Buy Deus Ex: Human Revolution for PS3
view large frontback

Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.3

6668 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deus Ex: Human Revolution

posted by KhaotiKoalition (WICHITA, KS) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

: : OVERVIEW : : : : : :
I had honestly never played any of the prior Deus Ex games before, so this was my first encounter with the series, but it ended up being a wonderful one. Adam Jensen is a great protagonist here, he's mysterious in a crowd, but a force of nature when he needs to hunt someone down. You can also "tune" him to your play style, to fit just the strategy you like (but be warned, there aren't enough points in the game to get all of the upgrades, so you must choose wisely).

: : PROS : : : : : :
- Blends the FPS and TPS perspectives very smoothly, and uses cover very well.
- I 'PARTICULARLY' love how you can upgrade weapons, they did that in an amazing way in this game.
- Great story
- Interactivity with the world is done very well
- Gives you the ability to go non-lethal or lethal force for the entire game, whichever you prefer.
- Hacking system was surprisingly fun
- Great music

: : CONS : : : : : : : :
- Inventory is small (although that's my fault since I'm a hoarder)
- Sometimes I would go in for a melee takedown in a crowd against a soldier, and the game would target the civilian next to him instead
- You can add additional batteries to your pool, but they will never automatically recharge past the first one.

: : FINAL WORD : : : : : :
AMAZING GAME, probably my favorite of the year so far. Not perfect, but definitely good enough to enjoy many times over. Definitely a 'BUY', I'd give it a 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Top Tier Game!

posted by JTWK004 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dues Ex is quality, top-tier game. Not a best of 2011, but certainly a LOT of fun to play. Specifically:
- Descent upgrade system for weapons keeps you excited when you find that new damage or capacity clip upgrade.
- Good character skill tree upgrade system. Some of the attainable upgrades really make a difference in how your character plays.
- Good sized map and open game-play.
- Clear indicators where you need to go to advance a main or side mission.

Overall, a lot of fun... at some points became a little redundant, but that's a reality with any game these days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Back to the Classic

posted by d4ed4lus (OAKDALE, LA) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game brings a much needed overhaul to the way we play FPS, the cover system is the best gaming has come up with. Several ways to accomplish your mission (apart from boss battles which are easy if you stock up on ammo). You can augment your characters abilities to be a ninja, a weapon and agility expert, a sly talking computer hacking genius or just a mixture on how you play. takes about 2-3 days to beat if you have a job/school but worth multiple play thoroughs, i own it and am on my 5th one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply "wow"

posted by tylr6024 (LOVELAND, CO) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I don't always write reviews, but when I do. I prefer Deus Ex.

On a more serious note, I am surprised this game does not have a higher rating. Easily one of the best games this year. There are multiple ways to do almost every single objective in the game. Gameplay is exciting and smooth throughout. Bust in shooting, or sneak through invisible, the choice is totally up to you.

Perhaps the best part of this game is the storyline. You actually feel like a part of it. It sucks you in like so many games fail to do. You actually have choices instead of predetermined paths.

No doubt in my top 5 games of all time. Great, Great, Great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game released

posted by Jrock98 (HIALEAH, FL) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is a must have....great story, massive maps and multiple ways to play it. (non-linear platform). The story can alter depending on your choices and actions. The take downs are awesome and weapons are nice. No Melee weapons.

The GUI is well developed in detail. The weapon inventory system has a feel like Resident Evil and Metal Gear.

The AI is smart but coded with a pattern. Another words, you observe the enemy long enough you can recognize where hes going. If this was super random, the intensity would be hot.

The only thing I would of wanted different was multiple outfits. He wears the same gear.

I was super impressed by this game....once you finish it....wait for the credits to end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome; Stealth or Combat?

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 24, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

27 out of 33 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Let me put this straight before i go into detail: this was a GREAT game. Not only did it allow me to upgrade and purchase new skills so that my fighting style could be curved into an offensive or stealthy way, but it also immersed me into a world. And thats what makes this game great, THATS what reminds me of games like Fallout 3 and Red Dead Redemption where you really felt like part of the society.

Graphics/Visual: That a flaw at all (hah rhyme). Sure, there may have been tiny graphics bug ONCE in the game, but it was easily avoidable and i didn't really notice it until i looked straight at it. Sound is crisp and you wont notice any bugs in that.

Gameplay: Do you rush into the room, guns a'blazing? Or do you sneak into a side room by by hacking a computer so that you can find a safer, more quieter, route? The game lets you make decisions like that all the time and sometimes exploring both paths grants you rewards.

Overall: The game immersed me in a world and storyline no other. Sure, there have been cyborg-future-reinassance scenarios before but this one truly deserves a place in the "Memorable PS3 Games" category i believe.

THANKS FOR CHECKING ME OUT ON.... GAMEFLY!
:food'n'drink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty great

posted by tye1029 (MOUNT VERNON, OH) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games that you cant stop playing for hours. When i started playing this game i was immedietly attached the graphics are great the story is awesome and the voice acting also good but not great.
When you start of the game you are instantlly hooked you just wanna know what's going on and keep on and keep on playing. My favorite part of the game is the way you can go about the levels differently you can do stealth by being sneaky and finding back ways to your objective or you can just rush in and kill every one in sight. I would highly recommend this game for anyone its awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good game not great just good.

posted by ronheichel (DAVENPORT, FL) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

a good game with a very good story. gameplay is very smooyh and easy to use. the biggest drawback is the clunky menu and level up system. also what is the deal with the battery powered arms? that, gotta be one of the dumbest ideas in awhile. otherwise a fun game to play i would recomend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Had to do it....

posted by Ricoflo (SANTA MONICA, CA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I don't rate games very often....BUT I had to on this one. Bottom line was this: This is one of the few games that comes along every few years that you actually get sad when you get close to finishing it because of how great the story/journey/gameplay are. Graphics are surreal, and the attention to detail is amazing. I sincerely hope there will be some DLC for this game in the near future. A MUST play for gamers inti this genre....you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Human revolution? nah. Rpg/shooter revolution? YES

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

20 out of 29 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game is from my opinion the best game so far this year.

Ill begin with the graphics which are more than fantastic and you will probably get amazed by everything you see in the beginning.
So far the game has not been a little boring for a blink of an eye it has it all, Tactic, shooting, action, great story.

Ill begin with Tactics which is extremely important, its not just you and captain price attacking a base with 100s of russian thugs shooting in all directions except from yours. This is harder than that and you have too use the so called "brain" which i prefer... Here you can hack their systems sneak through their bases, get new information by sneaking and listening too enemies conversation. Wait for enemies, take them out one by one without being detected hiding the dead bodies for guards and this is just a tiny piece of what you can do.

It's 1st person shooter, with a great story I will try to explain without any spoilers. In the beginning you are in an accident and you are the chief of security for a large corporation so they decide to save you at all cost so you can live. The story plays out on emotions and it does so brilliantly, it plays out in the future and its a war coming and this war will be thought in our land, in our homes. Ill keep it simple. The story is a very strong asset to the original l Deus ex game because its so closely tight to the human condition it pulls you right in and you feel emotionally attached. It may though feel like just another normal FPS in the first 30 minutes. But soon it will let you get in in this open world and reveal this conspiracy.

The controls are perfect and the first person shooter experience can definetly compete with games like Call of Dutys, What I love is that every thing you get to do in this game you can do in like 15 different ways, if your character is good in stealth he can use stealth to get in to the room and finish the objective or he might use security
Worth buying and renting, 9 of 10 toasts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pleasently suprised

posted by dewshasaurus (SNOHOMISH, WA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Was not expecting much from this game could be why I enjoyed it more. The game play is pretty smooth and the AI is challenging, enemies for instance will pin you from both directions if possible to discover your location making creative adaptation on the fly necessary and challenging. Also the hacking minigame you play to open doors is pretty gratifying in it's own rite. A downside to this game though I felt was that the bosses were pretty linear in their strengths; making the boss battles feel rather repetitive. Other than that this game is an immersive covert-action game with decent voice acting especially if you like Steven Segal. I'd buy this game maybe after the price goes down but wouldn't shame myself if I had paid retail value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh my god JC....an amazing sequel...er..prequel!

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2010

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a huge fan of the original Deus Ex and I am glad to say that this game is not only a worthy sequel to the original, but it surpasses it. Everything about this game from the art style, level design, AI, story, and gameplay is all top notch. To me, this is perfect 10, but to anyone who isn't a raging Deus Ex fanboy like myself, the game is at least a good 8 or 9.

In this game you play as Adam Jensen, a head of security at Sarif Industries. Your girlfriend is killed and you are beaten up and left for dead and are forced to get heavily augmented to save your life. Then you vow revenge and go after the people responsible. The story is full of twists and turns and is very immersive. But, I won't spoil anything here.

One of the high points of the Deus Ex series is that you can solve missions any way you see fit. For nearly every mission in the game there are multiple ways of beating it. And there are many augs that allow you to do just that.

From Hacking and Stealth Enhancements. The ability to see or punch through walls. They even have augs where you can jump and run faster or float down like a angel when falling from any height and stun anyone below or crouching down and firing off a hail of bullets that can clear any room.

Also, the game is incredibly immersive and well thought out. So much so that if you see an e-mail on someones computer, you can track down the person who sent it and it will be on their computer as sent mail. And even things minor NPCs or e-mails mention can usually be tracked down.

As for the pros/cons:

Pros:

Amazing Art Style
Great Level Design
Good AI
Incredibly immersive world
Freedom to solve every mission in a variety of ways
Radios that play classic Deus Ex music
Game plays very smoothly on consoles

Cons:

Ran into a few very rare glitches(Enemies running into walls and one side quest got glitched)

If you are a fan of the original Deus Ex or just love a good rpg/shooter, you would be a fool not to give this a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deus Effect

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Nov 23, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was great.

A FPS of Mass Effect really. So if that's your thing, check this out.

There's plenty here that other stealth games (Metal Gear, Hitman) have done better. In fact, most of the game had me wishing this was Hitman and anxious for the new game because there were certain things I wanted to do that I couldn't. Which is weird for a game that is supposed to be very heavy on unique experiences.

The game wants you to be a stealthy espionage hitman guy, but has a very FPS-based set up that doesn't linger itself well for the freedom desired and offered in games like Metal Gear and Hitman.

Maybe it's a conflict of 3rd vs. 1st person. It comes very close to hitting the mark. I thought the graphics were great and because of the conflict I had with the gameplay, I really did opt for more of a FPS game than a stealth game approach and made it through the game no problem. The story is alright.

Everything is black and gold. Which is kinda weird.

Could have used a more cinematic experience.

First FPS in forever that last more than an afternoon and gives some reason to replay. Definitely one of the better games released this year and an excellent alternative to most FPS games. GOOD GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Deus Ex is for the Human Revolution

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Human Revolution is about vengeance. Adam Jensen ends up getting killed, and he is recreated by prosthetics. He awakens only to get back into his job and also to find the guy who killed him. This game is cool; great graphics, good gameplay, good deal of violence, and a lot of cinematics. There's a lot of violence, but with all of the cutscenes in it the violence kind of spreads out. i like this game, and it is really fun. At least rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Human Revolution

posted by shadoshinobi (TRAVELERS REST, SC) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is probably the best game I've played this year. I'd rate it higher if possible. 11 / 10!
==Pros==
(liked UI)
(Graphics Great)
(Non-Linear)
(Kept my attention)
(Replayability)
==Cons==
(Load Times)
Not much to complain about, great game overall. Great Rent, Good Buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by Kmantheoriginal (BRONX, NY) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was a pleasant surprise. I absolutely loved the apocalyptic robotic AI story, the conversation dynamic along with the ability to make a game to rival splinter cell in the sneak department. Of course when sneaking becomes boring or too time consuming there are a variety of weapons ready to lay waste to humans, humanoids and robots alike.

One of the best stories Ive played in a few years, original and fun. Has its problems and quarks but overall it was terrific a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a GREAT game!!

posted by greg01 (MADISONVILLE, TN) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to agree with the other guy this is one of the best games i have played this year!! it really draws you in and makes you wanna keep playing it, and man its very real the AI is great and just seems to be a well rounded game. maybe not for everyone but would give it a chance about 30min of game play and you will either like it or not. I really like it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Can't figure it out???

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can't figure out what everyone loves about this game. I'm not big on graphics but the graphics here look weak, even to me. I love a good story but the dialogue seemed to go on and on and on and the story was way overplayed. The NPCs all seem to have some kind of neurological disease that makes them flail their arms about like a drunk octopus.

Then we get to the hero, the new 6 million dollar man for want of a better term, who can't take more than two shots without dying. The guy who punches out one bad guy and lays on the floor gasping for breath like a 65 year old coal miner.

I could go on and on but when I spent an hour trying to figure out how to get into the police station, I finally gave it up as a bad bet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FPS RPG

posted by bigweeso (MANTUA, NJ) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is by far the slowest FPS I've ever played. It seems much more like a RPG where you shoot people once in awhile. The story seemed pretty cool, which is why I didn't give it a 1, but the game moved so slowly that it made the story too drawn out. The hacking mini games were also annoying and repetitive. When you were actually in combat, the controls were awkward and not responsive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Top 5 games of all time

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great story.
Great play style variety.
Great weapons.
Has replay-ability value.
Characters are well developed.

Even if you do not like this genre, there is no reason not to try this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thanks for the ride lady

posted by OtHChaplain (GLENDALE, AZ) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Deus Ex was the game that really brought me into the PC gaming world. It changed how I viewed gaming altogether. The follow-up, Deus Ex Invisible Wars was disappointing, but Human Revolution recaptured much of the first game. This game slowly draws you in. I wasn't sure when I first started playing it, but then I couldn't put it down.

One reviewer said this game was about vengeance, he could not be further from the truth. This game is much much deeper. Deus Ex has always been about real possibilities. What if we began to augment humans in the way described in this game? There is a deeper story here that makes it very interesting. The ending was a little disappointing, reminded me of the first game. Although this time you get four choices.

Two complaints. (1) the crouch button on the L3. It got in the way in some battles. (2) I wish while we were reading all those ebooks, we would have heard something about the first game. Maybe talk about what happened to those guys. I hate "falling in love" with a character only to never see of hear of them again in subsequent games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

like&Hate

posted by lanmar05 (ABBEVILLE, LA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the game, but i hate the game, some of it's to easy some way beyond hard,not enough upgrades,have to cheat to get through. I'm about to send it back ,but to let it beat me ... can't do it.. like it ,hate it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

meh

posted by phrosty (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Black and gold--that was their art direction, and they stuck with it. It's too bad they weren't clear about anything else. It has a thick cyber punk vibe. You don't get the same feeling from anything else in 2011.

But I never liked the shooting. Or combat in general. The skill tree didn't make sense to me until I'd already wasted my points. I wanted to be an assault rifle expert with hacking skills, so I wasted my points. Meanwhile finding key codes and passwords was never fun and the story was forgettable. Nothing stuck except how annoying the combat was.

You should play it, but with Skyim, Rage, and even Mortal Kombat, there's no reason to put up with this game right now. If you like having an encyclopedic knowledge of new games, though, definitely give it a rental. Otherwise, don't bother until you've got nothing else to play. Not sure when that'll be...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Warning causes Nausea

posted by SteamyRayVaughn (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game looked great but completely unplayable due to half-life like inducing nausea. Steer clear if HL made you sick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deus Ex

posted by Stemor61 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Story: The story of Deus Ex is one of conspiracy and mystery and draws you in from the get-go. This game's story will really make you want to discover the truth behind the attack that almost left you dead, behind everything going on in the world of the game. The ending felt a little cheapened by the way in which your choices could be made but they were effective nonetheless.

Gameplay: The player has four distinct choices, known as "pillars," when approaching a mission: Combat, Stealth, Hacking and Social. In typical RPG fashion, you gain experience for killing enemies or doing certain actions, like clearing a section of a quest without raising an alarm or killing anyone. With enough XP, you gain a Praxis point to upgrade any ability. This game is played in both first and third person (third person occurs when the player enters cover). Combat can be challenging, especially early on when the player has zero to few upgrades. I felt forced into stealth early on, which seems odd for a game that is all about choice. The boss battles are not difficult but can really only be won by straight up combat, a poor development choice that singles out those who've relied on stealth.

Graphics: The futuristic, cyberpunk world has a very realistic feel and a great atmosphere. The population has non-augmented and augmented people, a manifestation of the divide present in the story. One fear is that in a large, chaotic world, items would be difficult to spot, but that fear is dispelled quickly. A beautiful looking game.

Sound: Ambient sounds in the cities make it feel as though you are in a future city. The voice acting is good in the case of the NPCs but Adam's voice work is about enthusiastic as Keanu Reeves. The superb soundtrack adds to the atmosphere immensely; it feels like a significant part of the game.

Final thoughts: While the game suffers from a few minor setbacks, what stands is an immersive, futuristic, RPG thriller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse