Buy Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
9.0

19935 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best fantasy RPG ever made, period.

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

259 out of 287 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Skyrim has probably been the most anticipated game on my radar ever since the first trailer featuring Max Von Sydow was released last year, and to be honest, it surpassed every high expectation I had for this latest Elder Scrolls game. The game starts out as all other Elder Scroll games with you being a nameless prisoner on your way to your own execution, when not to spoil anything, all heck breaks loose. This leads to the discovery that you are Dovakin (born with the soul of a dragon) and destined by the stars to be the savior of all of Skyrim (and Tamriel for that matter). The story is epic and delivers on an emotial scale that was lacking in Oblivion and IMHO is the best in the series. The gamebryo engine that was used in Oblivion (and Fallout 3 & New Vegas) has been replaced with the "Creation" engine and without a doubt the graphics in Skyrim are on the amazing side for a RPG of this scale and scope. The music score by Jeremy Soule (who did the music in Oblivion) is amazing and haunting and in a game of this length alot of it repeats over and over (as any fan of fallout or oblivion will tell you) but to me never got old. The combination of great music, ambiance, story telling, atmosphere, and addictive gameplay brings Skyrim IMHO into the realm of high art that few other games have touched so far in my 34+ yrs of gaming..so what are you waiting for ? put it on your game Q and find out for yourself.. Skyrim is the best game I have ever played, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best 60 bucks ever spent

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Nov 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

107 out of 122 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is the best 60 dollars I have ever spent. Reviews are every were and most all of them are right on the money. This game has it all, action, puzzles, quests that feel important, different play styles, and best of all Dragons. I am not talking about 1 or 2 like dragon age I am talking about a fantasy game with endless amounts of dragons, these fights are always awesome. There are things worse than dragons and there are things that will out right beat on you until you are high level, but this game is so good that usually you dont care. I am 60 hours in and have barely scratched the surface. I am lost in this world and can not wait until I find myself in front of my x box again, Thank you Bethesda for literally the best video game I have ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best. Elder Scrolls. Ever. Period.

posted by Aradace (LANSING, MI) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

97 out of 112 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I didnt know what to expect at first when I had heard that there were no longer going to be stats in the game. But the way that, and more or less everything else was executed has waylaid any and all doubt I had in my mind whatsoever.

For starters, there is no longer any gear durability. That's right, you no longer have to repair your gear which IMO is freakin' awesome.

Secondly, every time you clear a dungeon, you'll get a little "flag" next to it's name on your in game map telling you that you've cleared it. Meaning that you no longer have to guess if you've been in that random area you've just discovered on the way to your latest quest or not.

Thirdly, the graphics are just absolutely stunning. Im not really big on graphics myself but for those players that are I assure you that you most likely will not be disappointed in the slightest. The atomosphere has a darker and grittier feel to it like Morrowind had which is a huge plus in my opinion. However, if you're looking for anything other than snow and mountains everywhere you look, you may be disappointed.

Next, the 3rd person camera is much better this time. They essentially just made it like FO:3 and NV where you not only have your crosshair in 1st person, but 3rd as well.

I cant really comment on the main story as to whether or not it was done well or not because Ive yet to really do any of it beyond the first town. Reason being, Im still doing side quests and Dark Brotherhood stuff and plan to finish most of those before I start anymore on the main story. But what I have played of it, is pretty impressive IMO.

And lastly, DUAL WIELDING!!! I dont think I should have to say anything beyond that. It essentially doubles your potential offensive strength. The only downside and literally, the ONLY downside is that you cannot block and have to rely completely on your own ability to dodge and evade incoming attacks.

So what are you waiting for? Stop reading and press "keep it" o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim!!!!

posted by z3triikz (PACOIMA, CA) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Skyrim!!! what can i say this game is phenomenal. its just hours and hours of dragon slaying spell casting and anything else you can think of. This has got to be one of the best games ever made at first it may seem kind of boring but when you give it a chance you'll find yourself losing track of time over all its worth a buy rent it first if this isn;t your kind of game but i couldn't wait for gamefly to ship it so i went out and bought unlike mw3 i dont regret spending 60 dollars on this masterpiece

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE DEATH OF MY SOCIAL LIFE!!!!

posted by stonephelps5 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 11, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game to come out since Golden Eye on N64. Story mode is awsome. the game never ends (litterally doesnt end). i could play this game for hours and hours. The FIRST REAL free roam game. You can wonder into caves that seem small and get lost in them for hours but not get bored. this game was the death of my social life. i would recomend this game over ANY game and i mean ANY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a really awesome game a must have!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Sep 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

skyrim is the name of a place where u start out as. you start out as a prisoner, u can go over wherever u want, dualcast use two spells, and slay monsters just to lvl.

I loved this game cuz of wat u do in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 out of 10

posted by Draco181 (BEDFORD, TX) Aug 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best games ever played. This is the gaming experience I have been longing for. Not only is there so much to do, see, and kill/loot. You could play this game for years and still not find/do everything. Why can't more games follow in it's footsteps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim

posted by LordGregor (LANCASTER, CA) Jun 29, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bethesda continues to make games that draws me into an immense game play experience! I thought the Fall Out series was one of the best rpg's until I played this!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mind blowing

posted by DAG (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has so many pros and so few cons that I don't know where to start. Let me say one thing first though - if you experience game freezes then do a couple of things... get rid of all your game saves except for your most recent ones. Also delete all downloaded files associated with the game (like the disc saved to console, the update file, etc)... and do the clear cache trick. I did these things and it fixed me right up.

On to the good stuff - this game has good graphics, good physics, decent (not horrible) animation, good controls and menus, good realtime fighting dynamics, and countless activities and varying journeys for you to choose from. The ways that you can play this game vary so much that you can play it from beginning to end several times and it be like playing 3 different games - each with different characters, abilities, and discovering totally different things each time.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim Has No Equal!!

posted by ImaNinja97 (NORMAN, OK) Jun 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I really got into on the Xbox and even after having it for a few years I still LOVE it, best $60 ever spent! The graphics are absolutely fantastic and the storyline is awesome! The DLCs are all very good and add to the game in several different ways. So many different ways you can go about playing the game it's really fantastic. Some minor glitches (floating weapons/bodies, disappearing and reappearing landscape) but 99% of the time when the game glitches it's so minor and hilarious you can't really get frustrated. The only thing I would add would be multi-player or online playing, I have a lot of friends who play this game too and I would love to play with them. Unfortunately the game has so much going on I don't think it'll ever happen...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 300+ hours I've ever spent.

posted by MACDADDYDOLLAZZ (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pro's: Story line, characters, graphics, content

Con's: Lack of sleep, cost of Mountain Dew and Pizza Rolls, cramps from sitting in the same position for 12 hours at a time

I've nearly burnt my eyes out of their sockets because I can't put the controller down. Best game I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome.

posted by iaskedaquestion (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Jan 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I now know why this game won game of the year. Skyrim is addicting, you could easily sink 100 hours into playing it. It has like 300 quests, so you'll never get bored. you can do what ever you want, to joining guilds, to killing everyone in a city. Skyrim should earn the game of the century award.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim = Epic!

posted by GRiF_XIII (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I had my expectations pretty high for this installment. I even stood outside the local Gamestop at 2:00am on a work-night to pick it up (didn't get there until 1:30am but still impressive they were out there that late).

Usually when a game is this hyped I end up disappointed in the final product or maybe have my expectations met at best. This is the exception. To say that Skyrim is "epic" may seem cliched, but there is no other word better suited for this game. As soon as you are allowed to wander freely on your own, Skyrim becomes more than a game. It becomes an experience. Everything about Skyrim is designed to immerse you in this world, from picking flowers and catching butterflies, to crafting armor and upgrading weapons, to exploring caves, dungeons, castles, and endless open world environments.

The simple yet genius design of using the left and right triggers for each hand seems not only common sense but very natural. The first-person and third-person views both work very well. The visuals are astonishing to say the least - especially in interior environments. In no other game have I been compelled to stop what I'm doing and simply look at the beauty that surrounds me. While most of the environments are snow covered mountains, there are plenty of spring meadows, babbling brooks and elegant waterfalls, all surrounded by incredible wildlife such as elk, foxes, deer and the more hostile bears, wolves and mountain lions. Dragons make for great battles if not as amazing as initially anticipated. Fun to defeat and steal their souls to make your character more and more powerful. The quests seem endless.

I'm 80 hours into the game and I've barely touched the main quest. You can easily spend hundreds of hours playing this game - plan accordingly. No doubt you'll get your $60 dollars worth. Definitely a contender for game of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The End-all-beat-all RPG of 2011 and beyond

posted by Mustavios (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

22 out of 31 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

For those of you that have played the previous installment, this is a must. The menus are simple and easy to use, the leveling system is natural and requires little focus in comparison to the combination of attribute/skill leveling of Oblivion.

The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is an even greater step toward free-range role-playing, in the sense you have little to NO boundaries when roaming the map; giving another variable to the already endlessly-unique environment.

A must have for all RPG fans, Elder Scrolls has once again set the standard of excellence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME OF THE YEAR

posted by caseyc420 (EL DORADO, AR) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This literally is the best game of the year definitely.
Everything about this game screams perfection. This is not just a re-mesh of Oblivion. The developers completely re-did the whole inventory screens/quest screens and everything seems to be much more fluid on the xbox 360 now. They took a hint at how well the Fallout layout played out and then added upon that.
Graphics are top notch for an RPG game, a big step up from Oblivion. Characters look much more life like and their movements are much more fluid and realistic.
The skills are the biggest and best improvement in my opinion. You actually get to branch out on each skill that you use and get extra perks for that skill. Leveling up is not just about numbers anymore. Fighting is great, and they now have action sequence scenes that show a slowed down kill that is very satisfying. Another GREAT edition to this game is that you can now equip double weapons or double spells or even a spell in one hand and a weapon/shield in the other. Basically everything that was wrong or a shortcoming in Oblivion was made up in Skyrim. I expect to put in a good 300-400 hours into this one just like its predecessor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Vanilla SKYRIM

posted by pandareemy (FREEPORT, NY) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love this game. Hands down 1 of my favorite games of all-time. There's so much to do, so get ready to invest A LOT of time into this game. I played Oblivion over & over again but this definitely tops that game, easily.

The weapons + armor, amazing. The more you progress, the greater the weapons + armor get and the more amazing your character looks.

I must say that the story is great as well, but nothing too spectacular, and the dragons can get annoying after awhile (I mean do you really wanna fight a dragon everytime you fast travel?) but for me it wasn't that much of an issue.

I do wish there were more variations with towns, and that there was more to do on a daily basis for those of us wishing to "live" in Skyrim. The dwemer ruins are by far my favorite and can get difficult if you're not prepared.

The fighting is top notch, and the perk system is so great in here. Your character will become a true warrior within the first 10 hours of play, given the right path choices.

I played this for XBOX 360 and the glitches are everywhere, but it didn't stop me from playing the game. I've heard the PS3 glitches are irredeemable. Just make sure that you SAVE a lot and keep several save spaces open just in case.

All in all, there are rarely any games that can be on par with Skyrim. The developers had a large undertaking with creating this world, and it's evident in each step you take in this world. This is a definite buy, but if you're skeptical about some of the downfalls just rent in and give it a month. Time & patience + amazing gameplay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Decade!

posted by Hungryarmadillo (PIEDMONT, SC) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Game of the Decade!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Astoundingly Addicting

posted by MysticMagicks (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This is probably my first console RPG that I've played (I never played the other Elder Scrolls games, and the only other RPGs that I play are on the PC), and I can confidentally say that I'm addicted. I rented this game a few days ago, and I've already logged around 20 hours, with much more to continue. I've played this game much much more than the new Call of Duty MW3, much to my surprise.

Although this game is near perfect, it still has some frustrating cons. One of which, is that sometimes the character gets stuck in a weird part of the ground, or in some rocks, and you end up having to revert to a previous save (if you can't travel out of there via the map). Another, is that when/if you buy a horse, it always runs over to help you attack your opponent. You may think that this is useful, but nay; the horse tends to aggro the attacker, get in the way of your line of sight, and die before you can do anything about it.

All in all, this game is quite amazing, and is the most bug-free rpg I've played in a while. A must-get if you're into fantasy/medieval styles of gameplay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun to explore and kill things

posted by eclipsedmoon86 (CUMMING, GA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

just bought the game tonight lol i couldn't wait any longer anyways the game is just about perfect with a few minor annoyances such as the subtitles being incredibly small and getting stuck in a few odd places that i shouldn't be trying to get to anyways :L the graphics for the game on 360 are pretty solid Bethesda really did a great job on the feel of the game instead of just constantly hitting the attack buttons your actually slowed down a bit by the weight of the sword and shield you use so there is a slight recover time when fighting that can be exploited by your enemies so using tactics is usually a good idea if your playing on a harder difficulty other wise you'll be in the meat grinder when you have 8 draugrs chasing you lol but really this is a great game and although it has a few very minor annoyances it is a great game 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why Skyrim Makes Me Want to be a Nord.

posted by IsaacisaDemon (PLACERVILLE, CA) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Beause the game is one big wet dream of fantasy and everything else and beyond.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Great Pyramid of Games

posted by soco (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

15 out of 26 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I think aliens built this. No way man could construct such a wonder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year

posted by ClapTrap (NEWTON, NJ) Nov 10, 2011

Member since May 2006

16 out of 28 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Right from the start of this game you can tell it's going to be something different. Great graphics, innovative new combat system, more user friendly looting, and overall just such an improvement and terrific game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Irf9393 (BRANDON, FL) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Wow, That was an amazing game. The opening scene was AWESOMEEEE!! This game totally blew my mind. I could not believe how beautiful the graphics looked on my xbox. It was a total fix of Oblivion, in my opinion. It also played more like a fallout game, which is great for me, since that was what I had started with. So I was already pretty used to the controls. But in other words, this was a great game. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the greatest game ever made!!! : )

posted by Shelim (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The Title says it all!-Lol but seriously you have no idea how awesome, intense and deep this game really is. I even stopped playing my MW3 Hardcore Search Multiplayer and Dead Island with my friends so I can continue to enjoy Skyrim's unbelievable awesomness! I've played and beaten just about every great game that has ever came out (across all systems) but Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is a masterpiece and by far the best. They improved there 3rd person view-but the more realistic First Person view is the only way it should be played. Just like Oblivion the world and storyline are epic with a ridiculous amount of voice acting, etc...,etc... I could go on and on about the AI and the NPC's 24/7 lives and the variety of quests and individual story lines aside from the main storyline engulfing you into the lore of Elder Scrolls IV and V but I do hope one day they remake part 3 with updated graphics, etc... This game can never be a rental-it must be owned!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Skyrim

posted by unclebedda (LESLIE, MO) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Greatest game to come out in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse