Buy Kingdom Hearts: Re-Chain of Memories for PS2
view large frontback

Kingdom Hearts: Re-Chain of Memories

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

2355 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kingdom Hearts RE: Chain of Memories...

posted by doglife4me (VALENCIA, CA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

29 out of 38 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

...is quite a superb game. The GameBoy version was excellent, and I was hoping for this to be the same.

And it was!

Gameplay - 9 - The card system can be frustrating occasionally, and I ran out of cards rather fast. But that didn't stop me from beating the game and having fun.

Graphics - 9 - The graphics were standard Kingdom Hearts style, but with a slight downgrade. The characters seemed blurrier than in the other games. Not to mention the utterly horrid voice to lip syncing. The characters all spoke Japanese, while the sounds were in English. They could've done alot better...

Sound - 8 - The music was wonderful, the sound effects samey. What really brought this score down was the...how should I say...AWFUL voice acting. Their voices did NOT fit them at all, besides the standard Axel, Riku, Sora, and the other's voices. The newer characters had extremely bad voice acting choices. Feauturing...
Tuxedo Mask from Sailor Moon as Zexion - A horrid choice, probably the worst...did not fit the -cough- wonderful character at all...

Uryu Ishida from the Bleach dubs and Shino Aburame from Naruto as Vexen - W.T.F. were they thinking?? URYUU?! Vexen sounds alot younger than he is, and it's very unfitting.

Kieth Ferguson from Foster's Home for Imaginary Friends as Marluxia - a very odd choice...

Shanelle Gray/Shanelle Workman from The Skateboard Kid and some other random things as Larxene - An unbeffiting choice, too deep fer Larxene's character...

Sonic Renaldi from Speed Racer(2008) as Lexaeus - The ONLY fitting one...very deep, fits Lex's...form well.

Overall, it's a 9/10. Great for the fans, like myself, if they can stomach the awful voice acting...good thing is that you have to beat the game once to get to the very core of all of the bad voice actors, then play through Reverse/Rebirth to get to the other actors.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Re" must stand for "Re"done Right.

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The most important thing I can tell you about this game in one sentence is: This is a DIFFERENT GAME that the GBA title its based upon.
While some changes are fairly obvious(voiced cutscenes, 3D environments, new card deck wigits like shortcuts, "Unstock"s, reaction command sleights & summons, and a button combo for "use stock cards NOW!!", there are some changes that can result in "Gottcha!"s if you're playing as a GBA veteran.
Most importantly, I would say is the fact that Moogle Points acutally mean something this time, as simply leaving and re-entering a room is no longer enough to regenerate that rooms "treasure spots". You want more points? You must re-make the room(with another room card) and start collecting again.
There are other little things (Pluto can show up in combat-friend cards(uncredited?), finding HP and MP orbs (and rarely cards, if you stock some) when called. Aladin's attack also now releases MP when the enemy is struck.
But what about those points? Sure, they spend just fine, except on the first few floors. Moogle Pack(card pack) disributions were redone, and now all the "leaf" packs universally suck(Shame if you were one of those who chose to see Cloud at the colliseum first to get his card, because his card isn't in the leaf packs anymore!!)
This could go on, but the limit is 2,000. So let me "re"-state my one sentence on Re:Chain of Memories: Enjoy it, but toss the GBA player's guide out the window. It was a bad guide before, now its near-worthless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I Thought This Game Could have Been Better...

posted by Spiffy101 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I'm Serious.

I'm a Fan of Kingdom Hearts 1 and 2, i love the story.
but lets be honest, most of you guys probably just pressed "x" and then realized "why am i using a potion"? well thats because you're playing the by the Cards now. apparently. you don't know how to swing a blade without cards with a picture of a keyblade on it.

I Never wanted to play this game, but when i got into Kingdom hearts story. i wanted to get prepped for Birth by Sleep and Kingdom Hearts 3, i rented this game with 358/2 days. and as soon as i heard this game took place in "Castle Oblivion", i knew i had to play it. so i popped RE:CoM
and well... first minutes of gameplay they explain how the cards worked.

i was like "oh great... its worse that what i feared..." i continued to play, then i spend 10 minutes trying to figure out the door. then i met Leon,

when he explained the REAL meaning of the cards. i blank faced, i scrunched my face in disgust and popped the game out, put it in the sleeve and put it back in the envelope.

Square Enix. PLEASE DON'T MAKE ANOTHER PIECE OF RUBBISH LIKE THIS AGAIN. PLEASE.

i hate you for making this complicated bull-.
i gave it a chance. and it disappointed.

never again, ENIX.

NEVER. AGAIN.

i'm missing a huge chunk of the story line because of this bull-.
hope to god 385/2 days covers most of it... because nothing is worth playing this horrid game.

this game was so horrible, it encouraged me to write a review about it...

i've NEVER Written a Reviews before.
but seriously. this game was bad.

i don't know why all these fanboys are praising it...
10/10? come on. now you're just sucking up to the big bosses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disappointment

posted by Garu8181 (ARVADA, CO) Mar 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

i am thoroughly unsatisfied with this kingdom hearts. it is no where near as good as the 1st or 2nd. the game play is .... im speechless its so bad. the battles are like a bad version of a final fantasy battle. if your a fan of the series like i am, you should agree that this is a incredible disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Chain of Memories

posted by codemonstr (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

20 out of 34 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

WOW!!!! This game rocks. It' s so cool!I bet everyone who loves kingdom hearts 1 and 2 will love this. And to everyone who's reading this...

"PLAY THIS GAME, IT ROCK'S!!!!!!!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How did they do this?

posted by butterflyf (SARASOTA, FL) Apr 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

HOW DID THEY MANAGE TO RUIN ONE OF THE BEST SERIES OUT THERE. KINGDOM HEARTS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE ALL TIME GAMES. BUT THIS NEW INSTALLMENT IS AWFUL. YOU DONT FIGHT LIKE YOU NORMALLY DO, INSTEAD YOU HAVE TO USE CARDS TO FIGHT. ITS A VERY BAD STYLE OF COMBAT FOR A GAME LIKE THIS. I CANT TELL YOU HOW MANY TIMES YOU ACCIDENTLY USE THE WRONG CARD. EVEN USING THE KEY BLADE REQUIRES A CARD. YOU NO LONGER GET TO FIGHT WITH DONALD AND GOODFY BECAUSE.... YOU GUESSED. THEY REQUIRE A CARD. YOU USE THEIR CARD AND THEY COME OUT AND DO A MOVE AND LEAVE. ITS AWFUL. TRUE FANS OF THIS GAME. IM SORRY TO SAY IT BUT PASS THIS BY. IM SORRY IT TAINTED MY LOVE FOR AN ALLREADY AWSOME SERIES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I can hardly belive it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!

posted by supershdow (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

If you havent played this game yet, i suggest that you ge up NOW and BUY OR RENT THIS GAME AS FAST AS POSSIBLE!!!!!!! This game is perfect for people who enjoyed KH 1,2, and chain of memories. Oh and in case you don't know already, It's basicly a remake of Chain of Memories for the GBA, but for ps2.

PS what ever you do, try not to press the sholder buttons and "Select" and "Start" buttons at the same time if you don't know what it does.

KUPO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cards are u kidding me

posted by subzero32x (NEWARK, DE) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

cards in this game iv have played them all this is the worst game EVER!!!! do i have to say more cards of your part ners

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Interested

posted by flame444 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The two boys don't want to play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DOES NOT WORK

posted by MrPCANGR (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

OK, I have played and loved the Kingdom Hearts series, so when I recieved the game I was expecting to play but it does not go past the tutorial. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hated it!

posted by kayceekay (HENDERSON, TN) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I got maybe 5 minutes into the game before I realized that it was NOT like kh or kh2. It wouldn't be so bad if not for the confusing card based system. I really hope that whenever they come out with kh3, it's nothing like that. I was really disappointed in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's about time!!

posted by church0429 (DUNNELLON, FL) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Finale another KH game!! (even though its a remake) this game rocks especially if you like the card based game play. its awesome, and this game means square enix is 1 step closer to KH3!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by ueytjey (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

if you like kingdom hearts seris dont rent this game it ruind the fun of kingdom hearts the card sytem sucks dont rent this game even if you dont now what kingdom hearts is it sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Impressed

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I was never a fan of card video games. In other words if you have a card with a high number and your opponent has a low number you can attack and take out more damage. But if you keep getting low numbers and they keep getting high numbers can be a pain, and good luck getting high number cards all the time. I want KH3 and get rid of the card c#$%. And go back to ACtion RPG with Camera fixes if you have to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

if i get this game i for christmas I will faint

posted by przprz (BURBANK, CA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I was playing this game at my friends house and we beat the first boss and flipped out it was so fun, we could not stop playing so i asked if i could sleep over and our moms said yes, we almost are done beating the game. I am sure you are wondering how we know that, we know because i beat it with my cousin in a day and a half. YEAH IT IS THE BEST GAME EVER! except the card fighting re-charge thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Also Not impressed!!!!!

posted by Jsanmartin (LA HABRA, CA) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i REALLY AM NOT A FAN OF CARD GAMES WHICH IS WHAT PRETTY MUCH RUINED THE GAME!! i LOVE ALL OF THE KINGDOM HEART GAMES EXCEPT FOR THIS ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fail.

posted by ABombb (KANSAS CITY, KS) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was total fail. What the heck is up with the cards. /: I lvoe kingdom heart but this game is clearly a waste of a my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

kingdom hearts re chain memories stink!!!!!

posted by dash13 (BELLFLOWER, CA) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game plain stink so bad i hated it who invented this game is mocking kingdom heart 1 and 2 you stink ahahahahahhahahahahahahah- ahahhahahahahahah

you stink fatty

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lame

posted by darthdaddy (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't know what the huge appeal surrounding card based games is; but it's ruining this franchise. there was nothing wrong with the format of kh or kh2, but his card battle thing has got to go. i thought the ps2 version of this game would redeem the waste that was on the gba, but i was wrong. you have this deck of cards, and that's how you do everything, attack, open doors, use the bathroom, you name it. and before you can really get into the game, you start running out of cards in the heat of some boss battle. i give this game a "d" for "dreadful". i can only hope that the promise of a kh3 will erase this bad gaming experience from my chain of memories

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

My god

posted by jangawho (FAIRVIEW, OR) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being one of the fans of KH I expected alot and was let down to an immense degree ....the graphics were pretty good........but I HATED the whole card fighting thing it was doing and the worlds were all around bad............GOD,,,,,,,- ,,,i would recommend going and getting KH1or KH2........cause this one was BAD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT WHAT I WAS HOPING FOR!!!!!

posted by j5cook (CISNE, IL) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I WAS EXPECTING A GAME LIKE KH2 AND WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED, THE WHOLE CARD FIGHTING IS ANNOYING IF I WANTED TO PLAY HIGH CARD I COULD DO IT SOMEWHERE ELSE. IF THERE IS GOING TO BE A KH3 PLEASE LOSE THE CARDS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The saga lives!!!

posted by s0ulking (CULLODEN, GA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sqaure enix we all want to thank you for this wonderful creation. The game play and cut scenes were awesome! And don't get me started on the story. This game kept you on th story line & just like the title rechain of memories, you have gone back and explained the unexplained. If you liked K.H. 1, 2, you'll love this. (Tip: if you didn't play one or two i advise you do.) We love you qaure enix so keep on mass producing these spectacular Games!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cards?

posted by parkerps2 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jul 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the series and the battle format but this game runed it. Why use Cards, it complettly throws me off. If im tryig to finish a combo i heal myself or call an ally. over all the maps are horrible andreally runed sereis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

..................................................

posted by yhaoooooo (FRANKFORT, KY) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well this card video game got my atteion cuz i loved the 1st and 2d games but dont care much for this 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

How about no?

posted by jch128 (TYRONE, PA) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of Kingdom Hearts. I loved both the first and second games, and played through them more times than I can count.

However, just being part of the Kingdom Hearts storyline doesn't make a game good. I don't know why the game makers decided, "Hey, since our original combat system is what made our games such a big hit before, let's scrap it and replace it with a CARD GAME!"

I tried to play this game, but as I was playing a Kingdom Hearts game I found myself trying to play the same way I played KH 1 and 2. That doesn't work. So I decided there was no point in playing it if it wasn't even like a Kingdom Hearts game. Sent it back about an hour after getting it.

Please, if something isn't broken, don't try and fix it. Just stick to the original combat system that's actually fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse