Buy God of War: Ascension for PS3
view large frontback

God of War: Ascension

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

3181 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Where is the "It" factor? Single Player Review

posted by RainDragon (MUNFORD, TN) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

24 out of 24 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

God of War ascension is essentially the prequel to the GoW trilogy. It tells the story of Kratos at the moment of his decision to no longer serve Ares, and facing the fury of the... furies... for breaking his oath.

All of the aspects you want in a God of War game are there, but there's something missing. This could be due to several factors, which I'll expand upon in the cons below.

Pros: Kratos has an actual character arc in this. He's still the ridiculously angry destroyer we've come to live vicariously through, but you'll see him smile at least once and you'll see why he's become as wrathful as he is by the first actual GoW (Yeah, we found out why in that game too, but it's expanded upon slightly in this)

The elemental system is good. Essentially it charges the blades of chaos with an element and a magic. It works far better than any other GoW's combat system because it completely gives up on trying to make us use anything other than the Blades of Chaos we were going to be using anyway.

The Combat system is largely the same, but the parry is changed to an active command instead of a timed block. This was done for multi-player purposes.

Cons: Glitchy. I ran in to more glitches in this game than the entire main trilogy combined. Spirit doors (the things that pop up when you need to clear a room of enemies before proceeding) will stick around after all enemies are dead, Kratos will occasionally completely ignore a Quick-time button press, and you WILL get stuck in enemy blenders that will stop you from even moving until the game decides it's good and ready to let you go.

Inconsequential: We already know how this story goes. We know why Kratos turns and why he hunts Ares. That essentially means that nothing that happens in this game matters. There are no shocks, twists, or departures. Makes it all feel like a bit of a money grab.

In all it's good enough and pretty enough to be a God of War game, but nothing at all great or new or groundbreaking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Long Time Fan, First Time Disappointed

posted by ciordia9 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 25, 2013

Member since May 2004

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sure it's a pretty game with controls your used to but this could have been DLC is how I'd sum it up.

After a good running series this one just feels short. Neat little story but at the end of the day the levels begin to feel repetitive and not terribly challenging puzzles. Lacking camera controls and sometimes no real sense of where to go next can lead you astray. Quick deaths while pole vaulting make you reload until you get the timing of things. Not to mention the usual if not predictable, lock you in a room, send 4-6 waves of goons at you before moving on. The whole motion just seemed like the developers/designers were tired of being creative--if they are even there anymore.

Great rental, definitely wouldn't buy it. Can't see how MP could save this title the beta was entertaining but lack luster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a rental, but nothing more

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 9, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Funny that we should get two "origin" games of blockbuster franchises (Tomb Raider being the other one) in the same month. Whereas that was in many ways a reinvention of the franchise, this just seems like GOW Lite, on a par with the (amazing, for that platform) PSP games, but not for the mature PS3 platform (sidebar... can we expect a GOW Vita game?).

I galloped through the game, until the ludicrously tough spike near the end, which just seemed to serve a purpose of extending the game (I ended up with ~12 hours on the game clock when I finally finished it last night). This gallop is not a good thing... I'm not a completionist per se, but when there are lots of collectibles, some of which may take a while to think through, it's not fair that stepping through a door closes out everything behind you, thus never allowing you to pick them up again.

No issues with the game graphically or sonically, but nothing you wouldn't expect either. The end boss, no spoilers, but is a sight to behold. Combat is the usual GOW fare, and seems to be the main focus of the game. None of the puzzles are that tough, with only the water wheel stumping me for any noticable period of time.

So not bad, but not great either, and ultimately, not really "necessary". It's more of the same, and, after now 6 games, that is not enough. Definitely worth a rental, some nice things to see here, but you'll finish it in a week and never think about it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Steve Papoutsis has ruined God of War for me.

posted by Catmandude (MEDINA, OH) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Single Player Campaign Review.
Rating of Chapters 1-27: 8-9
Rating of Chapter 28 (Trial of Archimedes): 1

I absolutely LOVED the God of War series until this one. The single player campaign was all great until the trial of archimedes.
The gameplay just got unrelentingly cheap. Every few seconds an unblockable gorgon tail-wrap catch me and whittle away my life bar. They would literally cross over half the screen to grab me in one fell swoop no matter what i did. I was in the tail-wrap despite blocking, parrying, attacking, or a even pressing the magic attack button before they finished encircling me.

The second cheap detail is the camera angle used for killing the gorgon through the new non-Quicktime Events.
Your view is often blocked by A) the stage ornamentation B) other gorgons moving in front of the camera thereby blocking your view C) the electric siren attacks that turn the screen into a fireworks display.

Third cheap move - no health chests between trials. no checkpoints after each stage of the trials. No option to lower the chapter's difficulty, and no manual save menu. This is completely absurd in a modern triple-A game.

Last cheap move - i finally got past the first two trials but due to my low health and poor timing i died. In any other game i would pick up there - But not Ascension. No i have to go back to square one. The game's director Steve Papoutsis stated that he personally playtested this level. That means he saw each and every cheap and stupid move then thought "Perfect!". What the heck Papoutsis!

I can say without a doubt that Steve Papoutsis Fracked God of War for me. Maybe forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game until......

posted by gt0783 (LAKE MARY, FL) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Trial of Archimedes completely ruins this game. It has great graphics, an interesting story, and just fantastic combat. Its such a refined thing and gets the momentum building, and then you get to the Trial and there goes all the fun. There goes the momentum, there goes the good will built up the previous 8 hours. Its really too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Still a God of War game

posted by CamaronTG (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's not as good as its predecessor, God of War III, but then that was a lot to live up to. They tried to go in new directions with tweaks to the gameplay, especially the combat, and I think they worked well. The story was a bit confusing as it kept jumping around a timeline with flashbacks. I wasn't able to play the multiplayer because, silly me, I thought the online would be free, but apparently with first-party exclusives, Sony still demands a payment to Playstation Online. I couldn't justify paying for it just for a few hours worth of online play in this one game.

It's still brutal, and still a fun playthrough. A word of advice if you're having trouble getting past the Trial of Archimedes: make sure you have ALL your upgrades to every weapon and especially the time-shifting necklace thing. I had to backtrack a few chapters just to get everything but it was worth it and oh so satisfying when I finally beat it. The rest of the game after the Trial is a cake walk in comparison.

Gameplay: 8/10
Combat: 9/10
Story: 6/10
Online: ?/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well...

posted by skudpud (BREMERTON, WA) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I don't see why they keep tacking on information that I don't remember anyone asking for instead of continuing the story after Kratos turns Zeus' head into a pudding. It'd be okay to start out playing this one, kinda like how if you started with Star Wars Episode 1 it wouldn't seem as bad compared to episodes 4-6 since episode 1 is what you got your first impression from. In short, I'm a huge fan of the GoW series but I couldn't bring myself to finish this game.

But thanks to GameFly I got to find that out BEFORE I bought it and had instant buyers remorse.

Gamefly, Protector of Wallets and Preserver of Sanity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Glitch Happy

posted by abs5611 (NORWICH, CT) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A sometimes fun game, but I think stuck on rehash of the same ol GoW things, nothing felt new. The "parkour" of the game felt useless and sometimes utterly bad, I am not a crazy good at anything gamer, so its a casual mans look at it, but I died from enemies almost never, but died falling cuz I the jump point didn't match the character intuitiveness, or the camera never rotated to allow the vantage point to see what is next at least a billion times. Which leads to me real only fault with the game, glitch after glitch after glitch, and at Chapter 20 a game ender for me couldn't work around with any reboots of any kind, after playing chapter again 4 times and same glitch I gave up. Which is actually pretty sad, seeing as I rented game ages after it came out, where you would think DL patches would have already been issued to address these things.

So a feeling of rehashing the previous ones, bad glitchy cameras, and the back breaker glitch that wouldn't let me advance is why the rating is low. If I was able to finish I'd suffer through the rest and prob give it a point higher.

Plus I feel it has zero replay value, glad I rented it. I'd freak if I bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOW is not as bad as they make it out to be...

posted by GMUNY (LYNDHURST, NJ) Jun 29, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wish I could have given GOW-Ascention a 7.5 rating because thats where it belongs. I am amazed that people are giving the game such low ratings?? I agree the game was not as good as the others, but it is not worthy of a 2 or 3 rating! Whenever you see these ridiculous ratings, just move on and dont read. These ratings represent someone who should not be taken seriously. Ridiculous really. The good - The graphics, gore, cinematics, and fighting - And the finishing moves are downright brutal (love it). The bad - repetetive at times, sometimes too hard with no chance to change the difficulty settings (I almost gave up on it and cursed out the TV!). Aside from that the game will deliver and you will be happy you did it.

PS AVOID READING (know it all) REVIEWS WITH STUPID RATINGS, like a 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. Just plain dumb. Rent it and you will have fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome! Severely underrated!

posted by XTopherGuarino (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I saw the 7.9 rating here and was reluctant. It sat in the envelope for a couple of weeks as a result. The not stellar gamefly rating didn't get me too excited, but man am I glad I popped it in eventually!

Its FANTASTIC!! I love this game! It is really so much fun! I have only played one other GoW games (the most recent before this one). The puzzles were better, the fighting is just ridiculously fun and just plain fun to look at. This is a "must play game!" Top 5 for sure. I can't even begin to understand how it's GF rank is below 9.5, let alone the 8 that it is just shy of.

PLAY THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same game as the first one just a different title

posted by TTwisisTwisted (AURORA, CO) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was not a good game at all. Its like ive been playing the same game over and over again when i put in any of the God of War games. Yes the graphics were great but true gamers know that the story line and the mystery are the types of things that keep you wanting to play the game. The God of War franchise has really lost their edge on making a good, quality game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not worth it

posted by lamonhazzardjr (PASADENA, CA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Good things about the game:
1. fighting in the game is fun as usual
2. beautiful graphics and epic cinematics
3. cool element upgrades to kratos blades
Bad things about the game:
1. camera is a pain will die numerous just because u cant find kratos.
2. story is lackluster didn't care for it should've just continued from Gow 3
3. fighting becomes extremely repetitive because its not really different from previous version.
4. Game diffuculty is ridiculous feels like this game was more for the hardcore than for people trying to get into the GOW series.
5. Upgrades are cool but dont feel like they do much to enemies on a higher difficulty.
6. Evade system is a double edge sword when it works u can get yourself out of a bind but when u mess up it leaves u open to a barrage of attacks inflicting a ton of damage.
7. Hints and puzzles felt really unessesary in the game at times and the hints are not really helpful.
8. Will die due to poor enviroment design or poor camera movement it is easy to lose kratos in the middle of a fight with multiple enemies sometimes bad enough to get you killed extremely frustrating and hard to ignore.
9. Having to pay to play for online is a spit to the face for me because this game didn't feel it deserved that if this was God of War 3 maybe but i dont feel u should have to pay to play online especially when its your first game with a multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

TERRIBLE

posted by JahSoulSun (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved God of War 1, 2, and 3. This game is terrible. From the beginning story line, simple combos, lack of weapons, just about every aspect of this game is a step down. I felt like I was playing Streets of Rage (Look it up young ones!) Walk a few feet, imaginary barriers, clear enemies, repeat. Hardly any puzzles or any need to think the first four hours of the game. Even the platforming felt stale in comparison to games like Uncharted of Tomb Raider. Just terrible in every way except for the graphics. At this point in time, most games look gorgeous and thats just not enough. Shame on you God of War developers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same ol' God of War!

posted by HungSolo (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

God Of War: Ascension is the prequel to the God of War Trilogy, and stays true to the God of War franchise. Meaning that if you like any of the other God of War games then you will love this one as well. The Story is not as great to me as the others, but I loved it never the less!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Controls, gameplay, graphics, scale, and the BIG 3

posted by apples14 (YORK, PA) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Also referred to as GOW Ascension. The controls are very good, and there is such a variety of different combos that you will have a great time mixing up your moves. This is one of the main reasons the gameplay flows so well. The 2nd reason why the gameplay is really good is the way you as well as your enemies react when being hit. There are many different types of enemies, and you'd be surprised how much detail goes into each one by watching the making of the game videos. You won't be disappointed by the graphics either. For me, 3 things holds this game back from a 10. The game doesn't add anything new to God of War's Story, the multiplayer code, and the audio problems. The game centers around you defeating the 3 Furies in order to break your bond with Ares. While a prequel is exciting, maybe fans were looking for a sequel instead. For the next GOW, I would like to see a sequel, if it's possible that is (Krato's fate at GOW3's end). Now to talk about the multiplayer access code. You have to buy it, and it doesn't come with GameFly's GOW Ascension rental. Do you get the multi code if you actually buy the game? I'm not too sure but I hate it when I am forced to buy a code to play multiplayer. Last thing that holds the game back from getting a 10 is the audio problems. This might only be in my case, as I'm playing on a used disc (because, well, I got it from GameFly). The audio keeps breaking up. Sometimes even visual components lag as well. I've heard some other people have had this problem. But hey if your game runs fine that's great. As for replay value (One of the most important elements in my opinion) is fairly decent. You can choose from about 10 costumes when replaying the single player, on multiple game difficulties as well as something called new game plus. And then there's multiplayer which I can't really do a review of, sorry. Also, scale - GOW3 had a more adrenaline rush the whole time but ascension still has huge scale moments. In the end, you'll want more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good as always

posted by trinniboy6 (LANSFORD, PA) May 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

but thanks sony for sending a bad update and bricking my game and i was just getting to some good parts. i hate your updates SONY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst game of series

posted by bigblumpki (BUTTE, MT) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Dont do it,i have been playing this game since the beginning and let me tell you this game sucks. you run around figure out a few puzzles that are irrelevent.Then you mash buttons again and again,then you beat the game and thats that. unless your into doing the samething over and over go for it but in my opinion its terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Maybe the best GOW

posted by ckillahman (AURORA, IL) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

To me this GOW wasn't as good as GOW3 but the gameplay is defintely better. The storyline not so good but every thing else is really amazing. This also might be the hardest one of them all. So if you thought the other GOW games was easy this might give you a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mindless fun, but a step down

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This prequel continues the great combat, but delivers nothing with the story.

Positives: Great brutal combat, tight controls, great graphics

Negatives: Very weak story, lame puzzles, platforming sections that go on too long, no interesting characters or enemies

Summary: This is a very good game, but does not live up to the high expectations after GOW3. This is a step down, but still a good game for GOW fans. The story is completely pointless, but its still good mindless fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God Of War

posted by ronaldo91 (NEW RINGGOLD, PA) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game has always been my favorite game of all time i mean im 21 and have a poster of kratos in my room lol and this game pretty much explained to me why its my favorite yet again =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not so great

posted by cid2042 (Seattle, WA) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played the old games and loved the series. This seems to be a poor attempt at wowing the player for better graphics.

Here are my issues:
1. It has crashed my PS3 4 times since I started playing it. The game will lock up where I have to quit the game and get back into it.

2. In "impress me" with the graphics they Zoom way out so I can see all the stuff that is happening in the back ground. Which makes it so hard to see what I'm doing or attacking I end of losing health.

3. While moving across platforms you need to just and grab onto walls. Some times it takes multiple times to stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blah

posted by munozkd (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it was horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i would give it a zero if i could

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ANOTHER CLASSIC !!!

posted by NATUREBOY35 (DECATUR, GA) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

NOTHING NEEDS TO BE SAID BUY THE GAME . ONE SMALL ISSUE CAMERA ANGLES GET A LITTLE CRAZY SOMETIMES BUT WHO REALLY CARES ABOUT THAT .APERFECT 10 ALL DAY !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If u like God of War this doesnt let down

posted by copperremy Mar 12, 2013

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that god of war is my fav game so I am a harsh critic on them. This is a great game they added a few new mechanics but same great gameplay. My only complaint is some of the Camera angles. But a great addition to the series..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

God of War Ascention

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is my favorite of the God of War series by far it delivers across the board on every level,

Story-Amazing
Sound-Clear
Controls-like the others but with new strikes
Graphics-Stunning
World-Beautiful
Gameplay-Awesomely FUN!

I gave this game a 9/10 it's truly amazing and there's multiplayer, so if you've never played a God of War game check this out it wont disappoint and if you've played God of War before and it really wasn't for one I would suggest giving this one a try, seriously it's without a doubt in running for game of the year, and I can't stress enough how beautiful the world and graphics are along with the story it's a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse