Buy Dead Space 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Space 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

3259 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehh not so great

posted by kronicuser (SAINT PETERS, MO) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now I wanna say I've played all the dead spaces so i knew what i was getting into. I got a little into chapter 6 and i felt the need to return it...up to that point i can honestly say wasnt scary at all, seems like they picked up the action a bit but slowed down on the "scary" side of things. The whole time playing I just felt that the story/objectives were lacking, same old thing over and over. I would say rent this if you have no other game in your mind to play, other than that I would definitely say DO NOT buy, because i could be wrong but I dont see hardly any replay value in this, Hope this review has helped

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game

posted by TechmanGamer (EL MONTE, CA) Jun 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Space is a fun game with all of the unique weapon selections and awesome levels. The only thing it lacked was the scary feel like its predecessors. Overall rating is 6 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead Space 3 ( Too Much Action )

posted by AFCA95 (WESTMINSTER, CA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I am a real fan of the Dead Space series, or should i say part 1 & 2.
Dead Space 3 looks and feels like 1 & 2.
But that's the only thing you can compare it with.
They decided to put in more action, But now it is way too much. Almost in every room/area you arrive there is a lots of shooting, And after a while that kills the game. The scare is gone, because of the constant action.
The saving is not good in this game and backtracking in this game is way too much.

Even if it is still a great looking game with beautiful and dark places. It just doesn't scare anymore.

What i did like of this game were the optional quest in this game where you fly to smaller shuttles to explore with better loot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Very Lengthy Action Packed Title

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Dead Space 3 continues with its aggressive approach to action/horror.

First off the game IS more action orientated. But you will still have those OMG Where are they coming from! moments. Again it doesn't seem as scary as the first or second one primarily because if you already played Dead Space and Dead Space 2, then you are already know what to expect.

Aside from that the game is great. Plenty of weapon combinations for you to explore and use to Dismember necromorphs. Awesome new enemies give the game new breath. Also the game is VERY long. This is probably twice as long as Dead Space 2 so be prepared.

The only reason why I didn't give it a 9 or 10 was because it lost that "Event Horizon" horror fee. Other than that its a great rental or even a Keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Big Business Killed a Franchise

posted by XBlade (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

EA got too involved on this one. The horror is almost non-existent. The ammo is always plentiful no matter the difficulty(you can make as much as you want). Greed led to microtransactions that led to the generic ammo type. So many different weapons but only 2 or 3 combinations are actually useful. Its a rent, nothing more, nothing less. And FYI, there is a possibility EA will dump this franchise due to poor performance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very big disappointment

posted by Precipitate (PICKERINGTON, OH) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

20 out of 31 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately one of my favorite franchises of the last few years has taken a huge misstep. Dead Space 3 followed the recent RE6 model and tried to be much more of an action game. I was maybe scared once or twice during the entire campaign...and I scare very easily. Instead of great pacing and subtle changes throughout the levels, DS3 became a shooting gallery. Tons of enemies is NOT the answer. The story is awful, with a recycled and laughable main villain. Unlike in the past, the secondary characters are paper thin and made me feel nothing for them. Not to mention Ellie was trashed in this, with her magically grown back eye and noticeably enlarged chest....sweet there goes a strong female character! Like I mentioned earlier there was not a single shred of horror in this newest entry in the series. Then there was the new gameplay format. Optional missions were added to obviously inflate a weak, severely lacking main quest. LINEAR works for Dead Space. The first two games proved this with excellent level crafting, pacing, and plot development. The only saving graces about DS3 were the great environments, sound design, and co-op campaign. There were some cool moments, but they were fleeting. The Dead Space franchise should definitely take a break after this game, and should be reevaluated to see what made the first two so fantastic, before moving onto a four or even reboot. RENT RENT RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by lucidsdarqly (EMORY, TX) May 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not much bad I can say about this release, some of the anti-gravity missions are a bit awkward, but other than that I enjoyed it immensely.
The new weapon building options are amazing, and you can create hundreds of different weapons to suit your taste. Seldom do I watch the credits roll and then dive back in, but I played 2+ hours on new game+ right after beating it. Excellent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Rental

posted by DBLColonel1 (GREER, SC) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is an excellent rental with a good story mode which will take some time to complete. The only draw backs is resources for weapon upgrades with purchasing DLC. Make sure you use the bots to gather and pick up everything if you want powerful weapons in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good but not great

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

While some questionable design decisions mar what could have been an amazing finale, overall DS3 is a very fun action horror shooter to play with a friend.

Let me get the bad stuff out of the way first. The story feels very lackluster with lots of cheesy melodrama, a lame villain, and stuff that just comes out of nowhere. Compared to previous games I just didn't care much about anyone except Issac and even then it was mostly because of him being the main character.

People who dislike co-op or like getting 100% completion will probly not like this game. Since it was designed to be played co-op there are lots of places and collectables you can't access alone, and you will see the marks of co-op stuff everywhere. It's still enjoyable but you'll miss out on a fair amount of content.

Now that all being said I still liked the game very much. The feel and ambiance is still just as dark and creepy as before, with lots of darkness and strange noises to keep you on edge. Combat is just as messy and brutal as before as enemies rip apart into bloody chunks. The necromorphs this time favor rushing you and in attacking in larger numbers than before. Instead of upgrading the stas of a few pre made weapons, you collect various parts that you can mix and match to suit your play style. This is easily the best part in my opinion as there are tons of combinations to experiment with.

If you enjoyed the previous Dead Space games I would certainly recommend to at least give it a try. While there are indeed some flaws it is, at heart, very Dead Space and I love it. People have been giving it more flak than it deserves and that is a real shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

IT'S NOT DEAD SPACE :(

posted by 44YOLDEYES (PRAIRIE VILLAGE, KS) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

First off, I have played BOTH the others all the way through and 1 and 2 were FAR better than this, its a classic example of trying to appeal to a wider audience and then failing...bad soo heres my take and I played it all the way through just to be sure.

Don't know what/who decided to make this mess, cant really put a finger on it just:
1. Its NOT scary
2. Its NOT suspensefull
3. Its NOT exciting
4. There is WAAAY to much whinning and crying.
5. Its NOT scary
6. Hacking is lame
7. healing/recharging is slow
8. Its NOT scary
9. I felt NOTHING for any of the characters
10 playing it felt like going to work on monday morning

In closing I think dead space is dead :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The problem is saving...

posted by jcsmith2 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Feb 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I'd love to give this game a higher rating. Seriously. If you can play this game for hours at a time, it's probably an 8 or 9. It's got it all, good graphics, suspense, and an excellent story. The problem is I don't have hours at a time to play it. I get an hour here or there, and as a result when I have to save the game to come back later and lose 45 minutes of play time because it takes me back to the start of the chapter and not the last checkpoint... Well you see the problem.

In short, if you've got a lot of time to play this is a really good game, but if you can only give it an hour or two at a time, it might not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ugly

posted by DoubleStops (KENNEWICK, WA) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Horrible, I'm just going to rant a little bit here. The control is sluggish even when I bumped up the sensitivity. The story is more annoying than anything and the multiplier....Wow. Really? I've already payed for my monthly subscription to xbox live and EA has the audacity to charge for another online code in order for me to play? Ridiculous. The potential of this game was relevant. The big mistake was EA publishing this. EA used to be a decent company but now they're nothing more than pigs. No thanks, I gave it a try and can't find the joy in this. Dead Space deserves a 5 from me and on another note Isaac is just annoying to me. If you enjoy it, great! but I'll spend my time with something with more substance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

loved it!

posted by kreytos316 (STRATTON, ME) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the first two, and i loved this one. Was looking for the new game play element to this one, and it turned out to be repelling/clmbing, Which was pretty fun. Not as great a step as the zero gravity coming into 2 though. i like there is at least a little of all the gameplay and enemies from 1 and 2, and some great added new elements and characters. I love action, and did not really get scared by one or two, so the more action the better. I rarely have as much fun playing a game as I dp with Dead Space. You want to be scared, go watch Texas Chainsaw Massacure. If you want thrills and beautiful graphics.gameplay, play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horid game

posted by KBlack2595 (ORANGE, CA) Apr 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

for first time players this game is really bad there no help what so ever and they expect u to figure every thing out on your own evan when u restart a mission it dosent tell u what to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So dissapointed

posted by xTR3NTx (ARLINGTON, TX) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tgis game just ruined the whole series in my opinion, its not scary, not fun, just hard and wasteless. The worst part of this whole game is that it NEVER SAVES ANYTHING. I was on chapter 11, apparently saved, then enede up on chapetr 8, completley ridicouluos, dont waster your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ehhhh

posted by jtrecupero (YONKERS, NY) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To much of a grind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by Trafalgar (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was told by many people that this was the scariest game ever but, I rented this and started to play it was not even scary to even my 6 year old niece so, I put the scary part out of my mind thinking maybe its still a good game wrong again. As, I played I realized the game goes like this 10 min cut scene 5 min game play 10 min cut scene 5 min game play over and over again. The camera angle in this game is hands out the worst camera angle ever half the time you can't see whats going on and you move so slowly that monster are on you before you can even shoot. It's not a scary game it's just gross bodies explode and turn into weird alien things. Oh and if you like to plat co-op then you better buy the 800 Microsoft online pass or you can even play co-op with friends. all I give it a 1 out of 10 for it bad game play boring story and the fact that I have played Mario games scarier then this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Amazing graphics, Boring Gameplay

posted by Franco (DOWNEY, CA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was so excited to play the third game in this amazing franchise but couldn't help feeling disappointed. This game is way too slow and the environments are too repetitive and stale. You have to go to one place then venture all the way back to the place your started (many times). For most of the game it feels like you are going around in circles through the same stale environments. It pisses me off because the graphics and gameplay are top notch, but they forgot to include the "fun" factor which is interesting enemies and great places to have epic shootouts and such. I guess this one isn't for everyone. I played Aliens Colonial Marines a few days after beating this one and though the production isn't nearly as great as this one, it was a a lot more fun for me. If you want a great looking game and don't need new interesting environments then check this one out. I would just rent Aliens Colonial marines instead. Much more fun in my opinion. Hope the next installment is better like the previous two installments of this sick franchise. I will say that the last 5 chapters were pretty fun, but that's 5 out of 20. They should've tried a lot harder for a game of this magnitude. Hope I'm not offending hardcore fans of the franchise, but that's just how I feel regarding this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Game Overall

posted by Alebelly (BERKELEY, CA) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its a good game, though more action-shooter than survival-horror. Some of this can be offset by increasing the difficulty, but none of the available settings seem to offer a good balance to the gameplay; the first two games were all about Less equals More, whereas DS3 is simply More of everything. And the writing is hackneyed, derivative, uninspired, lazy; its just bad, no way around it, cringe inducing. But the game, overall, has a very high production value to it, it may take a little while for it to sink in, but there is an excellence underlying all of the miscues and missteps. The weapon crafting is outstanding. I never purchased a single DLC item, it seems pointless for it to be so deeply integrated into the game, but it is, so just avoid it. Overall, an impressive effort that doesn't quite live up to its predecessors, but still a worthy addition to the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointment

posted by Bauer24 (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a fan of previous Dead Space games i was looking forward to play this game. But the changes they made to it are a total turn off. Less scary. All of a sudden its a shooter. And a bad story. Honestly i dont even want to finish it. Just semt it back. Not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great unexpected 5 star game

posted by nickopol7 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

plays super smooth. I did not play any past dead space games but I understood most of the story considering sci-fi horror is my favorite thing.. if you have a mass effect 3 game save it will give you the N7 armor from mass effect its the coolest part about the game if you're a fan of electronic arts games like mass effect and other great ones this is the game for you , blows resident evil away even tho I love resident evil .. build your own weapons with gear you find along the way and full of optional missions and a completely different champaign for the co-op if you purchase the online code.. I bought this game immediately after renting it. I never buy games, also it's 2 disks. I'm at about 50 hrs of gameplay.. My gamer tag is "nickopol7" if anyone wants to play co-op PLEASE HIT ME UP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ehhh

posted by hecticod00d (OPA LOCKA, FL) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying I LOVE Dead Space and Dead Space 2! While Dead Space 3 isn't a bad game at all it does feel slow at times and there's a focus on action (I guess they went for mass appeal) and that takes away from the horror. The game is really easy and you end up with way too much health and ammo. However, there are plenty of cool things about Dead Space 3! There's a new mechanic that allows traveling between different environments so that the game doesn't seem stale and an all new weapon bench/upgrade system. You can make your own weapons that cater to your playstyle. While I personally prefer the older upgrade bench I will admit the new one is really nice and once you get the hang of it you'll enjoy it. Dead Space 3 is worth a rent but unfortunately that's all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is amazing

posted by walesca (CANTON, MA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Okay even though this game doesn't have lots of scares than the last two dead space games , but it does have its scary moments that are worth it. Yes i do agree the action kinda ruin the game a little but its soo worth it trust me . A great campaign , good graphics , and co-op helps the story even more, new monsters , hard boss fights. Its the same Dead space game we all love but with more action. This is a great way to start off 2013 Dead space 3 is a Game of the Year nominee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dead Space 3 Your Dead because your stupid!

posted by 49erlifer (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

OK 1st off I am a huge Dead Space fan. Maybe I was expecting too much? Trying to fight off hordes of freaks while hoping the next drop is health, only to find scrap mettle?? I mean your close to death and you get scrap mettle? All in all the story is very strong but it also lacks depth. I was able to put the story together before the chapter ended. RENT IT FIRST!! Its was a huge let down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yay!

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Feb 9, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok it is not exactly like the other ones, in a way, mainly because it feels like horde mode around every corner instead some of those scares from the previous ds' but at the same time this is such a good game. It has great graphics but the story is not consistant with the other games. That is probably the only downer. Don't get me wrong, it has Issac in it but something just doesn't feel right. It is still really really fun though. I have not played coop yet and prob won't because I rented this and as you know EA makes you have a code to play. Single player is beast though so def worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse