Buy Homefront for PS3
view large frontback

Homefront

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

6845 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun!...with a catch....

posted by adman3344 (DEWITT, MI) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

123 out of 129 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

very fun story mode, cept it is only a few hours long. plan to beat it the day you get it...

Online is definatly fun CEPT they got the great idea from EA to make you buy an online pass to be able to do anything with it... level cap at 5 without online pass...

worth the gameslot... eh if you have nothing better to do. i dont support companies like this that make a very short story and try to monopolize the online for renters/used game sales.

worth the rent=maybe
worth the buy=no

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

$60 richer...

posted by poontang (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

84 out of 91 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

wow just wow. a simple 3 hours after ripping open the envelope to start this game and its done? GOD BLESS GAMEFLY for games like this. i think it took longer for the playstation to burn it to the hard-drive than it did me beating this. story was fantastic and would have made a great movie but now i see why they didn't release a demo cuz that would have been the whole game for free. multi wasn't even worth playing up to the free trial of level 5. felt like battlefield on a much lower budget. since i own battlefield i'll play that for free and save my $60 for Crysis 2 which will be a game truly worth the money...as for anyone who purchased this, i'm so sorry for you all....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Home-Failure

posted by Viper561 (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

62 out of 70 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Pros: An interesting view of events that shows that history and future can reflect each other. Thats about it.

Cons: Graphics seemed to be behind by a few years, it felt as if I'm playing a PS2 game. Motion of characters and gameplay are sluggish at best, not good for a FPS. Game mechanics are way off in which enemies can hit you from cover and bullets seem to pass through objects. AI soldiers on your team have a fighting capability of zero, they DO NOT kill off enemies for you, your on your own. Mission sequence are not realistic as far as strategy, theres a mission where theres 4 of you and your teammates tell you to go on your own while the 3 go else where (REALLY!!!!). Multiplayer, not even going there.

Note: I'm very surprised this game sold in stores, there were actually a lot of pre-orders. The game is only 4 hrs long about, not worth 60 dollars of hard earned money. A rent only game at most and should no where be put in the ranks of FPS like Call of Duty, Killzone, Battlefield, or Halo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by jree62 (CORONA, CA) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a good game,but I think they copied names like Conner and Riahna. And you should make sure younger brothers/sisters aren't around because it's EXTREMELY GRAPHIC. You'll find that out when you look at the screenshots.I finished the game in 2 DAYS without cheats or walkthroughs on normal,but I'm gonna look at the cheats before I send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by smith888 (NAPERVILLE, IL) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok story, graphics, overall not a bad rental. Good explosions and story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

High Hopes.....

posted by Hellraiser69 (DINGMANS FERRY, PA) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When this was released, my hopes were high that it was going to be the next shooter to actually rival Battlefield. Unfortunately, the game is more appropriate for COD players. This doesn't mean it's a bad thing, it's just not my thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Homefront Game-play/Story

posted by ThaDjandjinator (BARRE, VT) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is no COD: Modern Warfare trilogy, but it is an excellent shooting game for those who like a good shooting game and a story line on top of that. I'm surprised nobody made a movie based on this game, and I'm not talking about Red Dawn. If there was a movie made that's inspired by Homefront it would be one good movie, it would be worth watching. I hilly recommend this game to those who love shooting/military games just like me. You won't be disappointing...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay game

posted by parkerthedog (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was just okay. To start the major flaw in the game was the glitches. This game was pretty short(another flaw), and in that short time I had to reset the game maybe 15 times. It got to be really annoying. The graphics were okay, but I felt that the characters in the story kind of got in the way. For instance, when you and the other 3 character go through a doorway, you must follow the order set down by the programmers. You cannot go through the doorway first because the others have to go through before you. Also, I couldn't find a difficulty setting on the game, so it was very easy at times. The game is worth playing, just be weary of the length(4 hrs) and the glitches with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great single-player experience

posted by chriswebb1031 (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 23, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Homefront offers a great single-player campaign experience. Good game to rent. Main problem is the extremely short story (maybe 6 or 8 hours). I thought it was just getting started when the credits rolled :( I hope there's a sequel. I didn't bother with the multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

RENT, Dont BUY

posted by Dae_Mar_98 (SCOTTSVILLE, VA) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As the title states, you should rent this game its not worth spending good hard earned money over, the storyline is okay, the multiplayer is okay, overall this game is okay, but some problems are that you sometimes do all the fighting, there is a lot of glitches, which makes it frustrating to play, when i RENTED this game I beat it in 3 hours, so please JUST RENT IT, its not worth keeping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, for a very short time

posted by divine7942 (NICHOLASVILLE, KY) Dec 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll preface this by saying I'm reviewing based solely on the single player campaign.

The game does a fairly good job of creating an interesting, if implausible, setting. The story isn't remarkable, but serviceable for an FPS.

The biggest failing of the single player mode is its extremely short length. I completed it in 3 sittings of about 1.5 hours, and probably could have done it faster if I was so inclined. The combat is pretty much the same as most mainstream shooters these days, which is to say its very similar to CoD.

Some positive points:
-Nice variety and balance in the weapons. I love the M16 in this game.
-Nice set piece scenes, the game does a good job of building atmosphere

Negative:
-Enemy grenades are very powerful, seemingly appear out of nowhere, and sometimes don't give you much chance to react
-Fairly dumb AI, teammates get stuck on walls, enemy soldiers will walk straight towards you out of cover

Overall it's definitely worth a playthrough, but definitely not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a Rental

posted by The_Dar (QUINCY, MA) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Homefront feels like/plays/is a call of duty modern warfare knock off. This is good and bad in its own way.

While playing this game, every level had the same feeling as the American solider missions in Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2. Not only that but the control scheme is pretty much the same as call of duty's. The story was interesting at parts, but it did not leave me at the edge of my seat. Everything about this game felt adequate yet did not give me the thrills I wanted.

You should at least rent it and try it at least, but I did not enjoy this title for a buy price. I did not try the multiplayer, but at this point many people probably migrated to the Battlefield 3 or Modern Warfare 3 multiplayers; this multiplayer is probably dead by now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i just

posted by tombraider89 (LINCOLNTON, NC) Nov 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i just wish campaign mode was longer it seemed to take no time at all to complete. on the other hand a good game if you like cod you will like homefront.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Homefront

posted by brigmo92 (BURNSVILLE, NC) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was an OK game, the story was what set the game into being good. The graphics were standard when it comes to today's gaming. Like I said, amazing story line and plot. Problems I had were if you wait to breach a door it sometimes took 5 minutes before you could do so. Also the game itself was a bit lagged. Other than that, a fair game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Homefront

posted by Redsfan (HUNTINGTON, WV) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game was ok. Way too much foul language that was so unnecessary. I understand they want the game to be realistic, but cut back on the foul language. Overall the game was good. Kinda reminded me of the 1980's movie Red Dawn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice

posted by BIGmanWhy (NETTLETON, MS) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not bad. Better than I expected. I heard that HomeFront was goin to be sucky and all but it was actually pretty good. I guess the ppl I got bad reviews from were the types that think Call of Duty is the only first person shooter out worth anything. The only things I didn't like were the story (a lil too out there) and the shortness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underaged Gamer

posted by underagedgamer (CHINO HILLS, CA) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I received Homefront, I didn't have high expectations for, so it easily blew me away. The graphics may be dated, but they still work for the game. Other than a twisted story, there is nothing really to make this a breakaway game, but it's a fun break from big shooters like Battlefield and Call of Duty. Gameplay is smooth and fluid, there's balance between all the guns, multiplayer makes focus more on team objectives than racking up 60 or 70 kills <cough, cough> Call of Duty <cough, cough>, and the campaign is easy to follow <cough, cough> Battlefield <cough, cough>. Overall, it's a fun game. Kaos Studios did a good job of hybridizing Call of Duty's smooth fluid gameplay and Battlefield's big picture matches. The only thing keeping this from being an elite shooter, besides graphics, is the length of the story. I feel it was rushed and its seven chapters are easily beatable in 5-6 hours. A fun weekend rental all in all. In the future, look out for Kaos Studios to establish a big name franchise in the future

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

meh, it's average

posted by jerock03 (WELLSBORO, PA) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the idea of this game, and there are some good points to it, but they are heavily outweighed by the negatives. Also, I am setting aside my thoughts on COD and BF games. I am reviewing this w/o comparing to those games. Overall it's average. The graphics are average, not where they should be for today's technology. Shooting is average, Storyline is average. It never went where it could have, it just stays simple. Good for a play though and return to GF. Games like this make GF worth it. If they do a sequel they will have to step it up big time. They stroyline is there, and could have rather compelling, but it just fell flat, and has flat, average gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

short n sweet

posted by philwell76 (MANSFIELD, OH) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

game is pretty good, first you have to not compare it to call of duty or any other shooter...like we all do. its got alot of action and the shooting is legit, guns are cool, limited selection though. multiplayer i have to say is absolutely on par with any shooter out there... it is very limited in game selection...TDM/DOM but alot of cool features and the maps are HUGE....sucks a little that you can only reach level 5 perks without the battle codes... for sure better than the 6 rating its getting...that, i assume is from the games length, people upset because they didnt want it to end.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

like playing call of duty

posted by knight4436 (FAIRBURN, GA) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

very good game lots of action in this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short and Sweet

posted by AnthrSolidSnake (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not going to try and be a professional in my review. I'll just say this:
1. Graphics are..meh? I mean, they arent TERRIBLE, but they don'tl ive up to standards either.
2. The FPS gameplay is solid enough, with a nice array of guns
3. I like the enviroments, and that they had a relatable touch by making them take place in sub urban towns and developments.
4. The story is actually pretty strong wihtout using direct narritive, that is until you get to the ending...if you want to call it an ending? (I was playing, then BAM, The End??? I didnt even know it was ocming)
5. Homefront has fallen into the greed pit and charges you ten dollars to unlock multiplayer to level up past Lvl.5. So, I didnt even bother with the multiplayer, but I here its okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game Just Too Short!

posted by scott7jill (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm really glad I read the user reviews on here before ever purchasing this game because, as many others have said, it was over before I knew it. And there's nothing worse than being all hyped up about a game and buying it brand new only to have it over in a mere few hours!

That being said, the story line was fantastic (albeit a bit disturbing and gorey at times) and the graphics were pretty good. I did find the movement a bit glitchy in some places as you'd get stuck trying to get through doors (especially if the other characters were entering at the same time) or moving around/under things.

Overall, I have to agree with the users before me: this game is a fantastic rental (maybe even one of my favorites!) but I certainly wouldn't recommend buying it simply because of the length.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Had good potential

posted by wyrush94 (NOTTINGHAM, NH) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thsi game had a lot of good potential and was fun but had quite a few issues so I rated it a five. The game frezes at lest once a mission which is a pain. The single player campang is extremly short about six hours. The online potion you can not get above leve five I think with out buying an online accese code. The game it self is fun and the guns, and scops look better then the call of duty stuff. The story is eisey to follow and not too well explained though it was not wroth all the hype it got. This game had more portential if THQ had put more time into it i am sure it would have turned out better. I hope they lern from the mistakes and make the second one better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Homefront for the PS3

posted by Headshot06 (STEILACOOM, WA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave the game a solid 7 for story, graphics and entertainment. I docked it the 3 other points becuase the single player was way to short, took me 3 hours of play to beat it on normal dificulty. The multiplayer was inventive and kind of fun, the only saving grace of this game, without the multiplayer mode, this game would have been one of the free playstation store games.

so 2 points for single player
and 5 points for the multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disappointed...

posted by gypsypoet1968 (KEY WEST, FL) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics were beautiful and the premise very interesting. The gun battles were intense but the game was waaaay to short. I finished it in 5 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse