Buy F.E.A.R. 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

F.E.A.R. 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

7112 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My point of view

posted by GrimsWar (NASHVILLE, TN) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well if you have played the first 2 Fear games you will like this one.The story mode was great took me about 2 days to get done with it.Great story and being able to use both brothers was a great add to the game.The downside of the game was the multiplayer i couldent find any online co-op games or any mulitplayer games as is.The online status of the game is pretty much dead the mulitplayer of the games is a little weird the 1 game i did get into the whole online multiplayer is kind of like gears of war horde mode they come in waves and you and your team try and survive.A weird little add on is Alma in multiplayer if you see her she will mess you up teleport you to another location or make you go blind for awhile.All in all the game is fun if you have played the others give this one a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Scary?

posted by Grayden178 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall this game was great! I hadn't played either of the other two fear games but it didn't matter because I still enjoyed the game. My roommate and I were in the mood for a scary game, but we also wanted a game that was split-screen co-op...which Fear 3 is both. But we both quickly agreed that you lose the scary aspect of game when you play it on co-op. Regardless...great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fear 3

posted by DropKilla (BETHLEHEM, PA) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sc-Fi horror type of game, hard to come by these days. The very first time I played fear was the first one, not knowing what to expect, I jumped when seeing it for the first time and I don't jump to anything scary too often. With Fear 3, my hair stands up on end from time to time when I played it. Graphics were good, controls were of normal 1st person shooters. Loved how they kept you up to speed from Fear 1 & 2 since I didn't get a chance to play Fear 2. The Co-Op was OK at best, reminded me of COD/Left4Dead mixed in (not to compare the games). Overall, good game to play before bed ;-) In the end, co-op was kind of a let down, Was really hoping they were going to make it for more then 2 or 3 players at a time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The fear isn't so strong with this one...

posted by DeadBite (PASADENA, CA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I feel like Fear 3 failed to really ever scare me, don’t get me wrong I enjoyed the game alot, the shooting was spot on, cover mechanics were a welcome addition. The graphics showed every bloody detail in the environments and enemies I tore to pieces. The story and it’s cut-scenes were good but nothing much to get you emotionally involved. You control either Point Man the strong silent type or Paxton Fettel the evil chatty type. As they make their way back to mother aka Alma, the little demonic girl with great telepathic powers. Turns out she’s prego and the fellas want to get to her before every body else does.

You’ll battle your way through sewers, broken down city streets and Cosco…..no I’m being serious you do fight your way through one bloody rendition of Cosco. One thing that bothered me alot about the level design was how linear it was, I felt so shoved into a straight path with random boxes or clutter blocking any other possible path. Sure there are hidden rooms or places to go to but not alot and you do occasionally find some nice open areas but those are usually for the mech levels. That’s right if you missed part 2, mechs have been introduced into the Fear series. As random as it must sound I actually enjoy the mech aspect of the game it changes fighting from cover to cover to going Rambo on some fools.

You do have a nice variety in enemies and the A.I is pretty good on the hard setting. Camp out too long at one spot and you’ll either get grenade to death or flanked, later on you do encounter enemies that can teleport through walls and have shields. I like what they did with the multi-player modes for the game, you can co-op the whole campaign if you want. I didn’t I went solo, the other modes they have is your typical horde mode meets COD’s zombie mode. You also have a death-match mode where everybody is a spirit jumping in and out A.I controlled enemy bodies as you rack up kills. Final word, less scares but great action make Fear 3 a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FEAR 3

posted by deadgame (CHICO, TX) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off wow what a cool game!!!!! Anyway FEAR 3 is a FPS with a very scary and dark atmosphere it's not like what you would think of. When you say FPS you think COD and Battlefield series but no this is differint with a scary background so it's completly differnint!!!! Anyway it's storie is pretty good but the multiplayer is kinda stupid but the ranking is awesome so do yourself a favor and rent this!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why?

posted by Jsstill (LA HABRA, CA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Why does everyone say this game is terrible? I love it, it's fun, it has scared me a couple times, and condemned didn't make me flinch. This game is honestly amazing. I did get lost in a few levels, i'll admit to that, but otherwise this game is the scariest thing i've played this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Moma's Baby. Daddy is dust.

posted by MoSkillz (DETROIT, MI) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fear is absolutely the best shooter series ever. And the best storied Series ever. Don't mess with momma. Cuz her babies are lethal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Split screen co op

posted by racoonsurvivor (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Aug 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best split screen co op games I have ever played on the 360. It is different because not only do both characters play different but they also level in game, once you lvl up you get new passive abilities to make yourself better. Also there is a competitive challenge in game because after every level you are given a score total and the higher score is called the favorite child. You can work together on every decision or compete it is up to you. I have not done the game alone yet but if you have a friend why would you, play through once as player one and again as player two for a completely different experience, it is great. Oh yea and player two can body jump into the enemy... NUFF SAID. This is not the best game ever but it is the best one in the fear series, so I strongly recommend renting this and grabbing a friend, turn out the lights and let the bullets and profanities fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by myxbox360 (CANTON, MS) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Anthony here.first off.f.e.a.r 3 a good game.i found the story nice.the shooting&slo-mo reflex was awsome.the switch&who can you play with like point man of farell.this is a good rental&the co-op was really nice.i had a good time with the game.aven't played a game like this since max payne,it's good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game with good ideas

posted by ninja_demon234 (PALERMO, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

fear 3 is a good choice for people who like a game that has several oher games in it fear 3 not only has co-op but it also has survival and others also playing fear 3 online is like a whole ball game fear 3 has the best graphics and a evenly toned campaign overall fear 3 is a variety of games packed into one another with a bunch of good stuff piled on top and served as an all day meal
in others get this game now or youll be sorry u didnt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

F.E.A.R Alma.... Um a Third Time

posted by titanjb (WAYNESBORO, VA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being the huge Horror fan that I am I instantly fell in love with the F.E.A.R Series. The first two games were some of the best times I have had in gaming. And counting down the days till I got F.E.A.R 3 in the mail was torture.
Let's just say F.E.A.R 3 is definitely not a disappointment. However it does feel very different, but is still a very great game and addition to the series.
The scares are still there and feel a lot better directed this time around.
The game is short only 8 levels but each level could take anywhere from 30 to 45 mins to finish.
Gunfight segments are just as fun as ever. But one letdown was that you could only carry two guns at a time.
Overall I personally think that the series is just as good as ever!
And come on who doesn't love it when Alma randomly peeks out of a door in the corner of your screen!
I look forward to playing F.E.A.R 4 and beyond.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

F.E.A.R 3

posted by lADYSNOOGY2 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game, never even thought for once second about playing the first two. But now, I'm so lost its unbelieveable lol. I highly recommend playing the first two or even the second one before trying to attempt playing this one :) anywho .. the multiplayer is AWSOME SAUCE and the campain is pretty decent too if you know what your doing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

About F.E.A.R 3

posted by anthonycasano (FORDS, NJ) Jul 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

F.E.A.R 3 is the best of all three of the F.E.A.R serioz with a multiplayer co-op campaign and even if you beat the campaign Rank 21 and all you can always play the online 4 player zombies mode this was the best rental game i had yet (in my opinion not yours) i wish i could have owned this game but four know It can only be a rental for me so please try F.E.A.R 3 I think you,ll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

F.E.A.R 3

posted by Tobuscus (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ownificationating. The game intrigued me. At first I really enjoyed it. I was into it, though a little spooked at some points. The odd part is, It gets boring much too easily. It got boring for me soon after I beat the game. I was tempted to replay it on hard but I was just too lazy. The beginning was fun, lots of people to murder. As soon as I beat the first level, though, I turned around and replayed it as Fettle. I suggest you get this game. But for rent. It's not the kind of game that could keep me running for ages but hey, I have a short attention span. Like it, enjoy it, play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by dirtyblackhoe (THOMASVILLE, GA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As always it took me about 1-2 levels of playing the game before I got INTO it, but once I did I couldn't put the game down. There weren't many "scary" parts, but the last level had the hair on the back of my neck standing up and it was an awesome experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game but a little 2 short

posted by ImSinner (EVERETT, WA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the first 2 FEARS one because of how in the first one the monsters would pop out of no where and just scare me the second one did the same thing and the story behind the second one was very creative. This one i enjoyed the story but it seems like they didn't put as much work into as they did for with the first 2. It had a different feel to it and the monsters just coming out of no where wasnt really there that and the fact theres only 8 missions i was hoping it was going to be longer. Still a very fun game and as always guns were ablazing :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

F.E.A.R. 3 is a awsome game

posted by cdsargent17 (SPRINGFIELD, VT) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

playing F.E.A.R. 3 was a very good game but i do have to say that they should have added some more modes for online play but other then that its a good. F.E.A.R. 3 takes place right after the first game so that kind of took me back this is the first in the series that i have played if i were you i would rent the first two F.E.A.R. games. I thought the first game was not to bad if you can get over the bad graphices then its a good game. F.E.A.R 2 was alot better. so go out and play the first two games before playing this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FEAR 3

posted by mrgrimm200 (LITHONIA, GA) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fear 3 is a pretty good game! better fighting and action than fear 2 and 1 and also the A.I. are pretty smart at calling out where you are and one thing i love in a game is rushing and theres alot of suprises with the fighting! but one downer about the game is that i personally think that fear 2 was scarier.. so all and all.. where fear 2 lacks in fighting it makes up in scares and where fear 3 lacks in scares it makes up in fighting! also the multiplayer is really good with the mix of game types.. definately a buy.. 8.5 if i could..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lessens the scares but ups the fun

posted by dardens12 (ELKTON, MD) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The F.E.A.R trilogy has had a lot of ups and downs. It started off with a bang when it introduced the original which was packed with a lot of scares inside during a time where games like that were at a minimum. Then F.E.A.R 2 came along and it was met with mixed results as a lacking single player game and a tacked on multiplayer component really had the series hit an all time low. But F.E.A.R 3 is back and adds a whole lot of fun to a franchise that I had thought was left for dead. From the start I notice that it abandons its horror routes and goes with a more run and gun mechanic. While some fans will be up in arms I felt that it's a needed change because when F.E.A.R 3 tries to be scary it uses old tricks from previous installments that feel stale at this point. One of the biggest additions to the franchise is its co-op supported campaign, you play as point man and Fettel. Point Man uses your regular FPS mechanics to defeat foes so nothing new has been introduced in that department. However, when you play as Fettel you use an electronic blast to defeat enemies and you also have the ability to suspend them in midair and poses their bodies and go back to regular FPS mechanics. In this way F.E.A.R 3 is unbalanced. Another cool addition is when the game quitely tallies up both players scores and at the end of the campaign whichever character has the most points, gets the ending they prefer. Kudos to F.E.A.R 3 for discarding the holy trinity of FPS multiplayer modes and instead implementing some cool modes. One mode is similar to Black Ops' zombie mode where you defend yourself from waves of enemies. While another mode has your running from a wall of death chasing you from behind while you battle enemies in front of you. All in all F.E.A.R 3 is a complete package that has flaws but overcomes them with fun gameplay and some cool multiplayer modes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not all that great

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Aug 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I can still remember playing the original FEAR on my PC...remember the sense of dread it gave me walking into every dark room or climbing down every staircase. I still remember the final scene...the feeling of awe from watching the blast cloud rush towards me with nowhere to go.

This game had none of that...and what a disappointment! The "scare" scenes were nothing that I hadn't seen in a run-of-the-mill horror movie. The enemies were WAY too resilient to bullets, especially ones directed to the face. None of the guns really felt that much more powerful than the others. It seemed like you could have a powerful gun with low fire rate or a weak gun with high fire rate...but in the end they all just averaged out.

The story wasn't that great...the horror part wasn't that great. The guns weren't that great. The dialogue was just a bunch of profanity. The heavier soldiers were just annoying.

I'm just glad I have GameFly because if I would have spent any money on this game I would have been pretty angry at my ROI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

F3AR

posted by Chase88 (ELLWOOD CITY, PA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

35 out of 45 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Ok this game is pretty good. The function is very smooth a little slow on swapping gun's.Short story only 8 mission's to play but there's two side's to the story... As u know u get to play as Fettel or Point-man.The co-op story is AWESOME if u have someone good to play with.The multiplayer is very fun just like COD's zombie's... did'nt get to play the other mode's cause u have to buy the game.Their ranking is very simple just cause as much mayham as u can.... And you unlock perk's like... extra ammo, slide kick,better body armour and much more. Hope u like the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very different and very fun!

posted by chrgrrules3 (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Graphics/Design:
The graphics in F.3.A.R are not spectacular, but they get the job done. The level designs are linear for the most part and player's won't have much trouble navigating the levels and finding where to go. Though the levels are linear, each level has it's own distinct look to it, so environments are not repeated which is pleasing to the eye.

Campaign:
When playing solo, the game will operate as a normal shooter since you will playing as Pointman. However, the game shines when it comes to the co-op mode. In co-op the game allows the second player to be Paxton Fettel, he plays very differently from the Pointman, using his psychic abilities and mind control techniques against his enemies. He brings in a more dynamic strategy to the combat, he can restrain enemies in the air allowing the Pointman to get an easy shot, he can take control of soldiers allowing him access to their artillery providing fire support for Pointman, and finally he has the ability to give Pointman a shield barrier that makes him more damage resistant in combat. In other words, Paxton is the perfect wingman in combat, his abilities allow for many combat options for the player, whether they want to assist the Pointman from afar with the shielding and levitation powers or possessing a soldier and fighting alongside the Pointman on the frontlines. Whatever character the player chooses to be, the campaign is very fun with two people. The story is hazey at first, but begins to clear up the further you get. The campaign is filled with intense firefights and awesome cut scenes that will leave you saying, "Holy $#&%!" The downside is that the campaign is very short, it will not take you very long at all to beat it. Also, and regretfully it is not as terrifying as the last two games, which is a little disappointing.

Multiplayer:
The game offers two competetive and two co-op modes which offer hours of fun. Every game mode is unique in their own way giving a new experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

To Disagree With Many

posted by Djohns30 (CANTON, OH) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Okay lets just do pros and cons. Also please take into account that im a huge gamer and i love all kinds of games and can find the little things that make them awesome. Im definitely not one of those knit-pickers that search for reasons to complain.

Pros
~they kept bullet time which comes in handy during hand to hand and getting out of bad situations

~the AI response to damage was awesome. Shoot them in the leg and they grab for it and stumble around.

~There are still a few points in the game that catch you off guard and make you jump a little.(it was night time and i have a awesome surround sound okay, so it sounded like stuff was in my room with me. So dont judge me)

Cons
~The game is very very short. 8 missions which you are supposed to finish within 15 to 20 minutes on average. I know this because they tell you at the end of each mission how long it "should" have taken you to complete it. So dont get this for the long run. it should take you a little over an hour to beat it.

~AI is very predictable like in older games.

~Graphics arent awesome. A friend came in when i was playing the game and asked me if it was the first FEAR game cause of the lack of progression in the new graphics.

~The story isnt that awesome compared to the first two, probably because of how short it is.

~Audio can be off at times, voices will be low for no reason and you'll do a lot of turning volumes up and down

Overall i wouldn't play this game again, when i died i hated the fact that i had to redo some of the stuff which i rarely feel that way. It was just lacking that awesomeness the first two had. I think everyone should at least check this game out to give it a chance and i hope my review gave some idea of what to expect so that you will not be as disappointed as i was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It was bound to happen... again.

posted by Skinny (THEODORE, AL) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, first there was F.E.A.R. which was great.

Then came the F.E.A.R. Files port to X-box which was just awful. Clumsy controls, horrible graphics, and so on.

Bless the Devs because F.E.A.R. 2 was beyond great. It was a fantastic game that allowed players to kick over and use just about anything as cover, tight controls, and even the ability to select fire rates with select weapons.

Now we have F.3.A.R. which not unlike F.E.A.R. Files is a complete pile of excrement. See the cycle now? Good, Bad, Awesome, and Horrible.

As a fan of the original and it's sequel I was stoked for this game. But something about it kept me from pre-ordering it like I did the others. I would like to think it was my gamer sense tingling in severe warning but I was probably just broke at the time.

This game takes everything that made the sequel great and threw them out of the window. Once air tight controls now feel clumsy, the new cover system is atrocious, you can barely see a thing even with the flashlight, the graphics are sub-par, and worst of all it's extremely short.

Let me bash this cover system for a while. Well, to call it a complete failure would actually come off as a compliment. Rather than taking the normal approach like most shooters and just have the player crouch behind something to provide cover. We are now glued to the wall or box, much like in GoW. Now this system is not bad when used in a third person, but going into cover in an FPS like this just has you staring straight at the box or wall, unable to know what's going on. And if someone chunks a grenade be prepared to scream in anger as you try to unstick yourself from said wall or box.

I still can't figure it out. F.E.A.R. 2 was freakin' awesome, intense, and really fun to play. This one seems more like they took out all of the fun bits and added Co-Op thinking we wouldn't notice the change in gameplay.

Rent it if you want, but more than likely you'll send it back the next day like I did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good co-op game

posted by stevenfred (RICHARDSON, TX) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was beater than i expected. it is one of the best co-op games i have played because the two main charters are totally different and neither of them can do the same thing as the other. the gohst is the go into the fight first while the other brings the damage. the online is not that good so i would just rent and beat it that is all it is worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse