Buy Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2 for PS3
view large frontback

Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2

Buy

Used: $32.99

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

442 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Let's Compare This To Part 1.. Since No Review Has

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Jun 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is Neptunia 2... so how does it compare to Neptunia 1?

The story is not as interesting because we already know about all the characters and who and what they are. Even though you play the game as the younger sister(s) of the main Goddess(es), it is still kind of the same thing as before.

The city exploration is similar and is still click-based like before. However now the cities are laid-out in a strange 2D isometric grid. You cannot move around the grid, you select what to do from a list, but the view is interesting, I guess.

Movement to dungeons and cities is not open and long winded like before, and you don't have to wait for different lands to align at different times to travel to them. Now you get around instantaneously by clicking on a large map.

Fighting is not stationary anymore, you now move around a 3D battle area, selecting where and how to attack or run from enemies. It is very modern, and very much like Moonlight Sonata. The bad news is you cannot just turbo the X button to blow through battles mindlessly, you have to actively participate in every single one... boo.

Personally I don't like the changes. I liked the first game because is was like old Nintendo RPG's, only with hot chicks. Now it like a more modern game, still with hot chicks, but if I wanted to play a modern RPG, there are better ones out there.

In short the game is lacking its original old school feel, and has replaced it with more modern gameplay engines, which do not work that great.

Keep in mind part 3 is already on it way, and this series remains in top ratings in Japan, so it certainly doesn't "suck." If you like the hot anime chicks, you get to see a lot of good scenes right at the beginning of the game.

So definitely worth a rent and a couple of days play, but probably not worth playing all the way through... think I'll just read about what happens and watch the ending on YouTube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad, not great. Just a few steps above good

posted by KiteEllipsus (OGDEN, UT) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Solid gameplay, reminded me of Breath of Fire 5 a tad. Story, cute and fun but not terribly complex or astounding. In short its fun, a grand epic journey it aint, but it is worth a quick rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by RedSniper777 (DADE CITY, FL) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Although it may be slightly time consuming this game is a very in depth JRPG. I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a great game to sit down and enjoy for a number of hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just another average RPG

posted by Zopharr (NEWNAN, GA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

So let's start off with the good in this game the battle system is quite fun to use and actually reminds me a lot of the Grandia series. The music score is decent. There are some moments that make you laugh or bust a smile.

Now for the bad. It's just another RPG in a sea of RPG's nothing really makes this game different. The story-line is meant to be a joke the game was made that way but even so there is nothing new here no plot twist. The voice acting is absolutely horrible. The "quest" system is quite time consuming (lots of grind). The aspect of being able to "Transform" to become "Stronger" is broken my characters are actually stronger in their "normal" stage than in their "transformed" stage. Boss battles in this game are epic.... by that I mean you might as well clear the calendar for the next hour or two as the game progresses they get longer... They are not hard battles they just take forever.... Its a grind to get them to zero hp....

All in All this game is a solid 5 you will not get anything out of this game that you cant get from another rpg with a better story and voice acting and combat system. Just another game in a sea of "Average" games that we gamers have been plagued with for the past 5+ years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Woof.....

posted by Murderfish (CHAMPLIN, MN) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 38 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

How to start. I barely made it into this game before I was forced to quit due to an overwhelming sence of irritation. The game feels like a thinly vieled hentia game, as the opening sence was pasted with barely covered breasts. While many may think this is a good thing, it is not. The voice acting was awful, and the dialog irritating. The charactures are cookie cutter moia steriotypes, and the game mostly seemed like an exercise in reading cut scense.
I like J-RPGs, but this one.... oh my.... this one was simply unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a try

posted by imon1226 (PEORIA, IL) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I'm writing this review to ensure that this game is worth trying, but is only thrilling the first couple times playing it.
I thought that for an rpg I would agree it's typical. The characters and the world is cute, but not enough that it kept me wanting more. The game playing is generic feeling and I don't think I would rent it again when there's other better rpgs available. I'm glad I tried it though. My curiousity has certainly been satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another boring game.

posted by Deathsteelblade (SHEBOYGAN, WI) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

U go into towns but its all 1d graphics. U cant control ur char in town. All u can do is shop, get quests and leave town. U dont get to run to the next town u get a little dot and u click on the town. U can contorl ur char in dungens but the camera view sucks when in a dungeon. U find the secret items way to easy and the battles dont give u alot of money at all, Neither do the quests so buying items in the beginning is really fricken tough. The battle system is pretty awesome. The graphics are ok but not to the standards of now a days graphics. More of a childs game if u ask me. If u like games where u repeadetly have to play a dungeon to get money this is ur game. I rated it a one. FF7 destroys this game by a long shot and that game is 2d.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by Triracer19 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 6, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Okay, I want to first say that I am beyond sick of all the negativity Hyperdimension Neptunia MK2 and Hyperdimension Neptunia series in general is getting, so I will start out by saying the fighting system is just plain easy to use and overall very balanced and unique at the same time. The graphics are clean and are quite frankly unique in their own right and are on par with most RPGS. Also, what makes this game truly unique are the relatable and unique characters with their memorable personality traits, each with their own fighting style and unique fashion sense; and let's not forget about the hilarious light-hearted story and at times sexually innuendo filled story that will get a laugh out of anybody with a good sense of humor. Finally, this game is a love letter for those hardcore gamers that have basically played everything from the Super Nintendo to the PS2, so the video game are references are surely going to strike a cord with hardcore and not casual gamers.
This is a truly and amazing series from NIS and I hope to see this series continue for a long time and also to those gamers that complain about this game please get a sense of humor, relax and enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Alright

posted by LongestJourney (MARSHALLTOWN, IA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Kinda cheesy with graphics it was alright though was worth the time to beat it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MK2

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

It is a great update to the previous installment. It is a awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing

posted by BearGoateeNH (JAFFREY, NH) Sep 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Love RPG's, both serious and light-hearted. Found this to be tedious, boring battle system, overall under-developed. First game in a very very long time that I actually quit and returned. Gave it about 20 hours of play and could not find it enjoyable, sorry. Functionally easy to play, boringly repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by Panther2103 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game isn't what you would expect, and most people wouldn't go out of their way to try to get their hands on this. It's a niche game and for what it is, it is a really fun game.

I'll start with the story, it's somewhat of a mess. You are a CPU candidate (Nepgear) which is representative of a handheld console. You are on a quest to rescue your sister Neptune, a long with three other CPU's. Each CPU represents a game console. It's a really intiresting look at the console war and delves into piracy in a humorous way. The main enemy in the game is a group of people called Arfoire which represents the R4 chip for DS, which is a way people were playing pirated copies of games on their DS's. They are trying to get rid of all of the CPU's so they can summon their goddess who will come and destroy the industry. It's a really entertaining story it's just very hard to follow at times.

The graphics are good if you enjoy the anime inspired theme, there is a little frame rate drop sometimes in more dense areas, and there isn't any real issue with the drop in frame rate other than skills taking a bit longer to cast sometimes.

Difficulty is where this game loses a couple points in my book. It starts out very easy, you can kill things quite fast, you gain levels quick, it's pretty cool that I didn't have to grind for the first half of the game. But then all of a sudden, they start to place you into fights that require you to outlevel the monsters before it by quite a bit. I was one hitting monsters in the same room the event for the next boss was going to happen, then I start the battle and it kills my entire party in two turns. The grind isn't so bad, you can quickly gain a couple levels and re enter and destroy the boss, but near the end of the game it gets bad. There aren't any areas to level in and you get stuck either killing enemies way too low or way too high. That's where the game faulters.

All in all if you are a fan of JRPG's I say give this a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »