Buy Far Cry 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Far Cry 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.6

4106 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant.

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Just click "Keep" . This title really delivered a spectacular World of Insanity. As many other titles had a high-hype value and made people angry after seeing it. Farcry 3 delivered what was expected and more.
The title plays as a adventure, Free Roam, in first person. One of the most repayable titles out there.

You play as Jason Brody...
Jason was the average college kid, fresh out of school, and seeing the world with his friends. His world crashed into another reality of human trafficking and black market smuggling. Too save himself and his friends, Jason will have to test his own abilities or die trying.

I am not sure how I should even begin to explain how well made this game is... Very nice eye-candy. A game world full of depth and life,seeming very vast and endless.
You will first notice the new climbing mechanics and cover-system ... You can now climb on numerous types of surfaces and cover-firing has been integrated... It adds a great depth of realism into the farcry title. They have radio stations in the vehicles now.

Requires Online pass.

Farcry 2 was a huge success from its Map editor... The map editor allows you to build your own level... Terrain sculpting -- Create mountains, vallies hillsides.
Building layout -- Place a variety of buildings in your own way.
Foliage placement - Grass, rocks, trees layout.
Share and play your map in the online community.

The Map editor has a larger scale than Farcry 2's maps... You can now create cliffs with Waterfalls... The new water layering allows that. They also added lighting abilities.

Ubisoft did a brilliant job... The Single player shines great in this title and it too has a high replay value.

This title is a definite keep... It is perfect in many ways and really is hard to place any dislike in the title. It is sorta easy though as I'm playing on Hardest difficulty, but then that is just the well made AI dynamics. You can play with stealth in this title.

Buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I have played in awhile

posted by MichaelSF (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing this game. I found myself not following the story line after the first few quests and going out to kill/skin animals for crafting all my bags and liberating the camps, then going back and doing story line after storyline quests where I could fast travel to where I needed to go.

Had a great time playing this game. Plenty to do, didn't even do any of the online aspects of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pleasantly surprised

posted by jdel1972 (KENNER, LA) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Had not previously played the first two farcrys. I am initially drawn to good story, and really talented voice work. Vaas is an amazing villian. The letdown is that the main boss is so drab and boring...Vaas seems like he should have been on meds years ago, he's a loose cannon, unpredictable and that makes him exciting to watch. The open world activity is enjoyable, and Vaas should easily win villian of the year hands down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Farcry 3

posted by Gamergirl1113 (EASTON, PA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i give it a 10 cause open end worlds are just fun! its not just a shoot um up game, you need use your head,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game of 2012!

posted by charleypking (BURKE, VA) Dec 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I sat down to play Far Cry 3, I honestly wasn’t as familiar with the title as a true gamer should be. I was surprised when I saw the Ubisoft logo pop up onto my screen. I was even more pleasantly surprised at every single thing that happened after that! A massively open world, engaging combat, and near-mastery of FPS mechanics make Far Cry’s third chapter one of the best games I’ve played on the PS3.

FC3 follows a young adrenaline junkie named Jason who in the beginning seems like a character who isn’t cut out to last 5 minutes walking his dog let alone surviving an island full of pirates. Aligned opposite is a very deeply troubling character named Vaas who’s out to capture young people to sell on the black market. A paradise vacation takes a horrifying turn when your party’s skydiving excursion goes belly-up. Immediately the story starts to evolve and you’re running for your life, barely surviving each moment. The action never seems to stop. Even the cut-scenes leave you feeling uneasy due to their unpredictability. Even when you get your bearing you may be being stalked by a different predator, like a tiger or even a bear. This game keeps you on your toes like nothing you’ve ever seen!

Simply put, the game’s open environment will keep a three year-old engaged. Where this game really shines, though, is in the way characters and the actions of the characters around Jason change him in a believable way. It gives you a reason to fight and a means to do so. The more you kill, the more XP you gain and the more you can upgrade Jason to become a monstrous killing machine. You can also choose to flank your enemies, snipe them from a distance, or perhaps run right up to them and shoot them in the eye with a flamethrower.

A dark, chilling story and spot-on character performances are really what will keep you exploring, hunting, and killing across Rook Island. Far Cry 3 will keep you firmly nailed to your seat!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As good as it gets

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'd rate it a 10, but then that would mean it is perfect, and it's close to that, but not quite. I think they built on FC2 without losing too much that I loved about that title. I can't say enough good stuff about this engine, although it gets little of the accolades it deserves compared to the other name brand engines like Unreal, etc. The realism is simply amazing, from lighting effects, to fire, etc. One nitpick, is they added lens flaring, and it's a pet peeve of mine because, well, the word "lens" says it all. It's first person, and I don't think Jason has glasses.

But anyway, I love the added stealth elements, I love the wildlife, two frequently requested items regarding FC2. They fixed the two most complained about items in FC2, namely the respawning checkpoints, and weapon jamming.

The "acting" I thought was absolutely brilliant, easily rivaling Uncharted. Vaas was terrifying and incredible. I predict this character will become a memorable character that people recognize by name years from now.

I have to find something to nitpick though. The multiplayer has a number of flaws compared to it's predecessor. It seems they gave up and tried to copy COD. Which I suppose is ok, but they got rid of some things that I liked about FC2 multiplayer. The match search and select is gone. You can only choose a match type and then it will throw you into a room that has 6 people and then it starts for you. So gone are the days you could wait a bit for a room to fill up before starting the match. And there is nothing more boring that playing 6 player matches on a large map. Also the party play mechanism seems to need some fixing. I couldn't get into a match with a buddy.

BTW, it seems that they have followed the lead of other companies making multiplayer require a code...meaning renting this game has limited value, if you want multiplayer. Ultimately this hurts those who actually buy the game, because it's less opponents for us to play against. But oh well...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, but Often Annoying

posted by jhodgson (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Make no mistake, this is a great game. It's got an interesting voice, great views, and some ideas I've never seen before. For instance, I swam across a river to fight some dudes and a gator bit me and I died laughing.

The bow and arrow are also awesome. Lots of fun.

I might have enjoyed it more fully on PC, though, because in the later stages of the game I simply wasn't able to turn my character fast enough to meet oncoming threats. I ended up quitting for good.

I also thoroughly hated the unskippable cutscenes. Some of these include some girlfriend moments.

Hey, guys, if I wanted to get hassled by my girlfriend, I wouldn't be playing games right now. Maybe that's fun for young players who look forward to having a serious GF someday, but for those of us who have experienced the realities of working on a long-term relationship it's just annoying.

Not that long term relationships are bad, they're just work. I also don't want to file my taxes or take out a bank loan in-game, especially not when I can't skip the cutscene.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Far Crying Out Loud This Game is Good

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Dec 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Where do I start?

There's so much to this game, it's quite incredible.

Graphics are great, of course, but the consoles definitely can't hold a candle to the PC version I'm sure. But the level of details is just astounding. So many plants, textures, animals, structures, etc. Incredible amount of variety, and every detail from Sand, Water, Vegetation, Buildings, are all top notch designs. On top od that, the weapons are all great too!

The story is strong and keeps you engaged. And there's a ton of side quest and exploration to be done on the side.

Crafting items is awesome, although I think other games have a better system, especially in terms of plants.
The skill tree is fantastic.

CO-OP! Man, this is great, I don't know why it got blasted in some of the critic reviews. It's awesome, it supports offline and online.

I'm not a fan of hunting, but there are gamers that are, so I guess they'll enjoy that.

If you played Far Cry 2, hopefully you liked it, because this really is just the next progression. It's a huge world, it looks great, and it's fun fun fun fun.

The damage system is a bit wonky. Humans aren't bad, headshots do what they're supposed to. Animals are different story... it's kinda ridiculous actually...

Do yourself a favor and check out a great, non-military FPS/Sandbox game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FANTASTIC GAME!

posted by coreyjcannon27 (KINSMAN, OH) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

okay so i never write reviews...however after reading these unbelievable reviews giving this a 5 or 7?... claiming there are bugs or it sucks or whatever other b.s. reasons they give i have to tell u these people are either drunk, stupid, or just plain full of it. ive had this game since it came out and i cant put it down... im not gonna go into a two page report explaining why this game is a masterpiece, but i will tell you that if you have any incling of an interest in this game then buy it! you will not be disappointed... definately lives up to the hype!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Potential to be perfect

posted by Gamerforlifeish (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that keeps you hooked from the beginning and rarely slows down. I loved playing through the story and meeting every unique character. The takedown ability and other moves that chain together are a staple that make Farcry 3, Farcry 3.

However, when it comes to firefights and keeping your character ready for battle, this is where it stumbles. Healing, which should overwrite any command, doesn't. I've been caught in a loop of healing, running, trying to reload and then back to healing since I'm low on health from reloading. This is a game breaker in my opinion.

I understand the developers try to make the healing mechanic more realistic by making the character use a needle to heal himself but, this mechanic isn't suited for such an action-based game. It simply takes too long to heal.

There is a part of the game where you must hunt a certain animal. I was close to death many times. The main reason was my character couldn't get away from the animal with enough time to spare to heal, then turn and fire. It was just a game of keeping myself healed at that moment. One hit would bring my health all the way down.

This game has such great potential. I was conflicted at times when I enjoyed the game immensely - especially when the battles were action-packed and fun to participate in - but also aggravated at times when I was almost yelling at my screen as my character fell to the ground dying as I was saying "I WAS pressing triangle to heal!"

The looting and skinning system could also use a change. Be prepared to pick your weapon up multiple times when trying to loot bodies. The skinning also gets repetitive and, even though it seems our main character is a battle-hardened veteran in the later portion of the game, skinning animals still disgusts him with cries of disgust with each and every skinning.

I would love to be a die-hard fan of this series. I just feel that the developers should make it more responsive at the critical moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT! couple of suggestions

posted by BEN_JI (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. It is addicting. The driving, the guns sounds, the distance sounds, animal sounds, breathing, dripping after getting out the water, even changing gears sound real. The story had depth and you could see jason change. Unlike the previous game there is more of a focus on stealth and being able to hide from your enemies and confuse them. I really enjoyed the kill moves they were messy bloody and contained awesome sequences.

However, some of the stealth mechanics were a little messy. Like If I make a long range shot with a loud weapon they knew exactly where i was. now, you could argue that realistic, but not neccessarily. But after moving to a new place they quickly loose sight of me. I really enjoy the chance to have them not recognize me or react and you can kill them quickly. Guard movement patterns were not predicatable and sneaking up on them were difficult when often times they would check behind them randomly.

I thought the game focused a little to much on stealth. After a while its a little boring. A direct encounter with an enemy base is dangerous and you lose points. Very realistic, but not as fun.

Vaas was an awesome bad guy. He was just pure insanity and was calculating and while Jason was risking everythign for vengance. There was a lot of puns and the charecters often did funny things.

I couldn't stand how the animals were. They were extremely tuff to kill. Often missions wanted you to kill them with a bow. Which is like the most inaccurate weapon. And you could shoot 20 arrows into one animal and it was still going. don't animals bleed out? And you can pump 10 shootgun rounds into the bear and theyll still charge. Killing the commander mission they always require a takedown kill and often time it was difficult to get them to line up for one.

Lastly I wish there was more guns and equipment. I wish there was more rewards for liberating bases etc.

Overall it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Click Keep

posted by illestSURF (BELFORD, NJ) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

No seriously, don't even bother renting it.

Every now and then a video game comes out that really blows minds... and I don't mean just some minds.. I mean all minds. Those who like Skyrim, Those who like Call of Duty, Those who like Battlefield, Those who like Pong - ALL minds get blown on far cry's adventure.

I would love to type more, but honestly I just don't have the time to because I'm to busy killing sharks, planning out strategic attacks on camps, and being so involved in the story line that I can't even hear my girlfriend texting me (THUMBS UP!!!!!)

Take my advice, and JUST CLICK KEEP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rpg like and co-op is just great.

posted by coolbeans2009 (MODESTO, CA) Dec 4, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No doubt that you'll have countless hours and fun with this game. The co-op should be something new adding it to make it more awesome. Maps for the mutilplayer looks amazing. The weapons look much improved from the previous title. Definitely worth a try. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Been waitin for a long time for a fps like this.

posted by Themba76 (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

man it's about time they made an fps like this. since Turok the Dinosaur Hunter on N64 that Iv'e played a shooter like this. It just gives off a sense of exploring that you don't see often in shooters especially in modern shooters every thing wants to be COD and I do mean every game wants to be like that game it's good to see a game good as this that doesn't follow down that path. this is definatly GOTY by a large margine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by Fallout2357 (OGDEN, UT) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game thinking it would suck but I might as well rent it anyway. I was wrong. I gameplay style reminded me of Dead Island, but I hated that game so im not sure. This is one of the best games I have played this year!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great

posted by vanderfamily (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it was a great game, i felt like it was a mix of skyrim and a little assassins creed. i beat the mean story line within 3-4 days i highly suggest this to be a RENT only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's like Drake meets call of duty

posted by dielselman (ROANOKE, VA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sweet game worth checking out definitely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Magicman88 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This world is huge and there are sooo many things to explore. The story is good considering, but video game stories have really gotten convoluted over the years. Graphics are ridiculous. Voice acting is phenomenal. The flame thrower level is an instant classic. This was game that I found hard to put down once I started. Hours upon hours of my life wasted. Yes it has hype, but with respect to the other average games out there, this one is above average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid game

posted by Vicgfx (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

really interesting story, and it was interesting, but after beating the story line not much to do, everything became repatative, but overall solid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a fanboy

posted by audyrankin (ROGERS, AR) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was AMAZING... be careful with who you chose at the end. Great graphics, great story, great level up system, great map, just great everything... i found no flaws with this game what so ever... It has the longest story mode in a game ive ever played on ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If AC3 and Just Cause 2 had a baby...

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it would be Far Cry 3. Like the tower climbing spin in AC3, it's back. Like the voices of the mobs in Far Cry 2, it's back. Don't get me wrong, this is a pretty cool game but it's pretty much a few other Ubisoft games with a fresh coat of paint. If want something new and different, don't look here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad I guess

posted by DrStrangelove (BELLINGHAM, WA) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was a little surprised that this wasn't better considering all the hype and positive reviews. Right from the beginning, I wasn't able to play it on my ps3 at all because the far cry servers were down. (really?) I figured out eventually that it would let me play without the servers if I disabled my internet connection, but not before having to sit through the annoyingly long and unskipable intro about 4 times.

The game itself has a scenery style similar to "Just Cause" (without the cool grappling hook and parachute), the hunting and herb collecting of "Red Dead Redemption" and towers that unlock the map like in "Assassin's Creed". Those happen to be 3 of my favorite games, but oddly I don't like this one nearly as much as any of those... As a programmer myself, I imagine it being one of those situations where the management directs poorly, then when the deadline arrives, tells everybody to just wrap it up 'cause it's gotta go out the door.

In spite of all that, it's really not bad - The scenery is cool, the combat is pretty good and I always like when I get to sneak around - just not nearly as good as it could be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game gives me a continous erection

posted by drdaveturbo (NASHVILLE, TN) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i am a true gamer and have been since the nintendo days ive played alot of good games but this game is so amazing .....the only game that will beat this is of course gta 5 maybe just barely.....a perfect 10...JAW DROPPING.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN FUN FUN

posted by ASulli0418 (NORTH KINGSTOWN, RI) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

AWESOME GAME Lots of FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Review for the peeps new to Far Cry

posted by whatup5656 (DOVER, DE) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Excited as I was to play this game, it could not deliver. Everyone giving this game 9s and 10s are fanboys that love to be biased.

First of all the graphics are good, not great but good. I have an HDTV, nothing is really standing out. For the PC, I would venture to say the graphics would be up to par. Gameplay is nice and somewhat fun. Playing on the hardest difficulty level, the people didn't really pose a threat. It wasn't till started hunting the wildlife. At first it was better than the actually story, but until I ran into a tiger, it all went down hill. I loaded 60 AK bullets into this animal and it still manages to kill me each time. How is that any fun?

The story is okay, much better than the last two, but is it really that much of a step up? Yes, it is. This game in the gameplay and graphics department go above what the last game could do, but that is pretty much a given with a #3 in the series. As far as the interface and mechanics...garbage. Driving in this game is unique to its own. If I hit a small rock, my health is drained to the last bar. How realistic right? People flip cars all the time and dont get a scratch. The developers dropped the ball on this game. It had so much potential to be game of the year, but came up short.

This game has been compared to Skyrim as being one in the same, just Far Cry being an FPS. Skyrim blows this game out of the water as far as side quests go and open world. Basically, side quests in this game are mini games. Not really a new side story, it is "go out and complete the task." At least will all other games with side quests, it had a little story to go along with it. The good side of this game, it really does make for a great stand alone in the series. Other than that, it is barely worth a rent. I would recommend a rent before buying. Just so you can feel out the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse