Buy Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

6649 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new coat of paint does wonders

posted by Jwright84 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I remember being wowed the first time I played Halo on the original Xbox. The story hooked me and I played through the game in an entire evening. The reveal of the flood was totally unexpected and added an interesting twist to story.

Now, more than 10 years later, I get to relive that experience with updated graphics and achievements. Halo was one of the best games ever made and to see it come back to life in this HD remake is a real treat. If you have never played the original Halo I highly recommend you rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A little less than expected...

posted by Yomaster (MANTECA, CA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

46 out of 64 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

It seems so long ago I was loading Halo into my original Xbox and experiencing history as it was being made. Naturally, when I heard about Halo: CE Anniversary, I couldn't wait to get my hands on a copy and relive the memories. Unfortunately, this version didn't exactly live up to ALL of my expectations.

On the single player side, this remake ROCKS. HD graphics, Kinect integration, 3D support, the works. Graphics aren't quite on par with the likes of Battlefield 3 or Uncharted 3, as small details such as grass/weeds in the distance begin to look a little jaggy on my 51" Samsung Plasma. There are a few bugs here and there, and the single player engine's graphics do suffer from a little framerate jutter, too, most noticable in intense combat or when turning a warthog (the Warthog seems to flicker back and forth in view). Otherwise, the presentation is great, and the gameplay is solid.

The multiplayer is where I REALLY feel let down with this. I just couldn't wait to experience Sidewinder in HD and 3D. However, I came to discover that not only is 3D NOT supported for the multiplayer, this edition doesn't even include all the maps from the original Halo. It only includes 7 popular maps, one of which is taken from Halo 2. Bummer. The multiplayer is Reach's skeleton, so no original Assault Rifle, no swapping back to old graphics, etc. Reach's player persistence is still there, though.

Overall, this release is great to experience again the Halo storyline we once played 10 years ago, or to finally experience the Halo 10 years ago some weren't even old enough to play yet. However, the nostalgia stops at the multiplayer, where it becomes obvious we're just playing a map pack for Reach. Disappointing, to say the least.

Bottom line is, if you're looking for an awesome single player remake, this is your go-to game, but if you're expecting a TOTAL Halo:CE remake, this definitely isn't it. Try a little harder, 343.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A HALO MASTERPIECE REVAMPED FOR THIS GEN!

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

47 out of 70 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is how it all began, & how we can relive the game that gave the Xbox its 1st Hero. We all know the Campaign was Great & the levels were challenging(especially The Library). Multiplayer was fun before and after Xbox Live was created. The Music also made the game more Memorable. All i can say is HALO will forever be in our Hearts. HALO:Combat Evolved Anniversary gets a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse