Buy Halo 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Halo 4

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

7089 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MASTER CHIEF RETURNS IN GRAND STYLE.

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Nov 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

49 out of 69 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I think the best thing about Halo 4 is that it feels so fresh. It still has a lot of the same core mechanics from past Halo titles but 343 has breathed new life into the series and given it some new interesting elements.

THE CAMPAIGN - While I do feel that 343 probably could have put a little more time into the storytelling part of the game, its still quite fun. You get to see both Master Chief and Cortana interact on a really human level as you try to save her from her Rampancy issue while fighting the ancient evil that was woken up on the planet Requiem. The main gripe I had with the campaign was that the missions felt a little too linear at times with few chances to explore. However, it was still a very enjoyable campaign experience.

VISUALS - The guys at 343 really pushed the limits on the 360 here. I wouldn't call it the best looking console game ever but its pretty darn close to it. My mind was blown away when I first stepped foot on Requiem. The colors of the landscape and the lighting in the world were truly something to behold.

SOUND - I would expect this kind of sound from the Frostbite engine but the folks at 343 really surprised me on this one. The sound is absolutely amazing and if you have a proper sound system or a good pair of headphones then you are in for a real treat. Weapons sound better, explosions sound way more forceful and the sound of Master Chiefs armor acutally moving around adds to the immersion of the game.

MULTIPLAYER - Still the same ole Halo MP we are use to except with some added elements. Armor abilities are back this time around but now we also have Strategic Packages that serve to give you a boost in combat like Unlimited Sprint. Along with the Strategic Packages there are Ordinance drops that you unlock during matches as well which award you with different weapons and boosts like Damage Boost. Some veteran players might be disgruntled by this but I think its pretty refreshing and a nice change of pace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good start to a new trilogy

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

31 out of 44 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Halo 4, what to say about Halo 4? I'll admit, I was very skeptical about this game when it was announced, seeing as how Halo 3 had ended. I decided to give it a try anyway though, and honestly I was amazed. It is a a great game, so here we go:

The Good:
- The graphics and the sounds are amazing in Halo 4, almost comparable to what the Frostbite 2 engine can do for BF3.
- Has a good storyline, and shows more of the human side of our buddy Master Chief and Cortana
- End of the campaign leaves you wanting to know what is going to happen next
- The multiplayer is much better than it was in Halo Reach
- A decent amount of new guns to have fun with, of course with a bunch of old favorites showing up as well.
- Lasky, nuff said.

The Meh:
- Can't help but to feel like it is the same story arc as the first Halo in a way, just on a new planet.

The Bad:
- The campaign was incredibly short, like Call of Duty type short, and a little choppy in places.

Long Story Short:
If you are a fan of the Halo series, you will love this game. If you used to be a fan of the Halo series, but aren't sure if you want to try the new one, you do, you'll love it. 343 Industries did an amazing job with this game, and it will be good to see where they take this Reclaimer series and where it all ends up.
It gets a solid 9/10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HALO & Then Some

posted by RedskinsGM2B (CHASE CITY, VA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

21 out of 32 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

The 1st thing that hits you is the visuals. This game has truly raised the bar with the graphics & sharp scenery alone. It's truly pleasurable to just explore. It can get you distracted from the mission at hand. 343 has managed to make the series look fresh & reborn which, after 7 iterations, is probably exactly what any series of this kind of veteranship & player base needs.
Secondly & most importantly, in my humble opinion is, the story. Right out of the gate, you feel like your watching/living/participating/suffering...a Hollywood blockbuster. You are strapped with a sense of urgency & desperation, within the first 10 minutes. Brilliant writing & spot-on voice acting flesshes out the characters & instills importance with almost every hovering "Hold X". A genius marriage of visuals & drama to dristract you from the oncoming explosion of action just around the corner or on the other side of that blast door.
Microsoft Studios & 343 packs all of the aforementioned candy into its offering of competetive multiplayer. Nothing suffers. To make it even better, they've thrown in the mainstay of "Forge" & some extra ideas for glory hounds out there with "Spartan" mode & "Infinity Missions" & yes, even MORE.
Finally, what keeps a game on the shelves & in a players library is simply the "replayability" value. With so much landscape & frantic gameplay, it's very easy for a player to miss seeing things & doing things with just 1 or 2 plays through the fantastic "Campaign". Add in HALO 4 benchmark multiplayer systems & dozens of modes & achievements that continue to raise the bar for the entire industry & you'll have yourself so many different ways to play & end your day that...you might not be playing that new military shooter, after all.
What Microsoft Studios & 343 has accomplished is nothing short of spitting in the critics & haters faces by showing that they don't ALWAYS disregard the public & others property. This time they paid attention & deserve a HUGE 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A reclaimation of the glory days

posted by beeronasti (ODESSA, TX) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

halo 4 reclaims its throne with a blaze of glory. truly this epic quest reestablishes the mantle of glory that has been so thoroughly tarnished...story telling, combat, and music all combine to give a presentation that leaves one awe struck and amazed at how far the series has come.

This campaign is moving and truly epic, a return to its roots in that you once again care about the trials and tribulations that the master chief must undergo and rise above. the outcome isnt some meaningless solution that must be slogged towards, rather it is a culmination of all the minute struggles that comprise this enticing campaign. rarely does a video game move me like this has, and never has it looked so good doing so. if you can tell the difference between the prologue and a movie then your a better man than I, and while the main parts of the game arent as shiny they are still far and away one of the most beautiful games ive ever had the pleasure of playing. sterling symphony comes in at opportune moments to give a sublime feeling of greatness to the experience.

with varied enemies and an entirely new host of weapons to use this game has the feel of a brand new halo, almost like how the first one felt when we learned about the covenant. awe inspiring back drops and extremely detailed environments provide a new playground that weve never seen. gone are the endless corridors and mindless repetitive dribble that made up the last few games. gone are the npc characters that fall by the roadside without a care, suddenly you find yourself trying to save them just because thats what you want to do.

multiplayer is also fun, it seems to move much faster and it has an excellent flow. the customization of powers is a nice touch, and yet a stock amateur can still take down a top level guy with a quick hand and steady sights.

well worth a purchase, IMHO, this is one of the best games all year. This game makes being the master chief amazing again, and the journey has never been

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Second (or maybe 3rd) Opinion

posted by Angelzbane (TORRANCE, CA) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

A glace at the score would likely spark a precursory assumption that I'm probably unqualified to have a real opinion anyway, but you've read this much so maybe hear [sic:read] me out a moment longer.

I was stunned when I opened up my IGN mag from this month and saw that Halo 4 had made a solid claim for Game of the Year via the fans (and quite a few editors as well), and with my curiosity piqued this game went immediately to the top of the queue. (Briefly my background: 1, 3, Reach). When I popped it in I kept thinking to myself (as I'm sure many who've already played it were), "Gee, this opening is sure a lot similar to the original..." and no sooner had we [spoilers] landed on the Forerunner planet and hopped into a happenstance intact warthog [end spoilers] that I finally realized what this franchise has left to offer in form of a first person shooter- nothing! Guys and gals if you're thinking this game has anything different to offer you than any of the other Halo games you're going to be sorely disappointed. It looks graphically amazing and stunning in a lot of places, but the story is just more of the same.

If you're the type of person who loves Halo for what it is and are always wanting more of the exact same, then this game is probably your cup o' tea. In my opinion it's a fallacy that this humanist look at the Master Chief is so refreshing- that's nearly exactly the same feel they were going for in Reach; these brothers fighting and dying for each other not because they had orders, but because they had such strong bonds. For those of you who crave interactive story telling with visceral combat intertwined with strategy and tactics... this isn't the game.

I'm writing this for those on the edge out there. If you're on the edge of buying it my advice to you is RENT IT FIRST. Duh. If you're considering renting I'll say this: play it if you have to (I did), but don't be surprised when you send it back faster than you thought. Not GOTY material at al

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game itself

posted by jaden3355 (CLINTON, NC) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

21 out of 38 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

the story is a 10/10
the gameplay 9/10
graphic10/10
and master chief being awesome as ever 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really good but...

posted by patsfan123 (WILMINGTON, DE) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

now i have had halo 4 for about 3 weeks now and i got to say its a lot of fun however there is something missing i dont know how to explain it but for what ever resign i just got board of this halo i played 3 and reach for about 10 months and never got board but with this halo i just lose interest dont know how to explain it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST HALO EVER!!!!!!

posted by SEANTHEGAMER360 (GERMANTOWN, MD) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

the title says it all.....need i say more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

READ THIS!!!!

posted by KaptinKrunch9 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Halo 4 looks great, feels great, sounds great, and is an outstanding shooter that anyone can enjoy. Except people who want to play "Halo". Halo 4 is a great game, but it doesn't "FEEL" like a Halo game. It feels like a new sci-fi shooter that ripped off Halo. Considering Bungie, the previous maker of Halo, didn't make this game. I didn't find this suprising. Now 343 Industries has taken over and changed A LOT! For the better, or worse is really your opinion. Which is why I definatley reccomend this game to rent. You never know, you might just love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No longer halo.

posted by ryano9929 (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

23 out of 46 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Halo 4 tries to take stuff from COD and halo to build a new multiplayer game and fails. It just doesn't feel like Halo anymore. There is no reason to change when you are selling 8 million copies, at least a game. With only 10 maps in multiplayer, people will get bored of this game quick. Weapon balance is also an issue. Unfortunately the developers will need to update the game to keep people playing.

The campaign is essentially a 'greatest hits' of all other halo games. Any big halo fan will instantly draws comparisons to other campaigns in the series. Example being one mission where you fly a pelican around a city, get out push a button and go to another place, which is the exact same mission as the one in reach except you fly the pelican instead of a falcon. Every level requires you to go some where and push a button, showing that the developers didn't get creative at all.
The story of the game is decent. While chief and cortana are humanized and portrayed well, the villain is completely under-developed. You don't really feel like he is a threat at all. You just go through the motions making this another day in the park for chief, which isn't good. This game also has one of the worst endings in game history, surely somebody said this during development but its still in the game.

In the end this isn't halo anymore. By trying to attract new players they have created a game with no identity. This isn't halo or COD. It would actually work better under a new IP. Unless halo goes back to the way it was the series will go by the wasteside.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Welcome back, Chief!

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Halo 4 is very good game that hits all the right notes but doesn't do anything to break the mold. 343 obviously wanted to play things safe and give fans more of the same Halo experience. Not that it's necessarily a bad thing, just don't go in expecting a revolution.

The most impressive thing about it are the graphics which are amazingly beautiful! And that is really saying something considering the age of the 360 hardware nearing the end of its life cycle. There were a few low rez textures here and there but they were rare and not very noticeable.

It's not a perfect 10 but still a good solid shooter that is definitely worth playing, especially with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spartans never die

posted by Hey2thezeus (DUNKIRK, NY) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Master chief is back and he's never looked better. The new enemies are great and require strategy to beat. Playing on harder difficulties really makes you appreciate the new enemies and their abilities. There's a lot of variety in the missions that keep the campaign fun and keeps you wondering what's coming next.

Multiplayer is as fun as ever, 343 did a great job with the maps. Weekly updates keeps the game fresh with new maps and game modes. Can't wait for them to start adding forge maps and game types made by the halo community.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Story mode is horrible.

posted by Cyburai (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been a long time fan of the Halo games, and have played every one, minus ODST. I was very excited that there would be a new race of alien to combat, as I, like most, were kinda bored with the usual bogeys. It didn't take long to realize that this was going to be very much the same game as all the others, but with upgraded graphics and effects (which I loved), and an extremely sappy romance (which seemed to have been written by someone who has never actually had a romance).

There were some good parts in a couple of the missions, mostly while outside, as the inside scenarios reminded me of every Halo prior to this one, and why shouldn't they, the architecture is of the same manufacturer, but I felt like there was way too much inside combat and not enough fresh air.

The new enemies were nothing to write home about, and their weapons just pretty much paralleled the weapons already in place, but of a different make. Not much creativity involved.

The real kicker, and the thing that wanted me to write the most disgusting review ever, was the way that it ended, and the (SPOILER ALERT) lack of actually getting to fight a main enemy. Instead, there is a semi-cinematic scene that tells you to press 2 buttons at specific times.

The multi-player is awesome and a ton of fun, but this will most likely be the last story mode I waste my time on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Anything else wouldn't have been good enough.

posted by Cortimi (OZARK, MO) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Somehow, 343 pulled it off. Even with competing interests they gave fanboys, critics, and causual fans laike everything they wanted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Impressed with Halo 4

posted by Insevin0 (SARASOTA, FL) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Real interesting. Great graphics, weapons, vehicles, plot, and characters. The backstory behind the forerunners was significantly elaborated upon and the Cortana plot was spot on.

Complaints are lack of single-player location variety, most are indoors in forerunner/promethean facilities/ships. They could have shown us more about Requiem. Halo Wars was also set on a forerunner shield world and they did a better job of showing different landscapes and settings. A couple locations that aren't are in a UNSC ship and a UNSC space station. I do know some of the beginning was outdoors and the whole mammoth thing where you get your vehicle exposure was outdoors thats pretty cool. Not a lot of new vehicles though aside from the mammoth and that uber-phantom covenant ship thing on the mammoth mission. There could also be more promethean units, it seems there are only two main types aside from their little watcher things and 343 looking drone balls.

It was a lot of fun and I still have a lot to do, such as terminals. And I haven't even touched multiplayer yet, I'm excited to do that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like Halo, you're gonna love this one.

posted by Slarky (LIBERTY, NC) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Halo 4 delivers to our expectations. The new faction doesn't add a lot of character but the vehicular modes help to mix up the game-play a bit. The story is great and the graphics may be some of the best I've seen, and certainly head and shoulders above most console graphics. I'm up for another ride alongside the Master Chief anytime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Illin Bro!

posted by cgknzip (MARICOPA, AZ) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

14 out of 32 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The graphics are killer ten of ten they made a game that is the old halo we've been craving with a hint of new that we've needed since reach. It is a must have for any 360 owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

doesn't follow the halo series

posted by conkiko55 (PLEASANTON, CA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game may have good graphics but the story does not even have a halo in it, can you believe that!?!
HALO without HALO!
there is alot of new guns and enemys but ARBITOR isnt in the story, almost none of the original characters are in this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

meh...

posted by ZOMBIEKING117 (AKRON, OH) Dec 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

It's okay I guess, Forge is a step down. NO forge world just small maps to forge on. NO simple menus they have to be over complicated or just pointless. NO online pass which is a great thing so renters and pre-owned buyers can play online without forking 20 bucks over for online play, yay! NO free time to do things in campaign do to many many many random enemies, like in halo 3 or reach or 2 or 1 or even ODST where you can look for interesting easter eggs and bugs which was fun; I guess you can put it on a lower difficulty and spend about ten minutes fighting enemies but would you do that or would you just be like forget it and run past them? Online okay but not as good as reach's. Also, apparently 343 industries likes to "borrow" things from Call of Duty; Spartan ops REALLY!? Also spartan points (really?) and weapons seem like they come or were based on CoD weapons. I Love Cod but keep my Halo and Cod separate please! Plus if you thought Cortana was a nuisance in the other games well apparently she doesn't ever shut up, ever. It's online is very very good but somewhat bad, trying to mix halo reach with with halo 3's online is not a good idea. armor, emblems, and even weapons for your load outs are what you will be doing unlike halo reach where you either buy it or have it already unlocked for you. all in all it's okay I guess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best halo yet.

posted by sethson (PUEBLO, CO) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

At first, I was not to happy with halo being taken on bye another company. But when playing this game, I could only point out the improvements.

The Good
- The graphics are some of the best on consoles yet. I was wowed when first seeing requiem.
- The gameplay is just as good as playing multiplayer in Halo 3 or the campaign. The controls are the easiest to get used to, and the game plays flawlessly.
- The campaign is very well done. For being a short game, it is one of the best ones yet. By far the most emotional. You get attached to the characters and you learn that the man in the suit is still human deep down.
- The AI in the game actually seem like they have a brain. They know how to shoot and take cover and use the environment to their advantage.

The meh
- The multiplayer modes are alright. There isn't that much of an option and they got rid of firefight mode too. But knowing how the past games were, they will add a LOT more to it in the future, that and maps.
-The forge mode is not the best. The controls are not as solid as they were in reach, but the maps are all great for it. I hope in the future they decide to add sandbox and foundry as a "flashback map pack"

The bad
- The 8 y/o's that play the game. I can hardly get in a match without some 8 year old kid yelling into the mic that he got shot by a teammate and then proceeds to start a rampage against the entire team because of it.
-The OVERPOWERED needler. This gun has cost me more lives than any other weapon in campaign. It shoots 5 needles into you and you explode. They are almost impossible to dodge anymore, and MUST be nerfed.\

Overall analysis... 9.5/10 The game is one of the best I have played on xbox, and gives you a breath of fresh air from reach. It is definitely worth the purchase in the end. If you are a FPS gamer, then this is the best game of your choosing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Masterpiece

posted by Jakefiz (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

343 had a tough act to follow with Bungie, but 343 did everything Bungie did, and went above and beyond. The campaign was so immense, deep, and emotional and you really realize the human behind the armor. The multiplayer is addictive, the forge is jam packed, the graphics are beautiful, and an overall beautiful game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst halo yet

posted by bruatlintent (CAMPBELLSVILLE, KY) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

the multiplayer in this game was a disapointment to me halo used to take skill to get kills now it all determines on who has the most op gun no skill at all story is good multiplayer sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!!!!!!

posted by shadow695 (NORTH BERGEN, NJ) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game all together is probably one of the better games to come out for the 360 in a long time. The only reason i didn't give it a ten is because the multiplayer isn't the same as it was before. It used to be about skill and the better player, but now it just takes a more powerful weapon to beat even the most skilled player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Riding coat-tails

posted by JohnH (MISSOULA, MT) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

11 out of 27 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

It's HALO 4. Nevermind that at no point do you go to a Halo ring. Nevermind that with no fan fare or explanation you are forced to fight a new race and use new weapons that although you've never seen before, you have the names or and inexplicably know exactly how to use. Nevermind that the only significant portions of the story are text in terminals and not actually told during the game. Nevermind that it's painfully clear this is set to be another trilogy at least. Nevermind the glaring bugs like Wraiths getting stuck between rocks and ground instead of flying around. Nevermind Cortana's plumped up features to add "appeal". Nevermind all the glaring rehashes of weapons and enemies. Nevermind the campaign can be completed on Normal in about 6 hours tops.

It's Halo, so you're probably going to play it. It's not awful by any means, but there are obvious issues. The multiplayer's economy system is basic but fine. It's Halo, so instead of fun Co-Op teamplay, you're going to be paired up with a couple 13yo spastics that scream in their mics or just generally breathe heavy and randomly shout snack orders out to Mom, they are also going to run you over and teamkill you at any chance.

It's not bad. The effects are very good looking and it does a great job on the 360 hardware (I'm looking at you BF3 and MOH!). But it's got almost none of the feeling the first Halo did. And less than 2 and 3 even if that seems unlikely. Hoping they step up the story so it's a little more rich and complex than, NEW ENEMY - Master Chief SMASH! Blue Girl SAD, Master Chief SAD. Alien weapons developed at different time and place than human weapon but function exactly the same PEW PEW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best halo games yet.

posted by dja3362 (VERMONTVILLE, MI) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I play this game for hours with my friends and online. Like the new look to master chief and to the new enemies along with the campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse