Buy Hitman: Absolution for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Hitman: Absolution

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.9

3951 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing, and not just because of the 6 year wait.

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Really the title should tell you all you need to know. If you're a die hard fan of Hitman games read no further. If you're new to the series, have you been hiding under a rock? Just kidding, but seriously.

Gameplay - Amazing! The mechanics feel fairly fleshed out and the amount of things to be done on a given level is insane. Not everyone is a completionist and to be fair, I rarely am either, but in this game I go for 100%. I feel there is decent incentive to complete it and that's always a plus. The campaign is super entertaining and to give you a rough idea I spent the first 10 hours playing this game in the first three single player levels it was that good. The addition of contracts (which I have yet to play as it contains spoilers) should add hours and hours of entertainment.

Graphics - not exactly the BEST you'll ever find but leaps and bounds above blood money, obviously, as it is 6 years later. I'm not huge into graphics as I'd rather get great gameplay but they at least have to be decent and these exceed decent.

Sound - again, I'm more for gameplay, but there are no issues that I've heard through my turtle beach headset even.

Final Verdict - If you are a fan of the hitman series, buy it. Don't argue, just buy it. I still have Blood money because of the replay value I saw in that and Absolution has about 100 times the replay value of that one. If you aren't sure about your desire to unlock everything and find every way to kill people as well as challenge yourself to be the ultimate assassin do yourself a favor and at the very least rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hitman

posted by Blue123 (CRETE, NE) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Its awesome. I love the stealth in it. I like the story line well played. To find the girl you go on a long adventure smart. 10 out of 10!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Hitman Yet

posted by Armyman619 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i just beat this game i found it amazing the gameplay is smooth i really cant see how you cant like this game BUT the only down side that got me mad it that it doest have multiplayer or co-op they really should of added that :/ but the single player is really good not to short but still took me 2 days to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall Good

posted by WhatIsSleep3 (POTOSI, MO) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

They managed to fix, one by one, everything I've ever complained about in the Hitman series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Welcome Back Agent 47!

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Nov 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

From Publisher Square Enix & Developer IO Interactive comes Hitman Absolution, the 5th Installment from the Hitman Series where players follow Agent 47 who takes on his most dangerous contract to date. Hitman Absolution is an intense mix of serenity and obscenity, its foul-mouthed criminals and grubby henchmen adding a layer of thick grime to otherwise quaint small-town streets and warm desert sands. Agent 47 returns in this open-ended linear challenging game to hit up one final contract by his former handler Diana Burnwood who went rogue & died by your hand & the tasks are to protect a girl named Victoria, stop a crimelord named Blake Dexter who made you the Most Wanted man to date, kill his associates & stop Assassin Nuns hired by Blake who will do whatever it takes to stop 47. Your tasks are to either eliminate your contracts using 47's amazing stealth skills, go in guns blazing using 47's combat skills, or choose your enviroments to take out your contracts & make it look like an accident. Also you must avoid or kill the assassin nuns & walk away like nothing happened. Story is somewhat Phenomenal, Stealth Gameplay is tense & has become more challenging than ever also Combat is excellent. Art Design is amazing & Soundtrack can make the game tense & Sound Design is great which is another reason to play Hitman. The many challenges/options to complete your tasks are what makes the game great. Characters Design & Voice Acting is well put & Level Design is epic. Game is not perfect, game does have some flaws & issues like the A.I. use in levels, cell phone coversations, story hobbles a bit near the end & leaves some gaps but in the end its good to have Agent 47 back & we needed him. If you still love playing Hitman games like I do & love the amazing storyline then this game is for you & newcomers beware for this might not be your game. Hitman Absolution gets an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by mrevilbunny39 (SHERWOOD, AR) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great levels designs fun new story thats like a movie, gameplay is amazing above every other Hitmans gameplay, this game is a buy no doubt. This is the best game of the year

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game was fun

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Apr 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game was fun, but I like more of the stand your ground and fight first person shooters, not the sneaking around most of the time style. Good storyline, and plenty of action. If you like the more stealthy style of FPS's then recommend giving this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game!

posted by wolf_gamer (FOUNTAIN CITY, IN) May 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the graphics are awesome as well as the gameplay, it is worth buying, the little details are great, they're big crowds in this game which Square Enix did a wonderful job on this game, it gives you the beauty and the intensity of real stealth game. I applaud this game because of the graphics and the story line of Agent 47, as well as the work that has gone into this game. I give this my seal of approval worthy of buying. from your friend wolf_gamer, happy gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it

posted by Gabe1067 (EVERETT, MA) May 2, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Such a great game makes you actually feel like an assassin a very good 3rd person game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game EVER

posted by TV_Boss (BOISE, ID) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

By far my favorite game of all time. I have played this game so many times and it continues to entertain me each time.
Whether you are fairly new to gaming or a pro there are varying levels of difficulty. This game is simply perfection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sweet game but.....

posted by FlutieFlakes (DENVER, CO) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like a lot of games that come out, it was too short. I finished the game in like 12 hours, maybe less. Don't get me wrong, I had a blast playing it and I'm a huge HITMAN fan but at the the end of the game I was just left wanting more. Normally after I finish a game I check out the online play but in this case I was a little disappointed. The online portion of the game was pretty much just a repeat of the regular game levels with different objectives. If you're a HITMAN fan you should definitely check this game out but if you're looking for a game to take up some of your time, this isn't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool game really

posted by darkrayz (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

At first i was just going to play for the story and achivments but then as i was playing it became actually really fun and pretty cool. I didnt like the story much, but the game itself was pretty great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

READ THIS!!!!

posted by KaptinKrunch9 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Hitman: Absolution is an okay game. The story mode is fantastic and will keep you occupied until it's over. Then, excluding higher difficulties, the game is pretty much over. There IS a Hitman: Contracts mode that allows you to play in the story mode "Maps" without any objectives and mark any person in it as a target. You can mark up to three targets. Once you kill your targets you can then post your contract so that your friends can play it, and try and beat it the same way you did. This mode is fun for a while, but it dulls overtime. Hitman: Absolution is a fantastic game to rent, because it's a fun one-time experience that will inevitabley get boring. Although for the time playing it it was a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UGH...waste of time..

posted by TheMI8tyB0osh (GLENDIVE, MT) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

Ok..here's a warning..get 5hrs of gameplay under your belt...uh oh...gamesave corrupted! Ok..well lets start again, I had fun...so....now 3 missions completed...cool....uh oh ....save file corrupted....AGAIN!! :-( Fun..I think not. Just a warning...not worth the frustration. Very very unimpressed...I will not start over a third time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hitman

posted by Brownbeautyxo (OAKLAND, CA) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Limited

posted by Xman245 (LORTON, VA) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Hitman is back and better than ever. I was very exited to play this game, and its nice to get away from all these first person games like Halo 4and the new Call Of Duty. The game is about when Agent 47 kills one of his targets he feels guilt for the first time, and the only way to get over his guilt is to fulfill his targets dying wish and that is to protect her daughter. The game is a really good stealth game, and it was a fairly long game took me 12 hours to finish. One of the problems I had with this game is that it was limited. There were only 2 game modes, caimpain and contracts. Contracts is where you set up your own missions to challenge your friends. Another issue I had with this game is that when you put on a disguise everyone with that outfit on every one with the same outfit on will detect you. As if they know who everyone is. You can press the instinct button but you can only use it for a limited time. That's all this game is about, being limited. That's why I am giving this game a 7. The game is fun but I just wish that there were more things to do in the game. I JUST WISH IT WASN'T SOOOOOOO LIMITED!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Addition to an Excellent Series

posted by Holland_Thomas (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Don't let the bad reviews of this game fool you, it is amazing!

That said, it isn't for everyone. If you are a gun and run fan, this will bore you. In order for Hitman to be enjoyed, as with every title in this outsanding series, you must enjoy stealth games. The pacing is slow, the gunfights will kill you. You have to stick to the shadows, use disguises, and strategy to decide the best way to procede through a level. I have played and loved every game in this series, and this one is an amazing addition with tons of new ways to assassinate your tagets. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay is magnificent, and the story is interesting enogh with amazing voice acting.

The game is not without it's flaws, however. The need to use instinct when in a disguise is frustrating and takes away from the experience of killing someone only to steal their clothes. The game is fairly short and contracts mode, while fun, offered nothing to keep me playing once I defeated the main campaign.

This is one of those games that makes Gamefly totally worth it. It isn't worth the sixty bucks, due to lenght, but it is a must play for fans of the stealth genre.

BEWARE: you need patience and an understanding of the stealth genre to play. If you are looking for a COD paced action shooter, look elswhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

re-rent blood contracts or one of the first 2

posted by hisuphola (SKOKIE, IL) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 58 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

After re-playing (or playing for first time) of those ones, you will see this game does not do them justice, but as a hitman that many play as a seriel killer, really really care about justice?
That is for you to decide after you re-rent one of the better hitman games.

Overall an obvious sell out, pandering to the current kids, and though not nearly at all as bad as Duke as this is enjoyable and decent-ish, maybe just maybe Agent 47 should have stayed gone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad... really bad...

posted by PadreGamer (KIRKLAND, WA) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Welcome to the "open world" of outdated games. They tell us what to do, where to go, what choices to make and how, what buttons to press and when...
But they forgot to tell us when to pause to go relief ourselves. No good. They should put more thought into how to play the game for us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hitman

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 36 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

overated. so lame . snoozefest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for renting

posted by wakefield724 (SHARPSVILLE, PA) Nov 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Very fun game. I am a huge fan. I would not buy the game due to the fact after you beat it there is nothing else to do. Does not take too long to beat. Great for renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ultimate Hitman Game

posted by GreenTeaNinja (DULUTH, GA) Aug 31, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I loved how you had a dozen options to finish each game, and the funny conversations youd over hear id like to by more hitman series' games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Uh

posted by brenden612 (HUDSON, NH) Jul 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game was fun up until it froze. I was about five or six hours into the game when it happened. I decided that it would be enough gaming for one day and went to bed. I came back to it the next day and all my progress was gone. I did some research and this is apparently a pretty common occurrence.
So yeah the game is alright you just have to prepare to lose all the game progress every one in a while...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by unbornsniper (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jul 18, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

this is one of the best games i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horribly boring

posted by vindicator73 (RICHMOND, KY) Jul 15, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Wow I didn't know there were games where you spent hours doing absolutely nothing but hiding in corners. The last Hitman was fun, but this is not. Even if you want to fight instead of hide the game kills you unless you go exactly by it's script. This makes you realize how good Call of Duty, and Halo really are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse