Buy Donkey Kong Country Returns for Wii
view large frontback

Donkey Kong Country Returns

Buy

New: $29.99

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

8742 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Retro Studios has done it again.

posted by SoulGamer (STAFFORD, TX) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

37 out of 39 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

After the great Metroid Prime Trilogy created by Retro Studios, they tackle a 2-D Donkey Kong game and it's a blast!

Story: A group of new enemies called the Tiki Tribe is hypnotizing animals and using them to steal all of Donkey Kong bananas. The story is simple, plus this game isn't meant to focus on story but on gameplay.

Graphics: The graphic is okay. I was expecting graphics as good on metroid prime 3, but nope. Their are still some pretty good looking levels where everything is black while the sunset shines out the red tie and hat on the monkey.

Music: The music is great to listen to. Each music fit the level so well, and it brings back the old days to the original Donkey Kongs game.

Gameplay: The gameplay is outstanding. Mine cart levels are intense, Rambi is fun to use, and the motion controls makes it more interactive. For example, the motion controls are used to roll, ground bound, and make donkey kong blow wind to find secrets. Be warned though, the game is extremely hard, especially in the later worlds.

Extras: There is a ton of content in this game. In many levels, there are puzzle pieces in secret hidden areas that will unlock images in the gallery. Also, there are KONG letters in each level which will unlock a extra stage in the end which is by far the hardest level. There is time attack mode where you basically go through each level as fast as you can. And last, there's mirror mode where every single level is reverse.

Overall: I give this game a 9, its challenging and fun. If you want a hardcore 2-D plat former, than get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DKC is back!!!!!

posted by gateway (SPLENDORA, TX) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I used to play Donkey Kong Country alot when i was very little on the snes.My dad and i used to play the heck out of it, so when i saw this game come out i was shocked. Dounkey Kong Country Returns is almost just like the old snes games with 3-d put into it.This game also features 2 player co-op where one plays as dk and one as diddy kong.This was a nice feature for my friends to come and play it. The difficulty is massive compared to recent nintendo games. You will not be dissipointed with the hardness like the old games. DKCR as alot of replay value with trying to collect all the KONG letters and puzzle pieces for 100%. Note kremlings are not included and are replayced with tikis, but it does not matter. Also the music is just as great as the snes games with some remixed tracks fom DKC 1.

So I highly recommend you buying this game and enjoy Donkey Kong Country all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Classic

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you loved the classics... you will love this one. It has more environmental challenges than the old one, but it keeps it exciting and more challenging. There are a few more add-ons. Not many though. You collect K.O.N.G and puzzle peices. One thing that is easier tho.... the amount of lives you get. It is only like 15 coins to buy 7 extra lives at crankys.

All around... worth buying if you loved the old ones

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I am In Love

posted by jordyp08 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I Love This Game Ive never gave a game a 10 but this games brings back memory of my all favorite game Levels are awesome and Easy to control!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't knock the game for your lack of talent

posted by Element187 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I mean seriously. Retro did an amazing job on this game. Its a wonderful love letter to all of games in the 80's and 90's... Back before games held your hand. Back when games had you actually playing a game instead of having you watch the computer play the game for you and asked you to press 'A' occasionally here and there (QTE garbage in AAA games)

So 'gamers' today find this too difficult because the game actually lets you live and die on your own skill as a gamer... Because Donkey Kong isn't holding your hand at all you give this game a terrible score.

Can anyone name a single Donkey Kong game that wasn't difficult? I can't and I have been playing Donkey Kong games since the early 80's, they all were difficult and intentionally difficult at that.... so I see a reviewer knocking a Donkey Kong game for being too hard, I just have to chuckle, because THATS THE POINT OF A DONKEY KONG GAME to challenge you, to make you throw the controller in frustration.

Chin up all you terrible gamers out there, there is other Wii games right up your alley with your name on it.

Kirby's Epic Yarn and Super Cooking Mama deluxe edition... go on with your bad selves. These games were designed for people who are not so good at games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DKC Forever!

posted by AreA_17 (DENVER, CO) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son and wife both love(d) this game! The laughs and smiles continued to roll in, I was this close to actually playing a Wii game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game for the Wii.

posted by rhythmguitarhv (SPRING BRANCH, TX) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games on Wii in my opinion. Besides that, I've played the SNES DKC games several times each. I was already a big fan. This is by a different company, so it's a little bit different. I'm a bigger fan of the SNES versions, but this one is still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great!

posted by treen2107 (CHICO, CA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Amazing graphics. Every level is different and exciting. I'm really impressed. It was also challenging and fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Best Games Ever!

posted by yoshimetroid247 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing! The gameplay, the story, and the graphics are 100% perfect! Nintendo REALLY took their time making this game.
I reccomend this game to anyone considering to buy it, because they will spend HOURS on end playing it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Favorite Game of this Year!

posted by cgmonger (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting for a Donkey Kong Country game it seems like forever. I have played all of the others and I love love love this game. It's a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Funnest Game Ever!!

posted by DiddyKongx (WATAUGA, TX) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun. I played it and i loved how the controls were and the new moves that it couldn't do on the old DKC game. I recommend playing this game cause it is like a never-ending exciting game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Rent

posted by JPackwood (FISHERS, IN) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game as it brings me back to the days of SNES. I even went as far as to prepare myself for this title by dusting off the cartridge of Donkey Kong Country and playing with my 4 yo. daughter for a few hours to allow her the same experience I had as a child! I believe now though, that with the revamped version for Wii, she will be more entertained than I was playing SNES. Overall, I gave this game a 9/10 simply because no game deserves a 10 unless it is just truly amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally have the wife playing a game!!

posted by JoeyGee23 (EAST HARTFORD, CT) Nov 23, 2010

Member since May 2010

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I am 40...been there for Atari, Arcades, Intelivision, Atari 5200, ColecoVision, Commodore 64, NES, snes, ps1, PS2, PS3. This game is perfect throwback to 2d scrollers. It looks great, co-op 2 players with piggy back has my wife hooked! This is no small feat! Hours and hour of MW2, God of War etc. & she's finally playing. Much more engaging than the "shovelling" of bowling. The game is very challenging! Might be a keeper!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best platformers out there!

posted by Skytelz (ARVADA, CO) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Just finished playing through the entire game and wow I must say what a game this is. Incredibly challenging, this game never lost my interest. At times I got so frustrated I wanted to throw my controller but I can honestly say I was never bored once during this game. This is by far the most challenging Donkey Kong game I have ever played and in my opinion the best one made as well. The only complaint I really had about this game is co-op mode. This game was not meant to be played by two people at once. I;m sure plenty of you who read this will disagree but if you play through it by yourself and then try and play it with another person, you will find how much more of a challenge it really is. My biggest suggestion to any of you who play this game, is don't play with a 7 year old. You will die 15 times on every single level, at least. Sometimes even upwards of 50 times. But other then that this game is pretty much perfect. The stand alone wii controller was a little testy at times, rolling me off a platform when i was trying to pound or blowing when i was trying to roll but frequent checkpoints help make that not such a huge problem. Overall, one excellent Wii title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Seriously the most fun I've had with my Wii

posted by Mikey0505 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It starts off a little slow but picks up by about world 3, me and my sister (17 and 21) had a lot of fun, but its not something you should be expecting your 8 year old to play with you, unless its Asian, because this is a really, really hard game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good game

posted by lollol (CHELSEA, MA) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

my kids love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another average platformer

posted by JohnUt (OTTUMWA, IA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Donkey Kong's controls feel sluggish. Nothing compelled me to keep this past one day. Your mileage may vary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

donkey kong country returns

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game brings back memories of my childhood spending everyday
playing snes this was one of my first games on snes.I like how they
took things from super mario and sonic and zelda and combined them
all in one.

the gameplay value is basic and fun
10 out of 10

the story
10 out of 10

the graphics
10 out of 10

they need to take all the popular games from the gen of nes and snes
and genesis and rerinder 2d scrolling with 3d graphics. 2d needs to come back 3d is dying out please nintendo do your thing come back 25
years and growing strong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game, didnt like control scheme

posted by twa318 (CHARLESTON, SC) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

DK country returns is a great game. It totally looks like a donkey kong country game should, however I wasnt a huge fan of the control scheme.

You have to motion the wiimote to do a roll attack, and I know its just me but I found this difficult to do on a consistent basis. I would have liked the ability to map this action to a button as opposed to motion-controls.

This game eventually became too difficult and frustrating for me. I had to leave it unfinished due to my inability to grasp the controls and being unable to finish the more difficult levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh....

posted by Xx___Sammi (ODESSA, TX) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play this game, having loved the other Donkey Kong Country games. Though, when I received and played this game, I was disappointed. The levels seemed to be either ridiculously difficult, or far too easy. There wasn't a happy-medium. No, I don't want a game that is super simple, but I don't want one that is going to take me years to complete due to difficulty either.

Sent back before completion.

3/10

Definitely a game you rent instead of buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surprisingly Addictive!!!

posted by HJL883 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After reading all the negative reviews about this game I still rolled the dice and took a chance. And boy am I glad I did.

First I'll start by answering the gripes about the controls. Yes at first it does take a little getting use the shaking for most of the moves(rolling jump, ground pounding). By after the first set of levels the Wife and I had it down pretty good. After the end of the next set of levels it was second nature.

Now I heard some complaints about the graphics. It's a Wii. I don't know what people expect but if they're looking for Xbox or PS3 graphics you're not going to find it. Don't get me wrong I love all 3 systems for which each one offers something special, but the Wii lacks in that area.

The different locations you go to as you travel through the islands levels are a little bit the same by location. Like all the beach levels are similar. I do think each different place you go to does have unique and interesting levels. Like for instance the Tidal wave level, had a blast with that one!

I also read a review about only having two hearts and little direction. Well this game is pretty straight forward and if you want another heart for a difficult level then pay the 10g banana coins.

Overall I would definitely recommend this game. I tried Kirby but was just too... something. The wife and I stopped playing and put this game in. And we've been playing it till now. Played once through to beat it and then played through again to get all the "KONG" letters which will be needed later on. Kind of sad to send this one back we had that much fun playing it.

Hope this review helped, everyone have a happy holidays!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Donkey Kong Country returns

posted by marilynyae (NEW BERN, NC) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really like this game. I've always liked the donkey kong games this one is just as much fun as the original version. This is the first ten I've given a game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not What I Expected

posted by stephen7 (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off I have to apologize because as much as I loved playing donkey kong country when I was 10...I did not like this at all. I was expecting so much more but it was because I remembered how much fun I had when I was 10. Im no longer 10 and its no longer 1996 which sucks. I wanted this to be a great game and it just wasnt, it was just like every other wii game for kids...slow, boring, and just not fun for me at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for me

posted by YuletideCanine (GREENBRIER, TN) May 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The boards are fairly repetitive, and it gets stale pretty quickly. The controls (especially the jump) are awkward, and on most of the boards there's really no room for error. The sound is pretty irritating after a while too. I did not care for the game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Donkey Kong

posted by lock0134 (ELY, MN) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rarely have enjoyed many of the wii games and even less of them I buy. I WILL be buying this. It's a great game back in SNES days and it's an even better remake. This is a game for ALL ages. Put this on your que or you will be missing out.

pros
graphics
music
content

Cons
I'll let you know if I find one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse