Buy Dishonored for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dishonored

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

7521 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly great game

posted by Ineptbinary (WARMINSTER, PA) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

It has been quite some time since i've played a great stealth game. Granted, you don't have to, but i don't see the point. At first the game came across as really weird. I expected a game that was mission based to be very straightforward: go here, do this. However, there is so much you can do outside of just playing straight through.

I'm on my third playthrough, and every one is entirely unique. There's no retracing your steps, because i want to see all the other routes i could possibly take.

The only thing i wish was different at this point, is that all the safe combinations stay the same. I understand from a game design perspective, the ways they hide the combinations, but if you remember the combinations from a previous playthrough, it's pointless to go searching.

Aside from all that, the game is the perfect length, and has multiple endings. I'm very happy with bethesda for marketing a brand new title, because it is fantastic.

tl;dr great game, worth a buy, will get many hours of entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic game but can it can be difficult...

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Oct 12, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

28 out of 35 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the most interesting games to hit the 360 scene in recent times. You get a sense of Half Life 2, Bioshock and Assassins Creed elements that this game uses really well. The game really shines with how much freedom it gives you to complete objectives. You decide how you're going to get things done, there is no set path. However, your actions can have dire consequences on the city later on.

You play as Carvo Attano, Lord Protector of Empress Jessamine and the man framed for her murder. In typical Bethesda style, you bust out of jail and begin your quest for revenge. You are given tools that you will need as well as powers from a God-like being known as the Outsider to help you on your path for revenge. But be warned, this game is no walk in the park. You really have to think on your toes when your playing Dishonored. This game won't punish you for your play-style but believe me when I say that discretion is probably the best option most of the time especially when you are about to perform an assassination.

Overall I really do find myself enjoying the game and I will say that at the least it's worth a rent. If you enjoy a game that makes you think instead of just tearing through the story without a care in the world then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun stealth action game

posted by TheBlueFab (Camden, OH) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

17 out of 22 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game is fun to play around and explore in, the storyline is engaging, and has quite a few twists and turns that kept me guessing. The stealth mechanics are somewhat well done, and so are the special powers you get, however the game spikes in difficulty if you try to go the non-lethal route, making it nearly impossible to get through certain levels if under supplied on harder difficultys. That aside this is a stealth action game that goes back to the roots of focusing on movement and timing your attack rather than just killing everything quietly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bethesda's Steampunk Masterpiece

posted by biscuits01 (SAN RAMON, CA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Dishonored grasps the concept of immersion like no other modern game. After a short time playing I felt like a real citizen of Dunwall, and the story sucked me in immediately.
Stealth sections are exactly as they should be, open ended and offering different paths to the target. The choice between lethal and nonlethal strikes, a mechanic that alters future levels. For instance, killing too many guards in one level will lead to increased security in future levels. This forces you to be more thoughtful with your movements and consider every angle to completing a mission with the highest ratings.
And Level exploration is nothing short of perfection. You're given tools and abilities to navigate through the world and it is laid out in front of you like a steampunk playground.
Dishonored fills a niche in modern gaming that hasn't been well tended to since the Hitman days. If you're looking for a great narrative and refined tactical gameplay then Dishonored most certainly delivers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very very good stealth game, not QUITE great.

posted by Seizure (POWELL, OH) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all, I am not inherently a fan of stealth games. Try something, fail and reload. Repeat thousands of times. Not fun. However, this is an amazing example of the breed.

However, two things really made me upset with the game, and took the rating down. First of all, sneaking up on people to put them unconscious uses the same button as "block". Probably a hundred times (literally) I had to reload because instead of choking someone, I "blocked" right behind them and they heard me.

The other thing is, on one VERY long mission, apparently I killed one person. ONE. I never killed anyone, and I am NOT going to replay an entire mission because of it. If the game arbitrarily decides someone dies (somehow) it should let me know at the time, so I can reload then. VERY upsetting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An odd stealth game.

posted by AlwaysTumbling (DOW CITY, IA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game.
That being said, I didn't. It's a frustrating and confused mess at times and stops being fun early on.

:Solid:

- It has a variety of gameplay mechanics mirroring the acclaimed Bioshock series.

- An interesting story. If only at first.

- The city they've crafted is probably one of the most impressive things about the game.

- The supernatural powers are a blend of useful and fascinating.

:Unstable:

- Remember when I mentioned those gameplay mechanics up there? Well be prepared to use maybe half of them if you're lucky because, if you go non-lethal like me to attempt getting the "good" ending, you won't be using most of the things at Corvo's disposal.

- The narrative loses steam fast as you'll be seeing events coming from miles away and have no way of impacting any of them. It's like playing as a mute with no free-will and no way to fight his destiny... wait that's exactly what this game is.

- The enemy AI ranges from uncommonly observant to braindead. Don't believe me? Try using possessing to go from one guard to another and another to get to an objective earning easy no-kill missions, watching the guards helplessly vomit as you leave their possession and walk away in a new husk whom nobody cares is leaving his post.

:closing:

I can't stand having to choose between what is unquestionably a more fun and varied way to play or a better ending and moral high ground. For a game that seems to promote non-lethality, at least from a narrative perspective, it doesn't implement even a third of the tools for it that it's lethal counterpart receives.

I do recommend this game to the curious but I would suggest going into it with tempered optimism - 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Bethesda classic

posted by beau337 (NEW IBERIA, LA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Dishonored is truly a rare find. In this generation of gaming we haven't seen many stealth games. There are a few worth mentioning but Dishonored separates itself from the pack with a beautiful art-style and outstanding gameplay.


In the fictional city of Dunwall havoc nearly to the point of anarchy has gripped the populous. In one section of the city broken dams and flood-gates has left the streets under several feet of water. A religious force known as the Overseers is on a crusade reminiscent of the Spanish Inquisition. All the while a corrupt aristocracy, which runs the city, grows bloated and corrupt. Oh...there's also a gigantic plague ravaging Dunwall's citizens; mutating the infected into mind-less zombies. Everything in the game from the aforementioned problems to Dunwall's architecture and fashion is based on some of the more interesting events in human history.

As the main character, Corvo Atano, you play the "Royal Protectorate"; Basically the life-long bodyguard to the Empress. After her murder, the conspirators accuse you of murder and sentence you to death. A group of rebels, opposed to the change in government, offer you a chance for revenge. You take it. The story doesn't break any new ground but the game's created culture and world add a spark of life to characters who would otherwise be bland.


The only gripe that I can aim at this game would be the "play your way" advertising it has received. To enjoy the character progression you have to play in a "stealthy" manner. You can be non-lethal or murderous but if you aren't stealthy the enemy A.I. will frustrate you. In other-words this is a stealth game, not a stealth/action-adventure game as it has been described.

If your a fan stealth games or just great games, Dishonored will not disappoint. Bethesda has once again had something to do with another generation-defining title. A lot of praise should also be sent the way of Arkane Studios who actually developed this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Memorable Game

posted by Alwinsmd (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dishonored is an extremely unique gaming experience. When I started playing, I was expecting a nice campaign and some cool ways to kill people. What I got was much more. The campaign is actually interesting, but isn't exactly one that would keep me on the edge of my seat.
What really draws me in is how much emotion Dishonored actually makes you feel. I went for the high chaos ending. Although I knew this meant more weepers, they actually made me feel scared every time. When you feel the vibration of a tallboy walking just a few feet away, it's something you just can't get in some popular FPS's.
The choices you make are extremely noticeable down the road and (in my case) almost made me feel like a worse person. When it comes to visuals, Dishonored has a slight cartoony feel that doesn't make the game any less dark.
Dishonored's setbacks are minor but noticeable. I had a few voice glitches where the character's voice got significantly deeper for no apparent reason. The campaign could have been more compelling, often times you'll find yourself skipping dialogue because of how boring it is.
Overall the best thing about Dishonored is how memorable it is. I can't go through a day now without thinking "If I could blink this would be so much faster" or "bend time would be so useful right now". Dishonored in my opinion is a must-rent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good stealth game

posted by saidbear (WARE, MA) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

a very complex game that had lasting appeal i liked it from beginning to end and i liked going through the story making choices of who to kill and who not to kill. the only concern with the story that i had was that if you kill to many people you get a dark [or evil as some would call it] ending but with a non lethal play through it is less dark. so you can choice what kind of assassin you will be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by xthexcoonxx (MARKSVILLE, LA) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

great story good stealth component awesome powers and weapons. the story line is great you play as corvo attono a master assassin were the guard of the empress and her daughter emily assassins kill the empress and blame it on u and u have to get revenge and kill the ones responsible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Played this before

posted by Ninjaxprsn (VENTURA, CA) Oct 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After playing this game for a few hours and feeling like I've been here and done this before I couldn't help but feel disappointed. Bioshock gameplay meets Thief leaving the sum of both parts rather bland. Sure you can get as creative as you want with stealth or you can run through and kill everyone... either way the end result is the same. I had more fun with the earlier mentioned games in the same amount of time I spent with them than this game.

The textures are plain and the color palette is drab which is hard to accept this late in the generation as they are on par or worse than first gen 360/PS3 games. The story leaves a lot to be desired outside of a cliched revenge template where you are left imagining how the main character sounds and would react to situations. I felt no connection whatsoever to Corvo and could care less about the situation he was unwillingly thrown into.

The one thing this game has going for it is the developer willing to take the risk of creating a single player game like this against the grain of the industry that is oversaturated with FPS military shooters and tacked on multiplayer.

I really wanted to like this game but the glaring flaws expressed earlier in my review left me disappointed with the overall product. I'm hoping if there is a sequel the devs won't pull any punches and step up their game. I'll be waiting to support them when and if that happens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its worth renting at least

posted by Gamer81_redux (FRIONA, TX) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

So i just got done playing Dishonored, It was an interesting game. I played it through twice because they have two different endings. the story was inventive, but ultimately disappointing. Your set in a steam punk, black plauge era, and are trying to avenge the Empresses death, and save her daughter. you have two paths to go down not kill a soul and end up with a pleasent ending or kill everyone and cause the plauge to spread.

the game play is nearly flawless, but after playing through it once the second time you know what upgrades you should go after and makes the game super easy no matter the level of difficulty you put it on. the puzzles they try and give you are super simple, so any time you have difficulty just look around for a book thats shines or a paper that shnes read it and you have your answer. the most difficult part is the "weepers" which for all intents and purposes are zombies by a different name. but you can get upgrades that will heal you and restore your magic if weepers attack you so some times when your health is low just get attacked and heal your self.

they put health and Magic Potions everywhere, the second time through the game i never ran out of either, and always had the max, i only used my sword the second time through and never my gun, cross bow, nor any other gadgets, i only used two powers most of the second time and that was stop time and Blink, the latter is a power where you can move great distances in a blink of an eye that means up things across great distances, and out of harms way in an instant.

The game though is really short, and for a game from the creators of Fallout 3, skyrim and the like i felt cheated. i was hoping for a long game where i would be free to roam the worlds, but there are litterally only 6 different locations really, and you replay 3 of those.

besides that the graphics where awesome, and the fact that if you shoot some poor gaurd in the head with your cross bow you have the chance of

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Revenge Solves Everything

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Oct 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

From Developer Arkane Studios & Publisher Bethesda comes a new Action/Stealth game that defines the word "Amazing" called Dishonored. Set in the City of Dunwall, you play as Protaganist Corvo Attano, who was framed for the murder of the Empress he used to protect. Now as a gifted Assassin all he can think of is revenge, so he must use an Arsenal of supernatural powers & deadly weapons to sneak, shoot & stab your way through a dystopian city in order to despose a cruel Tyrant. The Story is Phenomenal, Gameplay & Combat is similar to Bioshock meets Deus-Ex but in a good sneak & kill kind of way. Voice Cast & Stylish Character Design help bring the characters to life. Art Design is insanely incredible, & Soundtrack is an epic masterpiece. Level Design is consistent enough to make such moments easy to avoid when you get the hang of it. With its lovely design of the city come to life, all of Dunwall has spacious enviroments riddled with pathways & secrets. Dishonored is somewhat of an open world & a challenging game. Even if your not interested in sneaking, you can always choose to kill your enemies up close & personal or go for that "No Killing" challenge in other words choose to walk the bloody path of brutal vengeance or take the non-lethal high road & rise above the violence that suffuced the city. Your actions have small, yet tangible consequences throughout your quest, & it's up to you to decide what kind of retribution you want. Gotta hand it to Arkane's Art Team led by director Sebastien Miston & Zenimax also visual design director Viktor Antonov to merge a stylized London-like city with Steampunk elements which affects everything from the ornate clothing styles, to the sharp lines of the machines to help distinguish the setting. Dishonored gets a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wonderful

posted by Akasqu1sh (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rent and play!! but if you are looking for a shoot em up, don't be surprised when this isn't for you. The incredible thing about this game the ability to play anyway you want it to but there are consequences. hack and slash or a more stealthy assassin. The outcomes vary accordingly. It plays smoothly and the special powers are incredible. It's a bit dark and gave me a bio shock feel, although not as creepy. I highly suggest it, ESP. For those who like a strategic RPG. Happy gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best games in a while

posted by slaver (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is most likely if not the game of the year, if you have played and of the fallout or skyrim then you will love this game. Bethesda Softworks has done it again the perfect game, whether you like running and gunning or playing it safe and go around quietly like a ninja this game does it perfect. yes there is magic but it corresponds with the game-play perfectly sometimes it is the only thing you use. if you loved fallout or skyrim this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More Patience

posted by SolaceNinja (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Jul 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, I've had heard alot about this game before it was released and couldn't wait to get my hands on it. You get to play as Corvo, who is an assassin whom is given powers to. I would say that if your patient and love stealthy games then pick it up today. There were times where I really got frustrated and wanted to quit playing this game. I think that the AI for this game didn't receive alot of air in their brain because there were times where i was infront of my enemy's and they couldn't even see me. I felt like the main story was really boring, there was really no excitement coming in through the characters. Like for example Corvo doesn't even talk I felt no emotions or sympathy for the character throughout our journey. This game is kind of similar to the Bioshock serious but not as good. All in all I give this game a well deserved 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I just couldn't get into it.

posted by Syphilys (NEWPORT COAST, CA) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you have a lot of patience and you're into stealth games, you will probably like it. I rented it because of all the positive reviews but I just couldn't get into it. The graphics are nice and some of the storyline was good but I'd rather stick to a regular 1st person shooter. To get everything that you can get out of this game, you have to play the stealthy way, hiding and waiting for opportunities to sneak up on every enemy and using nonlethal attacks. I did this for two levels straight, never killing anyone and almost pulling my hair out in the process. Even though I didn't kill anyone (and I promise you I did not kill ANYONE) it still said I had one kill on each level. Very discouraging. I sent it back after 2 days and without finishing it. If you live for stealth games, you might have a better experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great concept Flawed execution

posted by WellBalthazar (ORANGE PARK, FL) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thought the game was great until the end. They tell you you can play thought any way you like, then the penalize you for not doing it the way the developer wanted you to.
If you want to promote true free choice this is not the way to do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes.

posted by 7amber7 Jan 21, 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have a hard time sticking to one thing because I get easily bored. There is nothing boring about Dishonored. I really like(d) how tactical it is, and no matter how many times you play it, it'll be different. Definitely reccommend to anyone who likes problem solving, killing, and or magic, which is probably everyone. Also, since you can change the difficulty, you're bound to play at your own pace and level. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A rental nothing more

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Plain and simple, rent it decide for yourself. Has many flaws and some good play but overall decide for yourself.

Personally, not a buy for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by Ctirado92 (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A+ Game, Loved it from start to finish, would have liked to keep it but a lot of more games needed to be played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent game, but...

posted by rockstar34 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Good: The style of the game is dark and disturbing yet beautiful. The amount of detail the developers put into every room is a huge accomplishment and you could tell they love what they do.
As far as the magic powers, by the end of the game you felt like a true bad A--. Everyone has the opportunity to upgrade their magic based on their play-style.
"Blink" is recommended if you prefer to play stealthy.

The Bad: My biggest gripe was not so much a technical issue, but more of an oversight. There are only so many "Runes" that allow you to upgrade your magic abilities, so by the end of the game don't expect have all your powers maxed out, nor even touched a few of them.
This left me very excited to playthrough a CONTINUE+ game with all my previous powers. Well, that's not available!!! If you want to start over, you lose EVERYTHING. After the game, you can replay any of the 9 missions, however, you are left with what you had at the time of your full game. In my opinion, this was a huge flaw and I decided to send it back same day I beat the game.

BOTTOM LINE: Absolutely worth the rent, but because they don't have a 'Continue+' option I would give the game a 8 out 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game.

posted by Dburto08 (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is quite an amazing game. It will drag you into the story and when it ends, you will be wishing you had more to play. One of the most interesting things about this game is how many ways there are to play the game. You can be sneaky and non-lethal, sneaky and lethal, or just rambo it and kill everything. I would highly recommend this game to anyone who likes a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amazing game, but far too short

posted by Darkre (DES MOINES, IA) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was genuinely amazing, no doubt about that, but having to start from scratch without carrying over your weapons or unlocked powers? thats just way too boring, it means not only is it the same game twice, its starting from scratch twice, the game was great, had absolutly amazing gameplay. but after the first time all the adventure was taken out of it, its the same map, same enemys, same places, same missions in a never changing world, amazing game Bethesda but it needs the element of continuation, or the ability to carry over stuff from one game to the next, like in Mass Effect or Dead Space, and it also needs more of a free roam style, like in Fallout and Skyrim, with all the sidequests and discovery that comes with it, while the game was genuinly increadable it has a fairly large flaw just like Skyrim does, so perhaps an add on that allows for gameplay after the ending or allowing you to carry progress over, or maybe even just a free roam version would be great, I owuld definalty buy it then instead of just renting it and sending it back after 48 hours greatly bored and disapointed with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved the Game!

posted by Lonewolfhowl (DANVILLE, VA) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I myself absolutely loved this game! It had like a mix of Bioshock with stealth. All in all I really enjoyed the story of the game and how you could choose either killing or going the non-lethal way to make things better. It was also a plus depending on how good or bad you were it made more bad things happen. I personally liked the Good ending better but both ways are absolutely fun and should be played both times to get a feel of it in both aspects. The only part I did not like for the most part was the Graphics. It looked ok to me and it didn't bother me to much but in a way looked cartoony with the peoples hands. Maybe it was suppose to be like that but i'm not sure. But other than that and a few other glitches I had it was an Amazing game! So pick this up and play it both times to experience the Good and Evil side!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse