor, great art direction, and fun music. The title revels in its exploitation - and if you couldn't tell that from the cover or title of the game, YOU'RE MISSING THE POINT.

Where it lacks, as is the case with all Suda games, is it's terribly repetitive gameplay. While the mechanics are incredibly solid and polished, it sadly relies on that polish rather than giving something unique or new.

All in all, the title is fun. It's short, sure, but the replay to achieve all of the unlockables more than makes up for the shortcomings of the titles length. Definitely worth a rent, and don't believe the haters who tell you it's not worth your time. Is it the game of the year? Certainly not. Is it fun? Absolutely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LC

posted by joeyace (Chicago, IL) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WAS A GOOD GAME DEFINITELY A RENTAL BEAT THE GAME TWICE THE FIRST TIME WAS FUN BUT THE SECOND TIME WAS BETTER. THEY LET U KEEP ALL YOUR POWER UPS AND KILL PEOPLE , ZOMBIES QUICKER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crazy fun

posted by mistajones (AURORA, CO) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm just going to lay this down to start, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. It's not rich in story or character development but it's a fun ride to the end. Graphics are decent and soundtrack is pretty diverse. They got punk, metal, pop, funk/disco. I was actually pretty impressed that this game wasn't littered with sexual innuendos all over. Onto the best part of the game

Combat

A variety of combos and surprisingly there are different tactics can be used for different mobs. You can button mash and make it through the game, but it feels more rewarding to look into the combos and try and use all of them.

I'm not a expert reviewer but i would say this game is DEFINITELY worth the rent. The replayability comes from wanting to unlock all her costumes and such. There is a ranking mode which you can time trial and shoot for the best scores and such, but I tend to get bored of those modes fairly quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cool game

posted by xDCxCLYDE (PERRIS, CA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

cool game but never finished it some of the mini games in the actual game i thought were point less and i lost intreast but the zombie killing part of the game i thought was cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Unique Zombie Game!

posted by apesintheak (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've opted out on playing big name, well known zombie games for years because the aspect of running around killing zombies didn't appeal to someone like me, who is more into character building RPGs and first person shooters.

However, when I saw the previews for this game I just knew I HAD to check it out. The humor behind it reminded me somewhat of one of my all time favorite game series, Duke Nukem.

It's hard to say whether this game was truly aimed at a male or female audience. On one hand, you play as an incredibly sexy cheerleader with an interesting anatomy and there's also plenty of awesome, crude, sexual, and sometimes raunchy humor. On the other hand, hearing the main heroine, Juliet, spout out upbeat, girlish dialogue makes it seem more aimed towards a female audience.

The story line is hilarious and at times campy & over-the-top, the game play is easy to figure out and fun to use to defeat zombies, and the uniqueness of each stage is enough to draw one in to play for hours. Each boss has their own personality, thus each stage does as well.

I love the system of collecting medals and buying things such as character upgrade stats and combos to use during combat.

Over all the novelty of the game is what got me. I loved the rock and metal played in the background as I slashed at zombies and watched rainbows stream out. My only complaint is that the game is simply too short. However, gaming perfectionists may want to re-try stages to get a higher score which is a nice incentive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good but really short adventure

posted by hammy699 (LILBURN, GA) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

good:
-the story is great with some great suda 51
- all of the characters are great
- all the extra combos and costume are great make you come for more
- a great ending (not spoiling anything) it raps up the story very nicely.
- the graphics are nice and colorful

bad:
-only 6 hours long
really no replayability(except for costume and upgrades)
-it sometimes feel like a bad button masher.

game worth: 30- 35 bucks

final thoughts: this game has a few hiccups but is a good buy and a perfect rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh worthy

posted by bigheadrossman (DENTON, TX) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is a lot to enjoy about this game if you like B horror films/ crazy Japanese movies. But as for content, other than being able to play the game in a variety of different ways with new items and new powers, it's really simple and lacking. It's not worth a full price, but definately worth a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Buffy the zombie slayer

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jul 23, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sudo is known for creating artistic and strange games. This is no exception, and is a look inside their creative brains. If you've played Shadows of the Damned, you know what type of game you're getting into.

Lolipop is a perfect rental, because it's really a short 1 player campaign. Don't expect revolutionary gameplay, graphics, story, deep replay value, etc. Expect extreme over the top humor, sarcasm, and a cheesy story like a comedy spoof movie such as Shawn of the Dead.

Your hot cheerleader character shows up at her zombie infested high school and puts that chainsaw to work. Her short skirt doesn't stop her from slicing zombie limbs with combinations of the chainsaw and pom pom attacks. You can jump and use 2 attack commands to unleash various combos. The gameplay can be described as button mashing; it doesn't require much of any strategy like a God of War or Darksiders.

You can unlock new moves and skills as you'd expect. But the campaign will take you maybe 6-8 hours to beat, and then you're done. I'd check it out if you're into these types of games and are looking for something different. Take the game with a grain of salt though, it's meant to be comical. I mean she carries her boyfriend's talking head around her waist after she sawed it off bc he got bit by a zombie. That sums it up right there.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Is Good!

posted by royaladam (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Is good & is a cool game but in my opinion, I don't think is worth $60. Because is short & repeative. I wish it was more longer & I do like the humor LOL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the funny us games

posted by TonyClements (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved lollipop chainsaw even if I did beat it whit the first 2 days I had it's a great game if you are like my self when you play this game you will love this game for it's sexual humor in this game is as a anime and I love the faceted that you can change the main Cartier outfit and that the outfit she will be wearing and no mater what type of close you poet on her it's always sexy if I had the money I would have bot the game and the boss fight will not let you down either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short but sweet

posted by deadpool37 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic, bursting with originality, and surprisingly(to those who aren't suda 51 fans) deep. The game is an amazing commentary on objectification, and a great example of things not being as clear as they first seem. (for example, in a game about a barely legal scantily clad busty cheerleader, the protagonists boyfriend is actually the one who is being objectified, somewhat literally. ) I reccomend this game to everyone, it certainly has its flaws (like all suda 51 games) but they can easily be forgiven in a game this unique, fun, clever and charming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Impressive!

posted by Mathelli (MESA, AZ) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I couldn't wait for Gamefly to mail me my game, so instead I just bought it. Honestly at first I thought it would be too much crazy button mashing the same thing over and over for hours, but after playing it for a few weeks I learned a ton of skills and realized it's a lot easier to do combo/special attacks. I love the way the zombies talk dirty to me (LOL, funny as heck!), I love the character development, I love the gameplay, I love the replay value, and I love the story (very fun story)! And I think Jessica Nigri rocks! Just awesome! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Chicks, Chainsaws and Zombies Oh My

posted by Xanarax (REDDING, CA) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a fan of any zombie game I had to give this a try. That said, I've been through a bad zombie game or two, Onechanbara: Bikini Samurai Squad comes to mind. This game however managed to take a little bit from the good and the bad and come up with something playable and fun. Lots of item and lots of moves keep the fighting system from becoming too bland, not to say that some of the game mechanics can't become frustrating, Zombie Baseball is a perfect example. All in all, if you're a fan of zombies and hot chicks in cheerleader outfits, give this game a try. Otherwise, it's nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

working

posted by getdraino (ELBA, AL) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

<u>Controls:</u>
Easy to get the hang of, though they do a good job of throwing in more and more things you can do as the game goes on. Between melee, ranged, and wacky, it has a pretty good flow when stringing things together, in a non-combo sort of way. Lots of button mashing, but they manage to work in a lot of inventive and goofy ways to mix things up.
No real camera problems to speak of.

<u>Story:</u>
Insane, over the top, often funny, crass, and very enjoyable.

<u>Unlockables/achievements:</u>
Lots of things to upgrade, including attributes, attack moves, and outfits. Achievements are not too hard to get, but give you some reasons to play through the levels again. A few you have to have the game on hard or above to complete.
Most of the outfits are unlocked upon beating the game in full.

<u>Game set up:</u>
Each level is easy to navigate to through the main hub and allows for easy access to story or challenge mode, once beaten.
Music can be changed to the tracks you want to hear, once unlocked.

<u>Issues:</u>
A little buggy so close after release. Have had the game glitch a few times and had to reset the level. Once, on a boss battle, I was put into a slow motion, invincible state that didn't allow me to move and put me into the actual model.
Another time a zombie attached itself to me and I had no way of detatching it as it wittled away my life until I restarted.

<u>Overall:</u>
Good game. Bayonetta-lite, if you will. Some of the jokes are very funny and the game play is a good way to waste a week or so casually playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lollipop+Chainsaw= One fun ride

posted by LastbornNull (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Jun 13, 2012

Member since May 2012

22 out of 28 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

In Lollipop Chainsaw you play as Juliet Starling, a high school cheerleader/ zombie hunter who has to stop the her fellow classmate Swan who has ripped a whole into The Rotten World, and is the cause for the zombie outbreak. Sound like premise for a B-movie? That’s the point. Lets dive in.
.
Juliet has three attacks . Her pom poms, for light attacks, and her chainsaw for heavy and low attacks. The combat is not as deep as lets say Devil May Cry, but if you want to rack up some impressive and stylish kills…button mashing isn’t going to work. Killing zombies gets you zombie medals which you use to buy new combos, character upgrades and the like. More stylized kills (dubbed Sparkle Hunting) gets you platinum coins that you can use to buy new outfits and new songs you can use to create your own background music. After a while though the gameplay will get repetitive. Kill zombies till you reach the end of the level, kill boss, rinse and repeat.

The soundtrack for this game is all over the place. From 80’s pop to more modern heavy metal, this eclectic, hodgepodge of music actually works quite well. I found myself singing along to some of the songs more then once

The game is short, very short. I managed to beat it in about 5 hours, but there are incentives to return. Collectables and such are hidden throughout every level. There’s also the matter of beating Juliet’s fathers score on every map, and ranked leaderboards.

Faults in all I enjoyed the heck out of Lollipop Chainsaw. Vivisecting zombies with a chainsaw then having a rainbow sprout forth hasn’t felt this fun in….ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lollipop Chainsaw was a fun game but short

posted by sandman441 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 14, 2012

Member since May 2007

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Just finished lollipop chainsaw and while it is a short game (8-10 hours) it was really fun.

The camera I had to kinda fight a bit it just felt weird trying to look left or right it always wanted to keep it centered. The most frustrating level in the game is zombie baseball and the tip to beating that is to turn off auto aim.

The music is very good it has 3 or 4 popular songs (well in the 60's, 70's) but they fit well into the game, and you can make your own soundtrack with the track soo buy buying them or after you beat a level they will be added.

Otherwise the game is pretty fun, you go around killing zombies with a chainsaw and that's it. The game is repetitive but not boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great premise, Rough Execution

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

You all know what the game is about by now - a cheerleader who comes from a family of zombie killers, saves her boyfriend in the prologue by chainsawing his neck and attaching his still living head to her belt, and then continues on to take out every zombie she encounters with her sparkly pom-poms and rainbow chainsaw.

This game features the common overly sexualized female model, but also the more uncommon empowered female who is capable of handling her own problems without the hero stepping in and saving the day. Not that the female protagonist is new (Lara Croft, Samus, and so on), but a lot of people have been complaining about the many variations of female insults aimed at our sexy cheerleader this go-around and I am sort of at a loss as to why. Some of the insults are definitely female based, but doesn't that make sense since the main is a female? Whether we like it or not, we genderize our insults so she is more a s.x worker then a child born out of wedlock (gamefly won't let me type s.x, wh.re or b.ard for examples) as the first is more associated with women and the latter more with men. Games that use the F word constantly are just as guilty, yet we seem to be more ok with that because the word is gender neutral.

That said, the combat is ok at best. The Unreal engine just does not lend itself to melee combat as well as it should (imo) and poor targeting (you can target manually, but the method is a bit rough to pull off as you want) and long animations you can't break out of impede what should be fun zombie bashing. Early on the combo system is sparse and the need for multiple playthrus is apparent when you finish the game and finally get the best combos to play with.

Overall, its funny, gross, original style carries it, but the repeating, slightly frustrating combat holds it back from greatness. Also, at just under 5 hours with minigames, it's a tad short, especially if multiple playthrus just ain't your thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lollipop Chainsaw 1 H E L L of a ride!

posted by ShockwaveG1 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you've played Shadows of the damned and loved it you will definetly like this game. The voice acting is superb and gameplay is very fun! This game offers a lot from upgrades to power ups and mini games. I enjoye this game very much, I had it in my Q and it was low so I could not wait any longer and went an bought it and was well worth the purchase! The things they say in this game are hilarious cursing bad words jokes catch phrases etc... Highly recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resident Evil, it is not

posted by Dehula (NEWTON, IA) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is worth a rent or a game fly check out. After about 5-6 hours of game play, I beat it. This is too bad because I was looking forward to a kool new experience. It is different, but not at all what I expected. There are only a few levels, but those levels take way to long to complete. Graphics are good, but the controls leave alot to be desired. After playing the first level I was glad I never bought it and almost took it back to the rental store. But I gave it another chance, and it wasn't too bad. I would have been hotter than a thousand suns, if I had bought this game(Alan Wake comes to mind).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dreadful

posted by spaces (HENRICO, VA) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

seriously was the most boring game i've played in a long time... the graphics were also dull. She was annoying and the zombies looked like something out a 1997 ps1 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Was fun for about 2 minutes.

posted by ilovebiohazard (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I heard this game was coming out about 6 months ago, and thought it was a complete copy of "Onechanbara: baking samurai" - but played it and found it was a little different. More Americanized - it did make me laugh during the video dialog because of all the sexual innuendoes or comments - but I would much rather watch a movie than have to control a very ridged sprite. It was cute but definitely a rent not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC TECHNO ZOMBIE RAINBOW FUN

posted by fearless4_7 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Such a great game! Rainbow zombie death! Great soundtrack and really difficult to nail combos accurately. Great visuals and fun pokes and pop culture. Camera is a lil wonky but the overall originality makes up for any minor flaws. Love the aspect they took on the zombies in this game. Reminds me of a Buffy, no more heros cross over. I highly recommend this game!! needs a little more multi player option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good story, Bad gameplay

posted by EmperorZim (RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Personally, I was surprised by how good the story was (humor, action, romance), but I had a very difficult time with the gameplay itself. If you prefer all out button-mashing, this isn't the game for you. And even if you do favor complex combos, there's a good chance that the zombies will interrupt you anyway. Overall, the gameplay feels very blocky, and I regret playing it in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing more than a quirky button masher...

posted by lovemeludo (WEBSTER, NY) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I knew this game was going to be cheesy and over-the-top with the sexual innuendo. However, I thought the gameplay would be a bit more involved. Pretty much all you do is smash the heck (seriously GF? You are going to make me censor that word?) out of the x and y buttons. The first boss is a bit more interesting to kill but not by much. I quickly became annoyed by Nick's repetitive comments and could never figure out how to answer Juliet's phone. It just didn't hold my attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse