Buy Dead or Alive 5 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead or Alive 5

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.0

773 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid return..

posted by S4mWitch (CLEVELAND, OH) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a hardcore fighter, but if I'm playing a fighting game, Its probably DOA. To me, this is the most pure, fluid, and engaging fighting engine, and I've played most of them.. This game is lacking its former director, Itagaki San, but unlike Ninja Gaiden 3, Team Ninja has put forth an excellent effort without him. One can only wonder how it would have been different with him.
Bittersweet nostalgia aside, Team Ninja has made an absolutely awesome looking fighter. The animations are so smooth and fast, the gameplay is immediately engaging and brutal. The motions transfer from the controller as though you were the character on screen, and the hits are oh so satisfying.
The Team has made a pretty drastic switch to a more realistic character graphics model. The faces hold so much more detail now,and little touches like sweat, and dirt post fight, really tie the realistic approach together, and makes it work.
The "Story" is absolutely absurd and nonsensical, and its highlights include cutscenes that are similar to those of the Arcade endings in DOA 4. Little character vignettes that don't so much reveal a story, as they do a moment in a character's life. A nod to the individual, not the tournament. Unfortunately most of the cutscenes try to explain why the combatants are choosing to compete in the DOA tournament, which becomes incredibly tedious and boring to watch... Like I said, it has its moments, but they are few.
Overall, a very complete package with plenty of modes to keep you busy.. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustration

posted by Sharpness86 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Storyline doesnt really make sense, but the girls are pretty. Will make you want to throw your controller. You could be one punch away from winning and most of your life, and almost frequently enough to make you wonder if its in the game code, the opponent will string a master combo, destroying your face and leaving you speechless, then filled with rage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DOA 5

posted by CartmanUSAF (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

GAME. graphics are amazing and gameplay. the only thing the game need is a story for each character

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I couldn't even play it

posted by kingkounty (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game wanted me to do online something and wouldn't let me hit the Back button..I had to restart the game 5 times and ended up in the same place..
I lost interest real quick since I couldn't even get to the menu to play a the f#ng game.
Put it right back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tecmo Should Be Bankrupt

posted by royaladam (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

...............I'm sorry what the heck happened? What happened to this best fighting franchise game? Actually let me take it back, what's going on with this Japanese game developers thinking? I guess they where not thinking & who hires this clowns? Ok I really did enjoyed & I love ALL of the DOA franchise & even DOA 4 but DOA 5? Let me begin of why I'm slamming this game. The story line is very turned off,graphics looks like 2008,the DOA characters have NOT aged,cheesy parts of the game,too short, & the ending was horrible. I really do missed "Tomonobu Itagaki" who is the master of gamings.

The reason why I say Tecmo should go bankrupt, is because they also destroyed Ninja Gaiden franchise & especially the Ninja Gaiden 3! I would love to buy this & the front covers makes you really REALLY want to own it but the fact is, is not a true video game. Is sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Boobs turned down gameplay is turned way up

posted by Blakmonday (MANSFIELD, OH) Sep 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

DOA is and maybe always will be the best first date you can have with your girlfriend/boyfriend. After the initial comment of, “Who are all these skanks and why don’t they have any clothes on,” or if it’s your boyfriend, “Oh he11 yeah, there’s a bunch of skanks and they have on what you should be wearing.”
To which you reply “Kasumi is not a skank she is a ninja.” Then after she calls you a “pervert,” or he proposes you’ll start the match. You’ll notice instantly how smooth the movement is a full 8-way movement that you won’t see in many 3D fighters. You’ll notice the beautiful level design not seen in any fighter. This is the third character in the fight; these levels do as much damage as any fighter in the roster. You here a nice soundtrack not on the bar of Soul Calibur and it orchestral shenanigans but one that gets you blood pumping and ready to engage your opponent. Then the last thing you’ll notice is your life bar at 50% because your girlfriend/boyfriend is kicking your butt and is looking good doing it. You’ll still win the match if your good but that person you invited to play, that persons who I getting a solid 6-hit combo and occasional bone crushing throw, that monster you created who has a smile on their face because they feel the chance to beat you is when you see the brilliance of Dead or Alive come to life.
Most people who read that and say that the definition of a button masher and to them I say what game don’t new players mash buttons on. If your skilled someone hitting a button shouldn’t cost you a victory. I’ve never been beaten in a fight from someone tapping the attack button when I was serious. Fights in every game are about strategy and making your opponent make mistakes. Tekken has a four button system that intimidates new players and isolates the good players who want to have fun with people in their house hold who feel they don’t stand a chance. Of course as new player I’m always going to hit P.K.LP.P.P.HP.K.K. iT'S natural..for an xm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Meh...

posted by xXCeZarXx (GLENARDEN, MD) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Long story short, I didn't enjoy this game. Fighting games are a genre that has yet to evolve past it's quarter eating days. There is no depth, character development, or meaning behind anything going on here. The gameplay isn't deep at all. The story is the worst I have seen. I'm guess the story being so bad is due to the horrible japanese developers. They aren't too big on stories making much sense I've come to realize over the years.

Anyways from the gameplay to the character development & the package as a whole. It just feels like a bunch of potential wasted. I can't believe people pay $60 on these bare minimum games. Only bright side to this is it was a rental, but in renting this I'm missing out on RE6... So that wasn't too great either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More than a little dissapointed

posted by efinAwesumSauce (BUENA PARK, CA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Be aware that the 2-day free trial is no longer available. I am utterly disappointed with Tecmo and the DOA franchise. I will not now nor ever spend an additional $10 just to be able to play a rented game. Not even being to play it offline without purchasing the online pass is beyond greedy and I am thoroughly disgusted by companies who chose this path of cannibalizing their supporters. I didn't even get to play the game and would give this experience a negative number rating if 1wasn't the minimum allowed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Okay.

posted by tonysum41 (SUN VALLEY, CA) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

There really wasn't much to expect from this game. Fighters, these days, are more or less the same as their predecessors. The story mode lacked any kind of grasp on the player. It just happened so fast that you couldn't really make out what just happened, but that's usually the case in most fighters, the lack of story. The fighting mechanics are always great in the Dead or Alive series. There's great combos, counters, grabs, and so on. Dead or Alive 5 is not the best in the series but it holds true to its core mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

weird and saddening

posted by hellmoose (SALEM, MA) Dec 19, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

I put the game in, and it asked me to download a bunch of updated files. So I did. and the game still wouldn't start. So i put it back in the envelope and threw it in a mailbox.
Ain't nobody got time for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Uhm Yeah

posted by julianmil (BRYANT, AR) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

So I get the game and I am very interested in playing it, but having stuff to do around the house I put off playing it till Father's day. I sit down put in the game and I'm stuck in a screen wanting me to buy and online pass which of course I will not since after all I ordered the game through gamefly and do not intend on keeping it or buying anything for a game I have yet to play. Needless to say I sat at that screen unable to go back till finally I decided to just send it back and give it the review it deserved from the game play I experienced which was absolutely 0 I guess they don't want you to play the game unless you wasted the money on it in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too simple I think

posted by tanecl (ROXBORO, NC) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I've been playing game like crazy, cause the achievement wording is hard to figure but the game is so simple, only uses 2 buttons basically. Got like 31/48 so far & gonna get 1 more before quitting.
They needed to tell me that I'd have to purchase an online pass before I rented. ( would of been really helpful)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Screw you yosuke hayashi

posted by Noctedraco (ARKADELPHIA, AR) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

So I'm a big of this series and to be honest i was kinda worried about this game after ninja gaiden, but I still gave it a chance. but nothing could prepared me for the clusterfawk that I would play This game has managed to destroy a franchise I have really enjoyed The soundtrack was not the best the gameplay was descent the graphics are diffidently not as good as doa 4. But the worst of it all was how they managed to destroy the games lore all in one disappointing game they changed alot of the characters personalities for instance the main heroine kasumi the mascot of the series they turned from somebody is a powerful fighter but would rather talk it out then fight in to somebody who'd rather pucnh in the face and ask questions later and her fighting style even changed from a speed type to a damage dealer, really.

!!:SPOILER ALERT:!! AND SHE STILL ACTS THE SAME FAWKING WAY EVEN YOU FIND OUT THE KASUMI THAT YOU WERE PLAYING WAS IN FACT NOT THE REAL KASUMI. sry bout that but I left caps lock on but seriously this game ticked me off. Anyways if you play the game, play at your own risk and if you've never played a doa game as new comer go play doa 4 but if you just wanna random fighter in terms of a party go right ahead but as a fan and as critic of games there are alot better fighting games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SUCH a Disappointment

posted by Cyrus_Physhor (KINGSLEY, MI) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Team Ninja, ya dun messed up! Seriously! They took away basically every reason I played the Dead or Alive series. The fighting mechanics have gotten a bit weaker in my opinion despite the addition of "Hard Blows", which, come on, are a bit...suggestive...? Now, I get that with DOA usually being centered around busty girls and sexual innuendo. But, I digress. My main problem with this game is the disturbingly large lack of unlocks. I remember playing all of the other Dead Or Alive games. I enjoyed the story mode. I enjoyed spending hours collecting item drops in survival mode to unlock dozens of costumes and then comparing some costumes to others. For example, I got a big kick out of one of Bayman's costumes from (I believe it was) DOA 3 or 4. It was a red leather trench coat with military pants and boots. Remind anybody other than me of a certain smart-mouthed demon hunter? What a fun thing for Team Ninja to do! But now, all of the costumes cost money. And after adding up the total of the costume packs, even going on the cheap end of buying the bundles, it added up to over 5000 MSP.

Now, I've been a DOA fan for approximately 6, almost 7 years. But, for them to haul off and do something like THIS? It's unforgivable! They really tanked the whole thing. And this is why I, even being an achievement hunter, will not waste any more of my time on this atrocity of a title. I HIGHLY recommend against anyone purchasing this game for any reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DOA has done it again!

posted by racoonsurvivor (HIGH RIDGE, MO) Nov 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

This game takes everything you loved about DOA 4 and makes it one of the best visuall fighters on the market today, the physics do not always work right, (mainly on the women) but every detail on the character is beautifully done. The story mode is similar to 4 and multiplayer has multiple modes. If you have been a fan of the series it is a good play and if you like fighters give this one a chance, it is simple enough to get into but like the game Othello it will take a lifetime to master! The only ding I have with this game is that the DLC coming out is ridiculously expensive. 12 dollars for some outfits is insane! No one has to download these things obviously and I wont be, I just needed to put that out there!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fighting Game Fans only

posted by TaiketsuKing (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

So where to start with this one, does it live up to its DOA NAME? can go head to head with its predecessors most definitely.. is it a game you can play alone..no...not at all..not at the slightest. Its story mode has been improved a bit i suppose but its nothing special once beaten, no urge to play again. so hows the fighting itself? Great excellent i cried at how beautiful it was, did not let me down in that aspect. But, if you dont have someone else to play with..beating a cpu all the time gets boring, though it has online but you'll eventually have to pay for it. Its one of em games you'd have in your shelf, and wait to play when that trash talking friend comes over. im an allround gamer but i do love fighting games so, as a fighting game i give it a 10. but as a game its definitely a 7. My Advice if you can only rent 1 game at a time..dont rent this one. its a game you buy when the price drops

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that enjoyable

posted by Hanzo99 (ROUND LAKE, IL) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Not very exciting, graphics are just ok. The game is just more of the same of similar games like Virtual Fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as awesome as I'd expected :(

posted by PatryKBG (COLLEGE POINT, NY) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I loved DOA2, and played DOA3 religiously with friends and at tournaments for over 2 years. DOA4 did not have the same staying power as DOA3, but I had always thought that to be because most of my friends had moved away or moved on to other fighting games of the time, like Guilty Gear and BlazBlue. Upon trying DOA5, I confirmed that which I suspected from DOA4 -- it just doesn't hold my interest anymore. Yes, it's a beautiful game, with combos, counters and beautifully-articulated characters, but I didn't really get into it like I had expected.

I think the biggest reason is because, in general, I tend to play against the computer for practice, moving on to online play and finally friends to really master the moves, and the computer opponents come in two varieties, wimpy wimpy and hefty hefty. I mean this quite literally, I went from mass slaughter for the first few team matches, and then it was utterly impossible. If I recall correctly, the game's AI is supposed to learn what moves you're doing, so as to teach you to vary your patterns, but this was ridiculous - I use Jann Lee and Hayate, and I went from multiple team throws and multi-character combos into getting hit for 15-hit combos and counters after EVERY SINGLE MOVE I TRIED. I'd get up, and if I blocked high, I was getting hit low to start the combo, and if I tried low, I'd get hit high. I understand the logic of fighting game "cheats" - when the AI knows what you're doing whereas a human would not - but being unable to get up because no matter what you're getting hit is just dumb. As such, for technical excellence in graphics, sound, and immersive environs, this gets a 10 for each. For horribly-cheating AI and cheese, this gets a -10 for replayability (for the AI). So long story short - if you got friends playing with you, it's a solid ten. If you're like me, rent it just to see the ending and move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only one problem

posted by jbkorn02 (OAK LAWN, IL) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

This version of the Dead or Alive series seems like it took part 4 which came out the same time as the 360 but that was first geration. You can see the difference in graphics and gameplay all improved. Unfortunatley unlike part 4 even though I was looking forward to this game for a while it falls into the category of games you can't play online without paying extra or buying. I refuse to purchase any of those and am disapointed this game also did it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

slow and boring

posted by Tedow42o (ENCINITAS, CA) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

I thought I would enjoy it as a gamer that appreciates fighting games but this was plain and simple, slow and boring IMO! I guess I realized I'm much more of a fast moving fight sim kinda guy. Soul Calibur, Street Fighter, Marvel Vs. Capcom.....you know the classics. So if your into those and questioning getting DOA5, I don't recommend it. It is slow, hand to hand combat with a lame story mode. If you've played the DOA series before then you'll probably enjoy it. It didn't feel different from the ones I've played in the past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Honest Opinion

posted by MikeHawkABAMF (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Well you make like the fighting experience this game has to offer you. However, it is a sub-par game. It adds your favorite cast of fighters, but lacks in any story along with "how the CPU can get these quick 8 move combos that are impossible to avoid and block. Same old fashion bs fighting game. Not to mention there is NO boss at the end of arcade mode let down, and every achievement (those who seek achievements points) are 90% online only. Rent-able game, not worthy of a purchase since the replay value isn't there. (I know its a fighting game, but still...) Another let down by a company who used to thrive on fighting games. Dead or Alive 2 needs to be remade, it worked for Street Fighter. Lol, and not to mention, the creators of this game are still perverts, every chance you get to see anything it is all focused on the breast of the women. lolz. Good ole Dead or Alive Beach Volleyball style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You can hate on this game but

posted by sinful (WIXOM, MI) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

If you enjoy fighting games this one is pretty good I bought the collectors edition and have the online pass etc. Graphics or great characters move fluently unlike the stiff combat of tekke the story mode us sub par but straight and let's face it we fighter game players don't play fighters to fight cpu anyway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't worry; you can pass this one up

posted by Nakigara (DENTON, TX) Sep 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Preface: This review is centered around story mode because I played that first. Once I was done with story I was too disgusted to play online. Online might be awesome and a totally different game. I seriously doubt it.

Pros:
Graphics are nice.

Cons:
ADD story mode

LOL spam two buttonz. Works great if you're seizure prone.

Default controls are BRIEFLY explained (wait, what did that message say? )

The standard XBOX controller button colors are assigned to actions that share the same colors but not the same physical button associations. (Green X? What?)

Once you do finally finish story mode, you're treated to the classically weak non-ending ending plus a lousy song. Breasts are definitely downplayed here, which is a shame because making a playable game seems beyond their capabilities. Once you cut what the game made its reputation on (laughable character animations), you're left with an aborted mess that shouldn't have made it to testing.

But hey, better than that POS Transformers:FOC game so there's that. Grats #2 worst game of the year, guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

best fighting game evvvveeeer

posted by xXFeaRLe5S (ATHENS, GA) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

i love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »