Buy Kung Fu Panda 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Kung Fu Panda 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, DS
GF Rating
5.0

810 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

kung fu panda 2

posted by Quinton (CORNING, CA) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i found this game fun n exciting in the beginning then i started playing and the game line was the same you just fought different characters. then when i tried blocking up it would not work for some reason. and it made me wanna smash my head through a wall. i would give this game a 5. its fun jus to play havin u n ur friend jump in n out but by yourself its horrible and no fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for Kids, not for adults

posted by Edoe132 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

As watch my duaghter play this game I wonder if I could play this by myself. After watching her play for 45 mins, the answer is no. This is a great game for kids under 12. When you make the moves, Po follows very well. The graphics are very good and voice overs are on point. This game picks up after the second movie which makes the story for it very well.

The game is responsive for most parts but I did notice some lag during some of the movements of Po during a fight. An example of this is when Po punches an emeny, he would pauses for moment before pulling back his punch and then stand back up. Another problem I notice is when you call for help. The kinect had a problem reconizing my daughter voice commands when she tried to call for help (I.E. Call Tigress!). This game does alot of loading in between fights and some of the cut scences. Recommend that you install it on your XBOX before playing to cut down on the loading.

This game is great for the kid(s) in your family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fun-Then becomes unplayable-controls totally break

posted by SpiderX (LA VISTA, NE) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Controls become so broken it becomes unplayable.

Game makers keep insisting we rent game due to the garbage they release.

Comes to a part where you must make noodles and throw the bowl of noodles. Problem is you have no control , you can't aim, it even does stuff on it's own and then.......You start over , and over and over and over, and you have no control it's doesn't work at all, we tried about 200 times and nothing. It was really fun for a while then broke, I have to give it a one because it's not playable.

Junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not well executed

posted by Dolladollabill (MURRIETA, CA) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a cool idea, but the game is almost too hard to play. The controls do not respond very well. My kids became very disappointed and almost caused a melt down, and they don't have melt downs! Back to the drawing board guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game...but couldn't see me??

posted by sportsnutd (LITTLETON, CO) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hello my name is stephen..im from colorado and 27 and i love games and the Kung Fu Panda games and Movies.....BUT this game...how do i put this...just didn't work for me..LITERALLY. I started up story mode and I did the punches fine in the traning mode then there were the kicks or lack of them...I tried kicking with each foot, high then medium then low with both feet and it took 10 minutes to work then it told me to jump...so i did... FOR 3 MINUTES!! AND NOTHING HAPPENED!!!

I was in front of the Kinect at ALL TIMES during the game. I am still trying to figure out how it can't see a 350 pound man punching and kicking and jumping...and the jumping most of all...was a pain as you would expect...

did get a bit annoyed by Po when he cracked off about me not doing anything or not moving WHEN I CLEARLY WAS! I wish i could send a video of me doing what he says and it not working.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not as good as the movie

posted by darksighter (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i got this for my little brothers its too hard for little children

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wrong game

posted by sweetjazzy52 (WOODBRIDGE, CA) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

was send the wrong game i have xbox 360 not a kin cents i send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good at all

posted by edaniel420 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

i rented this for my son and not even half an hour passed and he was already not like it, having trouble with it if you will. so i decided to give a shot to explain to him what he might be doing wrong. after playing for 10 min. i release that his " i don't like this game it suck" review to me was accurate. half of the time the game was unresponsive and sluggish there where really no direction of what he had to do just some pictures of the main character in different posse. The first kung fu panada was ten times better. i think it would have been a tad better if they had a option to play with regular xbox 360 controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Small Kids Can't Play

posted by mythernal (CANTON, OH) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I rented this one for my 5-year-old. It couldn't recognize her jumping and so she couldn't move past the tutorial portion of the game. It was very frustrating for her. Disappointed. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad!

posted by xBoXBiT (PLANO, TX) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I got this game expecting it to be lot of fun but turns out its not! The kinect doesnt detect your movements immediately and its not much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste

posted by barneyrubble (CANTON, GA) Jan 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

Horrible game. My 7 year old played this for about 30 minutes, then told me to mail it back... Two major issues
1. It just does not pick up your movements well at all, so you essentially have hardly any control over Po.
2. The story mode is WAY too slow. Note to developers of any games for kids, do 30 seconds of story/video, then 5 minutes of fighting, not the other way around. 20 minutes into the story mode my son had only moved for about 2 minutes and was standing there watching the story or waiting for it to load each scene for 18 minutes!!
I also agree with other poster's that the noodle section is completely unresponsive. I had to jump in there for my son and it took me 5 tries to finally get past it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by Tyler2001 (WOODWORTH, LA) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

terrible game
it makes u start over every time u play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

kids game didn't work for kids

posted by cheller25 (NASHVILLE, TN) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

rent this game and our 6 year old had a very hard time using it. she is able to play other kinect games, but for some reason this one would not reconize her! we had to hold her up and she could do the hand moves and an adult would stand next to her doing the kicking. this became very frustrating very quickly for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for people who like to PLAY games

posted by Droler (WALKER, LA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

If you loved being forced to sit through an hour of cinematics in Kingdom Hearts before you could actually PLAY the game, you might like the start-stop-stop-stop-start again nature of this title. But I already SAW the movie, so I don't need to be force-fed another hour of cutscenes and training moves before I ever get to ply a 5 minute actual level. If you buy this for a kid, be aware that if they are old enough to read, they are probably already too old to enjoy this - and reading is required.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

More negatives than positives

posted by JackDuh (CORONA DEL MAR, CA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Graphics where killer. But the game kept pausing if you walk away or someone walks in front of you. It got really annoying for my boys. Glad to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not as good as KFP 1

posted by user123 (WILDOMAR, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

hey all, be aware that their is ZERO option if you wan t to play without the KINECT systems. i wanted my son to play this game because he loved the first kung fu panda game and movie . This game however he cant even see the main screen since i don't want to buy or use a kinect system in my home to expensive at the moment .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok for a Kinect game

posted by bboy360 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

This game seems to follow your movements ok. Nothing special, I guess it's a kiddy game, but it's still a little bit fun. I enjoyed renting it, I wouldn't buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

good

posted by fatebigbub (FORT SMITH, AR) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

shood have mad it so you can play it with the controller also what if sombody did not have kinect then thay cant play it thats why its not fair to not be abl to play it with kinect only the first one you can play it with the controller but not number 2 ha i will give it 2 out of three stars sints you cant play it with the controller the companys to blam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A strong feeling of Deja Vu.

posted by tcooke32123 (Boone, NC) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

As you begin the story you are introduced to the fighting mechanics. At first they seem pretty cool and you are ready to hit some bad guys upside the noggin'. Unfortunately you realize as you begin to fight that the only real way to beat them is by following the on screen prompts. Following on screen pompts becomes boring quick and you will definitely get that "haven't I done this before" feeling.

To break the monotony of the fighting scenes you will play three mini games. They provide welcome relief but are sparse throughout the story... which is only 2 hours long.

After beating the story (which, did I mention, is only two hours long) you can begin free play where you compete in 4 different mini games to try to recieve gold medals. Though there is mini games at different stages you cant help but notice it is the exact same thing over again with a different back ground. The free play adds some replayabilty but by now you will probably be so tired of the game you wont want to touch it.

The first Kung Fu Panda game was fun for people of all ages and lasted a nice while. This on the other hands would have been acceptable as a $10 arcade game as you just do the same four things over and over.

Good:
Two hour campaign (the suffering ends soon)
Easy achievements

Bad:
Two hour campaign (only two hours!?)
Repetitive
One of the mini games barely works
Borrrrrrrrinnnnnnngg

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game for the kids

posted by murkk (BLACKWOOD, NJ) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I got my 3 year old in karate, so i got this game one, because he loves the movie and two because i thought it would help him with his punches and kicks.

and it has...he played it for a few days and he's loving it. Thinking on actually buying this to keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh

posted by SydneyVicious (ALLEGANY, NY) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

It was okay. Repetitive, boring, blah blah. I don't have much to say about this game. It's the same kick, punch, block throughout the whole game. It's like being put into a Porsche (the xbox kinect), but the porsche is on rails so the steering wheel doesn't matter, nor the gas, nor anything. So although it's cool to kick in the air and punch, it means ultimately nothing b/c you're going to be doing it over and over and over, following the on-screen commands.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very dissapointing

posted by robbiesmom (WESLACO, TX) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I was excited when this game shipped right away. Now I know why it isn't in high demand.
We own many Kinnect games, but none of them are this bad. The response was minimal at best. Po follows with most of the punching and the kicking, but not the blocking. My six year old became very frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kung fu panda - it's okay.

posted by pamela_w (SAN MARCOS, TX) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The game is slow. There were more watching the story instead of playing it. There was also a delay in the moves. May be good for younger children. Since it picked up after part 2 of the movie, it was fun to watch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It was pretty hard.

posted by olivernation (WHITTIER, CA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

I enjoyed the racing and fighting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »