Buy Dead Space for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

23945 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great take on the survival horror genre

posted by jebusnixon (FOUNTAIN, CO) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

203 out of 211 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

When I hear survival-horror used to describe a game I think Resident Evil or possibly Silent Hill; from now on I'm holding up Dead Space as the standard for the genre. this is the first game where I have not been bored with the actual game play, even RE4 was a slow walk through a mostly well lit area where bad guys would occasionally attack you; there were a few "scare moments" but over all it was just stress caused by overwhelming numbers or insanely huge monsters. In Dead Space you never know when a creature will crawl, or jump, out at you. There are plenty of times where a creature has been in the hall in front of me only to jump through a vent rather than attack; instances like this make it necessary to be sure before wasting ammo on a non attacking creature.

Another aspect of Dead Space that separates it from the rest is the real-time management of logs, the map, and your inventory. In other games going into a menu stops combat and allows you time to breath, not so in this game. You may be ambushed at any time during game play, which adds to the level of fear in the game. Strategic dismemberment is also a great game play mechanic; you must blow off the limbs of your attackers to stop them; and when the developers say that taking off a creature's head only makes them mad... well they really mean it.

The graphics are superb and I have not experienced any major drop in quality as I have in other current-gen consoles. The sound is a step above the rest with the game sensing how close you are to danger and acting accordingly to give the right feeling. Vacuum is particularly fun because you only hear what is in you helmet; your breathing ad heart beat, monster noises are translated through the suit and sound like they're coming from outside.
One can only hope that this is the first of many games in an ongoing series as the universe seems like it is very detailed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not your average Survival Horror

posted by indyfan (LAS CRUCES, NM) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

52 out of 54 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

While Dead Space isn't a haunting game, it somewhat manages to keep you on the edge of your seat. The atmosphere is eerie in the beginning, you'll hear whispers down dark hallways, the lights will flicker on and off, and you'll listen to the occasional shuffle of monsters climbing through the vents. The best part about the game is thinking "Wow, I'm alone.", the ship will seem completely empty sometimes, till something bursts through a vent and tries to violate your face. In the beginning of the game, you might jump a few times, but soon you'll get use to the monsters popping out. You can even tell sometimes when something is going to leap up from the floor and attack you. Don't expect a super scary game, but it does live up to its violence credit. Expect extremely violent deaths and cut scenes, they are one of the better parts of the game. Each creature has its own finishing move it can do on you (which usually involves tearing your limbs off, Isaac screaming in agony will give you chills).

The battling system is top notch, blowing off limbs really does add an interesting challenge. The 3rd person view works perfect, there are no annoying control problems or anything like that. The weapons are fantastic, each mining tool has a different ability, and each of them is very unique (I liked the ripper). You will have trouble finding ammo in the game, so you will find yourself buying ammo at the store a few times. The armor is upgradeable, adding more items slot and armor each time you upgrade. The stasis system allows you slow down equipment or enemies, giving you time to heal or time to finish off your enemies accurately. Kinesis is also in the game, you'll be able to grab items or launch explosive tanks at enemies.

The game graphics are great, environment and character models are beautifully detailed. Nothing short of what EA can do.

There is alot of backtracking, meaning you'll be running through some of the same areas quite a bit. I didn't find this to be a problem but you might. The game is quite a challenge, it took me a solid 17-20 hours to beat. I did die quite a bit, like I said the game is very challenging, you'll be overwhelmed with enemies numerous times and you'll find yourself low on ammo. The boss battles are pretty easy, which I found confusing, considering how hard the smaller enemies can be sometimes.

There are unlockable outfits you can purchase on xbox live.

I would definitely suggest you rent this game, a must play for any 360 owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Absolute Must Have Next Gen Classic!

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Oct 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

217 out of 252 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I picked up my copy bright & early today, I came home & put this bad boy on. I’m so blown away, in aw-struck & so by the game as a whole & the graphics are flat out amazing! One of the most beautiful games I’ve seen since last year!

It’s set in real-time environment. The beginning is aw-striking to watch with the start sequence cut scene. After the scene, your ship crashes and it’s up to you & 2 other members of your crew to restore the damaged ship that had carried 1,000 people on the ship you’ve docked. The mechanics to this game are flawless. I played it on Easy & it’s still tough! The atmosphere is haunting & without a doubt one the most frightening games I’ve come across since games as Silent Hill & Fatal Frame.

You play as Isaac, you control your bio-chemical suit & shortly after, you grab your Plasma Cutter. It’s an awesome starter gun! Another added feature I have come to love, is the different “point markers” which somehow trigger of how & where you are suddenly attacked by random creatures.

It’s like Aliens in space in a similar manner, because of the atmosphere and idea that comes off right away into the game, but so much more creative in story,dialog & plot. Your bio-chemical suit is key to staying alive. You have upgrades for your armor including: power nodes for armor,stasis,rig, telekinesis, gun damage, range, & capacity.

You can use 1 Power Node to unlock certain areas marked “Locked” on the door. It’s come in handy when having 1-2 nodes to spare. You can find credits to purchase ammo, upgrades in storage lockers. Lockers are usually found before a save point, before a major creature battle, are also found throughout the game.

The controls take some patience, but once you get the hang of them, it’s smooth from there on out. This game receives my highest rating this far: 10 out of 10. A near perfected creation & development. I highly recommend this game to all gamers! Thank you for reading the review. Enjoy! Happy Gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Creepy, has shock value, gore

posted by peppers (APOPKA, FL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game. I rented it but had to click on Keep. I agree with another reviewer in that this game is a combination of Bioshock (you learn the story of the abandoned spaceship as you go along by picking up audio logs and video logs, you can create many save points, use telekinesis) and Resident Evil (creepy creatures, dark environment), but it presents more surprises. These mutated somewhat-humanlike (?) creatures like to jump out of vents above you, behind you, etc. The best way to take em out is to sever their limbs with your plasma cutter. It's like a laser gun type of deal that fires light/heat at the creatures. You get this ability called stasis which puts them into slow-mo so you can take on more at once if need be. I am pleased that stasis is not in abundance, so people can't cheat their way through the game with it. There are stasis charging stations strategically placed along the way though so you're never in a scenario where stasis is required but unavailable. Other weapons are available such as pulse rifle, line gun (bigger plasma cutter), flamethrower (I use for little skittery things), etc. You pass by some "stores" you can buy weapons/supplies at. You can also upgrade weapons, suit & abilities. Some areas are zero gravity and you have to fly through space to get through. If you are in "a vacuum" you also have an oxygen timer; it adds challenge to get through on time (you can pick up or buy extra oxygen, and there are some oxygen recharge stations too). This is not a run through game - take your time & look around, things will jump you at unexpected times. There are little puzzles here & there to solve.

Goals: Repair ship, look for lost girlfriend, find out what happened/killed crew.

Cons: My guy is a little hunched over. No big deal; I guess it's his heavy spacesuit. Sometimes hard to aim at landing spots in zero gravity but you get the hang of it, and it allows you to start over nearby. 3d map sometimes hard to read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good clean fun... well, not exactly clean.

posted by chirs3 (Johnson City, TN) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Dead Space borrows a great deal from other Survival Horror/Action games, but has the good sense to do all those things really really well. It's polished and refined to a ridiculous degree - if it's possible for a game to not be the best but to be the best made, this is it. The entire package is super slick.

My one gripe would be it runs on a little too long - it took me 8 hours and change to beat it, and I thoroughly enjoyed the first 7. It kind of runs out of steam towards the end.

Still, if you're a fan of shooters and horror games, there's no excuse to pass this up. It's fun, it's creepy, its production values are sky high, and while some aspects of it are familiar, they're done well enough to still be enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definetly doing horror games right

posted by Shadow051 (MEADVIEW, AZ) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game. Has na intresting story that keeps you busy from beginning to end. Although they make it a trend to have somethiing bad happen everytime you actually get somewhere so you'll begin to no longer get the satisfaction of completion as they counter it almost everytime.

The action is pretty awesome as the controls have a slight learning curve but once you get passed you'll realize that its a great control scheme.

The graphics are very nice from the blood to the flailing limbs.

The scare factor is pretty good. i had jumped out of my seat a few times.

The upgrades and variety of weapons is nice as all the weapons have there use and none feel not needed.

I felt that the game was a little lengthy for me but it only took me 8 hours to beat. with over half the achievments. and i dont really care for having a silent protagonist but besides that a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by Twitchy44 (KENEDY, TX) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

38 out of 45 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I didn't expect much from this game, in fact I wasn't going to get it. It looked like a game that has already been done with generic game play. Boy was I surprised right off the bat I was sucked in. The story, the graphics, the sound, the gore, the game play, the suspense and the characters are all you would want in a survival-horror game. I didn't find this game to be all that scary, however it is very suspenseful. I jumped quite a bit! If your a survival-horror fan this game is a must have!

If your skeptical like I was, do yourself a favor check this game out! You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nothing Less Than Horrifying

posted by RyanMac (VENICE, FL) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

30 out of 36 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing less than perfect in my eyes. When you play this game, in the very first seconds of the game you are emerged into this deep story. The graphics on this game are also stunning. The blood animation, lighting, and movement of these characters will take your breath away every time you play. One of the great things that makes this game so amazing is the Way you defeat your enemies. The dismemberment of enemies show you the careful planning that the developers took. Also as you play listen to the music and ambient sounds, there is never a point in the game where i sat back in my chair and relaxed there is always something lurking. Keeping the hairs on the back of your neck stand still. This game all in all is a perfect 10. All the parts that i have played had made me scared ,nervous, excited and always wanting more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ummmmm..... are you serious?

posted by Mikey0505 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game so far has blown the lid off my ideals for survival horror games (since resident evil 4) I'm at chapter 5 so to this point:
Graphics- 9.6/10 ( Smashes the ideals of graphics in games to date)
Controls- 9.3/10 ( Took me about 15 mins to get down. Some times things seem not to register)
Spooky Factor- 9/10( Not the spookiest it could be!)
Story- 8/10 (I guess the best it can be given the situation no real direction so far)
Boss fights/ Epic factor of overall game- 8.5/10 ( Boss fights can be hard but if you use stasis they become VERY not epic )
Hard factor- 9.2 ( The problem I have with deaths in the game is that some are unavoidable unless you know whats coming up like when you get ripped apart by asteroids with no real fair warning. )
Overall game play SO FAR!!!!- 9.25/10 (By the way I love the trail that you can display it's impossible to get lost!)

This game is 120% worth renting put this next on your "Q" you won't regret it!

One last final note I am playing on medium mode and have gotten to Chapter 5 in three hours and died 2 times ( Asteroid field and Asteroid mini game ) there are twelve chapters in the game so I estimate about 10-12 hours of overall gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You aren't dead... yet.

posted by Loading (OWASSO, OK) May 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Well gee... i can't really think of a good way to explain this game other than just giving you the pros and cons.
------
pros-
------
1- The controls- Holy cow! These controls rock! I mean they can get a little getting used to but my gosh, using the A button as the reload button! Brilliant!
2- The HUD- No taking up a large portion of the screen or anything like that, everything is displayed on your character model.
3- The graphics- This game is beautiful! The enemies look so real, and the environment really looks like a place that's inhabited by monsters!
4- The Weapons- Awesome... simply awesome.
5- The scares- This game is truly scary. The scariest game I've ever played.
6- The story- The story is Extremely interesting.
7- The game play- This game grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go until the rides over!
-------
Cons-
-------
The only thing i can think of as a con is that this game eventually ends.

Overall- 10/10 perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Get Ready For Some Nightmares

posted by Sherman24 (SALEM, OH) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was more than what I had hoped it would be. Dead Space truly succeeded in all aspects of a horror game.
The story is that of blockbuster caliber. It really hit home and it was moving as much as it was tense. Its twists and turns almost made me sad. The story in itself is not for people of young ages; being that the story hints on love, death, life, and so on. Some gamers may not understand some subtleties of the plot. I'd say a gamer of about 15 or older could grasp it. But overall I think the timeline was very well thought out.
The controls may be a little clunky starting out, but it gets into habit around the second chapter. The in-game menu was a nice touch. It's like a hologram, ending at a certain point in space. The camera can be rotated around it, if you feel like checking for enemies nearby. Jumping around and shooting stuff in zero-g was a blast!!
Graphics were a big surprise. Each detail like lighting, geometry, and gore effects drew me even further into the game. The over the shoulder camera somehow managed to add tension too.
The fighting system was well-polished. Strategy comes into play more than just shooting everything wildly like most FPS. The player must aim for certain body parts in order to defeat a monster. It's a great idea; I wouldn't mind seeing something like it later on. Sometimes watching arms fly off is kind of funny, you know? Of course, everyone feels triumphant after killing a room full of ambushing necromorph space monsters, don't they?

Overall, I do indeed, and for my first time, give this game a 10. PLAY THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really good

posted by Akashic (HELOTES, TX) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Its a lot like Resident evil 4-5.

I've played a lot of horror games, but this one has managed to catch me off guard a couple times. Theres a poor choice of weapons, at least from my point of view; my main weapon was the first gun you ever get in the game. Nothing else seemed as efficient, the others were just a waste of space. Still a great game though, can't wait for part 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Entertaining

posted by NIAPetey (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jul 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overall i thought the plot was half-original, if that makes any sense. still its a very fun and addictive game to play. youll also find yourself jumping at times but the gore and horror facotr arent anything more a little kid cant see in a modern movie. Neat guns, fun enemies, bosses where so-so. overall i gave it like a high 7 low 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you love Resident Evil then you love Dead Space

posted by Warlock76 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you like Resident Evil you should like this game. Think of it as RE with where you have to deal with zero gravity and the vacuum of space from time to time. The story on this game is really thought out as well I think and I would recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by sammynut (MAPLEWOOD, NJ) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Awesome graphics, great game play, awesome storyline. I recommend this to anyone. Not to scary, but has a creepiness to it. Game setting has the feel like the movie aliens or sunshine. Ignore the major reviews about repetitive gameplay & objectives. You do backtrack thru the ship sometimes, but its part of the story. Also, there are unique things in this game that keep it fun. Upgrade your weapons, suit, and skills. TRY IT, you will like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't let this game slip through your fingers!

posted by ColonBrown (LUBBOCK, TX) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First let me preface this with a request that gamers who aren't fans of a particular genre stick to writing reviews of whatever genre they are fans of. Their reviews are not helpful and cause people to miss out on some awesome gaming.
Dead Space is a must rent for any fan of survival horror or 3rd person shooters. I literally have nothing bad to say about this gem. The environments are superbly authentic and really make you feel like you are alone in space. This adds to the scare factor which is at its best on the impossible difficulty setting. I wouldn't say the game is terrifying or anything like that but it definitely has its share of startling moments. The achievements are well thought out and fun unlike some tedious achievements in other games that are out there.
Any RE or Silent Hill fan will love this one. The weapons are unique and customizable based on what type of killing you enjoy. I saw a review complaining about having to pick up too many items. Hello! that's what survival horror is all about: using every possible item to your advantage, whether it be implementing it in your inventory or selling it for credits to go towards upgrades.
Also each weapon has 2 firing modes which make for a very diverse killing spree since you can carry 4 at one time. Dismembering enemies rather than the traditional easy headshot kills is really quite enjoyable. We've all played tons of games relying on headshots and torso kills so this is a welcomed change of pace. Zero gravity is great and also the stasis module is another great tool in your arsenal and adds to the frantic I gotta kills this thing before those other 2 guys get here type of action.
If you force me to complain about anything i would have to say the map system could be better but just a click of your thumbstick shows you where you need to go and if you can't recall what rooms you were just in perhaps you should revert back to SMB and the like.
I played through almost 4 times and was sad to see it go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Survival Horror

posted by Jancarius (DENTON, TX) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Survival Horror since Resident Evil 1 on the Play station. While many of the games I have played have had me jump from time to time, no game has kept me as consistently on edge as Dead Space. I must say the real key to the fear generated by this game is the audio. The general gameplay focuses on dismembering the Necromorphs rushing (or shambling) towards you. Isaac Clarke's weapons are all tools left around the ship (though I heavily question the possible non-military use of several of the weapons). If you try and shoot the Necromorphs in the body (with anything except the contact beam, anyway) you are largely wasting ammo. This requires players to keep their head reasonably well when firing, something occasionally difficult to do when 6-8 dudes with GIGANTIC CLAWS for arms are about a foot from cutting yer head off.

There are a variety of enemies in the game, most of who were very evidently once human (the exception being Infectors, Scorpions, and Spiders). Not so much a spoiler as a game tip, I highly recommend you take the time to dismember any and all dead bodies you encounter. Dead bodies have a habit of not staying dead and a dead body with no limbs is a lot less of a threat.

The realy key to this game, as I mentioned earlier is the audio. The ship itself is relatively 'creaky', with lots of ambient ship noises. However, you can often hear the Necromorphs crawling around on what sounds like the other side of a wall from you. At first I just shrugged "neat atmospheric effect" and then I had 3 of them burst out of vents on all sides of me and rush me unexpectedly. A few surviving crew members, mostly driven insane by what's going on around them have creepy singing or lines (why all the survivors have apparently blindfolded themselves or wrapped their heads completly in bandages is never explained).

Overall, if you are a fan of survival horror, I highly recommend this game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scariest Game Ever

posted by xlSITHlx (REDMOND, WA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is by far the scariest horror survival game ever. It is probably the best one too. This is a game that will scare the s##t out of you. At one point i was so tense that when sprinklers came on to water plants i jumped. You are constantly fighting for survival with your ever dwindling ammo supply. I thought i had a sufficient supply of ammo going into a new part of the game, when entering this new zone i was hit with so many enemies i was left with little ammo and low health, but just enough to make it through to find more health and ammo. This game also delivers new scares instead of using the same ones over. I play the game with my gun raised when i go through any door. This is by far the greatest horror survival game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best Campaigns in 2008!

posted by Facer1 (SYLMAR, CA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Awesome graphics, blood and zero gravity?!?!? What more do you want?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AAAWWWWWWSOME!

posted by zombee (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

wow, this game scared me from the start. i started playing it at 2 am and turned off my 360 at 2:15 am. it was late and i had my big headphones on for a cooler gameplay. well that didnt last long cause it was too much to handle. this game plays so smooth and well put together. nothing about it is bad, just awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Resident Evil In Space!

posted by g3strings (CROWN POINT, IN) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved Resident Evil 4 and this game played just like it but only in space. Great weapons, enemies, bosses and stuff jumping out at you when you least expect it, scaring the bejesus out of you! Just as in Res Evil after you play through the game you can keep all your equipment and money and play through again. If your into achievements there are alot of these that are fun to acquire. I had a great time playing this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space is Dead On

posted by sloburn94 (EL PASO, TX) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

An awesome game. The graphics overall are amazing and fit great for HD gaming. The "over the shoulder" vantage point from which the entire game is played is a nice change of pace however can be difficult to deal with when looking for clearer angles when fighting. The ambiance of the game is fantastic and SCAAARRRY!!! A definite must for all lovers of the survival/horror genre. The only real drawback to the game is the lack of a decent learning curve. At times the game was too difficult or too easy and either was not a challenge at all or just ridiculously difficult. This game is definitely worth the rent, maybe even a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bioshock (EA)

posted by Ei8htBall (HADLEY, MA) Aug 28, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is easily one of the best games Ive played. To me it seemed like EA's version of Bioshock, while changing a few aspects to give Dead Space its own personality. It has the same basic concept of the goal of the game first being: try to figure out how to get out of this place, but as the game goes on it changes into a try to figure out whats happened. The stasis replaced the plasmids and the benches replaced the power to the people stations. Overall Id give it a 10/10 first play through, 9/10 second opinion. Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1st review: Scariest game played in a long time

posted by damienv5 (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game won't be that difficult to beat for an experienced gamer, but it'll really keep you on your toes. It made me think of how I felt the first time I watched the original Alien movie, but scarier since the person trying to survive was me!

I've played plenty of FPS games but I really liked the over the shoulder view. It made me feel more emersed in the action and I remember my heart pounding a few times as I strove to survive or make my escape.

There are very few lulls in the game and even these are placed more to keep you guessing than as a lack of development. Unlike some other survival-type games, you never really feel safe anywhere and you soon realize that you're not. Not even in an elevator or save station.

The inventory\3D maps\objective system was slick, and the weapons and their alternate firing modes were a lot of fun. My favorite is the Ripper, which is able to suspend a spinning saw blade about 5 feet in front of you for about 7 seconds that you can then swing around. Combine this with the ability to slow down enemies and the effect is amazing.

The graphics and story are equally as good, with some great looking scenes when you have to go EVA. Having to fight in zero-G while your air slowly dwindles as you walk along the outside of the ship with your gravity boots looks as good as it sounds.

I was so into just staying alive that I really didn't get to explore all my abilities and weapons as fully as I would have liked, but the game keeps a pretty hectic pace. I plan to play through again with all the upgrades intact, although I wish I could take them with me to the next difficulty setting.

I can't even believe I wrote all this, and I could say a lot more, but the game is really that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dead Space Review-KliqHBK

posted by KliqHBK (FRANKFORD, MO) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of Sci-Fi movie and or games then you will love this game. This is one of the first games in a long while that made me go Holy ---- multiple times. This game is a breath of fresh air for shooter style games. It reminds me of Resident Evil, but in my opinion better. This game requires some strategy when fighing monsters. Even the first monster you face requires strategy to beat him. This game isnt one of those half mule games where you can just randamly fire at an enemy and kill him. This game is definately worth renting! I give it a 9/10... I would have given it a 10/10 but your map is annoying when trying to find your way from point a to point b. But the game has a feature where you click the right thumbstick and it shows you were to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse