Buy God of War Origins Collection for PS3
view large frontback

God of War Origins Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

2738 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must Have For Any GOW Fan

posted by Winnerwho (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Chains Of Olympus - This was an ok game. The story was boring and not epic. The gameplay is like the other GOW games and i had a blast playing it. The graphics are ok in the remake. I think they are slight worse the GOW1 remake. When the game zooms in on kratos. You can see the pixels and jaggies. The biggest con about this game is that it short. I finished it in like 4-5 hours. After you finish the game. There is challenge modes that you can try to complete and unlock trophies.

Ghost Of Sparta- This game was amazing. This is a must-play for any GOW fan. The story is basically the teaser ending of GOW2. Kratos goes out to find his brother. This is an epic adventure with epic boss battles. The graphics in this game looks amazing. It on par with the GOW2 remake. After you finish the game. There a arena mode where you slay a bunch of enemies until you die and challenge of the gods.

Bonus- When you enter the game into your PS3. If you go to the video section. There is a video called "Game directors live". All of the game directors of the GOW games basically sit down and talk about GOW. This is an must watch if you're a god of war fan.

Overall this game is a blast. If you're a GOW fan and don't own the psp games. Buy it to complete your collection.

If you have the games on the psp. If you want to re-buy the game for hd graphics, smooth 60fps and trophies. Then do it. If those aren't a selling point for you. Then don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good got better w/ this one!

posted by cloakXdagger (OMAHA, NE) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played Chains of Olympus & Ghost of Sparta on PSP and enjoyed both, I was excited to see this on PS3. The HD enhancement cleans up the graphics from the small screen, nicely done. Chains is a shorter game, but has some impressive scenes & battles in it that are good enough for at least one replay after beating the game. Ghost is longer and considerably more epic. The plot in this one is also a lot deeper than Chains. Both are good for God of War fans or someone just looking for legit action gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome but Short

posted by SoulGamer (STAFFORD, TX) May 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Both games are awesome. Pros: great epic boss fights, great graphics for a psp game, responsive controls, good puzzles, new weapons like the spear. Cons: game in incredible short...part 1 took 3 hours and part 2 took 5 hours to beat. Not enough variety in weapons. In fact, you only get two weapons in each game plus a few spells, that's it. Overall, it worth renting, but spending 40 bucks is a bit too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than 95% of 'new' games

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I played these on PSP when they came out on there, and that system didn't really show just how good these games are - this is brought to life on PS3 - sure they don't look as good as GOW3, but that isn't really the point. Both excellent games, with the improvements in Ghost over Chains being comparable to the improvement made from GOW2 over GOW1 (unfair to put the PS3 exclusive GOW3 into this mix). Chains is a short game, a competent player should be able to walk through in ~5 hours (similar in length to Limbo, if you've played that - and you should). Ghost is longer, I think, but I got stuck forever in a unfairly tough mid game boss battle (not to give too much away, it was for the birds...). But combined together, you basically get as much content as a full GOW game.

Gameplay is essentially the same as per other games in the series, complete with mini-game deaths of mythical creatures, amazing spots that someone obviously spent ages crafting, only for you to walk through in 20 seconds... it's really amazing to think these were handheld games. Can't wait for Vita... :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

god of awesomeness

posted by olvidate1 (ALAMEDA, CA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

These games are just too good to pass up.The combat, the gameplay,the story, and the extras.If you are a fan you must play these two.And after that play #2 so you kill them sisters of fate again.Serves them right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay, but falls short for the God of War

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Apr 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

"Origins" collects the two PSP titles of the franchise, "Chains of Olympus" and "Ghost of Sparta", gives them the HD makeover and puts them on one disc to play on your TV screen. Sadly, there's nothing very impressive here to make these really more than a rental. Both titles have the stellar voice acting that has been a mainstay of the series, and that's really the best thing to be said. Graphics look worse on CoO than GoS, but they're not bad, just not up to series standards. Gameplay is pretty much standard GoW fare, with the standard Kratos weaponry which can be upgraded, as always, through the collection of red orbs. Controls haven't changed from the numbered games, and they come with both the good and the bad from the numbered titles of the series. CoO has the weaker of the two stories, with GoS being a bit stronger and more compelling due to its more personal nature. Neither game is very long- about 5 hours each should get you through if you so desire to finish. You can't switch between games without fully quitting though, so keep that in mind if you wish to jump between titles. Though GoS is the better of the two, poor save point placement and some cheap deaths can lead to more frustration than fun. Which is a shame. Unless you're a die-hard God of War fan, you can pass on purchasing this. A rental should be fine to satisfy your curiosity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ghost makes up for chains

posted by jwoo38 (APOPKA, FL) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

first I played through chains and wasn't impressed with much of anything. story is hollow and pointless. Game looks pretty bad in places and doesn't really have much going for it. Then I played through ghost and finally the sense of scale returns with it. The story has more meat and it does a good job of delivering a little bit of epicness that chains was lacking. The 3D isn't too bad and really adds to the games in areas, mostly in ghost. It's worth a rental and can be fun but it's games like this that make me glad I use gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sale???

posted by Cedric32 (CEDAR HILL, TX) Oct 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

Why the ability to purchase this game isn't an option???? This would complete my Trilogy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

These were definitely PSP games first

posted by KeeperOfTheBeer (MADISON, WI) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Both Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta are a big step back from the main series. In comparison, these games are short, simplistic, and the combat is riddled with poor camera views and horrible hitboxes.

If you like the God of War series, these are worth a quick rental, but temper your expectations otherwise you'll be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thank You

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Mar 30, 2013

Member since May 2011

Be Fast On March30th Okay I Going To Red Lobster On Easter Okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

no audio

posted by making (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

no sound would play during game play.. sent back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must play for any GoW fan.

posted by Ascalon (LEWISVILLE, TX) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2006

My inital expectations for this collection bundle were pretty low, i thought it would just be two throwaway spin offs that i would forget about shortly after playing them, turns out i was half right and half wrong.

Let's start with Chains of Olympus:

It starts off very slow and if you've played the 3 console versions of the series you'd recongize that it's VERY barebones. The dialogue in the first couple hours is lackluster, just your generic Kratos rage, but i happen to love the tried and true combat formula so i stuck with it. It picks up during the middle of the game, introducing the all the puzzles and difficult combat rooms that you come to expect from the series. The real treat lies at the end of the game, a nice insight into Kratos' past and softer, more vunerable side. Overall it's passable, if you're a die hard God of War fan or just extremely hungry to play a action/adventure game then you'll find some enjoyment in this.

6/10

Now for the main event, God of war: Ghost of Sparta:

Right from the start, you'll notice a complete jump in quality in graphics and presentation from GoW:CoO. This is probably largely due to the devs having more experience with the PSP hardware and them being able to squeeze every last inch of juice of it out to put it on par with the ps2 games. It's more ambitious in it's gameplay and in it's storytelling, which i believe to be the gold standard for the series so far. Kratos is on the hunt for his brother Deimos, and will do anything and kill everything in his path to find him. You gain more insight into Kratos' childhood and they manage to flesh out Kratos's personality a lot more. You gain a lot of cool magic abilites which are easy to use and allow you to pull off lengthy combos, and overall the puzzles and environments are epic and satisfying.

If there's one God of War game you should play in this collection, it's definitely this one. 9/10, it may even be the best game of the series, which is shocking to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOD OF WAR

posted by Dunkthemonk (DAYTON, OH) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this is one of those games that keep you playing for hours. i had so much fun with this game and the best part is after i beat the first one i already had the second one on the same disk. i would highly recommend this game to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since May 2012

when i first got this game i knew itg originally came out for the psp so my expectations wernt that high yet yould expect that the camera would be fixed :(. wth the bad camera i almost rage quited a few times yet i pushed on through and was amazed by the decent story the first game was good but ghost of sparta had a nicer story. the combat was as fluid as any god of war game i reccomend this game as a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent!!!!!

posted by bradleyjmck (OPELIKA, AL) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Ghost of Sparta was awesome!! Chains of Olympus was more along the lines of the first God of War; in that the graphics and the puzzles were sub par at best. However this is a great pack of games and I would most definately recommend!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun.

posted by atoosay (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

PS1 Graphics. Very short and Easy.
Great additions to the character of Kratos. Fun to pass the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great For Fans of GoW

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

If you don't have a PSP that is. But remember above all else, these are PSP imported gaems with PSP graphics and limitations that were not changed from the port to PS3. So the story won't be that long for each of the two games.

They are no doubt fun to play but if you don't want to spend $40 on the game or whatever amount less due to GameFly, just rent the game. A must play for any God Of War fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by spbroom5 (WAYNESBORO, MS) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Good game and a definite rent. You can beat this game in about 15-20 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

God of War Origins

posted by ddwooods68 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

It was a good game and great story but they are ports from psp so they are short and the game doesn't move as good as the other God of War titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superb

posted by omnira123666 (HARRISON, NJ) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Both Games are action packed and enjoyable. As i start to play Chains Of Olympus i was instantly hooked. New magic,new weapons, and a merciless mortal wasnt the only thing of interest but the story which takes place before GOW was magnificent. Graphics for this game was acceptable and never took away from the overall experience. One bad thing in my opinion was that the storyline felt too short. My personal favorite out of these 2 games was Ghost Of Sparta . these 2 games are a must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!!!

posted by Achilles2324 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I love the God of War series, so when they converted the two psp versions to ps3, I didn't hesitate to buy them because I don't have a psp. Chains of Olympus was good but very short. Ghost of Sparta however was like a a real ps2 game. The time it took me to beat it was very approved and the different weapons I got was a dream come true. I say ps2 because it didnt have ps3 graphics but pretty close!! I give it a 9 because the length of the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still better than most games, but worst GoW titles

posted by shpock (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I rented this to play Ghost of Sparta because i had played Chains of Olympus back when it came out for PSP.

Ghost of Sparta was definitely my least favorite GoW game, and I have played them all. The plot, dealing with Kratos' brother, might have been an interesting concept but lacked any real interesting plot developments and certainly was devoid of any real emotional content beyond Kratos' usual
"I WILL MAKE THE GODS PAY FOR THIS!!!"

The game was also for SURE The EASIEST God of War game ever. Normal mode was had the dificulty of the other games' easy modes. I strongly recommend that players family with GoW games choose hard mode or you'll be bored the whole time.

Visually the game looks amazing especially considering it was originally a PSP title. It looks much smoother and better polished than other recent PS3 games (like Kingdoms of Amulur for example). While the textures and polygons are less detailed than GoW3 it came across as simply a more "story-book" style, rather than being of lower quality.

As ever combat is fun, but there's nothing new to speak of. If you like GoW you know what you're getting.

There are some unique moments in this game as it evolves Kratos' return to Sparta. For the first time in GoW you breifly walk around a town where people aren't running away and screaming. This was interesting...but pretty pointless and I think it kind took some of the allure away from the GoW universe.

I very glad I finally played this game. I would never have bought this, so I'm really glad to have GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Two Great Games

posted by InlineFourPower (MOUNT PLEASANT, MI) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

Might not top God of War 3 for graphics or anything, but these are two of the strongest God of War titles without a doubt. Ghost of Sparta has quite a few of the new gameplay features that were implemented in God of War 3, and the graphics are quite good. God of war 3 might look better, but I really think Ghost of Sparta deserves some serious consideration for best of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of war

posted by fishoof38 (NORTH PORT, FL) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I am a big fan of any god of war game, this one is as good as all the other.
fan of greek mythology, well you have the game for it
enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Franchise

posted by vlace11 (CEDAR HILL, TX) May 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I was so glad i got to play these to fill me in on this epic story i love this franchise its my favorite & i didn't own a psp thats the only reason i did have them earlier!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse