Buy Heavy Fire: Shattered Spear for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Heavy Fire: Shattered Spear

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
2.0

296 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for everyone and not ready for sale

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 31, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Just to start out with this game is not good for everyone. It is a classic lightgun style game since you don't do anything but aim and reload.

So that said, it is very not ready for release, the control is easy enough and yet, horrible. The aiming reticle reacts slowly to you and moves slow. In other words you can aim and shoot at one person in the same amount of time it takes them to empty a clip, and they do not fire full auto.

Cover system is alright, you use the right stick to decide to take cover or not. Course there are instances where there is no cover and these are when the slow reaction time comes to the front and kicks your hiny.

Game itself looks well enough, it's not groundbreaking but it's not simple either, basic run of the mill every other shooter made in the last few years.

Basic design is pretty good, very not what the military would face and react to the way you do in the game. Otherwise it's well thought out.

This game would be good if they had say gotten a light gun to work on kinect like they planned. Alternately made a light gun to work on the Xbox, or put this on a different console. As it stands now, this game is a waste of time, theirs and ours. It is not horrible but definitely not a good game as it stands now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever!

posted by J_Turk007 (WYOMING, MI) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible... where to begin. Bad graphics, Bad gameplay, bad audio, and poor playability. I spent 3 hours trying to give this game a chance and as a gamer who can usually find at least one good quality in almost any game, this game fails. You are a soldier placed in situation similar to most other shooters, you have a mission and you need to shoot your way to the finish.

The flaws: Poor graphics, poor gameplay, poor audio, poor video, no player freedom (arcade style shooter/ your only movement control is the crosshairs). Your character is controlled by AI and your path and movement choices are not your own. The aim on the crosshairs are crude and lack refinement so your crosshairs react slow and with some lag. A waste of plastic and total disgrace for an Xbox 360 game. The only reason i rate this game a 1 is because you cant rate with a negative. This game is a perfect example of why you want to use gamefly before you buy otherwise this game would have been money down the drain.

The positive: NONE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No

posted by Loki_del_sol (BELLINGHAM, WA) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

J... Just NO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A poor budget arcade shooter

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Feb 10, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Heavy Fire is a game you'd expect to see at the arcade in the 1980's you'd pay 25cents to play. If you've ever played any quarter arcade game like Terminator or Lethal Weapon (where you actually use a physical gun to aim and shoot), then expect that type of play with this game.

You have no control over moving of your character. You can only use the LS to control the reticle to aim and shoot. Your character automatically moves 100%, but at times you get the option to use cover to duck in/out to shoot. This was never made for using a controller, and it feels bad.

You have no regenerating health, but can shoot powerups. There are things to blow up like barrels, but without any control over moving, the game gets old after about 4 minutes of play. It's got the old school difficulty that you don't see anymore either, so I think most who rent will be put off simply by those factors.

You have only 1 health bar and the only way to gain health is by shooting some random health icons on screen. So if you have almost zero health and get to a checkpoint and die, you'll spawn over and over again with almost zero health again. So you have to usually restart the entire level... what a huge pain. They used to do that so you would have to stick another quarter in the cabinet to play, but that concept doesn't work on a console with a controller.

It looks brutally old too, with very poor sound (that seemed to go on and off at will during missions) and horrible graphics for a game released now. It looks like a dusty terd that was left to harden somewhere 9 years ago, and now was curiously revived to be a multi-console release for a reason I cannot understand. If anyone spent full retail purchasing this game, I would contact the mfg and get your money back.

This game is what it is and nothing more. You can tell it was a very low budget game that never stood a chance, so probably avoid this one unless you want some easy gamer points.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A pile of exrement

posted by trashquatch (CARY, NC) Apr 27, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is horrendous. Do not even waste your time on it. It is set up like an arcade shooter, but translates to a pile of dog doo. Graphics are awful as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why was this game made?

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game I've ever played in my life nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heavy Fire....Heavy Diapointment

posted by tjcarr6 (BEACHWOOD, NJ) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Was no way a good game. After I got it, paly it about three time and I was done with it because of disapointment. Sent it back the same day...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heavy Fire Spearhead

posted by elkhunter2 (RIMROCK, AZ) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

totally sucks if there was a minus number I would give it -8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Review of Heavy Fire!!! Worst game ever!!!

posted by Bigdog7683 (OCALA, FL) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To any one reading these reviews to help them make a decision on a game. My sugestion would be to not even bother with this game, this is the first review on gamefly I have ever left even though, I am a member of for then two years. This game was so bad that I had to write a review!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

never rent this game!

posted by mrtwohand (NORTH WINDHAM, CT) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

never rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't know a shooter could be this BAD!!!!

posted by ctjackson1972 (HOPEWELL, VA) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

waste of all materials used to make this game. complete garbage, game play was terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste

posted by GazzaF1 (HELENA, MT) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not sure where to start on this one. The one thing you need to know is that you don't control your much. Your character is in rails and you aim, nothing else. Don't bother with this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously???

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2004

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst games I've ever put in my XBox. It was back in the mailer in record time to return.

Not sure what to say except I'll be sure to stay away from this companie's titles in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waste your time

posted by nellynel (RENO, NV) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

horrible game feels like a 90's arcade game but alot lets enjoyable. played about half way then couldnt take it anymore had to shut it off and mail it back asap. graphic where bad controls were confussing and annoying. so dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by SForce (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Shattered Spear

posted by AngrySquirrel (OCALA, FL) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Please, Do not waste your time on this game... is terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

heavy fire: shattered spear

posted by riverpuppy80 (CORTLAND, NY) May 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it a game that you just shoot in if you are a beging gamer get these game you will not have to move your guy at all he does it himself all way if cover use it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i well

posted by fatebigbub (FORT SMITH, AR) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i hoppd for better bad bad bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Find the nearest trash can and throw in this gam

posted by johnt6226 (ATOKA, OK) Jun 5, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

One of the poorest examples of a game attempt I have ever seen. Controls are unlike anything I have seen. I would recommend you remove it from your listing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »