Buy Kirby's Epic Yarn for Wii
view large frontback

Kirby's Epic Yarn

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

4738 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by falconfan1 (SPARKS, NV) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The way I'd describe this game would be a version of Super Mario Bros. Wii, but geared towards maybe a younger audience. Anyone who likes Mario Bros. scroll style will love this game. Reccomend for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby Epic Yarn - well done game!

posted by CritScott (QUAKERTOWN, PA) Oct 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2010

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I certainly agree with the praises I read. I would try not to repeat the same comments, but I can definitely add more:

After getting this 1 day after release, this is one of the most calming, non-frustrating, relaxing games I have ever played!

The gorgeously-rendered eye candy is woven throughout, in the theme of yarn and patchwork, which is completely innovative and creative in design. The story and theme are so well-done that you might actually think it might lack in gameplay - not so! (ie: Ivy the Kiwi was beautiful, but lacks any real depth.) Admittedly, the cuteness aspect is the only factor that might hold it back for "hardcore gamers", but it's a non-violent, pleasant experience for the younger or older age bracket.

I can play this before bed, and actually sleep better. Charming, heartwarming music & storytelling elements are in full effect and this side scroller does remind me of super mario wii (without the gruesome heart wrenching deaths!) Although you cannot "die", you certainly get penalized by losing your amassed gems. Personally, I LOVE this aspect - it's still a challenge, and there are many progressing puzzle-solving skills needed to find objects, avoid obstacles, and finding treasures to decorate your [Kirby & Prince Fluff's] house.

Creatively and artistically, I have not seen too many games offer this kind of quality design & gameplay. (Reminiscent of Orisinal games) Each screen and level I played had unique, different set of actions and puzzles to solve, so I was not bored at any point. I give it a high replay value.

I also was pleasantly surprised at almost every corner with another form this yarn character took. New controls and new skills are needed each time Kirby changes form. I laughed when I got to the desert scene. It's got wind - it's got sand - it's got multiple forms of movement equal or surpassing SMBros. I just can't say enough good about this game - this one's a keeper for me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kirby Epic Yarn

posted by adrojeda (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Was iffy about getting this game because it looked so cheesy... I just said why not and rented the game. The game was awesome. 2 Player mode and its full of endless possibilities. TWO WORDS RENT IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best kirby game ever

posted by johnnyboy3 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

is simlar to paper mario and yoshi,s story. like other kirby this is the best one you dont die in this game. it fun and easy .but you cant fly or suck bad guy in this game but you can use kirby yarn to garb bad guy and kirby turn into a car and submarine. the tank is the best part you can blow up thing and punch bad guy. the 2 player is more fun they can help you. this is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you own a Wii, this is a must buy.

posted by hydropolos (Springfield, MO) Oct 25, 2010

Member since May 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

There are fun games for the Wii, and then there are those games that are reminders of the reason you bought a Wii. Kirby's Epic Yarn is one of those games that Wii owners need to add to their collection.

If you enjoy games such as New Super Mario Brothers, Mario Kart, Zelda, Metroid Prime, or Donkey Kong, then you probably already know that Nintendo makes the best games for the Wii. Kirby's Epic Yarn is what you have probably been waiting for.

GRAPHICS: Beautiful - puts next generation games to shame at times.
MUSIC: Catchy, cheery, and ready to create nostalgia all over again.
MULTIPLAYER: VERY FUN. The team play is again a staple of Nintendo.
DIFFICULTY: You will never die, but the challenges can be tricky.
CONTROLS: Perfect use of a Wii-mote. Thank you Nintendo!

This is a great game for the young at heart. It is very long, but has so many neat things that Kirby can morph into, you'll be anxious to see what the next level holds! This is a definite purchase if you have $50.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kids Required!

posted by Nappster (CANTON, CT) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've been wanting to play this game since I first saw it at E3 last year, and it does not disappoint. The whole fabric world is very fun to play in and collecting the items and gems is surpisingly addictive. There are plenty of different moves Kirby can perform and changing into different vehicles is great.

The one thing I will say is if I didn't have my 2 year old sitting next to me while I played this game I would have felt a little silly playing a game that is obviously aimed at the younger crowd. It reminded me of a kids show on the Disney Clubhouse. The fact that you can't die is also further proof it's for the younger, video game still developing, next next generation of gamers.

I am definitely happy I got the chance to play it, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Cutesy kid stuff or not!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Warmed my heart a little :3

posted by Mikey0505 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Cute, charming, and overall a smile inducing experience. Though, not exactly challenging it is something that no gamer hardcore, or casual should miss out on, a true visual spectacle on this non-HD console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute and Simple

posted by RoboBedpan (AURORA, IL) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The art style and design really are great but the game play itself is boring compared to what a kirby superstar fan might expect. Very easy and no powers! Yeah that's the worst part, Kirby has one power, yarn. Then they add some houses to dress up in stickers like it's LittleBigPlanet. I sent it back after only a few hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cute awesome and Great fun with 2 players

posted by Mariorules (LA PORTE, IN) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Kirby's Epic yarn came out with amazing detail with great gameplay. first off, I like to say that before you rent this game don't be hating on it just because you can't die. but there is a challenge in this game which is that you have to pick up beads to get a medal in each level. getting hit will lose a lot of beads and when I mean a lot I mean A LOT!! Still this game is fun along with the storybook story (like with a narrator) and a second player can join in now YAY!!!! the story starts off with kirby, hungry as usual looking for something to eat when a sorcerer came out. kirby sucked a weird tomato which gives him new abilities. then the sorcerer sucked kirby into a world of yarn and meets a blue yarn boy named Prince Fluff. kirby can't use his sucking ability because he is made of yarn! and now he change into different things!!
this is a must buy if you are a new gamer, hardcore kirby fan, or an nintendo fan.
Story: 9/10
Gameplay: 10/10
Music: 5/5
Co-op: 5/5
Cuteness: 100/100
Overall: 10/10
a perfect 10 out of 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

kirbys epic yarn

posted by bigryan777 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i only got five or six levels into this game and sent it back because i was bored to death, the enemies offer no danger of challenge, i think i was 'hit' by an enemy only once the whole time and it only happened because i let it happen out of curiosity if the enemies were actually enemies at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not very epic

posted by lmdenison (TALENT, OR) Jan 18, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My son and I love Kirby but found this to be one game that we did care to find all the secrets too. The multi-player made some of the levels more difficult to play and some boss levels were just plan silly. I would not buy this even to complete the kirby collection of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby's Epic Yarn review

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kirby's Epic Yarn is definitely different from the rest of the Kirby series. For one thing it has a generally less mature nature, the graphics, music, and gameplay are nicer for the younger audience. It also lacks the floating ability Kibry usually has, and the ability to inhale enemies and copy thier ability. But the use of various transformations like a tank, a fire engine, a train, a dolphin, a penguin, a rocket ship, etc. help to make up for that loss. The only other new edition to the franchise is the two player co-op, in which a second player controls Kirby's blue friend, Prince Fluff. Kirby's Epic Yarn is generally a downgrade from the rest of the series, but that does not make it a bad game. It's not the best game in the series, but is it the worst? Absolutely not. If you want to play Kirby's Epic Yarn, go ahead, you'll be given a satisfying experience. If you're either sceptical about it or don't want to play it, you should at least give it a try, it's worth it. Though Kirby's Epic Yarn is generally better suited for the younger audience, it'll still most likely please hardcore Kirby fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for kids

posted by jtwiztid (PLAINWELL, MI) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My 5yr old son loves it mostly for the fact that it's 2 player but it is also pretty fun. The parts where you turn into stuff like fire truck or UFO's is probably the best feature. He also like collecting furniture to decorate his room. Definitely a good game for little kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but unbelievably easy

posted by rwake2 (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yes, I agree with all of the reviews I've read so far... This game is visually stunning for a side scroller. Levels are imaginative and diverse and the co-op mode is only barely and occasionally frustrating. The game is cute, perhaps overly so, but they put in so much effort to be clever that the cuteness is totally forgivable.

The fatal flaw? This 'game' requires no skill whatsoever. You cannot die and the punishment for a misstep is being flown back onto the screen to continue the quest. I was hoping for Super Mario Bros Wii type pulse-pounding frustration and joy and received a Duplo/Fisher Price version that doesn't test my skill at all.

Why did I give it 7 stars? 1) Visually beautiful. 2) While mind numbingly easy, it still provides a pleasurable distraction. 3) An unbelievable lack of co-op based games on the market that aren't FPS or sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Never been a kirby fan before. Am now, that little pink gangster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

THIS IS NOT KIRBY

posted by pownj (RUSKIN, FL) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When i got this game i tried it and it felt like i was TWO YEARS OLD.Other than that the game seriously stunk like a rotten gym sock.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Are you serious?

posted by BIOSHOCK46 (KAMAS, UT) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to playing this brand new Kirby game. I have always loved Kirby games since I was a child. When I got this game, I immediately knew it was totally different. It was completely childish, totally unlike all other kirby games. It treats you like a baby, you don't have lives, so you never die. And you can't suck monsters in, What's up with that???!! This game is way too different from all the others, it is a disgrace to Kirby's name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Feels brave

posted by sarrowteam (ENCINO, CA) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

After playing games that have lots of big scale perils for little kids, this game only removes beads when a character "dies." For my 5-yr old boy, this was the first game where he finished the whole story and all the levels and felt a sense of accomplishment. And now he goes back to the game to explore more. As an artist I appreciate the detail and references to hand made crafts. Wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kirby's Not So Epic Yarn!

posted by DarkLink96 (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Here are my reasons for giving this game a 3.Reason 1.Me and my cousin played this game and beat it with in 4 hours and that's because we where not enjoying it at all. Reason 2.The story line was pathetic (to anyone above the age of 5 or if your not a die hard Kirby fan) Reason 3. It was way to easy (the bosses where no hassle at all) There are some good things to this game. Such as it's a short game to just pass the time. It passes time. It's a pretty decent co-op game for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way Better Than Speculated

posted by CousinReactGame (SAN BRUNO, CA) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Lots of people I know says that this game's for kids. I say no to that, as I had tons of fun with this game and it's different mechanics. I would say that the only problem I have with it is it's rocky UFO flying controls, it's just a little too finicky, but I think it's overall a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun a Must Play game

posted by Bluetooth (STREET, MD) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

So when i first saw this game i was like... Oh it's Kirby same old same old, that was until i pick it up, right off the bat i was taken away by how nice the game looked and controlled. Also after playing the game for an hour or more and i lost myself in this game it is so fun and so cute, Anyway this is a must play for anyone who likes Kirby games, Very fun game a must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

weak

posted by yobob (MANSFIELD CENTER, CT) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This might be a good game for anyone under 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kirby's Epic Y-awwwww-n

posted by gamer135 (MINNETONKA, MN) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

As a Kirby veteran (not as cool as it sounds), I was quite excited about the new chapter in the Kirby saga. This quickly changed when I realized I could no longer float. That's right; one of Kirby's only abilities that he actually has going for himself has been taken away by some bizarre yarn-related accident. I was willing to overlook that...until Kirby lost more things. Instead of sucking things up, now he whips things with his "yarn". THAT IS THE BASE OF KIRBY GAMES. Why take that out? But the one thing that really made me mad was the gameplay and new elements that our good "friends" at Nintendo added. Now adding a "bead collecting" option is a daring venture into more run-of-the-mill adventure-platformers like mario bros. games. Unfortunately, this fails epically. I didn't even play long enough to fully understand what the beads even did. This game's only true redeeming quality is that it is utterly adorable. The new transformations Kirby undergoes are giggle-inducing, even in a gamer like me that laughed while playing Amnesia: the Dark Descent. when Kirby starts sprinting, he turns into a little car that starts making little car noises. That mixed with the new plush environment and the TeleTubies music makes me feel like everything is going to be all right. But it is not all right. Kirby died in Dream Land a LONG time ago and will never be the same, but I will stand strong and will always pick my favorite creampuff in a round of Smash Bros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Skeptical, but Pleasantly surprised

posted by Box_Head (EAST GREENWICH, RI) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

As long as I can remember Kirby has always been around in my life. So when I heard about Epic Yarn I was skeptical, but willing to put aside all of the supposed negativity and give it a shot. I'll admit, when I first turned on my wii, heard the opening dialog, and played the first couple of levels, I almost cried from laughter and embarrassment from how easy and childlike it was. It is narrated like a book on tape and the difficulty is dumb downed substantially to a point where you literally cannot die. After putting the game down, I was debating on shipping it back from only playing it for 35 minutes. Then I gave it another shot. Then I was pleasantly surprised.
The thing about this game is that it still is able to be a great kirby game and a good stand out game. Even though kirby doesn't have his copy ability because he is literally yarn, You still have the satisfaction of killing enemies and using them as weapons or keys for puzzles. Even if you do miss kirby's old features, have no fear because he still transforms for certain moves such as a car. They also still kept all of the main characters intact and made this really seem like kirby even though his identity seemed to be stripped. De De De is still defeated like how he always is and meta knight has his challenge and throws you a power up during the last boss fight.
It is comedic but corny, easy but there still is challenge. Yup, even though it is impossible to die there is a challenge factor. The levels are more built around collectables and a bronze, silver, gold score depending how much gems you collect. For a kirby game that sound ridiculous, but if it wasn't for this then there would be absolutely no purpose for the game. On a side note let's be honest, kirby games never were the hardest in the first place.
The music is light with percussion and piano, the enemies don't give you an ability or damage, and the game has side missions with collectables. And yet It's not just a good kirby, its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great fun

posted by mihopkins (STRATTON, CO) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Had a blast playing this with the kids! Very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse