Buy Defiance for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Defiance

Buy

Used: $12.99

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.4

1046 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great!....for a console MMO

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

49 out of 54 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I've been waiting to write this review for the server issues to be a bit more settled, so I could get some solid play time in. To start things off, this game is different than standard console games, and it seems like some people here have taken issue with that.
We'll get two things out of the way quick, both are annoying, but neither destroys the game.
1) It requires you to be connected to Xbox Live at all times, and you must have a gold membership.
2) You have to instal the game to the hard drive, and download patches frequently.

This is an MMO, and as such, don't expect groundbreaking graphics, or storyline. This is meant as an add on for the TV series coming out soon, and I have taken that into account in my review.

The Good:
- Vast, well-created world
- Great guns, and variations/mods for them
- Addicting
- Arkfalls (big events you need to take on with others) are a ton of fun

The Meh:
- Simple, linear storyline
- Lack of options for character creation
- Flawed menu system

The Bad:
- Always On requirement

Long Story Short:
Like I said, it's an MMO, so don't expect anything completely new or exciting. Gameplay is solid, with a good control setup, but expect the usual MMO complaints, mainly that it can get repetitive. Imperfections aside, I have a great time when I'm playing this game, and constantly lose track of time with it. None of the flaws ruin this game, but be aware of them going into it.
It's hard to recommend for someone to rent it, unless you are willing to instal to the hard drive, and already have the gold Live membership.

It is definitely worth the try, and it will be interesting to see how they tie it in with the show in about a week.
So try it, but know about it before you do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soild experience

posted by lemieux (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2007

20 out of 28 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is a total blast. If the TV show is good as the game, they have a winner on their hands.

Yes, this is an MMO finally for the Xbox 360 after so many never made it to final stages. But more important -- the game is fun and addicting.

To help describe the game, imagine Fallout style environment mix with Borderlands weapons and game style. Defiance is not a copy of each, but its own game.

The game allows for competitive gameplay if that is your thing for some deathmatch type fun. Yet there is also co-op modes or team-up with a friend to go thru campaign together. The campaign from what I am seeing so far will be over 30 hours with ease.

Better yet, Trion, the developers of Defiance talks to the community to let you know what is going on. Something 343 Industries failed to do with Halo 4 and all they did was alienate the player base and population.

Trion also is active in the forums and allows the players to discuss the game which is something 343 Industries failed at doing by deleting posts, locking posts or banning people for very poor and weak reasons. Halo Waypoint honestly has become a disgraceful place to visit if a Halo fan.

343 Industries would do well to wake up and take a page from Trion's playbook for making not only a fun and enjoyable game but one that engages and allows the players to feel like they belong.

And as I player, I do feel like I belong in Defiance.

Defiance has kept me entertained and looking forward to the DLC packs when released. If the DLC will be themed close to the events of the TV series it will be pretty epic to play.

Overall, I believe Trion will have a very successful future with Defiance and hope that it takes off to the mainstream as well so other companies will try TV/game tie-ins for top notch entertainment value.

If you are looking to try something different and have interaction with other players, look no further.

Defiance will keep you busy and enjoying your game time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting!!!!

posted by Skadoosh25 Apr 4, 2013

13 out of 20 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

So the easiest way to describe this game is like borderlands but with 10000 players at the same time! Lots of weapons, customize them, different vehicles, customize your characters and lots more. It's fun playing in groups and it's even more fun when you have to do the ark missions. One downside are the servers right now, mind you the game just came out and thousands of people are trying to play. But other that it's fun, addicting, a lot of shooting, and you get to play with thousands of people! But if you're not convicted still go to their site and checkout their videos. Oh and one more thing there is competive multiplayer also! Lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I've had a blast so far!

posted by mpjackel (WHEATON, IL) May 1, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I see a lot of people ranting about this game, I haven't had any major issues. Sure, here and there I get disconnected, but it's a relatively new MMO. I think the biggest issue with this, was that it is an MMO, I don't think a lot of Xbox gamers quite got that idea at first, this is the first of its kind on the Xbox platform. The shooting and overall control feels solid, I have zero lag issues, and voice chat works fine for me (albeit I use party chat, because the one player I did meet with a mic... happened to be "Rick Rolling" all of Madera).

It reminds me a lot of DCUO, without the enormous customization features, (Those were super annoying in DCUO, so I don't mind).

The biggest issue is the lack of end game content, DCUO and WOW have TONS of things to do after the main storyline, and both have a junk story anyways, this at least has something... but I don't fault it, yet, because it is still new. If by q3 of 2013 there aren't loads of new content, the mainstream players will fizzle out, fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad

posted by Dragonstar11 (AURORA, CO) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've actually been playing this game for a few days before I made an review. The 360 had some issues that would have probably hurt this review if I did it then. But here it is, keep in mind it's been a few years since I've made an review..

Customization - 7/10: As a guy who has played MMO's. I was expecting a decent one. But I probably had some high expectations from playing PWI. It's not bad, but could have used more than just having like nine hairstyles, face shapes, etc. You also have some customization for the weapons. Just adding mods, can help with recoil, maybe slightly increase the damage. I would honestly say it's ok. Another thing was the outfits, I was expecting to be able to fully customize that..but only just get these outfits that you unlock as you progress through the story and doing episode missions. (which is only one at the moment). Hopefully that will change in the future.

Story/Gameplay - 8/10: As for an MMO, I wasn't expecting something great like from the ME series. It wasn't bad, but it felt like I've done it before. Don't get me wrong though, it's pretty entertaining. You have these abilities that can help you in the game if you decide to use them. I would get into detail but now I'm starting to run out of space. Anyways, my problem is that when you finish the story. You're kinda left thinking, "What am I going to do now?". Well, you have these huge boss battles, side missions, episode missions, Time trails, and just other random things. A thing I'd like to mention is shadow war. Where it can be as high as 47 vs 47. So if you like big battles with a lot of people. Maybe that can keep you entertained until new content come.

Final Verdict - 8/10: Defiance is not the perfect game, but I can say a good start for future console MMO games if there will be any. Still has some bugs here and there, some glitches, I wouldn't say anything gamebreaking that I have encountered yet. If you like MMO's I would say give a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

for those that don't like DEFIANCE send copy back

posted by LadyWrestler (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 8, 2013

Member since May 2012

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

for those that don't like DEFIANCE send copy back cause so tired of people running down a game if they don't like it & then cont. to keep it then scratch it up & mess it up for other players i say send it back before you destroy the newest copy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do Not Rent

posted by sgt077 (BRANDON, FL) May 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Do not waste your time with this game. I never played the actual game. I waited for an hour of downloading patches, fixes and who know what else and it still kept downloading. I have verizon fios and it is very fast and this thing dragged on.

Absolutely ridiculous, but that is the great thing about Gamefly. If a game sucks just send it back for the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

COULD BE FUN BUT NOT FOR ME.

posted by SoulStain (RESEDA, CA) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I "tried" it for about an hour after installing the game for an hour due to the mandatory install and all the patches, which isnt a bad thing i guess. The world graphics look great. The character graphics, animations and voice acting..not so good. I actually started laughing when i had my guy sprint it looked so ridiculous. The worst part is the servers. I would finally get on a server, play for 10-15 mins and get kicked for 10 mins. I know the games new but for some reason i just cant seem to give a rats ash enough about the story or the world im playing in to put up with it. Already in the mail for someone else to try and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's Borderland's on steroids X50

posted by Menov (CANNELTON, WV) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

24 out of 47 gamers (51%) found this review helpful

I f your a fan of the Borderlands series, Then this is a game for you. It's what we should have got for a sequel to the amazing Borderlands 1 and not the disappointing sequel we got.
Amazing combat, story that will merge the TV show with the game, Great selection of weapons with the ability to mod them, 64 player co-op, competitive matchmaking.
Some of you may experience lag if you have less than 4 meg Internet service. I have 20 meg and had no lag,even in the beta.

I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Interesting Development

posted by Pamd (GLEN LYON, PA) May 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game and the same day I got it I had to send it back because since I had the smaller memory XBOX the game wouldnt even load up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Decent Game Ruined by Server Issues

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Aug 26, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After hours of downloading and installing patches, I was so ready to finally play this game. I managed to get in a few hours and was really starting to get into it. Then the server issues started and I could only play about half the times I tried to connect and play. Most of the server outages were on Sunday night when my time was most free to play.

What I did play was really good and I could have easily played this game for weeks, but quickly got frustrated with not being able to get on a server and play when I wanted to.

Not ready for prime time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Above average Console MMO

posted by Cakinator (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, console based MMO's are a huge task to get functioning correct and with Defiance its been a bit of a struggle. That being said, when its good its really good. I find myself being enveloped in the game, questing with my buddies or taking on an Ark Fall.

It is a free to play MMO so it's going to have its fair share of issues. If you can look over latency issues and server quips, you'll find an above average console based MMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MMO comes to Xbox360

posted by ozzyman75 (JOHNSTON, SC) Jun 5, 2013

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being the first, and probably only mmo to grace the 360 platform. The game is slow to start, but once you get into the grove of it. It becomes very addicting.

Pros: You're never alone with playing, the game is lit up like a christmas tree with players.

Connecting to your friends is super easy.

Cons: The game, graphic wise, is average.

Some gameplay becomes repetitive overtime. Thankfully, the arkfall events keep you interested.

Overall: I give this game a 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I like it!

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 5, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best part about this game is when you first start playing it. It doesn't feel like anything on the market for consoles. The land is drab but that is not really a burden seeing that it adds to the atmosphere. I really like being able to summon my vehicle at any time. More games need to take notice of that. Also, I have been able to drive just about anywhere making huge jumps, so that is cool. The combat is pretty tame but still fun, especially when there are like a couple hundred people helping you try and kill something. That is awesome. Also, when items drop everyone gets a chance to get them so no worries about someone picking up that shiny thing you see over there. lol I really like the game. I had to buy it off ebay because GameFly must have only had one copy because they wouldn't ever ship it out. That or people bought their copies. Got it for like $40 off ebay so I ain't mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice change in Pace

posted by wh1teknucklez (WEST MIFFLIN, PA) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very repetitive. It is however a nice change from typical shooters. This is a 3rd person shooter, you do have the ability to modify your character somewhat in regards to clothing. You can upgrade weapons, add attachments, even drive around in atvs and cars. Its supposed to have some interaction with the show but that doesnt start until next Monday. There seems like a lot to do but a lot of the side missions that steer away from the main line are very repetitive. The game requires an internet connection to even play it, thats a big downfall and it doesnt even work all the time, I contribute that to it being a new game that allows 1-10000+ people to play at once. I have never had an issue with lagging just the initial connection at times. You can have multiplayer matches, like domination, its not bad, but its not great either. I am hoping with time and more effort the new map packs that get released will add to the gameplay, its a game that will never end supposedly. Overall a 7, i enjoy playing it as again its a nice change from fps like COD, but there is room for improvement

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unplayable because servers were down

posted by watermelandrea (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) May 6, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game took about 2 hours to install and update and required around 4 gigs of space. The graphics looked like I was playing an xbox original game. I played for about 2 hours before the servers went down (which have to be up to play). Very unimpressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

way to many patches

posted by lgtsbr16 (LAKE MARY, FL) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

one hour in and still couldn't even start to play the game, lost all interest - hey Trion, you're doing it wrong!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

so bad

posted by mainrain125 (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

they shouldn't have made it an MMO. lagged out 3 times in an hour and server restarted twice. if it wasn't an MMO, it would have been a different story. but the fact being, making it an mmo also made it so you can't even play. so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by gravityman2021 (VANCOUVER, WA) May 9, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

yeah its kinda cool cause its this new thing. in reality there were ps2 games that were better third person shooters. the background stories just determine what guns you start with (which is dumb because you end up with every gun type within an hour). plus there are all those races in the game and you can only play as two? seriously? not to mention there's no race specific abilities so either race is only an aesthetic choice. all the quest pretty much boil down to run to point A hold X, run to point B hold X. oh! and the skill tree is the most boring and unimaginative skill tree ive ever seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Insane!!!!!

posted by grumar (DES MOINES, IA) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's not okay for just a first shot platform mmo. it would be good if it was the 2nd or 3rd. now i'm not saying there are not problems, but the only one i found was server issues. everything else is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Golgoprime (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you want a great third person shooter.If you want a great mmo.If you want a game with a awesome scifi universe.Then get this game.Buy don't rent this title.There is no class system like other mmos.Groups need not follow the played out tank,healer,dps formula.The ego grid is built to accomadate any play style.You can even unlock every power and perk on the grid if your inclined to do so.The main missions tell a well written and thought out story.There are tons of side missions and other activities to keep you busy.The pvp is one of the most balanced and skill based you will ever play.A skilled player will thrive where COD fanboys will tend to always be on the bottom.And then there are the arkfalls both minor and major.They are random dynamic events that any number of players can come together to tackle enemies with the promise of great rewards.ranging from loot to currency.Every weapon is modable and the appearance of your weapon changes to show the modifications.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 3, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 38 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

The idea for the game is interesting, the control is basic but works at least. Graphically it's well you can tell things apart to a small degree, up close people look different a little.

So here comes the bad part, the story is well honestly a cliche. The world almost ended for people then people and the new aliens team together to save people. So now aliens and people work together, against aliens I would assume.

The bad aliens are terraforming the planet, which suggests said aliens need to alter the planet to survive but that isn't so. Anyway, to start off with you are on a flying carrier so you get the cliche military types and oh look there is a scientist that nobody likes trying to boss them around.

To save the military from dealing with scientist is a take no gruff hard nose soldier. If you expect to see you in here keep waiting, you come later because you are part of the scientists team. You have this new thing stuck in you and need to get a briefing on it but oh look you are shot down first. So then you get to wander around finding equipment, shoot bad guys, and get used to the new thing.

All I am saying on this is well, why not activate the thing before get to where you are going? Why do aliens need to terraform a planet they are on and survive no problem with humans alive? As I said, is a good idea with cliche central, and the game doesn't really play that well.

Control is good enough though basic, character creation is very basic. Honestly, they skipped parts and unless you buy and has in the manual, doesn't tell you how anything works so it's go play and figure it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no just no

posted by Jwobbles07 (LOS ALAMOS, NM) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

no game should have to be installed and have a dang 2 hours to install updates. not even worth it. disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Something new, but not for everyone.

posted by RhoTrux64 (PASADENA, TX) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Gave one point for being a shooter, one for the characters, one for the creatures and one for the website interaction.

But it fails in so many other aspects. Repetitive, average graphics, lagging game play, required LIVE. And worst of all, it had to install the game to the Xbox HDD, then download an update for the game, then install the update. This took almost two (2) hours to complete. Then the servers were unavailable or busy. Once play started, I quickly lost interest. What a waste of time and money. I'll be trading it in for "Injustice".

I was looking forward to the experience, especially with the series coming soon. Hope I'm not as disappointed with the show as I am with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT GET THIS GAME

posted by gamerguy318 (FORKS, WA) Jul 30, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I HATE THIS I DON'T HAVE XBOX LIVE I WASTED 5 DAY'S OF MY LIFE WATING FOR THIS GAME. YOU CAN'T PLAY IT IF YOU DON'T HAVE XBOX LIVE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse