Buy Disney Universe for Wii
view large frontback

Disney Universe

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.7

519 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

This Universe needs some variation

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

They took the best Disney/Pixar films, threw them into a blender, and hit the mix button. From that, out comes Disney Universe, a game where you play as one of a few characters from those lands (Tinkerbell, Aladdin, Stitch, and so on).
There are six levels to go through (Pirates of the Caribbean, Alice in Wonderland, Lion King, Aladdin, Monsters Inc., and Wall-E. Each level has three stages to get through.
In order to get through a stage, you and up to three other players, have to solve puzzles using items all about that stage. Some items are used to blow things up, plug up holes, launch players onto high ledges, and open doors. The best parts of the game are figuring out what you need to do in order to solve the puzzles.
However, fighting the bad guys is not as successful. This game relies on nothing more than button mashing combat where you beat up armies of bad guys consisting of mostly the same little guys. These guys don’t differ between the worlds – they just dress differently (I would’ve like to see a greater variety of bad guys).
This is an annoyance even with the inclusion of power ups like freeze ray one hit knock out.
There are challenges on every stage, but they consist of the basics – defeat a number of enemies, survive an assault, or gather up items.
Another problem I had with the game is the fixed camera; it does a far too good a job of hiding some items that players will want to find – and it makes some levels hard to traverse when the path is mostly off camera.
And the other problem I had with this game is the all the characters have the same moves, act the same way, and attack in the same way. This takes some of the fun out of unlocking characters.
Still, Disney Universe is a fun game to play – it has great puzzle design and includes some interesting character models. But the fixed camera and repetitive game play tarnishes the end product. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lego Disney... I mean Disney Universe

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've always wished the Lego series would do Disney, then this is the game for you. It copies the Lego games' mechanic of easy-going, non-challenging, task-based gameplay where you can't die and the objective is leisurely collecting various stuff as you go through the levels, and it also copies the Lego games' idea of accumulating various avatars for yourself as you beat the levels.

Unfortunately, unlike the Lego games (say, for instance, Star Wars or Harry Potter), the Disney universe as a whole has no overarching story, and the characters have no interesting or special powers. As a result this game gets old really fast.

If you really like Disney and are a casual gamer, this game is probably worth a rent, but otherwise don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but ultimately short lived

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Nov 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was fun, I will grant it that. It was as though Disney decided to make the next "Gauntlet" or "Diablo" game. However, it is very short lived. While there is extensive content, it is very easily unlocked and once it is unlocked (the work of maybe 10 hours total) there is nothing much to do.

Also, the game would most likely be too difficult for a child. I do not mean insofar as dying and all of that, but in the actual act of completing any of the levels. That being said, it is a novelty and enjoyable for a couple of adults, but is not a real replacement for a real party game that doesn't get boring after the first time or two through a level. A good attempt at making a party game, but ultimately too short lived to be worthwhile.

The 6 rating is because it was fun. However, I'm still glad I pre-ordered the Next Mario Party instead of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Way to hard to play

posted by sungs2005 (VANCOUVER, WA) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My family and i are fans of Dinsey games for the Wii
this game was way to had for a child to play and to understand this would be a good game for older childern

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

travel to disney

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and thought it was a good game. The graphics on this game look really nice and gameplay is pretty simple to pickup. The controls are simple move with the nunchuk and attack with the B button and jump with the a button. I like the fact that there is arrows to show you where to go for your tasks. The levels are great from pirates of the caribbean to wall-e and monsters inc. I wish you could play all the levels from the start instead of having to collect 2000 gold pieces to unlock each different story. The only problem I had with this game was the slow load times, it gets a little frustrating while playing this game having to wait between levels and freezing while in battles. If you are a disney fan or just like action game fan I would recommend this game. The only downfall is the slow load times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cute and Full of Adventure

posted by cuppycake748 (BLANDON, PA) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

I thought this game was very fun and never got boring. Although somtimes you need two to beat some tasks, not one. The whole idea of the game is genius. I have to say i really loved this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disney Universe Wii

posted by avataraang999 (GARLAND, TX) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

this wii game was was exceptional but will most likely not get the recognition it deserves as it will be labeled a "kids game" but it is a game worthy of all ages the 2 flaws are that you have to buy the worlds with game coins and it will one time only glitch and you have to restart your system although the interactive gameplay is crystal clear and you can dress up as your favorite Disney & Pixar character's and level up your weapons it is one of the greatest games I have ever played if you liked this game I would suggest Super Mario or Kirby

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disney Universe

posted by lorrielou (STEVENS POINT, WI) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

the grandkids loved it. great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by jacob52 (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

this game was so boring i only did the first two levels and then i quit on the third, am so sorry for those who think they would like this game but, at first i thought i would like this game a little bit but when i got it i was like WHAT! and i sent it back. the end: so i would not rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Disney Universe

posted by beckster54 (YORK, PA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is the best it was shipped in no time. It was fun to play and easy to defeat. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is for the youngest kids

posted by SheilaC (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

age range - 6 to 10. Otherwise complete waste. too easy, not what was expected at all. the teenagers in the house finished this in a couple of hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My kids love this game!

posted by marista (GILMER, TX) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Even my 4 year old is enthralled! They recognize the story lines from the movies, and the costumes. My 6 year old is really good at figuring out what to do next. I even enjoy watching them play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disney Universe is Not SO Universal.

posted by shiftergs (SAN JACINTO, CA) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

The game is a decent two-player. There is little story and humor is none. The graphics are good but on two-player a little hard to see, camera zooms out too much. The choice in characters to dress up as was decent, but some of them I think should have been left our or swapped for others, the same goes with levels, but maybe in a sequel they will give what movies and characters I prefer. It was hard though as some characters blended in with the environment color-wise way too much.

The gameplay as basic, swing your sword at stuff to break stuff to get coins, which you would then use to buy levels and characters. The levels were split into 3 different parts of one movie. They really tried to make each level non-repetitive by adding in little puzzles, but failed to make each unique, it became dull over time.

I really disliked the Wall-E levels, Pirates of Caribbean were probably best, sadly their set of costumes were not, as all pirates almost looked the same. The weakest costume had to be Little Mermaid's Ariel, I mean the way the tail hung out from under the legs was odd, plus the hair looked different.

For future movies/levels I'd like to see Little Mermaid, Jungle Book, Sword an the Stone, and Hercules. I wouldn't mind an addition to the Aladdin levels. I'd also like to be able to dress AS GENIE, the entire Aladdin levels let you dress as Aladdin, Jasmine, and Jafar. They also offered the bird (Iago) and the monkey (Abu) , I'd of preferred to be Genie out of those two.

All in all, a decent rental. If you're looking for a story or major fun then avoid this. All ages can have fun with this, if its a plain linear smash and grab with little puzzle game you want, here it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

my game did not work

posted by peteredro (PALM COAST, FL) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

the game was scratched and did not play in the system no matter what we did. it said there was something wrong with the game we would put another game and it played fine and then we would insert this one and it would just not work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it's fun

posted by al101 (GOTHA, FL) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

disney universe is one of those games that are fun because of the variety of characters.But it would be a better game if it had free play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good fun for all

posted by Family_Players (CARROLL, IA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Good for players of all ages. Very similar to little big planet with a Disney Twist

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EXTREMELY BORING,EVEN FOR 5 YEAR OLDS!!!!

posted by princess101 (CANTON, GA) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game is extremely easy and is is not for ages ten and up it's more like for ages 3-5 and is easy to beat and even the 5 year olds get bored with this game so we sent it packing the day we got it so PLEASE don't get this game you're just going to send it back for a different game within a day,so DO NOT get this game unles you want to waste your time!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sloppy version of Nicktoons Unite (GC)

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This is a horrible Disney version of Nicktoons Unite (Gamecube) First your character walks around in a costume based off of one of your Disney characters then you go around doing boring tasks just to get through to the next level. I was bored with it after the first level!
The fighting isn't even fun, you just tap one button over and over until everyone is down.

The only thing I liked about the game was that it's multi-player. Save your time and rent Nicktoons Unite if you haven't played it yet. Anything is better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »