Buy Dishonored for PS3
view large frontback

Dishonored

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

4753 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Bethesda- Great Art/ Sluggish controls

posted by jrandmh27 (STATESBORO, GA) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Bethesda game studios always release AAA games. Hours of gameplay, amazing settings, and in-depth character customization. But, as always the controls leave a bit to be desired.
Dishonored is no different, except it is considerably shorter than Fallout or Skyrim, with 10 levels/ Missions (I beat the story including all side missions in about 20 hours). The story, graphics, non-playable characters and art are amazing. You will enjoy exploring each level, from gritty sewers and a grimy prison to glamorous mansions of the frilly higher class, every area is a joy to plunder and alter- alter as in rewiring security mechanisms to cater to your travels or destroying certain doors rather than finding the key for examples.
Meeting all the different characters in the game is very interesting and you will find yourself really thinking through who's side you will take when characters paths cross. All the voice work and character design is right on point.
The games two biggest downfalls though, are the controls and the leveling up system. Personally for me it was enough to keep this game from being great, still, the game is quite good.
The controls always seem to be a split second slower than the pace of the combat. Especially when the majority of your powers are delivered from your empty left hand. Meaning if you want to do your tornado attack and then slow down time, you have to switch between the two powers which is nothing more than your hand lowering out of view only to resurface from the bottom of the screen causing a whole second of wait. This caused be to die many times due to being a sitting duck until you can attack or use you power again.
Leveling up in the game is not experience point based. You have to collect runes. Runes are used as experience points, but there are only so many per mission. You really level up at the will of the game, instead of getting experience for combat, exploration and mission completion.
Real good tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Fun and Different Game

posted by gman11 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

When I first heard about this game I was very excited and hyped up, but when I got it and started to play for the first couple hours, I was a little disappointed. After playing it more and more, I started to like it a little bit better, but some parts of the game still frustrated me and lowered the rating for me.
The graphics of the game, in my opinion, are amazing. I don't see why people don't like the graphics. They aren't really realistic, but it has a sort of artistic look to it. The graphics for this game was the main reason why I liked this game so much. I give the graphics a 9.5/10
The game play was pretty good as well. I liked the combat a lot, and the kill cams and scenes and the controls. But the stealth was off a little bit for me. I played on hard as my first play through, but it seemed to be way too hard to get past some parts without alerting a guard since there were way too many guys, or the guards are alerted after hearing your footsteps 100 feet away, which frustrated me a lot, and left me to leave missions with high chaos. I give gameplay 7/10
The sound was good, some of the characters voicing sounded identical to other characters, but overall everything seemed to immerse you within the sound aspects of the game. Sound 9/10
Even though this game doesn't have a big replay value to it, I still found myself playing it a second time and am currently going to beat it again so I can see what other ending there will be. This game is different than most games out there currently and it is good to play something that changes things up a bit and doesn't follow the same mainstream games out there today. This game is definitely worth a rent, and if you don't mind buying games for your gaming collection than you should buy this game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Original Title of the Year.

posted by ReBornSADD (HICKORY HILLS, IL) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Dishonored is a really fantastic game with many ideas heavily influenced by other games to create a unique experience. While playing, I had feelings of Thief, Bioshock, Dark Messiah, Half-Life 2, and Skyrim.

The stealth is very smooth and the first person sword fighting is THE BEST of any game ever. It is not open world, but more like seperate, semi-large areas. Think Dragon Age or Borderlands. However, there is just so many secrets to uncover! The overall plot was decent, despite being a bit generic. What really kept me entranced was how well done the characters were. They are what kept me going!

This game did have its small problems though. For one it was kinda short. Its single player only and it took me only about 9-10 hours for the main story and SOME of the extra stuff. There are three endings however, but I did not feel they were varied enough for me to keep replaying. Another was with multiple opportunities in the story, the end results were mostly the same.

On a side note, do not let the Bethesda logo discern you PS3 users. They were only the publishers. Arkane studios, the developers, did a fine job on the PS3 version.

PROS:
+Deep world
+Interesting characters
+Smooth stealth system
+Fun and simple combat system

CONS:
-Short play length
-Generic story
-Choices make little change

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Honorable Mention

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Oct 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Dishonored isn't a bad game by any means. But it's not the holy grail it's been made out to be.

It's quite fun, reminds me a lot of Time Splitters with a heavy Bioshock influence as well as some Fallout (Obsidian) mechanics thrown in. The sneaking/multipath levels is pretty cool too.

The graphics are a bit weak. The artstyle and design is cool, but takes some getting used to.

The game plays smooth and provides some decent variety. I like the Hitman approach where you have the option of being super stealthy assassin, or total action hero assassin.

But, it reminds of me RAGE actually, in the sense that the game feels more like a prototype for what could eventually be an amazing game, but this isn't it. Mostly because there's a lot of decent ideas thrown in with a pretty weak story that just serves as a vehicle to try out these ideas, but none of them are completely fleshed out.

If this had come out at a better time, say the beginning of summer, or even the end of summer, it could have justified more attention and credit. But, it's time for the holiday heavy hitters and this game simply can't compete with the likes of Borderlands 2, Assassin's Creed III, COD, and the like.

If you have the time, this is definitely a game worth checking out at some point. But don't miss out/delay your time for something better.

If you have to decide between this or RE6, pick this. Yeah, the former was supposed to be one of those heavy hitters, but man oh man, was that a miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good bad and ooh soo awesome

posted by grim1987 (SAN ANDREAS, CA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The games story and mechanics are awesome. The way the characters and outcome react to everything u do is great. You have a lot of options on how u wanna go about completing your missions. but its too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is Dishonored

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 9, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

27 out of 39 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Epic. Amazing. Brilliant. This game is one that will keep you in your seat, either for the captivating storyline or the interesting gameplay. It plays as a First person shooter, stealth game... Giving you an ability to scale and find alternative routes to get to an objective and various ways to complete an objective.

The story is of Corvo Attano, Royal protector of the empress...

Coming back from a mission from afar, Corvo is welcomed by the people he protects. The welcoming home falls short as rouge Assassins appear -- Ending the life of the Empress of Gristol. Accused and sentenced for the murder of the Empress. You have been pushed underground to live the life of a face-less Assassin.

Created and published by the masterminds at Bethesda... This game is brilliant. Amazing game detail; fluent controls; deep-rich story line; innovative game play.
Taking control of the Assassins story... You have numerous of abilities. You can scale and traverse the game world using a climbing mechanic -- The game world is designed nicely, so that you use the mechanic often. You have a numerous set of powers. Able to see through walls; Able to possess people and animals; Telekinesis and as well as various other abilities is in your hands.

You can make use of the stealth system in game and play the game without killing anyone... The game difficulty is very HARD, when trying to do that. Your main fight controls consist of a melee weapon and crossbow or pistol. You have various of tools to use to rig up traps to do some... Grew-some damage. Has a very well detailed gore system.

With a steam-punk appearance this story places you in a different world full of odd twists and turns. It is well worth checking out and has a great replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It is ok

posted by maxanderson (CHANHASSEN, MN) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I wasn't all that impressed with this game. From the commercials it seemed like it would be amazing. Weapons and fighting were behind many of the games I've played recently. AI was a bit strange, seemed quirky on when they could detect you. Also seemed way to scripted and focused at least the first few hours. Some of the story was pretty interesting though, just game play was lacking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underwhelmed

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is getting great reviews from the critics and seems to be getting Game of the Year levels of hype so I was very excited to give it a shot. There are a few cool ideas that work well and combat in this is much more fun than in last years over-hyped Bethesda game Skyrim, but ultimately I feel exactly the same about this as I do Skyrim. It's good, but I don't think it deserves all the hype.

Visuals:
Pretty awful. Character designs look awful and animations are even worst. All the "great atmosphere" that all of these professional reviewers keep mentioning is nothing we haven't seen 100 times before.

Story:
A game doesn't need to be cinematic to be good, but if it weren't for the box art for this game we wouldn't even know what Corvo (the game's main character) looks like. The story of this game is told exactly the same as it is in Skyrim. Either through listening bland, enthused one-sided dialogue from generic NPCs or through reading in game books. I hate this type of story telling. It just feels aged and lazy. Not to mention that actual story and characters are completely boring and forgettable to begin with.

Gameplay:
I would forgive both of the other categories if the gameplay just blew me away. It didn't. It was pretty good, but it felt like an accumulation of a half a dozen other games' elements. All of which have done it better. Stealth assassinating = Assassin's Creed, odd powers = Bioshock, first-person platforming = Portal. I did like the animations during the swordplay a little but combat isn't really pushed in this game. The gimmick to this game is beating it without killing anyone in fact. Maybe I'm just not the type that enjoys exploring and wandering aimlessly in games, but I found that route to be extremely boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dishonored

posted by Winnie123 (BELLEVILLE, MI) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A noteworthy title

posted by d4ed4lus (OAKDALE, LA) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game takes several highlights from other games such as: The Darkness, Half Life, Fable, Condemned, Deus Ex and Oblivion. Its a RPG FPS but not sandbox. The story, character animations and overall appearance is a bit of a let down for a this gen console. I noticed a few glitches im sure will be fixed in future updates. All in all its about a 8-10 hr campaign, left open to your choices so i could see replaying it. I'm not much into FPS sword fighting and Steam Punk timelines but it is interesting. The teleporting around makes me feel like nightcrawler.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What am I missing?

posted by TickTickk (LIBERTY TOWNSHIP, OH) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All the hype about this game had me very excited to play. I was hoping for a sci-fi Assassins Creed, I was sadly mistaken. I personally thought the graphics are left to be desired, the game play is boring and repetitive, and the story line is cheesy. I played for a few hours before I finally convinced myself it was not as good as I had told myself. May be a 10/10 for some but for this guy a big two thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dishonored

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Perfect blend of Assassin's Creed,Bioshock,Deus Ex games that creates an vibrant environment and intricate storytelling. This game give you options, freedom, and most importantly variety. So many ways to kill or avoid targets. Going into this game without alerting for anyone or killing one takes HIGH skill. If you rush this game just to complete it, you are pathetic. dont listen to stupid reviews 7 below because those are people who dont like challenges or fun there not even classified as gamers. Let those impaired idiots forever be enslaved by action games like COD, while us REAL gamers enjoy new IPs and innovation creativity. Buy this and support Arkane Studios for this creation. My GOTY for 2013.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unique

posted by joshjor15 (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Wow, I was blown away when I first put Dishonored in, so blown away that I decided to keep it after about 30 minutes of gameplay. Everything from the story to the way you move around the world is a refreshing take on video games in a time when unique game are hard to come by. I highly recommend Dishonored to anyone who wants something new. Dishonored will earn my vote for Game of the Year hands down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Didn't Realize That The Graphics Made A Game

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Oct 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Of course, graphics always seem to play a part in a game. We enjoy nice, reali-life graphics because it almost puts us in there, but not every game needs great graphics to be great. For example, look at both Borderlands and even go back to Rainbow Six Vegas and games like that. It's the gameplay that matters and the gameplay for this game is great. My opinion of the graphics is that it looks very similar to Bioshock, which is also a great game.

This game reminds me of Bioshock and Fallout 3 combined. You have the free roam of Fallout on a slightly smaller scale and the feel of a Bioshock. I love the story of the game, and I always love when there is a sub-plot because you have to focus on that too. Everyone's dying!!! And you have to try to help your people. I love the assassin plus powers. This is wondeful stuff here. I wasnt sure about the game before I got it, but it's a great game. Bethesda knows how to make great games. The game will definitely be considered as one of those great games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm LOST again!!!

posted by Insuranceguy (SAN BRUNO, CA) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game has a very "BIOshock feel" to it. This game had potential to be as game changing as BIOshock but they really missed the mark. This is a really fun game to play when you aren't completely lost in the hard to decipher terrain. That's my biggest beef with this game. Although the gameplay was really fun, it took hours off my life just trying to find the way! Yea it's one of those games. I would like to ask the developers would it kill you to add an arrow pointing the way???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent blend of gameplay and visual choices

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

"Dishonored", a stealth -action hybrid done in the first person perspective, is an excellent blend of gameplay choices and some nicely done stylized visuals. Arkane Studios has done a terrific job at bringing the city of Dunwall to life, with its corrupt royals, brutal guards, and citizens trying to survive in the decaying city overrun by a plague borne of rats. The story follows Corvo, right hand of the Empress, who is falsely accused of her murder. The story is fairly well done and has a few twists and turns, along with three different endings based on your choice of play style. Rushing through and killing everyone can make this a short campaign (some say they've beaten the game in 6-8 hours), but doing so not only gives you the darkest of the 3 endings, but you also miss a majority of what the game has to offer. There's plenty to do and see in Dunwall, with lots explore. Doing so can add about 10-15 hours to the game. There is plenty of reading material scattered about, and they add a depth to this world akin to Rapture in "Bioshock" and the cities in "Deus Ex". Controls work well, allowing you to wield a sword in one hand and a pistol or crossbow in the other, or you can leave one hand free to access Corvo's unique abilities, which are acquired by collecting runes scattered throughout the world. These abilities include teleportation, being able to see through walls, possession, and being able to summon a swarm of rats to attack your foes. All have their uses, though it'll probably take more than one playthrough to unlock and max out all of your powers. And this game does beg to be played more than once, as there are multiple paths and ways to complete your mission, along with plenty of sidequests and rewards for doing things differently. Be ultraviolent, and the game world becomes a harsher place with more guards, rats, and infected called Weepers. Stealth keeps things on a calmer side, though it is more challenging to achieve. Definitely a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The good, the bad, and the game

posted by kaitoofrose (HARVEST, AL) Oct 11, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

hey everyone. I'm starting my own reviewing thing, so just message me somehow, if you know how to if you don't like it. Now, I'm going to go over each part of the game.

Graphics: Now, people complain about the graphics of this game, how it is 'PS2' Era. I think they look more akin to Bioshock, with some realism, but with kind of a gothic feel to it. I give the graphics an 8/10

Gameplay: Gameplay can be viewed in many ways. If you are looking at this as a stealth game, than it succeeds in that. At normal, the enemies are hard to sneak by, especially if you have run out of sleep darts or there are plenty of enemies in front of you. From an action stand-point, it is also good, but you will have a much harder time completing it later in the game, especially with the larger infestations of rats, stronger security, and an overall worse ending. I give gameplay a 10/10

Sound: Now, the sound is a slight weak-point to this game. The voices are not as varied as I would like, and don't give enough feeling sometimes. The music is also sometimes the same most of the time, but does fit the mood quite well. You can hear people, and animals, moving around fairly well, which is helpful if you are trying to sneak past everything. I give sound 7/10

Overall: Overall, it is a solid stealth/shooter with a good amount of difficulty and pushes people to try and sneak past most everything, or else face the consequences later in the game. As a game overall, I give it a 9/10. Please give this game a chance befor reviewing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh, I have seen better

posted by MondayCures (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was pretty bored by the story line and didn't care for the control handling.

Don't get me wrong, I can certainly see how others may be interested and really like this game but it just didn't suit me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Potentially great but comethings missing.

posted by ptrac (HICKSVILLE, NY) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was way overhyped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

bad graphics?

posted by zlariviere20 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

i dont understand why people keep saying games like this or borderlands have ps2 graphics just cuz it dont look like real life like call of duty is trying to achieve doesnt mean it is bad graphics cuz obviously thats not what they were goin for your gunna have to take a second look at ps2 games before you try to dicredit and outdate the innovation of games like this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Strong Idea, but lacking substance

posted by vengfulsolice (JUNCTION CITY, KS) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was really excited for this game, I dont play assassin games, but this looked great. Then I played it...no thrill to the game at all. You never felt like you were actually being stealthy, just waiting to be seen. Combat was lacking, but I did enjoy the decapitation. At no point did I really feel connected to the main character, so much that I dont remember his name. A better stealth system would have made a giant difference. The ability to see how visible you actually are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wow. What a waste of 60 dollars.

posted by tgainey14 (NEW BERN, NC) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Go ahead and rent this and I'm sure you'll have a good time, but I waited for 5 months and then spent 60 dollars on this. Campaign took me around 6 hours total and there isn't any online. Seriously? Way to go Bethesda. About to go trade this in and finish paying off Hitman. That is where it's at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Over Rated.

posted by shellcap (Granbury, TX) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

I hardly ever wright reviews, but felt I had to due to all the over rated reviews on this game.
People compare it to deus ex human revolution or bioshock. This game is no where near as good as those two games.
All other reviewers have pointed out what's good so I'm gonna point out why I didn't like it.

World and characters seem lifeless.

Graphics are boring. Detail better than borderlands, but with no life in them, fall short. Worse detail than deus ex hr or bioshock.

Combat, gunplay, has no feel or umph to it.

Stealth not as enjoyable as deus ex hr.

Was bored with general gameplay throughout entire game. No excitement, no intense feeling of being discovered when doing stealth, no addictive gameplay feeling of anykind.

Game fell flat.

For reference these are the games I did enjoy in the past:
Bioshock, Deus Ex HR, Skyrim, Sleeping Dogs, Darksiders I & II, Borderlands 1 & 2, Batman Arkham Asylum & City, Witcher 1 & 2, Crysis 1 & 2, Dead Space 1 & 2, Fallout 3 & New Vegas.

This game is more boring than all of these games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bethesda comes up short

posted by GarrettHammer (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I waited for this game and I thought it was going to be very good. It was terrible. The graphics are like fable, and its stuck between a RPG and FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best

posted by Daltron14 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

the best game from bethesda

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse