Buy God of War III for PS3
view large frontback

God of War III

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

26727 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC!!!!!

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

120 out of 145 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i am not one to usually give any game a 10 outa 10 but this game i would give an 11. this game is stunning. it plays great, looks great.

story - without ruining it for anyone, lets just say you will be hanging on the edge of your seat for the entire ride.

sound effects / voice acting - again spot on, really makes you feel immersed in the game, and who doesn't like hearing kratos talk?

visual - stunning, everything looks polished and realistic, gore is awesome, decapitations look awesome,

controls - a more polished version of the previous games, a hack and slasher, but some how never becomes boring

weapons- plentiful, all the weapons from the second one plus some kick butt additions

enemy's- Greek mythology at its finest, all the gods and heroes you haven't all ready killed are fair game in this one

i highly recommend this game, i do think you should play the first to so you understand the story, but if you just wanna jump into it you'll still have fun slashing through enemy's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Master

posted by Kaosism (FORT HOOD, TX) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Outstanding game. Great way to finish the Trilogy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short,Bloody and fun!

posted by JQuintero (AURORA, CO) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

1.Story: 8
Well if you never played God Of War all three games are all about revenge (period). Not much of a story, but the game play is epic! This game takes place in ancient Greece, your obviously the God of War (Kratos) and your out to take revenge on Zeus. Kratos gets betrayed so many times through out the whole game series it's only right for him to kill every thing in revenge. So yes theirs tons of yelling out Gods names which gets very annoying. Not a great story, but wont stop anyone from playing!

2.Game Play: 10
The game play is simply "EPIC" (like I've been saying)! Tearing your enemies to shreds, breaking backs, ripping there heads off, and extremely bloody and fun to watch finishers isn't enough for you to call the game play epic then just stick to playing Ratchet and Clank (which is also a fun game). The controls are easy to understand and very addictive, and the classic finishers provided here are just amazing. The puzzles here aren't much of a challenge, but there fun. Now to end this off, SOME of the boss fights are amazing especially when you fight the titan (wont say any more).

3.Graphics: 9
The graphics in this game are great! I play all my games in HD and this game really brought it! The surroundings look amazing and the characters are also very detailed. So watching Kartos wrestle a minotaur down before shoving his Blades of Exile in its throat looked amazing. There were also some flaws like in some areas there would be a couple of objects that looked fuzzy or when the camera paned out and object in the background would fuzz up to the point it looks distorted and every thing else back there would be fine. Over all same of the best graphics I've seen.

4.Sound: 8.5
The music and sound in this game is great, but not the best. The Dialogue is very short and boring (plus theirs tons of annoying yells).Over all music puts you in the mood and the enemies sounds are believable.

Over all this game is a 8.5, but a 9 wont hurt! Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Expectations met, near perfection!

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

82 out of 116 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

So far, this is the GAME OF THE YEAR without competition! This game delivers, it's hands down the best game I've played this year and in competition w/ Uncharted 2 and Metal Gear Solid 4. Sony really outdone themselves!

GRAPHICS: The graphics are amazing, and yes they are the best graphics ever to be on a PS3 or 360 game. Yes, GOW3 surpasses Uncharted 2's detailing with ease. Masterful.

STORY: Starts off where part 2 left off (apparently). I never played GOW till this game, so that's speculation from what I've heard. But this games story is easy to keep up with and not be lost. You get your powers zapped away by Zeus and the gods, and you make a journey back to mount Olympus to kill Zeus. The game is as linear as they come, with just a handful of things on the side. But the game doesn't need any distractions, you will love the linearity of the game. You will enjoy every minute of ripping the guts out of any mythological creatures that dare stand in your way!

CONTROLS: Very easy scheme for the controls. It's fun, and non-tedious by any means. Even people whom aren't fully used to the PS controllers will have no difficulty playing this game. Very user friendly..

BATTLES: Yes, the game is a button-masher of sorts. It's exactly like GOW1 and 2, but this isn't bad in anyway. In fact it's terrific, and I wouldn't want it any other way! You can mash-buttons for the whole game. But this is only on easier difficulties. If you dare to challenge GOW3 at Titan difficulty, you will have to master the controls, where mashing would get you easily killed. You'll have to remember attacks, and it's a challenge for most people. You have 4 weapons to use, just like special attacks, some weapons you have to unlock. But you don't have to wait long, game rewards you quickly! Quick-time fights work very well, and still engage you heavily. You always feel part of it.

LENGTH: The game runs at 7-10 hours (average), more on Titan difficulty.

OVERALL - 9.7 (out of 10, pure mastery)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hours of entertainment

posted by cincykid0809 (OMAHA, NE) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I didn"t think i would like this game i actuall got it so my brother could play it. he beat the first 2 and i waas actually ready to trade me PS3 in for an XBox and now instead i want to go get the other 2 and play them. this game is graphic but besides that its epic. tons of action and a sense of adventure and purpose plus the ability to pick your weapons and which ones you want to upgrade is amazing. The game was complicated with puzzles but not to difficult i was able to make it through. The ONLY dissapointing part of this game was the length and the predictability. I knew what was going to happen about halfway throug the game and it only served me about 8 hours of playing time. I hope this helps you guys i deffinitly recomend this game though excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kratos will have his revenge

posted by WEAD34 (EARLVILLE, IL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This is my first review and I can't find a better game to start off with. First off all you haters that say that this game looks like a PS1 game need to get your eyes checked out. This game is amazing to look at and extremely fun to play. Yeah the gameplay can be repetitive but it's a good repetitive. And as for being short, I think that it is just as long as other GOW titles. But I will agree that the story is lacking somewhat, but you will not care because you will be too busy killing and swinging your blades around. I highly recommend this title but I also recommend you play the first two games before jumping into this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a nice close to the game

posted by giga_money (NEWNAN, GA) May 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

the wepons in the game are top, but could have been more epic. the game is in need of a longer story at first, then after the fist time you see it just rightl, then the game feals short when you go on a cheat play.

the game play is like the other games, but way better looking and not as many puzzles. if you havent played the first 2 (and or not, the psp entries) you should check out the collection first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by KillaMike8 (MIAMI, FL) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

They game is for lack of a better word, Awesome! Although my only flaw would be that it can be beaten far too quickly. I completed the story in around 12 hours. Other than that, the game is a must have for any God of War fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War 3 did it

posted by Alexps3yes (VAIL, AZ) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is the most graphically beautiful game out there right now. this game is not only a system seller but a must buy for any one with a knowledge of great games. when the video game market is filled with first person shooters, its very nice to be able to take a break and play this amazing, epic sequel. if you havent played god of war 1 and 2... you may want to check them out before hand, but its not needed to enjoy this masterpiece. this game gets a well deserved 10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kratos finally get's his revenge!!!

posted by Peter6 (ANAHEIM, CA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

God of War III is the perfect ending for the trilogy! it has magnificent boss battles, beautiful graphics, wonderful sound and like in all the previous titles we are graced with such an epic sense of scale in the world of ancient Greece that it has to be seen to believed! My only complaint is that when you finish the game you don't carry over any of your upgraded weapons but if you find specific objects the bosses drop when they're defeated you can use those items when you do replay the game, for example Posiedon's Conch grants you unlimited magic and Hercules Shoulder Pad grants you 1/3 less damage so it does offer some replayability. All in all if you enjoyed the past two titles then you'll have a blast helping Kratos get his revenge!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The bar has been raised yet again

posted by F3NIX420 (BOULDER, CO) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

22 out of 35 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

This is how a great game looks and plays, theres absolutely nothing to complain about, the story may be lacking in some peoples mind, but give em a break theres only so much greek mythology that can be transformed into entertaining gameplay.
The story is good not great but the gameplay and graphics are amazing, level design is so alive and teaming with powerful color and detail. Theres no reason this game should not win game of the year, and if it doesn't it will be because there are so many great games coming out this year.
Other game developers need to take note, this how you make a game, the effort is truly noticeable in every aspect of the game. This is the reason PS3 is better than 360, right here. You will be doing yourself a disservice if you don't buy this game and you own a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Scrumptious

posted by EEllis06 (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

23 out of 37 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

When it comes to consistency...God of War has never deviated from the goal of bringing a hardcore game with each release. How can a game get better with each series released? Well, to put it easily, you don't fix anything when there's not a thing broken. you stick with a great story line, beautiful action sequences, combos galore and you'll bring back old fans, all in the same mix of attracting new ones.

The graphics are top notch as expected. Not 1080P as initially thought but that won't alter your game-play whatsoever. When your weapon of choice finishes the different beasts you come along throughout the game, the enhanced graphics on the PS3 allow a much more vivid translation than that of the PS2 and even those two games were ahead of their time when they were released years ago on the PS2 (GOW 1 + GOW 2).

The storyline remains consistent as it has in the past. You are never board with the direction he takes while making his way throughout the game. It keeps you interested, while at the same time anticipated what creature you'll destroy next.

The fight sequences...Sigh! i can't begin to explain how thrilled you'll be after connecting different buttons together and accomplishing a successful combo. My favorite happens to be your successful completion of the buttons triggered on the screen where you either rip the eyes out of a creature and stick it down their throat or whether it be beating something with their very own limbs.

Once this game arrives to your house, do not hesitate to hit the "Keep" tab because it's beyond worth it. I've been waiting for this game and with it finally here, all other games will be collecting dust until I've beaten GOW3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall, an amazing game, but falls short....

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Mar 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

For those who have played all the God of War games, know what to expect with GOWIII. Simply put, this is one of the best PS3 games I have ever played, but it falls short on many levels that may disappoint hardcore fans. The brutal gameplay has been left in tact and looks better than ever. The 3 additional weapons you gain throughout the game add a whole new dimension to combat. The new weapons are fun to use and make combat feel fresh and exciting. And as far as the graphics and sound; there can be no better. The environments are huge, enemies are plentiful and detailed, right down to the steam coming out of the minotaurs nose right before you stab through his head. And the soundtrack remains true to the series. However, as great as all this is, there are some details that I found lacking. First, the game felt a bit short (it took me 8.5 hours to play through the first time), and being a GOW veteran, I found very little challenge even on hard mode. The bonus stuff is pretty much the same as the previous games, but still worthwhile to explore. And finally, the story I felt took a backseat in favor of gameplay. There was something lacking in the narrative as I expected something more monumental and not so straightforward. Also, the variety of enemies could have been easily doubled as the game is not as diverse as GOWII. The same goes for the length of the game. I was expecting a game at least triple the size of GOWII. But nonetheless, an excellent game that is worth the play through. Here is hoping to DLC content that can keep this game fresh for a bit longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

god of war 3 awesomeness

posted by sidney (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 17, 2010

Member since May 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

this is one of the few games i truely belive does deserve a 10. the graphics are amazing, puzzeles were challangeing for me, combat was beyond amazing and the cronos boss fight was amazing. if you own a ps3, you must own god of war 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War III

posted by louielouie (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Best game out to date!! Graphics, story, gameplay, and overall fun is top notch.Best action-adventure game so far. Recommend getting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this disc no is good

posted by anderson1308 (SEWICKLEY, PA) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the disc have a problem, could you send me a other disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epicly amazing!

posted by Redempt (Alton, MO) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

First of all i have been a huge fan of the GOW series and has always amazed me in story and gameplay. GOW III is an amazing game that around every corner of gameplay will amaze you visually and in gameplay.

Story-Like always one of the most impresive parts of the game. The story was actually a surprise compared to what i was expecting it to be about and im quite glad that the comercials and previews did not reveal a whole lot about it. The ending was very well done and makes an amazing ending to this trilogy.

Gameplay-WOW! Impresive. GOW III kept to its roots in gameplay and still is the most impressive Hack+Slash games out there, the new items that you can use and the way that magic was changed was very well done and could not have been done in any better way.

Graphics-The graphics in this game were so impresive you have to just pick up this game to see them. The bosses looked so real it was scary. The first ten minutes of gameplay showing off these amazing graphics is the best i have ever seen in any game ever. They have really done an amazing job.

Overall GOW III was by far one of the best games i have ever played from storyline to gameplay.One nice edition to this one is Kratos talks a lot more then he has in the past and you actually get to see more of kratos and what drives him then originally thought. This game is most definite rent if not buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic. Very epic

posted by Tsukune (TULSA, OK) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

God of War III is one of those games that is an incredible 8-10 hours of goodness that give you a great time. Then after its over you either want to play it again or you could care less. Still, it is an fantastic game that most definitely surpasses its predecessors in almost every way. The beginning starts where God of War II ended, with Kratos on the back of Gaia set out to destroy Zeus and Olympus. The start of the game is incredibly epic and it astounded me at the wonders the PS3 could accomplish, but the rest of the game is just the normal God of War style pace. As for the rest, well, you'll have to rent it yourself.
Pros:
Graphics-Easily one of the best looking game on the PS3 right now. The environments are expansive, detailed, and beautifully well made. Its just a constant treat to the eyes and its totally awesome.
Kratos and all the other characters models look excellent this time around.
Story/Presentation-God of War III's story doesn't have very much detail until near the end of the game, but as always, Kratos searches after some item or power that will help him carry out his vengence. All the loose ends are tied up and you get to beat the cra p out of Zeus. woot!
Sound-As with any God of War title, the music has a very powerful orchestrated tone. God of War III has great music that pulls you into the atmosphere and gives you something nice to fill in the silence.
Gameplay-Brutal. Visceral. Violent. Hey, its God of War, what did you expect? Its basically the same as the others in the series, but why fix what isn't broken?
Replay value-Average. The first playthrough takes around 8-10 hours depending on the difficulty and skill of the player. There's a Challenge mode, a very hard difficulty, and trophies to unlock.
Cons:
The ending is somewhat dissapointing. The extra items you get after you beat the game are very cool, but they disable trophies, which is extremely stupid and may discourage some who may want platinum.

Rent or buy ASAP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best PS3 Game .

posted by luckycharm (SHATTUCK, OK) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

So when they said its all about scale this go around they were not joking.This game by far is the best game I have ever played,the controls are perfect its non stop action you will be on the edge of your seat .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't think just get it.

posted by Chriz704 (BRONX, NY) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

First and most I am still playing the game but I managed to get it early at my local store.
The game is really amazing never expected it to be like this. It is what it is and it’s a game worth buying. This game is intended for mature and of course you will see blood and lots of blood which in my mind makes the game much more enjoyable I love the first person cam and the new voice starting the game (Gave me a bit of chills but that’s just me) Can't wait to get to then end and see what the developers are saying that its epic. Story does not pick up so soon and most of what you are doing is just slash and dash which for the most part is enjoyable. Certain scenes are stunning they just look so incredible.
Graphics are great so as game play. I was really
The rest I can say is stop! Reading this and go play the game you will not regret it unless you don't like these types of games.

I cannot give this game a perfect ten but what I can do is 9.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stop Reading....

posted by Ceedub30 (LIBERTY TOWNSHIP, OH) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Stop reading the reviews and rent it already!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A bloody good time

posted by Sc1F5ve (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you have played God of War before no review can do it justice just get it; however, if you have never played as Kratos before... your in for a treat.

To be completely honest with all you fellow gamers there's not a single thing wrong with the lastest installment to GOW. I was a fan of the origniator of the genre (kudos to Dante) but over the last few installments I think Kratos has taken an more cinematic approach as far as story depth and gruesome gameplay. When I say gruesome I mean it. Literally, you beat a man's face in the ground until his eyes cave in and you can't see his nose after awhile. Won't say who just play and find out you won't be disappointed.

This game really doesn't need an explanation you really need to pick up the stick and unleash the rage. For me GOW always had a major downfall which maybe I'm the only one noticing it. Since I've gone through DMC on Dante Must Die Mode (only the first 3 still gotta get off MW2 to finish DMC4) the sub boss battles are a little to easy for me. For example, after pounding an enemy and they become weak just walk up and grab them for a little button mashing. The harder the difficulty the differences you'll see from pressing triangle to doing a 180 on your analog stick which can be slighty tricky but lets face it...
its just timed button pushing. Also, harder difficulty means you take less damage before your demise.

When I want to up the ante and give myself a challenge its more so can I get my dodging down pack as to its counterpart enemies must be defeated quickly or they'll become stronger which means they'll take longer to die. In DMC there is no timed button mashing all enemeies need to taste the rebellion along with some ebony and ivory but once again thats just cause my brain needs a challenge.

Like I was stating before GOW isn't easy so don't think anybody can breeze through it but for people "not" new to it probably a day or two. Overall... its a bloody good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZINNGG!!!

posted by erocker (KINGSTON, MA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2004

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ok so just a few weeks ago i went to the store to pick up my copy of the god of war collection to replay the story for the upcoming release of God of War 3! As amazing as that game was, this game blew 1 & 2 away.

The graphics were amazingly outstanding!! Maybe the best i have seen on the PS3 yet.

Gameply was EPIC! i played the game for the whole 8 hours straight i could not stop!

So far this year, this is my Game of the Year Vote!!!

(if you have played god of war 1 & 2, or even just 2. GO GET/RENT THIS GAME, YOU WILL LOVE IT!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kratos: Kills Greek Mythical Beasts and Gods Dead

posted by jf1977 (WEST GROVE, PA) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It is a satisfying ending, if you can call it that. And all good things come to an end I suppose. What I do love about the game is that it feels like a PS4 game just like the first two felt like a PS3 game. Kratos has a couple of new weapsons such as The Blades of Exile, and Lion esque knuckles, I also like that the wings of Icuracus and Blade of Olyumpus are still usable in the series. Boss fights are spread and I wish that there were more. For example when fighting Posedion the God of the Sea he uses his element to create a crab and sea horse creature while you're riding on the back of the Titan Gia. Monsters will hide in the shadows and jump out of nowhere, Gods will appear in the background until they are ready to go one and one with the Fallen Spartan, and riding a Titan while climbing Mount Olyumpus is probably the collest ever. Just when you think you know the story you don't........Spoiler....Kratos is betrayed by both Gods and Titans and trust me you don't want to get on his bad side. Sadly it is a short game but a story worthy of the gods.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God of War Review

posted by MorbidX (PITTSBURGH, PA) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

First off, this is my first game review. I apologize if I didn't cover all of the bases.

This game is absolutely astounding. A thrilling addition to the God of War series. The combat system is still complex and feels the same as the previous GOW games while adding even more combos, weapons and tools to enhance game-play. The graphics in this game are out of this world. The game-play detail is comparable to cut-scenes that can be found in high end RPG games such as the Final Fantasy series.

I highly recommend this game. Just make sure you play the other GOW games before you pick this one up so you can follow the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse