Buy L.A. Noire for PS3
view large frontback

L.A. Noire

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

13570 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Realistic graphics, good mix make this worth a try

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

60 out of 61 gamers (98%) found this review helpful

"L.A. Noire" is a bit of a different game from Rockstar. This time your fully on the side of the law, such as it was in 1947 Los Angeles. You step into the shoes of Cole Phelps, war hero, and work your way from beat cop across various desks (Traffic, Homicide, Vice, Arson) as you rise in rank in the LAPD. There's plenty of action, with hand to hand brawling, gunfights, and car chases. In between these action bits you spend time canvassing crime scenes, searching for clues, gathering evidence, and interrogating suspects. The last is especially well done, as Team Bondi used new facial capture technology to bring the cast of characters to life. You need to read faces, then choose between 3 options (Truth, Doubt, or Lie) to make a determination of guilt or innocence. The game makes allowances, as you can guess wrong and still get the right man. Only if you absolutely fail in a mission (Phelps or his partner dies, or you lose a suspect you're pursuing) are you forced to try again. There are 21 main cases to do. While doing these main cases, there are 40 street crimes that you can tackle either during your main game play or later in a free roam mode. In addition, there are plenty of collectibles and sights to see- 13 newspapres, 50 film reels, 95 vehicles, and 30 famous locales are spread throughout the large map. Controls work fine for the most part, though some may require a bit of time to get used to them. The voice acting is top notch, as is the soundtrack. There's an occassional graphical glitch here and there, and sometimes movement is a bit clumsy, but these are minor quibbles. The game's not perfect, but this is a game everyone should at least try. The length will vary from player to player- some may finish in under 15 hours, others may spend longer. There's a neat option to play the game in black and white as well. It may not be for everyone, but give it a try if you're in the mood for something different. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Breath of Fresh Air

posted by icosotc (OLYMPIA, WA) May 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

72 out of 82 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Wow. Forget everything you think you know about Rockstar Games or even the entire "Open World" genre for that matter. Slow and cerebral is the name of this game. I just got done jamming through the game after picking it up at a midnight release. This truely is a game changer of this console generation and a welcome one at that! Finally a slow, well-writen, mature title for mature gamers. I've always thought that playing the "good guy" couldn't be done in a game but Rockstar and Team Bondi have proved me wrong. I was completely engrossed from begining to end. Just don't expect this to be your "GTA" or "Red Dead" fix for 2011 or you will be sorely dissapointed. There are no zombies to kill. There is no sky-diving. You don't run over pedestrians. You just solve crimes in a rich, colorful re-creation of late 1940s Los Angeles and you feel like a badass, hero cop while doing it. Highly recomended for anyone who would like an injection of new ideas and flavor into their gaming diet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Refreshingly Original

posted by Malikai (MURRIETA, CA) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"I'm no war hero; I can assure you of that." ~ Cole Phelps

LA Noire takes place in 1947 Los Angeles. You play to role of LAPD's golden boy, Detective Cole Phelps. Haunted by his past in the US Marines, Detective Phelps utilizes his skills to fight crime.

Allow me to start off by saying how fantastic this game is. I was trying to compare this to any other games that I've played in the past, and I've yet to find another game who executes this style of game play this well.

-Concept
A game heavily based on the work of a detective. Interview witnesses and determine whether they are telling the truth or not with the incredible facial-animation technology.

-Graphics
There's no doubting that LA Noire looks amazing. The facial-animation technology is slightly buggy, however, nothing too noticiable. I can't wait to see how it looks with future titles.

-Sound
Probably the most impressive element of the game. The music, and lack thereof, is strategically placed to give it a vintage feel. The voice acting great.

-Playability
The control scheme is perfect except when you are in the gunfight. I found that some button actions were oddly placed, making it confusing and difficult, in the heat of gunfire, to simply hide behind cover.

-Entertainment
This game will keep you entertained for several hours. If you're looking for the famous sandbox feel that Rockstar is famous for, and you want to be on the side of the law, then LA Noire will definitely fill that void.

LA Noire is definitely one of those titles that you do not want to miss out on. Have fun, and catch those bad guys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stunningly adult...its about time

posted by mickb38 (HIGGANUM, CT) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ever wanted to solve a crime? This game has few cheap thrills most of the games emphasis is aimed at observation, puzzle solving and guess what... what for it...a story line! Rockstar shouldbe applauded for some of the desicions it made concerning this game. The end left me with the same strange feeling you get when you wath a good twist movie. The pace is deliberately slow with chases and gun fights splashed in to break up the speed. Adult content littered throughout so moms and dads keep your kids away from this one and check it out for yourself. My surprise favorite of the year so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I just wish the game lasted longer...

posted by Thecrowghs (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game loved the graphics, you can even google the characters and see how the characters really look a lot alike! Just that it seemed to short for me passed it really quick. Sure there was a lot of other stuff the could have added like better mobility with the character but it would have suffered in the graphics. Hope they come out with another ~!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game that could have been great

posted by razwit (LOVELAND, CO) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

LA Noir had all the components there to be great. Unfortunately the game often sabotaged itself, primarily in the writing (Which it leans on heavily), and occasionally in the game play.
It wasn't that the writing was bad throughout, but rather, it would set up villains and seemingly scrap them for the sake of moving on to a different type of case, as opposed to allowing the story involving the villain to run its course. This not only marginalized sections of the story, but also intruded on the game play by making everything all too easy, so that you could solve cases and move on. The story and difficulty would have been served better by not forcing you to certain conclusions.
The game play on all fronts is easy. I would argue too easy for a mature game, and sections of the game feel more like busy work than detective work. Every house I was looking for clues in was this way. at some point in the game, you figure "I don't actually have to search for clues, I just have to walk around pressing the action button." certain locations can take 10 or 15 minutes to "search" and longer if you passed by a random corner or a bush.
But the part of game I really loved was the interviews/interrogations. Though it was generally too obvious when a character was lying, and it was a little absurd how few times people told the truth. It felt very engaging and often intense. I would say, if you really love mysteries, you're actually really going to like this game. If you're more into action titles, you're going to find this slow moving and not challenging at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

l.a. noire

posted by demonman101 (HILLIARD, FL) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

L.A. Noire was in fact not a bad game. It had a mixture of everyone wants in a game. You got your puzzle solving, you got your crazy driving, and you got your chance to shoot a bunch of people. Which we all know everyone wants to shoot someone. This game is one of the best that i have played in a while and it adds that all important twist at the end. And better yet the end isn't really the end. so i would recommend this game to anyone who wants a challenge because this game does make you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by justinwho (HIBBS, PA) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

good game nice graphics nice story lines and plots worth playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by djc120288 (FLINT, MI) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

when i played this game the visuals hooked me right in. and i was addicted, that is untill i was about 13 cases into the game and i realized that there was not a whole lot of variety. you basically do the same thing over and over again in a slightly different order and with different characters to interigate and different locations. so if you dont mind repeating what you do 23 times or so this is a game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

L.A.NOIRE review.

posted by NoahPratt (ERIE, PA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

L.A. NOIRE is a great game, I could play it over and over again. The only reason why I didn't give it a full out 10 is because you can't do as much as what I thought you could do. Great job though. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a ROCKSTAR game, a TEAM BONDI game.

posted by AngeredKronic (JOPLIN, MO) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't think the people who play Rockstar games understand some differences in the gaming genre they love so much.

1)Rockastar isn't always the Developer. Rockstar published this game. That means all they did was lend money to the developer. Team Bondi who is the developer doesn't make GTA so why would they make a game like GTA. not being able to shoot civilians or run them over in your car ties in with the story and makes sense.

2) Open world isn't Sandbox. This game is an open world game, not a sandbox game. In open world games like this or Mafia II has a world that is used for atmosphere not as your play thing. It is there to get you into the world. The difference between L.A. Noire and Mafia II though is this game gives you street crimes to do that are fun and help the game last.

That being said I really loved this game It looks good and has a nice setting to it. In the game you'll do a lot of chasing that gives it a real film noire feel to it. Don't get this game if you are expecting a Rockstar game because it's not. Go into this game with a fresh mind and you'll thoroughly enjoy every minute of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

L.A. NOIR

posted by AZRIDABOY (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

LA NOIR starts you off as a fellow police officer. As you get farther the game only gets harder. i think the game would have been better if you could do more instead of drive around and do street crimes. maybe be able to be a 1940s mobster. but all in all the game was good but hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME

posted by Troglodyte (SALINAS, CA) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was an awesome game. Rockstar has impressed me with their effort and determination of this game. I highly recommend this game to an adventure type of gamer who likes puzzles and action. This game reminded me of Heavy Rain which was another fantastic video game. The reason why I give this a 9 is because I wish their were some type of customization involved with the characters and vehicles. But virtually its a 9.5 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

L.A. Noire

posted by rfletch2465 (ROGERSVILLE, TN) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great game. If you like being on the other side of things instead of always the bad guy you will love this game. great detais and graphics. love interogating suspects and trying to read people. very well done and highly recomended

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

La Noire

posted by pappawurm (VICTORIA, TX) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked the idea. They got the characters down. The first game i played where the mouths looked real. I just feel it lacked a little bit on the game side of things. Its pretty much picking out liars and trying to chase people. Nothing really difficult. You spend most of your time watching the movie with in the game. I think it was very well done and im excited to see the future games Rock Star brings to the table. This is the beginning of a series of different type of games that will be created. This one may not be a huge success but wait another 4-5 years and this type of game play will be amazing. IMO its worth the rental but not to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Is a good game

posted by TheFame (NUTLEY, NJ) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Is a good game, but the cases sometimes get repetitive , But overall has a good story, love the new interview Part ,The shooting mechnic Is Amazing, Took me 2 full days to bet the games, Good amount of trophies, Get this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Goes out with a bang

posted by YanniDepp (OVIEDO, FL) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game did something alot of video games cannot do for me. This game made me feel like I was connected to the main protagonist Phelps. And it does an amazing job taking you through the ranks of being a detective, and grasping on to fame just to have it all crumble.

+One of the best story lines I have ever witnessed

+Being able to turn black and white off to be seen as a old movie

+Graphics

The only bad thing is your playing this for the story. Since the side missions, 'radio dispatch'. Are the same one over and over again just different faces and locations -.-

good good game. worth a rent, but there is no reason to play it again once your done. so only a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Story, a Great Game

posted by mb102 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will say that, usually, I don't get into Rockstar Games. Well, let me rephrase: I always disliked the GTA series. However, with Red Dead Redemption, I was inclined to give LA Noir a spin. I love the idea of the story: You're a cop in 1940's LA. You've got a chip on your shoulder and we, as the player, don't exactly know why. Corruption is all around you and the twist the game takes is very interesting. I'm glad I finished the game.

LA Noir is a really interesting concept. If you're like me and aren't big into FPS, like a great story, and occasionally want to think when you play a game, then you should definitely give it a try. Is this the most exciting game out there? I think you need to redefine exciting. Yes, it's exciting, from a cerebral standpoint. No, it's not heavy on the shootouts and the chases; it's deeper than that.

Rockstar has always been able to tell an amazing story with great acting and fantastic music. That's the case here. If that's why you like Rockstar and you're open minded, then you'll like this game. If you like Rockstar because you can go around shooting anyone and anything, picking up prostitutes, and just running a muck, then this game isn't for you.

There are small issues. Now that I know the story, I have no incentive to replay the game, despite me missing the culprit once or twice on a case. The driving IS tedious if only because the city is so large. Just let your partner drive around, it saves time. But these minor issues don't stop LA Noir from being something interesting; something different. Give it a try. The worst thing that happens is you return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

attention to detail

posted by black_hawk (ELIZABETH, NJ) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

all I can say is wow!! The attention to the character facial detail is amazing. to be able to pick up on all the micro expression that suspects make is use very wisely in this game. I love the dialog that you have with other characters in the game and it goes very well with the time period. rock star really put there foot into this one. highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

L.A. Norie

posted by honestlarry (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It makes you think about questions you ask while interagating suspects or even witneess. It gets crazy in some chases. It reminds me of god father but your not a mobster your a cop. It was fun to play and at the same time it was long in different spots of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic Game L.A. Noire

posted by Twistedpuppet (BOISE, ID) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Maybe I'm just a sucker for the 1940's and 50's era, regardless this game is one of the best games i've played. Rockstar has switched sides from the GTA, for now, and gone to the other side of the law. Which, I think would be a fantastic duo of GTA games to come out. One with the usual kill anything you want, and another game to come out with it which follows a cop trying to bring the other side in. But I digress.

What makes this game great is the story, the challenge, and above all the graphics. Seemed every cutscene, and there are a lot of them, seemed movie quality. Proof that movie and video games are slowly but surely merging together in either a holy or unholy union. Simply put the graphics blew me away as I was able to see every wrinkle and movement of a persons face.

Only two things comes to mind with this game that irked me a little. First and foremost some of the driving. At first I believed the handling of the vehicles to be superb. However, when driving through certain parts of town, they are not as destructible as some parts in GTA. Namely, chain link fences. Sure you can blast through parts that have the "no parking" sign, but when chasing after a suspect that is taking you all over town, sometimes that edge of the chain link fence will bet in the way and stop you immediately.
The second is a little problem with the challenge of the game: the truth, doubt, and lie portion of the game. Yes it is supposed to be a challenge, and yes it can't always be easy. But i'm assured there were other players out there that were thumbing through their notebooks and wondering: "is this a piece of evidence I can use against them? The question was...? What am I trying to prove?" Mostly the doubt and lie aspect of the game became a little hazy and harder as the game progressed.

All in all however, this is a good game and one with a great story. It will definitely make you want to become a detective when you grow up.

9 out of 10.
Hope you enjoy as much as I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

L.A.Noire

posted by lousopher (EUREKA, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have to admit, my expectations for this game were high. being a title from rockstar studios puts it into an elite line-up of games, including the grand theft auto franchise.
the first half hour of playing gives the player a feel for the game controls by starting off with a few easy missions. This tutorial stage had me hooked into the game for good.
as the game got harder i loved playing it all the more. Without giving away any of the games secrets, i'd just like to say that i give the game a 9 rating and i feel it lived up to the challenge of being a rockstar game. i hope everyone who plays it has as good a time playing it as i did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

L.A Noire- 8 stars

posted by fatmowizz1 (LOCKPORT, IL) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game, worth buying or renting. first game ive seen on the PS3 or Xbox that is based around finding clues and solving mysteries without using senseless gunplay and violence to make the game fun. This game kept me playing and still having fun all the way to the last desk in this game. This Game has many upsides and has a pretty good replay value, critical for buying a game. The reason why this game doesent deserve 4 stars is because the overused cutscenes which at times can take away from the game though the cutscenes are critical to the story and the game. The game also gets repetitive in its cases though changes story often enough to keep your intrest. Game was pretty long, took me 10 hours of gameplay to beat the main cases and no sidemissions and achive half the car and landmark locations. Game has a good mixture of chase scenes, gunplay, and
investigating.

Owner of a PS3, Gamertag is fatmowizz1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

L.A Noire

posted by iceman727 (BEVERLY, MA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

sick game its different try it for yourselves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For the THinking Game Player!

posted by Bereal (SLIDELL, LA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a great game ! if you like shoot them ups this is not the game for you ! this is a game for thinkers who like to solve riddles and enjoy glues!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse