Buy Gears of War 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Gears of War 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

17992 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Sep 30, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

39 out of 47 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is the best Gears game in the series, and Ive been addicted and playing nonstop. The multiplayer is MUCH better with the new weapons and Team Deathmatch..plus Horde and Beast mode, 4 player campaign co-op and arcade mode, theres a ton to do.

Multiplayer has King of the Hill, Capture the Leader, Execution etc theres a bunch of varities. The maps and graphics are gorgeous and the weapons are fun and addicting. Theres tons of characters and gun skins to unlock too. The only thing I recommend is taking out the Sawed off Shotgun as a starting weapon. Make it a weapon you have to find, its pretty cheap

Single player is memorable, but its short..5-6 chapters over 5 Acts. The story is fun and there are huge firefights and beautiful levels, and the story is dramatic at some points.
However, I feel much of the single player is just go here, get that, turn these, find this..kinda boring sometimes
The ending is satisfying, nothing to crazy but at least its closure for true Gears fans who have played all 3.

One of the best Xbox 360 franchises, this is a definite rental, and a must buy for Gears fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Third Person Shooter of this decade

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Sep 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

64 out of 87 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Gears of War has become a milestone in video games, when you see a game nowadays use a cover system, an active reload or "hold A to run" scheme, you think "Hey this came from Gears!", but hey give 'em credit, they're using the best mechanics a third person shooter can offer. Gears of War 3 takes place a few years after 2, without spoiling much, ill tell you this, DOM HAS A BEARD...i've said too much i know. The story itself is really good, while corny at times, does answer alot of questions we Gears fans wanted answered.

The gameplay is alot better this time around, getting in cover is smooth instead of feeling like a Lego block snapped on another block, they've added a slight ADS(aim down sight) mechanic with some of the guns, now don't go "HEY THIS IS FROM CoD!" because its activated by clicking the right stick AFTER you do the normal zoom style of aiming.

Multiplayer is back and isn't laggy, YAY! Instead of the normal hope for a host in your area code, you can take a sigh of relief because theres DEDICATED SERVERS! In other words you die cause you ran into someone that is better. Horde 2.0 is a revamped wave based mode that feels more like a Tower Defense game, which is awesome. You got boss waves every 10 waves through and you got turrets, fences, and a (SPOILER ALERT) Mech suit that you use to fight the locust. Beast mode is a new addition which pits you AS the locust fighting against the Cogs, and the rumors are true...tickers are fun to play as!

Alright now here's my verdict:

The GOOD:
-Campaign, a good, resolved and corny story combined with the good ol' gears action make it a perfect trilogy closer.
-Graphics, Epic has done it again, Unreal Engine 3 looks amazing with backgrounds and sets that will blow you away.
-Multiplayer, Dedicated Servers = No lag = Win.
-Beast and Horde mode will keep you playing for months...or years.
The MEH:
-Beast mode has no single player, sorry guys.

The BAD:
-The fact that i'm not playing! Now stop reading and go play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic's Last Stand

posted by steelsammy (MARSHALL, NC) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

41 out of 58 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Gears Of War 3 is everything I expected and more from the finale of Epic Game's trilogy.

The meat my of my experience has been with the campaign, and it was as to be expected from Gears Of War. The new squad members managed to be interesting, while the returning members of Delta were as impressive. The gameplay is the same as always with Gears Of War- gory, loud, and explosive. Cover is still essential to success, and the guns are mostly old ones from Gears 2- though, I liked that. Having familiar weapons is a plus, though the new guns were lacking in creativity.

I've never been a huge fan of an online game, but Gears 3's Horde and Survival mode were the most fun I'd had with the trilogies multiplayer. The ability to play as the Locust is a fun gimmick, but it's really much more fun to be a Gear. Like most wave defense experiences, it helps to have a good friend with you.

I haven't even tried the full online, quite specifically because I didn't expect people to be able to play unless they also got an advance copy. But the two modes I've seen of Gears Of War 3 are enough fun on their own. The game is amazing in every way. If this is the last of the series, then Gears Of War has gone out with a major bang.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game !

posted by proto4067 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Action filled shooter, I know this game has a lot of replay for those who like to play online with friends. It also has a lot to offer for those who want ten hours of solid game play with a good story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't stop playing

posted by Slurms (THE COLONY, TX) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I can't believe how much fun this game is. To be honest, I was kind of annoyed by the campaign. Boss fights had that trial and error feel and Cut scenes were constantly interrupting the action. I wish more games followed half life 2 in that respect. Its still one of the best co-op titles I've played in a while but the real fun is from the multiplayer. For some reason I have never cared to try it in the past and I was foolish not to. Incredibly polished, emphasis on team work, and just plain addicting. The same can be said for horde mode. I don't even think Modern Warfare 3 can pull me away from this game. A lot of people have been comparing this title to Uncharted 3 and from my experiences with the multiplayer aspect I found Gears 3 to be more fun due to the tighter controls and game mechanics. It lacks the heavy customization I've come to expect from shooters but I found it kind of refreshing. Its a brutal and intensely fun experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gears of war3

posted by skull639 (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is the best game i have ever played but took me a while to find all the cog tags SO take my word for it get the game play it live it love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOW 3 is the best of all

posted by soldier280 (FRANKSTON, TX) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I like all of the gears games. But I have to say after playing GOW3, I have to say it is the best. The online is great. I have played all versions of the multiplayer. The multiplayer is similar to GOW2, but the things I did not like about GOW2 have been improved. I have not seen alot of glitching, but I know it is early. There is also a way to practice the online with bots instead of getting you hind end handed to you by someone who eat, sleeps, and breathes the game. Also, whether you are in private or public matches, your rank increases with all types of gameplay. You can be a level ten or higher just by playing the game. Beast mode is a new option for online. You get to be the locust, kinda reverse horde. I like everything about the game, whether it be game mode or online. I would recommend this game to anyone, even if you have kids You can turn off the language and gore. The thing I have noticed about this game in particular is that I do not hear " man I wish that they would let me do this in the game or in multiplayer". Just about any weapon the locust drops, you can pick up IE: the hatchet from a butcher. There is also new weapons all thru the game as well as the multiplayer. Even if you have not played any GOW games before, you will not be at a disavantage. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game deserves to be game of the year.

posted by Jackoner (LAYTON, UT) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Gears 3 is better in so many areas compared to Battlefield 3 or Call of Duty or any game you can name. There are so many different game types to fit peoples liking. This is one of the few games out there where the campaign and the multiplayer are both good.

The characters are cool, the weapons are cool and the deaths are cool. Something you just won't find in any other game.

I do wish they would have left the Sawed Off Shotgun out of this game but I can see why they put it in. It allows people that have little to no skill get some kills and in return it makes them a happier person. I guess I can live with that seeing how I will just continue to lancer them.

Everyone who isn't afraid of some bad language and some good video game violence needs to own the Gears of War Trilogy. + not a lot of little kids playing it :) Less people you have to mute.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Games ends with the best in the trilogy

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Oct 30, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Similar to Bungie’s finale with Halo: Reach, Epic Games delivers an almost perfect game. GOW3 was simply epic, and you can truly feel all the blood, sweat, and tears that went into developing the polished gem. The Unreal 3 engine looks great, and the amazing detail, graphics, sound, and story make this one of the best games of the year. The campaign, horde, and online modes have all been seriously upgraded with tons of new features to keep you coming back for months.

GOW3's leveling up system is also very similar to Halo Reach, and it rivals its depth too. All your stats carry across all game modes (campaign, horde, or online), whether online or offline. So anytime you play, you gain xp one way or another. Every move you make is recorded, and those stats go towards earning in game medals, ribbons, and bonus xp. You may have to kill 1000 enemies with a certain gun to get the Onyx level, or play 200 chapters in campaign mode to get 3 stars, etc.. The amount of depth is mind blowing, and this could occupy the nerdiest GOW fan for an entire year if you played for 24 hours a day.

The best additions by far were the 4 player coop campaign modes & the newly designed Horde Mode. Being able to play with 3 other friends online makes the experience 3x as fun. This carries over to Horde mode also, which is AMAZING by the way. The tower defense additions will give you lots of depth, not something we had with the last Horde. You can select team bases, buy turrets, traps, guns, barriers, mechs, sentry guns, etc., all which can be upgraded and leveled up through progression, of course trying to beat all 50 waves. It will take you a long time to level-up but it’s something to play for. You can also apply special game modifiers, similar to Reach’s firefight mode, still earning you xp and stats.

Online MP is also much easier to play, thanks to some changes in gameplay and new guns. It's worth every penny of $60, all day.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Finale!

posted by Deathrage0823 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! That is the first thing that pops into my head when i think of GOW 3. What a way to end it. If you are a fan of Gears then you will love the gameplay. It's the most refined and precise in the trilogy. This is full on gears! The story is the strongest of the 3 with some very emotional moments in it. You actually feel for these characters that you have come to know well over the years. It also feels like the longest entry in the series. This time around you are fighting Lambent more than Locusts but don't worry they are there a lot as well. You also get to play as different characters. The online is fun as always and the horde mode has been modified to resemble COD zombies more with being able to purchase barricades and weapons. Beast mode is also very fun! All in all this is a game that you must own if you love the series. You will have plenty to keep you busy for months. A sure fire contender for Game of the Year!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by TheGameBoss1231 (SUWANEE, GA) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Gears of War 3 comes into the community as an underdog, opposed to Battlefield and Call of Duty. Gears of War 3 accepted much hype as the days kept passing by. The anticipation for this, was worth it. Gears is a fantastic series which will always have gamers and players wanting more. Unfortunately, this crazy, gorey series, comes to a halt. Gears has great gameplay, but not a very good storyline for the campaign.

Marcus's father is "gone" but he receives a lost message from him. He and the crew go looking for him while fighting waves and waves of the Locust, which all Gears fans remember from the previous games. The cutscenes are fun, and the campaign is a good time.

Beast and Horde mode are two great ways to tag along with some of your friends and have fun! Beast Mode allows you to change sides and become the Locust. Mean while, the Horde Mode is just a wave by wave mode, which is always fun.

Gears of War 3 is surely a contender for the game of the year, and a game you should pick up NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Does It Again!

posted by iLikeFeet Nov 2, 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The best gears yet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good but over powered

posted by YuhannaM (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is truly amazing, being that this was my first time really playing through an gears of war game i have to say that this is truly a keeper.

Story: This story line was pretty boring to me and I really didnt have any fun with it. I could see that it was touching, and had some really amazing parts,but being that this is really only my first playthrough of gears of war i couldnt really get excited like my friend did when he played though. In sammation as far as the story goes if your a fan you will love it if you not then itll just be another achivement you list.

Online: CRAZY SUPER AMAZING A GOOD OLD KNICKER SLING OF A GOOD TIME LOl, but really i cant really express how fun the online play is beast mode being my favorite (beserker, and sentipiede) different game modes for different play styles in my opinion. Only bad thing is the shot guns are ridiculously over powered and then at times it takes to clips of a regular lancer to kill somebody (gamer gliche) but all in all the online play is as fun as it gets for a third person shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Gears since its Original!

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Sep 30, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Gears 3 REALLY improved since its original back in 06' & has gotten some upgrades since Gears 2 back in 08'. With the Series coming to an end all i can say is "God forgive me, for i have sinned...i love Gears 3!" The Story is Phenominal, & Gameplay is a little of Gears 2 style but still fun to play. Although Cliff said they're might be a prequel Gears coming in the future all i can say is "BRING IT!" Gears Of War 3 gets a 10 out 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great conclusion

posted by ekyle (EAST SYRACUSE, NY) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game plays similar to previous titles and graphics don't appear to be overly improved from the second, but the continuation of the story is amazing. There is an actual story here unlike some shooters. I've really enjoyed playing it and highly recommend it to anyone who has played the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gears of War 3

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Once again Xbox shows while they've been on top for so long. Long story short the best game of all time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST THIRD PERSON GAME TO TOUCH THE EARTH

posted by XteadyBeaRXx (MOLALLA, OR) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!IT IS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED.AWSOME GRAPHICS/GOOD STORYLINE AND AWSOME GUNS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gears of war 3

posted by jebrantley (NEWBURGH, NY) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

awesome game and beta

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gearsofwar

posted by RyanT (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was so good i bought it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!!

posted by mike1976 (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gears of War 3 is a must have for any gamer. the grraphics,gameplay,sound effects are just AMAZING. and most importently the story was AMAZING. The only thing that sucked about this game was playing and relizing that this was it no more the end to a great trilogy. Kind of makes you wounder what the people at EPIC are planing next and can it live up to Gears of War 1,2 and 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOW3

posted by jclaxon (RUSSELL, KY) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Far and better than its predecessors, GOW3 outlives and lives up to the hype that the medias types has given it. I will not go into the story, as that would be completely ruining an otherwise excellent game. Just know this, the campaign, along with its 4 player Co-op mode certainly delivers. You truly have to complete the campaign to see what I'm talking about. Fast paced, non-linear, (as far as time elements are concerned), the campaign itself deserves accolades for how rich and emotionally satisfying the ending actually is.

Graphics -the game does not disappoint. Utilizing the Unreal Engine 3,Epic Games has done an amazing job. Textures look crisp, amazing and lighting has never looked better. There are truly some parts in the game, where you'll be looking at the scenery and forget about being shot at. However, this doesn't happen until later on in the game. I won't tell you when, you'll just know it.

Sound- Sound was utilized well, taking full advantage of Dolby Surround. For those of you that don't have a Dolby Digital receiver, I would recommend getting one now. Tickers click in the background, and depending where you are facing, the surround element is unreal. Truly heard to be believed. For some MP games, this could be the deciding factor of life or death.

Gameplay- Out of the box, I felt it was a little wonky. I was a little more than disappointed with GOW3's general settings. However, with a few quick adjustments made to the Game settings, I was more than pleased. I have most of my settings turned down to 5, as that seems to be a better control scheme for me. However, some of you may prefer faster or even lower preferences. But, for me the setting of 5 seems to suffice.I'm also glad to note that the curvature regarding the control sensitivity was well planned and executed brilliantly. (i.e. moving down a notch does mean a difference, as opposed to some games.)

Pros - Excellent visuals. Dynamic gameplay.
Cons - Dialogue can get a bit corny sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic finish 2 an epic series

posted by evealifte (TROUTDALE, OR) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Outstanding finish to the epic series! An all time great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by community (BROWNVILLE, NY) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Best game i've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Truth

posted by Raznorek (PLAINFIELD, IN) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is just a crazy fun game. Wonderful solo campaign. Good multiplayer. DEFINITELY should buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this games is the best Gears of war game!!!!!

posted by JTORRES87 (ERIE, PA) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is the best game I played this year thank you gamefly!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse